
Decision No. R04-1395 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

DOCKET NO. 04G-439CP 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO, 
 

COMPLAINANT, 
 
V. 
 
JOSEPH L. PAPINEAU, DOING BUSINESS AS PAPINEAU MOVING AND STORAGE, 
INC., 
 
  RESPONDENT. 

RECOMMENDED DECISION OF 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 

DALE E. ISLEY  
ASSESSING CIVIL PENALTY 

Mailed Date:  November 26, 2004 

I. STATEMENT 

1. This is a civil penalty assessment proceeding brought by the Staff of the Colorado 

Public Utilities Commission (Staff) against the Respondent, Joseph L. Papineau, doing business 

as Papineau Moving and Storage, Inc. (Papineau). 

2. In Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (CPAN) No. 70020, Staff alleges that on 

February 2, 2004, Papineau violated § 40-14-103(1), C.R.S. (operating, offering, or advertising 

services as a mover without being registered with the Commission) (Count 1), § 40-14-104(1), 

C.R.S. (providing moving services without the proper motor vehicle liability or general liability 

insurance) (Counts 2 and 3); § 40-14-104(2), C.R.S. (providing moving services without the 

proper cargo insurance) (Count 4); and § 40-14-107(1), C.R.S. (failing to properly advertise 
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moving services) (Count 5). CPAN No. 70020 seeks imposition of a civil penalty in the total 

amount of $13,750.00 for these alleged violations. 

3. On September 8, 2004, the Commission issued an Order setting this matter for 

hearing on October 1, 2004, in Denver, Colorado.   

4. The undersigned Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) called the matter for hearing at 

the assigned time and place.  Staff appeared through its legal counsel.  Papineau did not appear. 

5. During the course of the hearing testimony was received in support of Staff’s case 

from Mr. Tony Munoz, a Commission Compliance Investigator, and Mr. Lawrence Levin.1  

Exhibits 1 through 5 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of 

the hearing the ALJ took the matter under advisement. 

6. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ now transmits to the Commission 

the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision. 

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 

7. In February of this year Mr. Levin retained Papineau to transport his household 

goods from 930 Acoma Street to 142 Dexter Street in Denver, Colorado.  Papineau commenced 

the move on February 2, 2004 and completed it on February 7, 2004.  Mr. Levin paid Papineau 

$3,400.00 for this service.  This price included the cost of “insuring” the goods for their full 

replacement value in the event they were damaged or lost.  See, Exhibit 1. 

8. Shortly after the goods were delivered, Mr. Levin discovered that one of his 

original oil paintings had been damaged.  He attempted on numerous occasions to resolve this 

                                                 
1 Mr. Levin appeared pursuant to a Subpoena to Testify issued on September 10, 2004. 
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problem with Papineau but was unable to do so.  Therefore, on June 2, 2004, he lodged a written 

complaint with the Commission.  See, Exhibit 1. 

9. Mr. Levin’s complaint was assigned to Mr. Munoz for investigation.  Initially, he 

reviewed the Commission’s records and determined that Papineau was not registered as a mover 

on February 2, 2004.  He also determined that the Commission’s records were devoid of any 

indication that Papineau maintained motor vehicle liability insurance, general liability insurance, 

or cargo insurance on that date.  Accordingly, Mr. Munoz concluded that Papineau was not 

registered with the Commission on the date in question as required by § 40-14-103(1), C.R.S.2  

Nor did he have the required evidence of insurance on file with the Commission on that date as 

required by §§ 40-14-104(1) and (2), C.R.S.  Mr. Munoz also reviewed various Yellow Page 

listings and determined that Papineau was actively advertising his moving services within these 

publications.  See, Exhibits 3, 4, and 5. 

10. Mr. Munoz attempted to contact Papineau on a number of occasions for the 

purpose of discussing the allegations contained in Mr. Levin’s complaint.  However, he did not 

respond to these attempts.  Finally, on August 12, 2004, Mr. Munoz arranged to meet Papineau 

for the purpose of securing a bid for a fictitious shipment of household goods.  He was then able 

to personally serve Papineau with a copy of CPAN No. 70020.  Papineau acknowledged receipt 

of CPAN No. 70020 by signing the same.  See, Exhibit 2. 

11. Papineau had not paid any of the $13,750.00 penalty referred to in 

CPAN No. 70020 as of the date of the hearing.    

                                                 
2 See also, Sections 6616(a)(I) and 6608(a)(I), (II), and (III) of the Commission’s Rules Regulating 

Household Goods Movers, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-35.  Emergency Household Goods Carrier Rules 
were in effect at the time the violations were documented in CPAN No. 70020.  See, Decision No. C03-0890. 
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III. DISCUSSION  

12. Section 40-14-103(1), C.R.S., provides that no person shall operate, offer, or 

advertise services as a mover upon the public highways of this state in intrastate commerce 

without first being registered with the Commission.  As part of the registration process, the 

mover must, among other things, submit proof that it has in place the insurance coverage 

required by §§ 40-14-104(1) and (2), C.R.S.  That statute requires that movers maintain motor 

vehicle liability, general liability, and cargo insurance policies in certain specified minimum 

amounts and to maintain adequate written documentation with the Commission that such 

insurance is in place.  See, §§ 40-14-104(1), (2), and (3), C.R.S. 

13. A mover’s failure to comply with the registration requirement imposed by § 40-

14-103(1), C.R.S., subjects it to a civil penalty of not more than $1,100.00 for each day’s 

violation.  See, §§ 40-7-113 (1)(f.5) and 40-7-115, C.R.S.  A mover’s failure to comply with the 

motor vehicle liability insurance requirement imposed by § 40-14-104(1), C.R.S., subjects it to a 

civil penalty of not more than $11,000.00 for each day’s violation.  See, §§ 40-7-113 (1)(a) and 

40-7-115, C.R.S. A mover’s failure to comply with the general liability and cargo insurance 

requirements imposed by §§ 40-14-104(1) and (2), C.R.S., subjects it to a civil penalty of not 

more than $550.00 for each day’s violation.  See, §§ 40-7-113(2), C.R.S. and 4 Code of Colorado 

Regulations (CCR) 723-35-6624(c).  Finally, a mover’s failure to comply with the advertising 

requirements imposed by § 40-14-107(1), C.R.S., subjects it to a civil penalty of not more than 

$550.00 for each day’s violation.  See, § 40-7-113(2), C.R.S., and 4 CCR 723-35-6624(c).    

14. A “mover” is defined by § 40-14-102(9), C.R.S. as any person who engages in the 

transportation or shipment of household goods in intrastate commerce for compensation upon the 

public highways of this state by use of a motor vehicle.  Household good are defined by § 40-14-
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101(7), C.R.S., as, among other things, the personal effects and property used or to be used in a 

dwelling.  

15. The evidence establishes that Papineau provided moving services on the date 

encompassed by CPAN No. 70020 within the meaning of the statutes referred to above.  

Therefore, Papineau was, on the date in question, subject to the registration, insurance, and 

advertising requirements set forth in §§ 40-14-103(1), 40-14-104(1) and (2), and 40-14-107(1), 

C.R.S. 

16. Commission enforcement personnel have authority to issue CPANs under § 40-7-

116, C.R.S.  That statute provides that the Commission has the burden of demonstrating a 

violation by a preponderance of the evidence.  

17. The testimony and exhibits admitted into evidence at the hearing conclusively 

establish that Papineau provided moving services on February 2, 2004, when he transported 

Mr. Levin’s household goods from 930 Acoma Street to 142 Dexter Street in Denver, Colorado, 

over the public highways of this state for compensation.  Mr. Munoz’s undisputed testimony 

establishes that Papineau was not registered with the Commission as a mover on that date.  Nor 

did he have the necessary proof of insurance on file with the Commission.  Therefore, Papineau 

violated §§ 40-14-103(1) and 40-14-104(1) and (2), C.R.S., as alleged in Counts 1 through 4 of 

CPAN No. 70020. 

18. The testimony and exhibits admitted into evidence at the hearing also establish 

that Papineau was advertising his moving service in the Yellow Pages as “Papineau Moving and 

Storage” during a time he was not registered as a mover with the Commission.  Section 40-14-

107(1), C.R.S., prohibits a mover from advertising a transportation service in a name other than 

that in which the mover’s registration is held.  Therefore, this statute effectively requires that a 
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mover be registered with the Commission before it can advertise its moving services. Since 

Papineau was not so registered, he violated § 40-14-107(1), C.R.S., as alleged in Count 5 of 

CPAN No. 70020.  

19. Section 40-7-113, C.R.S., authorizes the Commission to consider aggravating or 

mitigating circumstances surrounding particular violations in order to fashion a penalty 

assessment that promotes the underlying purpose of such assessments.  These include, among 

others, deterring future violations, motivating a carrier to come into compliance with the law, and 

punishing a carrier for prior, illegal behavior. 

20. Based on the findings of fact and discussion above, the ALJ finds that the 

maximum civil penalty should be assessed in this case.  Papineau did not appear at the hearing to 

defend the subject charges or to present any mitigating evidence.  Therefore, the evidence 

presented by Staff is undisputed.  The evidence also establishes that Papineau has been 

uncooperative in connection with efforts by Mr. Levin or Staff to resolve the problem that led to 

the issuance of CPAN No. 70020.  These aggravating circumstances warrant imposition of the 

maximum penalty allowed by law.     

IV. CONCLUSIONS 

21. Staff has sustained its burden of proving the allegations contained in Counts 1 

through 5 of CPAN No. 70020 by a preponderance of the evidence as required by § 40-7-116, 

C.R.S. 

22. Papineau should be assessed the maximum civil penalty for the above-described 

violations due to the aggravating factors discussed above.   
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V. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. Respondent, Joseph L. Papineau, doing business as Papineau Moving and 

Storage, Inc., is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,100.00 in connection with Count 1 

of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice No. 70020; $11,000.00 in connection with Count 2 of Civil 

Penalty Assessment Notice No. 70020; and $550.00 each in connection with Counts 3 through 5 

of CPAN No. 70020.  He shall pay the total assessed penalty of $13,750.00 within ten days of the 

effective date of this Order. 

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the 

Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.   

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall 

be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.   

a) If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended 

period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own 

motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to 

the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S. 

b) If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its 

exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may 

stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If 

no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the 

administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the 

Commission can review if exceptions are filed. 
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4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, 

unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded. 

 
 

 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

 
 
 

________________________________ 
Administrative Law Judge 
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