Decision No. R03-1016

#### BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO

IN THE MATTER OF PROPOSED RULES REGULATING TOWING CARRIER TRANSPORTATION BY MOTOR VEHICLE.

## RECOMMENDED DECISION OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE MANA L. JENNINGS-FADER ADOPTING RULES

Mailed Date: September 8, 2003

### I. STATEMENT

- 1. The Commission commenced this proceeding by the issuance of Decision No. C03-0360 on April 16, 2003. That decision gave public notice of a proposed rulemaking to adopt new Rules Regulating Towing Carrier Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 *Code of Colorado Regulations* (CCR) 723-9. The stated purpose of the proposed rulemaking is to describe the scope and manner of Commission regulation over persons providing towing carrier services by motor vehicle in the State of Colorado. The proposed rules are new and cover a wide range of subject matter areas, including, but not limited to: safety; the issuance, extension, transfer, and revocation of operating authority; civil penalties; insurance and registration requirements; the identification, condition, and leasing of motor vehicles; towing and storage rates; service standards; and record keeping.
- 2. Notice of the proposed rulemaking was published in the May 12, 2003, edition of *The Colorado Register*. The hearing was scheduled for June 12, 2003. Written comments were received in advance of hearing from Eddie's Leaf Spring Shop and Towing, LLC (Eddie's).

3. At the assigned place and time, the undersigned Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) called the matter for hearing. Eddie's, the Towing and Recovery Professionals Association (TRPA), and the Staff of the Public Utilities Commission (Staff) provided oral comments on the proposed rules. Exhibits 1 through 3 were admitted.

# II. <u>FINDINGS, CONCLUSIONS, AND DISCUSSION</u>

- 4. Staff provided detailed comments on the new rules. Staff explained that, by and large, the rules are a restatement of the existing towing carrier rules; incorporate existing Commission practice; and change the maximum rates and charges which towing carriers can charge.<sup>1</sup>
- 5. Comment centered principally on the proposed maximum rates and charges contained in Rule 6519.
- 6. Staff recommended that the maximum rates and charges now in effect be increased 5.7 percent to reflect the increase in the Consumer Price Index for the Boulder-Denver-Greeley area which has occurred since the present rates became effective in May, 2001. Staff explained that it based the recommended increase on the same Consumer Price Index as that used by the Commission to establish the present maximum towing rates and charges; that the rates and charges are to apply state-wide, including areas which may not have experienced the increase in expenses which may have been experienced by towing carriers in Metro Denver; and that, when considered in conjunction with the remaining provisions of Rule 6519, the increase is sufficient.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Hearing Exhibit 1 shows the proposed rule number and the corresponding rule number in the current towing carrier rules. *See* 4 CCR 723-9.

7. Both Eddie's and the TRPA commented that the 5.7 percent increase, while welcome, was insufficient to offset increased expenses experienced by towing carriers. Each cited sharply increased insurance rates as an example of an increased expense.

- Rule 6519 will be adopted with the 5.7 percent increase. Neither Eddie's nor the TRPA provided information concerning the overall expenses of towing carriers and whether or not the increases in the maximum rates and charges were sufficient in light of those expenses. In addition, while insurance rates may have increased, there may be offsetting decreases in other expenses. Information about possible offsets was not provided. Further, other provisions of Rule 6519 allow for additional monies to be paid for specific types of tows. *See*, *e.g.*, Rules 6519(g) and 6519(i). Finally, the rates and charges are set for, and are adequate for, the State of Colorado taken as a whole. If either Eddie's or the TRPA believes that there is an area of the State in which expenses have increased to the point that the rates and charges in Rule 6519 are not sufficient, it may file an appropriate action with the Commission for relief.
- 9. Rule 6519 contains fixed maximum rates and charges, as does Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17, the rule currently in effect. Eddie's suggested that the Commission change from a fixed rate approach to a formula-based approach for setting the maximum rates and charges. Under the suggested approach, there would be no Commission-established maximum rates or charges. Instead, the maximum rate or charge would be set (presumably by the towing carrier) based on factors such as the geographic area of the tow, the relative difficulty of the tow, the size of the population in the area in which the tow occurs, the traffic flow or congestion at the time of the tow, and the time of day of the tow. The factors would be set out in the rules.

- 10. Eddie's proposed formula-based approach will not be adopted. The proposal was not well developed and leaves too many questions unanswered. In addition, one purpose of the Rule is to establish known and easily-understood maximum rates and charges, as much for the benefit of the public as for the benefit of the towing carriers. A formula-based approach runs contrary to that purpose. Finally, the proposed formula-based approach is complex and rife with opportunities for carrier-customer misunderstandings and disputes, would be difficult to apply for the towing carriers, and would present difficulties in administration and oversight for the Commission.
- 11. Eddie's made a general recommendation concerning the rules. It proposed that the Commission include examples in the rules themselves which, according to Eddie's, would make the rules more understandable. This suggestion will not be adopted. First, the rules as written are understandable and need no examples. Second, the rules would be burdened, not helped, by the addition of examples which, in the end, might be more confusing than beneficial. Rules have the force and effect of law. If they are contained in the rules, the examples might be perceived as having that effect as well and, inadvertently, might limit or change the rule they were meant to "explain" or to "clarify." To the extent that examples might be useful to some, the better practice is to put them in an informational document (such as a fact sheet) which does not have the force and effect of law.
- 12. Rule 6505(b)(XI) contains the requirement that an application fee accompany an application for a towing carrier permit. It has been changed from the proposed rule. As adopted, that Rule reflects the amendment made to § 40-13-104, C.R.S., by Senate Bill No. 03-225. The statutory amendment, which is now in effect, increased the application fee from \$10 to \$150. The change in Rule 6505(b)(XI) reflects this statutorily-mandated application fee increase.

13. Eddie's commented that the \$750,000 minimum public liability coverage combined single limit liability in Rule 6507 should be reduced to \$300,000, the limit which applied in the mid-1990s. This suggestion will not be adopted. Eddie's provided no information or data to support its comment. The \$750,000 limit contained in Rule 6507 is the same limit as contained in Rule 4 CCR 723-9-11.2.1, now in effect. This is an important public protection which should not be diminished absent significant information and data to support the diminution. That evidence does not appear in this rulemaking record.

- 14. Eddie's commented that Rule 6508 should be amended. Rule 6508 puts the burden on the towing carrier to make sure that there is proof of financial responsibility on file with the Commission. Eddie's would change the rule to provide that, when insurance has lapsed or is canceled, it is the Commission's responsibility to contact the insurance carrier to determine whether the insurance carrier will renew, continue, or reinstate the insurance. This suggested change will not be adopted. It is the towing carrier's responsibility to be sure that proof of its financial responsibility is on file with the Commission. That responsibility rests with the towing carrier under the present Rule 4 CCR 723-9-11.6. Adoption of the Eddie's proposal would introduce an unnecessary level of complexity, would unnecessarily burden the Commission's limited resources, and would interject the Commission into the business and contractual arrangement between the towing carrier and its insurance carrier.
- 15. Eddie's commented that the language of proposed Rule 6509 should be changed for clarity. The suggested change will be adopted and is reflected in Rule 6509.
- 16. Eddie's suggested that the State create and maintain one consolidated database, to which towing carriers would have access, containing the vehicle ownership records of the

Commission, the Department of Revenue, and the Department of Public Safety. Eddie's stated its belief that implementation of this suggestion would reduce the need for government agencies, including this Commission, to have access to a towing carrier's records. *See*, *e.g.*, Rule 6520. This suggestion is beyond the scope of this proceeding and beyond the Commission's ability to implement unilaterally. The suggestion will not be adopted.

- 17. Staff made a number of recommendations for changes to the language of the proposed rules. There was no comment on the proposed changes. With one exception, the recommendations are reflected in the attached rules.
- 18. The ALJ will not adopt *in toto* the Staff recommended change to Rule 6515(a). Staff recommended changing the language of that rule to state explicitly the time within which the towing carrier must provide notice of the location of the storage facility to which a vehicle has been towed. The ALJ agrees with this proposal because a specific time limit is needed and should be added.
- by Rule 6515(a) within 24 hours of placing a motor vehicle (other than an abandoned motor vehicle) in a storage facility. The ALJ will not adopt this recommendation. First, the 24-hour time period coincides with the 24 hours of storage included in towing rates. *See* Rule 6519(h)(III). Requiring notice within 24 hours of placing a vehicle in a storage facility would permit a towing carrier to delay giving the notice until the end of the 24-hour period, thus leading to increased charges and fees. Second, many municipal and county ordinances or regulations require that notification of the location to which a vehicle has been towed for storage be given within the first 30 to 60 minutes. A Commission rule allowing a towing carrier as long

as 24 hours to give the same notice has the potential to create unnecessary confusion. Third, to leave the owner of a towed vehicle without information concerning the location of the vehicle for a period of up to 24 hours is unreasonable.

- 20. The ALJ finds that an appropriate and reasonable time limit is one hour. This more closely coincides with the reporting requirements of other governmental entities. In addition, it addresses and minimizes the adverse effects, discussed above, of the Staff's proposed 24-hour limit. Rule 6515(a) contains the requirement that notice be given within one hour.
- 21. Eddie's commented on a number of the proposed rules in addition to the rules discussed above. Some of the comments included suggested changes. The suggested changes which are not addressed in this decision are not adopted because there was insufficient information provided to support their adoption.
- 22. The final towing carrier rules, attached to this Decision, contain grammatical and similar changes made to make the rules clearer, more understandable, and internally consistent.
- 23. The rules attached to this Decision are clear; are necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare; are understandable; do not conflict with other provisions of law; and do not duplicate other rules. The rules are in the public interest, and they should be adopted.
- 24. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the Administrative Law Judge recommends that the Commission enter the following order.

## III. ORDER

#### **A.** The Commission Orders That:

- 1. The Rules Regulating Towing Carrier Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 *Code of Colorado Regulations* 723-9, which are set out in the Appendix to this Order are adopted.
- 2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.
- 3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.
- a) If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.
- b) If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S. If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts. This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.
- 4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

(SEAL)



Sun 2. Suit

Bruce N. Smith Director

# THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

MANA L. JENNINGS-FADER

Administrative Law Judge

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 1 of 22

# THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

# RULES REGULATING TOWING CARRIER TRANSPORTATION BY MOTOR VEHICLE

#### 4 CCR 723-9

BASIS, PURPOSE, ANI	O STATUTORY AUTHORITY1
	ULES2
	Applicability of Towing Carrier Rules
	Definitions
6502.	Applications4
6503.	Required Reports, Name Change, Address Change4
6504.	Permit Requirement and Limitation5
6505.	Permit Application5
6506.	Revocation, Suspension, Alteration, or Amendment of Permit.6
6507.	Financial Responsibility7
6508.	Summary Suspensions and/or Revocations for Lack of Financial Responsibility9
6509.	Written Request for Financial Responsibility Information9
6510.	Annual Motor Vehicle Identification Fees
6511.	External Markings of Motor Vehicles10
6512.	Designation of Agent
6513.	Leasing of Motor Vehicles11
6514.	Equipment and Accessories
6515.	Storage Facilities
6516.	Authorization for Towing of Motor Vehicles
6517.	Tow Record/Invoice
6518.	Disclosure of Rates and Charges
6519.	Rates and Charges
	Inspection of Records, Facilities, and Towing Vehicles $20$
6521.	Waiver and Variance of Rules
6522.	Violations, Civil Enforcement, and Enhancement of Civil Penalties

#### BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The basis for and purpose of these rules is to describe the manner of regulation over persons providing towing carrier services by motor vehicle in the State of Colorado. These rules address a wide variety of subject

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 2 of 22

areas including, but not limited to: safety; civil penalties; the issuance, extension, transfer, and revocation of operating authority; insurance and registration requirements; towing and storage rates; the identification, condition, and leasing of motor vehicles; record keeping; and service standards.

The statutory authority for the promulgation of these rules can be found at §§ 40-2-108 and 40-13-107, C.R.S.

#### **TOWING CARRIER RULES**

#### 6500. Applicability of Towing Carrier Rules.

- (a) Rules 6500 through 6599 apply to all towing carriers.
- (b) Nothing in these towing carrier rules shall be construed to prohibit a law enforcement agency from adopting and enforcing additional or more stringent requirements relating to safety, equipment, and accessories for any towing carrier providing towing services at the direction of the law enforcement agency.

#### 6501. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions contained in this Rule, the statutory definitions apply. The following definitions apply only in the context of these Towing Carrier Rules:

- (a) "Abandoned motor vehicle" means an "abandoned motor vehicle" as defined by §§ 42-4-1802 and 42-4-2102, C.R.S.
- (b) "Authorized agent" means a person who has been given written or oral permission by the owner or lessee of a motor vehicle to act as agent for the disposition of said motor vehicle.
- (c) "Authorized operator" means a person who has been given written or oral permission to drive a motor vehicle by the owner or lessee of said motor vehicle.
- (d) "Commission" means the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado.
- (e) "Enforcement official" means authorized personnel of the Commission, the Colorado Department of Revenue, the Colorado State Patrol, and any other law enforcement agency.
- (f) "Exempt interstate carrier" means any interstate or foreign commerce carrier by motor vehicle operating into, from, within, or through the State of Colorado pursuant to federal exemptions or partial exemptions from economic regulation, as described in § 40-10-120(3) and 40-11-115(3), C.R.S.
- (g) "Form D-1" means a NARUC Uniform Identification Cab Card for motor vehicle or driveaway operations conducted by an exempt interstate carrier.
- (h) "Form E" means a NARUC Form E Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 3 of 22

- (i) "Form G" means a NARUC Form G Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the surety.
- (j) "Form H" means a NARUC Form H Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer.
- (k) "Form J" means a NARUC Form J Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the surety.
- (l) "Form K" means a NARUC Form K Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies.
- (m) "Form L" means a NARUC Form L Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Surety Bonds.
- (n) "Form RS-3 registration receipt" means a receipt issued to a regulated interstate carrier indicating that the required financial responsibility has been filed with the Commission and fees have been paid.
- (o) "GCWR" means gross combination weight rating, the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a combination (articulated) motor vehicle. In the absence of a value specified by the manufacturer, GCWR is determined by adding the GVWR of the power unit and the total weight of the towed unit and any load thereon.
- (p) "GVWR" means gross vehicle weight rating, the value specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a single motor vehicle.
- (q) "Holidays" means those days designated as legal holidays by the Colorado General Assembly.
- (r) "Legal disability" means the condition of a trailer or semi-trailer that, due to its weight, height, or other size characteristics, is unable to be transported when attached to the vehicle that was pulling it
- (s) "Motor vehicle" means any vehicle that is propelled or drawn by mechanical power on the public ways of the State of Colorado. The term also includes any trailer or semi-trailer attached to the vehicle, or any trailer or semi-trailer which, due to collision, mechanical disablement, legal disability, order of a law enforcement officer or property owner, must be towed or transported separately from the vehicle from which it was detached.
- (t) "Mountain area" means that part of the State of Colorado west of a line drawn ten air miles west of, and parallel to, Interstate Highway 25.
- (u) "NARUC" means the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.
- (v) "Non-consensual tow" means a tow authorized or directed by a person other than the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner. A non-consensual tow includes:
  - (I) a private property tow;
  - (II) any tow performed contrary to the specific direction of the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner;

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 4 of 22

- (III) except for a private property tow or a tow ordered by a law enforcement official, any tow performed without disclosure of the rates and charges to be assessed as set forth in rule 6518;
- (IV) a tow directed or authorized by a law enforcement officer, either verbally or in writing, in any circumstance when the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner is unavailable, unable, or unwilling to direct the tow; or
- (V) any other tow performed without prior consent or authorization of the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of the motor vehicle.
- (w) "Normal business hours" means 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, and any additional hours and days the towing carrier may designate.
- (x) "Private property tow" means the towing of a motor vehicle from private property at the request of the property owner, as those terms are defined in paragraph 6516(a).
- (y) "Public ways" include, but are not limited to, every street, road, or highway in the state of Colorado over which the public generally has a right to travel.
- (z) "Regulated interstate carrier" means any interstate or foreign commerce carrier by motor vehicle operating into, from, within, or through the State of Colorado under authority issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration or its predecessor agency, as described in §§ 40-10-120(2) and 40-11-115(2), C.R.S.
- (aa) "Towing carrier" or "carrier" means "towing carrier" as defined by § 40-13-101(3), C.R.S.
- (bb) "Towing carrier permit" or "permit" means the permit issued by the Commission to a towing carrier pursuant to § 40-13-103(1), C.R.S.
- (cc) "Towing Carrier Rules" means rules 6500 through 6599, inclusive.
- (dd) "Towing vehicle" means "towing vehicle" as defined by § 40-13-101(4), C.R.S.

#### 6502. Applications.

Towing carriers may seek Commission action regarding any of the following matters through the filing of an appropriate application:

- (a) For a permit to operate as a towing carrier, as provided in rule 6505.
- (b) For any other matter provided by statute or rule but not specifically described in this rule.

#### 6503. Required Reports, Name Change, Address Change.

(a) Within 48 hours of receipt of all supporting documentation required by this paragraph, each towing carrier shall file a signed report with the Commission detailing any name change or address change. Such a filing shall indicate all the affected towing carrier's permit numbers. Name change filings, including trade name changes or trade name additions, shall include supporting documentation from the Colorado Secretary of State and/or the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 5 of 22

- (b) In the event of a name change or an address change, the towing carrier shall comply with all other applicable Commission rules, including but not limited to, rules regarding financial responsibility filings.
- (c) Notice sent by any person to the towing carrier's address on file with the Commission shall constitute prima facie evidence that the notice was sent to the carrier at its correct address.
- (d) No name change shall be effective until proper proof of financial responsibility in the carrier's new name has been filed with the Commission.

#### 6504. Permit Requirement and Limitation.

- (a) Unless exempted by § 40-13-103(2), C.R.S., no person shall operate as a towing carrier without a valid towing carrier permit issued by the Commission.
- (b) Every towing carrier shall keep a copy of its towing carrier permit issued under this rule in each towing vehicle it owns, controls, operates, or manages under said permit.
- (c) Towing carrier permits do not authorize a carrier to perform transportation services covered by Articles 10, 11, or 16 of Title 40, C.R.S.

#### 6505. Permit Application.

- (a) Any person seeking a permit to operate as a towing carrier shall submit an application for a permit to the Commission and shall cause to be filed the information identified in paragraph (c) of this rule.
- (b) The application shall contain the following:
  - (I) The name of the applicant and the trade name under which operations will be conducted.
  - (II) The applicant's telephone number, complete physical address, and complete mailing address. A post office box is only acceptable if a physical address is also provided.
  - (III) If the applicant is a corporation:
    - (A) The name of the state in which it is incorporated. If the state of incorporation is not Colorado, the application shall also contain a certificate from the Colorado Secretary of State that qualifies the applicant to do business in Colorado.
    - (B) The location of its principal office in the State of Colorado.
    - (C) The names of its directors and officers.
    - (D) A copy of its articles of incorporation or charter.
    - (E) A copy of its certificate of assumed trade name, if any.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 6 of 22

- (IV) If the applicant is a limited liability company:
  - (A) The state in which the company is organized. If the state of organization is not Colorado, the application shall also contain a certificate from the Colorado Secretary of State that qualifies the applicant to do business in Colorado.
  - (B) The location of the company's principal office in the State of Colorado.
  - (C) The name, title, and business address of each member.
  - (D) A copy of its certificate of assumed trade name, if any.
- (V) If the applicant is a partnership, the name, title, and business address of each partner.
- (VI) A list and complete description of the equipment to be operated under the permit, including information regarding motor vehicle year, make, model, vehicle identification number, and GVWR.
- (VII) A statement that applicant is familiar with the Towing Carrier Rules and all applicable safety rules and that applicant will comply with them.
- (VIII) A statement that applicant understands that the filing of an application does not constitute authority to operate.
- (IX) A statement whether or not the towing carrier will provide storage for towed motor vehicles. If storage is provided, the application shall contain the storage facility's address and, if one exists, telephone number.
- (X) A statement made under penalty of perjury and signed by an officer, a partner, an owner, or an employee of the applicant, as appropriate, who is authorized to act on behalf of the applicant and which states that the contents of the application are true, accurate, and correct. The application shall contain the complete address of the affiant.
- (XI) An application fee of \$150.
- (c) In addition to the application, a person seeking a permit to operate as a towing carrier shall cause to be filed both the required proof of financial responsibility and the required annual identification fees.
- (d) The Commission will not issue a permit to operate as a towing carrier until the Commission has received a complete application, the required proof of financial responsibility, and the required annual identification fees.

#### 6506. Revocation, Suspension, Alteration, or Amendment of Permit.

- (a) After a hearing upon at least ten days' notice to the towing carrier affected, the Commission may revoke, suspend, alter, or amend a towing carrier permit for any of the following reasons:
  - (I) Violation of, or failure to comply with, any statute or regulation concerning towing carriers or the towing, storage, or disposal of towed motor vehicles. This paragraph

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 7 of 22

includes, but is not limited to, a violation of part 18 and part 21 of article 4 of title 42, C.R.S.

- (II) Violation of, or failure to comply with, the terms and conditions of the permit.
- (III) Exceeding the authority granted in the permit.
- (IV) Violation of, or failure to observe and comply with, any Commission order, rule, or regulation.
- (b) A towing carrier whose towing carrier permit(s) is revoked for a third time shall not be issued another towing carrier permit for one year from the date of the third permit revocation. In determining whether a carrier has had its permit(s) revoked three times, a revocation for failure to maintain the financial responsibility required by rule 6507 shall not be counted as one of the three revocations unless the towing carrier knowingly operated without the required financial responsibility.

#### 6507. Financial Responsibility.

- (a) The following financial responsibility is required.
  - (I) Motor vehicle liability. Every towing carrier shall obtain and keep in force at all times motor vehicle liability insurance coverage or a surety bond providing the same coverage. Motor vehicle liability means liability for bodily injury and property damage.
  - (II) Cargo liability. Every towing carrier shall obtain and keep in force at all times cargo liability insurance coverage or a surety bond providing the same coverage. Cargo liability coverage for a towing carrier shall include coverage of physical damage to the motor vehicle in tow (on hook) and loss of its contents.
  - (III) Garage keeper's liability. Towing carriers providing storage, directly or through an agent, shall obtain and keep in force at all times garage keeper's liability insurance coverage.
- (b) The minimum levels of financial responsibility are as follows:
  - (I) Motor vehicle liability coverage.
    - (A) Motor vehicle liability coverage shall be combined single limit liability.
    - (B) Schedule of limits:

Type of Carrier	Vehicle GVWR	Minimum Level
Towing Carriers	Any GVWR	\$ 750,000

- (C) Towing carriers may obtain a certificate of self-insurance issued pursuant to §§ 10-4-716 and 42-7-501, C.R.S.
- (II) Cargo liability coverage shall provide coverage to the extent of the towing carrier's legal liability for loss or damage to the property of any person or persons, other than the insured, which is carried in, upon, or attached to the towing vehicle and/or its trailers or dollies operated by, or for, or under the control of the towing carrier.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 8 of 22

- (III) Garage keeper's liability coverage shall provide coverage to the extent of the towing carrier's legal liability for loss or damage to the property of any person or persons, other than the insured, which is stored by the towing carrier directly or through an agent.
- (c) Except as provided in paragraph (d), the towing carrier shall ensure that insurance or surety bond coverage:
  - (I) is provided only by insurance or surety companies authorized to provide such coverage in the State of Colorado;
  - (II) is not less than the minimum limits set forth under paragraph (b) of this rule;
  - (III) covers all motor vehicles which may be operated by or for the towing carrier under its towing carrier permit, with such coverage being accomplished by a "Waiver of Description" endorsement on each policy;
  - (IV) provides for the payment of benefits by the insurance or surety bond company directly to parties damaged by the towing carrier on a "first dollar"/"dollar one" basis;
  - (V) if the coverage contains a retained risk provision, such provision shall obligate the insurance or surety company to pay the party damaged by the towing carrier regardless of the level of funds in the retained risk pool; and
  - (VI) does not permit a towing carrier to pay benefits directly to a party damaged by said carrier.
- (d) The provisions of subparagraphs (IV) and (VI) of paragraph (c) of this rule shall not apply to towing carriers who have filed proof of self-insurance pursuant to §§ 10-4-716 or 42-7-501, C.R.S.
- (e) The towing carrier shall retain each original insurance or surety policy for required coverage and shall keep a copy of its motor vehicle liability coverage in each motor vehicle that it operates.
- (f) The towing carrier shall cause to be filed with the Commission the appropriate form in lieu of the original policy as follows:
  - (I) Motor vehicle liability.
    - (A) For all towing carriers, a Form E or G; except that a Colorado Form 10-INS may be used until December 31, 2003.
    - (B) For towing carriers obtaining a certificate of self-insurance under the provisions of §§ 10-4-716 or 42-7-501, C.R.S., a copy of said certificate. Upon renewal of the certificate, the carrier shall file a copy of the most current certificate.
  - (II) Cargo liability. For all towing carriers, a Form H or J; except that a Colorado Form 12-INS may be used until December 31, 2003.
  - (III) Garage keeper's liability. For all towing carriers, a Colorado Form 14-INS.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 9 of 22

- (IV) All forms referred to in this rule are available from the Commission or on its website.
- (g) The towing carrier shall ensure that each policy and each form required by or identified in this rule contains the towing carrier's exact name, trade name (if any), and address as shown in the records of the Commission.
- (h) The towing carrier shall ensure that any change of name, trade name (if any), address, or policy number is filed, using an appropriate endorsement or amendment, with the Commission.
- (i) The proof of minimum levels of financial responsibility required by this rule is public information. Upon written request from a member of the public, the Commission will release this information.
- (j) Each certificate of insurance required by and filed with the Commission shall be kept in full force and effect unless and until canceled by a 30-day written notice, on Form K or Form L, as applicable, from the insurer to the Commission. Time shall run from the date the notice is received by the Commission. In lieu of the prescribed form, the insurer may cancel a certificate of insurance by letter to the Commission provided the letter contains the same information as required by the prescribed form.

#### 6508. Summary Suspensions and/or Revocations for Lack of Financial Responsibility.

- (a) Whenever Commission records indicate that a towing carrier's required insurance or surety coverage, except for garage keeper's coverage, is or will be canceled and the Commission has no proof on file indicating replacement coverage, the Commission shall summarily suspend such carrier's towing permit. The summary suspension shall be effective on the date of coverage cancellation.
- (b) The Director of the Commission shall send a notice of canceled insurance or surety coverage to such a towing carrier. The notice shall advise the carrier that its authority to operate is summarily suspended as of the coverage cancellation date and that the Commission has initiated or may initiate revocation proceedings.
- (c) A towing carrier receiving notice of summary suspension shall not conduct operations under any of its authorities, including operations under any towing permit, until proper proof of insurance or surety coverage is filed with the Commission.
- (d) If the Commission receives proper proof of coverage prior to commencement of revocation proceedings, the summary suspension will be deemed lifted without further order of the Commission.
- (e) If the Commission has initiated revocation proceedings but receives proper proof of coverage prior to a final Commission order of revocation, the Commission shall lift the summary suspension even if there is a lapse in coverage. However, operations performed during lapses in coverage are subject to civil penalty assessments.

#### 6509. Written Request for Financial Responsibility Information.

In the event an owner of a towed motor vehicle, an authorized operator, or an authorized agent of the owner claims that damage to the towed motor vehicle occurred during a tow or storage, the towing carrier shall provide, in writing, the name of its insurance or surety company and its policy number within 48 hours

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 10 of 22

after receiving a written request for that information from the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of the towed motor vehicle.

#### 6510. Annual Motor Vehicle Identification Fees.

- (a) Every towing carrier shall pay to the Commission an annual identification fee of five dollars before the first day of January of each calendar year, for each motor vehicle that such carrier owns, controls, operates, or manages within the State of Colorado as set forth in § 40-2-110.5, C.R.S.
- (b) A towing carrier that obtains a permit during the calendar year shall pay the annual identification fees at the time of registering as a towing carrier.
- (c) A towing carrier that acquires one or more additional motor vehicles during the calendar year shall pay the annual identification fees prior to putting the additional vehicle(s) in-service.
- (d) Annual identification fees shall be valid only for the calendar year for which they are purchased.
- (e) Proof of payment of each annual identification fee shall be in the form of a vehicle identification stamp issued by the Commission; except that a Form RS-3 shall be issued to a regulated interstate carrier registered under the Single State Registration System.
  - (I) Except as provided in subparagraphs (II) or (III) of this paragraph, a towing carrier shall not operate a motor vehicle unless it has affixed a valid vehicle identification stamp to the inside lower right-hand corner of the motor vehicle's windshield.
  - (II) Towing carriers that are also exempt interstate carriers shall carry a Form D-1 with the identification stamp affixed on the back of the cab card in the square bearing the name of the State of Colorado in lieu of affixing the vehicle identification stamp to the windshield.
  - (III) Towing carriers that are also regulated interstate carriers registered under the Single State Registration System shall carry a copy of the current year's Form RS-3 Registration Receipt in each motor vehicle in lieu of affixing the vehicle identification stamp to the windshield or to the Form D-1.
- (f) Towing carriers using a motor vehicle in both interstate and intrastate operations need only pay the fees associated with interstate operations for that motor vehicle.

#### 6511. External Markings of Motor Vehicles.

- (a) Except as provided by paragraph (b) of this rule, a towing carrier shall mark each of its motor vehicles in accordance with this rule.
  - (I) The markings shall:
    - (A) be placed on both sides of the motor vehicle;
    - (B) contain only characters that contrast sharply with the background on which the characters are placed; and

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 11 of 22

- (C) contain only characters that are readily legible at a distance of 50 feet from the motor vehicle. Legibility shall be determined during daylight hours and while the motor vehicle is stationary.
- (II) The markings shall contain the following information:
  - the name or trade name as set forth in the towing carrier's towing carrier permit;
     and
  - (B) the letter and number designation of the towing carrier's towing carrier permit, preceded by the letters "CO PUC."
- (b) A towing carrier shall remove all markings from a motor vehicle if the carrier is permanently withdrawing the motor vehicle from service or is leasing the motor vehicle to another person for purposes not related to operations under the carrier's permit.

#### 6512. Designation of Agent.

- (a) Each towing carrier shall file in writing with the Commission, and shall maintain on file, its designation of the name and address of a person upon whom service may be made of any notice, order, process, or demand. The named person is the carrier's designated agent. A carrier shall not designate the Secretary of State of the State of Colorado. The person designated, if a natural person, shall be at least 18 years of age. The address of the person designated shall be in the State of Colorado.
- (b) If the designated agent changes, or if the designated agent's name or address changes, the towing carrier shall notify the Commission by filing a new designation within 48 hours of receiving the information required to be filed.
- (c) Service upon a towing carrier's named designated agent as filed with the Commission shall be deemed to be service upon the towing carrier.

#### 6513. Leasing of Motor Vehicles.

- (a) For purposes of this rule, "lessee" means a towing carrier, and "lessor" means the motor vehicle owner.
- (b) Subject to the requirements of this rule, a lessee may lease one or more motor vehicles for use in the lessee's fleet.
- (c) The lessee shall ensure that leases are in writing on a form supplied by the Commission. The lease shall contain: the name and signature of the lessor; the name and signature of the lessee; the date of the agreement; for each motor vehicle subject to the lease, the motor vehicle's make, model, year, and identification number; the period covered by the lease; and the consideration to be paid by the lessee. Nothing in this rule precludes the use of a more comprehensive lease supplementing the Commission's lease form. The lessee shall ensure that any supplemental lease provisions do not conflict with the required information of the Commission's lease form.
- (d) The lessee shall ensure that a copy of the lease is carried in each leased motor vehicle during the time that the lease is effective.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 12 of 22

- (e) The lessee shall ensure that a copy of the lease is kept in the lessee's files during the time that the lease is effective and for six months after the date on which the last motor vehicle covered by the lease leaves the lessee's control.
- (f) During the existence of the lease, the lessee shall have full discretion and complete control of the leased motor vehicle and shall be fully responsible for its operation in accordance with applicable law. This responsibility includes, but is not limited to, compliance with marking requirements; safety of the motor vehicle and its equipment and accessories; and all financial responsibility.

#### 6514. Equipment and Accessories.

In addition to complying with all applicable safety regulations, all towing vehicles shall meet the following minimum requirements:

- (a) Basic towing vehicle requirements.
  - (I) A towing carrier shall equip its towing vehicles with engines, transmissions, differentials, driveline components, brake systems, frames, steering components, and suspensions of sufficiently heavy construction to safely winch, lift, tow, load, and transport the towed motor vehicle.
  - (II) A towing carrier shall maintain its towing vehicles in a manner ensuring the safe winching, lifting, towing, loading, and transporting of the towed motor vehicle.
  - (III) A towing carrier shall ensure that all its towing vehicles have each of the following:
    - (A) a GVWR of at least 10,000 pounds;
    - (B) fender coverings for front and rear wheels;
    - (C) the following operational electric lights:
      - (i) one spotlight, mounted behind the cab, capable of lighting the scene of disability and the motor vehicle to be moved (reverse/back-up lights of the towing vehicle shall not be used in lieu of the spotlight); and
      - (ii) one portable, combination light system capable of being securely attached on the rear of the towed motor vehicle; consisting of (with an equal number on each side) two tail lamps, two stop lamps, and two turn signals; and operated in conjunction with analogous lights on the towing vehicle; and
    - (D) the following accessories:
      - (i) one shovel;
      - (ii) one broom; and
      - (iii) one steering wheel tying device free from cracks, fraying or deterioration.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 13 of 22

- (b) Winching, lifting, towing, and carrying equipment shall be maintained in a manner to ensure the safe winching, lifting, towing, loading, and transporting of the towed motor vehicle and shall include at least one of the following:
  - (I) Winch and crane: A power-driven winch and crane with a capacity of not less than 6,000 pounds with a winch cable capable of withstanding a test of not less than 10,000 pounds at breaking point or hydraulic system vehicle lift and a cradle, with a tow plate or sling, equipped with safety chains and chains with J-hooks of sufficiently heavy construction to ensure the safe lifting of the motor vehicle;
  - (II) Wheel-lift system: A wheel-lift system with a stinger, L-arm brackets, safety chains and tie-down straps, or a mechanical wheel retainer device forming an integral part of the L-arm bracket, of sufficiently heavy construction to secure the motor vehicle to the wheel-lift unit and to ensure the safe lifting and towing of the motor vehicle; or
  - (III) Rollback system: A rollback system with a winch and cable as described in subparagraph (I) of this paragraph, safety chains, tie-down equipment, and truck bed of sufficiently heavy construction to ensure the safe loading and transporting of the motor vehicle.
- (c) A towing carrier shall not tow a motor vehicle that is so extensively damaged as to be unmovable on its own wheels, unless the towing vehicle is equipped with dollies, a wheel-lift system, or a rollback system of sufficiently heavy construction to ensure the safe loading and towing of the damaged motor vehicle.
- (d) Rescue and recovery equipment.
  - (I) For purposes of this paragraph (d), rescue and recovery operation means that a motor vehicle must first be moved by means of the mechanical devices described in subparagraph (d)(II) before it is capable of being towed by the towing vehicle.
  - (II) The following equipment is required only if the towing carrier performs rescue and recovery operations:
    - (A) Dead-man blocks/scotch blocks and other tie-down equipment that are sufficient to hold the towing vehicle in place while performing the rescue or recovery operation;
    - (B) Web straps or slings that are free of cuts or fraying across 50 percent of the width of their surface;
    - (C) Snatch blocks that are free of any cracks and excessive wear, and are lubricated sufficiently to allow free movement of the sheave and other swivel points; and
    - (D) Chains that are capable of withstanding a test of not less than 10,000 pounds at breaking point, with links that are free of cracks and of wear that exceeds 15 percent of the original stock diameter.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 14 of 22

#### 6515. Storage Facilities.

- (a) Disclosure of facility location. Within one hour of placing a motor vehicle other than an abandoned motor vehicle in a storage facility, a towing carrier shall disclose the location of the storage facility as follows:
  - (I) By notifying the owner, the authorized operator, or the authorized agent of the owner of the towed motor vehicle;
  - (II) By notifying the owner of the private property from which the motor vehicle was towed;
  - (III) By notifying the responsible law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the place from which the motor vehicle was towed.
- (b) Disclosure for abandoned motor vehicles. A towing carrier which places an abandoned motor vehicle in a storage facility shall disclose the location of the storage facility by complying with the procedure for abandoned motor vehicles in Parts 18 and 21 of Article 4 of Title 42, C.R.S.
- (c) Noncompliance with disclosure requirements. A towing carrier that fails to comply with the disclosure requirements of this rule shall not charge, collect, or retain any fees or charges for storage of the stored motor vehicle.
- (d) Release of motor vehicles from storage. A towing carrier that accepts for storage a motor vehicle that has been towed as a private property tow shall be available to release said motor vehicle within the first 48 hours of storage to the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of the motor vehicle either:
  - (I) With one hour's notice during all times other than normal business hours; or
  - (II) Upon demand during normal business hours.

#### 6516. Authorization for Towing of Motor Vehicles.

- (a) For purposes of this rule:
  - (I) "Private property" includes publicly owned property except public ways.
  - (II) "Property owner" includes:
    - (A) a private property owner or lessee;
    - (B) an agent of the private property owner, authorized in writing to act as agent; or
    - (C) a federal, state, or local government entity, or such entity's employees responsible for publicly owned property.
  - (III) "Publicly owned property" includes, but is not limited to, medians, parking lots, or areas where parking is reserved, regulated by permits or meters, or otherwise restricted or prohibited.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 15 of 22

- (b) Towing carrier not an agent. A towing carrier, its employees, partners, officers, directors, stockholders, or independent contractors working for or with the towing carrier shall not act as an agent for the property owner. Nothing in this paragraph shall preclude a towing carrier, which towing carrier has been paid for the private property tow by the private property owner at rates in accordance with rule 6519(a), from collecting the towing charges from the motor vehicle owner and reimbursing said charges to the private property owner.
- (c) Authorization.
  - (I) A towing carrier shall not tow any motor vehicle unless one of the following conditions is met:
    - (A) The towing carrier is directed to perform a tow by a law enforcement officer;
    - (B) The towing carrier is requested to perform a tow by the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of a motor vehicle; or
    - (C) The towing carrier is requested to perform a tow from private property upon the authorization of the property owner.
  - (II) Property owner authorization. The authorization from the property owner shall be in writing; shall identify, by make and license plate number (or in lieu thereof, by vehicle identification number), the motor vehicle to be towed; and shall include the date, time, and place of removal.
    - (A) The authorization shall be filled out in full, signed by the property owner, and given to the towing carrier at the time the motor vehicle is to be removed from the private property.
    - (B) A towing carrier shall not accept or use blank authorizations pre-signed by the property owner.
    - (C) A towing carrier shall make the written authorization available for inspection by the owner of the towed motor vehicle or his or her authorized representative.
    - (D) The written authorization may be incorporated with the tow record/invoice required by rule 6517.
- (d) Noncompliance. If a tow is performed in violation of this rule, or in violation of § 42-4-2103, C.R.S., the towing carrier shall not charge, collect, or retain any fees or charges for the unauthorized services it performs. Any motor vehicle that is held in storage and that was towed without proper authorization shall be released immediately to the owner, lien holder, or agent of the owner or lien holder.

#### 6517. Tow Record/Invoice.

- (a) Towing carriers shall use and complete all applicable portions of a tow record/invoice form for all non-consensual tows. The tow record/invoice form shall contain the following information:
  - (I) the serial number of the tow record/invoice;

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 16 of 22

- (II) the name, address, permit number, and telephone number of towing carrier;
- (III) the address of the storage facility used by the towing carrier, including the telephone number for that storage facility if the number is different than the telephone number of the carrier;
- (IV) the date and time of tow commencement and completion, the time of arrival on the scene if different from the time of commencement, the time the towed motor vehicle is placed in storage, and all other times necessary for the purpose of calculation of hourly charges;
- (V) the make, model, year, vehicle identification number, and, if available, license plate number of the motor vehicle towed;
- (VI) the origin address of the tow, the destination address of the tow, and the one-way mileage between such addresses;
- (VII) the name, address, and telephone number of the person authorizing the tow;
- (VIII) the signature of the person authorizing a private property tow;
- (IX) a list of the contents of the motor vehicle towed;
- (X) the unit number or license number of the towing vehicle;
- (XI) the signature of the towing vehicle operator;
- (XII) an itemized invoice of all towing charges assessed; and
- (XIII) the signature of the owner, authorized operator, or other authorized person to whom the motor vehicle is released.
- (b) The tow record/invoice shall be a multiple copy form. The copies shall be distributed as follows:
  - (I) The towing carrier shall retain the copy bearing all required original signatures for authorization and release.
  - (II) The towing carrier shall deliver a copy to the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner at the time of payment of towing charges and release of the towed motor vehicle.

#### 6518. Disclosure of Rates and Charges.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this rule, prior to performing any tow, a towing carrier shall disclose to the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of the motor vehicle all rates and charges to be assessed.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 17 of 22

- (b) This disclosure may either be written or oral and shall include, but is not limited to, the following information:
  - (I) any extra charges made necessary because, at the time of the tow, the towing carrier would be unable to deliver the motor vehicle to a repair or body shop during the normal working hours of such repair or body shop;
  - (II) any extra charges made necessary because, at the time of the tow, the towing carrier would be unable to deliver the motor vehicle to a location and at a time agreed upon by the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner to take delivery of the vehicle and pay the tow charges; and
  - (III) estimated charges for mileage and storage.
- (c) This rule does not apply to private property tows or tows ordered by law enforcement officials.

#### 6519. Rates and Charges.

- (a) Rates and charges for private property tows. Except as otherwise provided by this rule, the maximum rate that a towing carrier may charge for a private property tow of a motor vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds is \$138.00. This maximum rate shall include, but not be limited to, charges for all towing services rendered, hookup fees, and use of dollies or go-jacks; gate fees, storage for the first 24 hours commencing at the time the vehicle is placed in storage, and release of the motor vehicle from storage pursuant to rule 6515 (d); and all commissions paid and other services rendered in performing such private property tow.
- (b) Except as provided in paragraph (a) of this rule, the maximum charge for release of a motor vehicle from storage at any time other than normal business hours is \$50.00.
- (c) Charge if retrieved before removal.
  - (I) If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of a motor vehicle that is parked without authorization on private property attempts to retrieve the motor vehicle before its removal from the private property, the maximum release fee (whether motor vehicle is hooked up or not) is \$53.00.
  - (II) In such circumstances, the towing carrier shall advise the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of a motor vehicle that he or she may offer payment of the towing carrier's release fee.
  - (III) If payment of the release fee is offered before removal, the towing carrier shall immediately:
    - (A) accept payment;
    - (B) release the motor vehicle; and
    - (C) deliver a copy of the property owner's written authorization to the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of the motor vehicle.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 18 of 22

- (d) Certified VIN verification procedure.
  - (I) When an abandoned motor vehicle that is less than five model years old and that the Colorado Department of Revenue cannot find in its records must be sold, the maximum rates that may be charged for a certified vehicle identification number (VIN) verification are as follows:
    - (A) \$69.00 for one additional hookup;
    - (B) \$69.00 per hour waiting time while waiting for inspection; and
    - (C) \$2.70 per mile mileage charges.
  - (II) In addition, the towing carrier may charge for all other documented expenses of obtaining the VIN verification.
- (e) Notifications. The charges for notification(s) to the owner and the lien holder(s) of the motor vehicle held in storage shall be in accordance with §§ 42-4-1804(6)(a) and 42-4-2103(3)(c)(I), C.R.S., and the rules of the Colorado Department of Revenue.
- (f) Mileage. One-way mileage charges may be assessed for all private property tows at a rate not to exceed \$2.70 per mile.
- (g) Additional charges in mountain areas.
  - (I) When a motor vehicle is towed between points in the mountain area, the towing carrier may add an additional amount not to exceed 12 percent of the towing charges.
  - (II) When a motor vehicle is towed into or out of the mountain area, the towing carrier may add an additional amount not to exceed 12 percent of the towing charges, provided that the mileage charge is prorated for, and applied only to, mileage actually traveled within the mountain area.
- (h) Storage for non-consensual tows.
  - (I) Generally.
    - (A) Storage charges shall not exceed the following rates based on a 24-hour period or any portion of a 24-hour period:
      - (i) \$22.00 for motor vehicles having a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds;
      - (ii) \$28.00 for motor vehicles having a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or more;
      - (iii) in lieu of subparagraphs (A)(i) and (ii), and at the option of the carrier, storage may be charged according to the motor vehicle's length, including the tongue of a trailer, at \$1.10 per foot or portion thereof.
    - (B) For storage in the mountain area, a tow carrier may add up to 12 percent for motor vehicles of any GVWR.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 19 of 22

- (C) Storage charges shall not be charged, collected, or retained for any day in which garage keeper's liability insurance coverage is not kept in force.
- (II) Private property tows. Storage charges for private property tows shall not commence until the expiration of the first 24-hour period of storage (see paragraph 6519(a)).
- (III) Other non-consensual tows. Storage charges for non-consensual tows other than private property tows may commence immediately after the motor vehicle is placed in storage.
- (IV) Maximum accumulated charges for abandoned motor vehicles.
  - (A) Unless a hold order has been placed on the motor vehicle by a court, district attorney, or law enforcement agency, or unless extenuating circumstances have prevented a towing carrier from complying with the notice requirements of § 42-4-2103, C.R.S., storage charges after the tow and storage of an abandoned motor vehicle (other than a collector's item) shall not be accumulated beyond 60 days after the mailing date of the report required by § 42-4-2103(4), C.R.S.
  - (B) If an abandoned motor vehicle is a collector's item as defined in § 42-12-101(2), C.R.S., storage charges shall not be accumulated beyond 120 days after the mailing date of the report required by § 42-3-2103(4), C.R.S.
  - (C) Sale of an abandoned motor vehicle to cover the outstanding towing and storage charges must be done in accordance with the notice and procedural requirements of Parts 18 and 21 of Article 4 of Title 42, C.R.S., and § 42-5-109, C.R.S.
- (V) Consequences of failure to notify. A towing carrier holding a motor vehicle in storage who cannot demonstrate that it has made a good faith effort, as set forth in §§ 42-4-1804(6)(b) and 42-4-2103(3)(c)(II), C.R.S., to comply with the notification requirements of Parts 18 and 21 of Article 4 of Title 42, C.R.S., and § 42-5-109, C.R.S., shall release the motor vehicle immediately to the owner, lien holder, or their agents without charging, collecting, or retaining storage fees.
- (i) Rates for off-road retrieval. When accompanied by documentation showing starting and ending times of the retrieval, which documentation may include law enforcement incident reports and verification, a towing carrier may charge for off road retrieval at its hourly rates on file at the offices of the Public Utilities Commission. Hourly rates for off-road retrieval shall be calculated from the time the towing carrier arrives at the scene and the law enforcement officer approves the retrieval to the time the towing carrier has completed the retrieval and may include time to load and to secure retrieval equipment and the cleanup of the scene. Off-road retrieval time shall not include loading and securing the retrieved motor vehicle to, or onto, the towing vehicle. The cost of additional equipment used may be recovered from the motor vehicle owner at the carrier's actual costs incurred plus an administrative fee of not more than five percent of those actual costs, provided that the actual costs are reasonable by industry standards.
- (j) Incidental costs which may be charged when a stored motor vehicle is sold. When a stored motor vehicle is sold, a towing carrier may charge the costs of maintaining that motor vehicle while in storage in accordance with § 38-20-109, C.R.S. When a stored motor vehicle that does not come within the provisions of § 38-20-109, C.R.S., is sold, a towing carrier may charge the costs of maintaining that motor vehicle, to a maximum of \$90.00. "Cost of maintaining a motor vehicle" means a documented cost that is incurred by the towing carrier and that keeps a motor vehicle in safe or operable condition.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 20 of 22

(k) Exemption for municipal and county contracts. Notwithstanding any other provision of these rules, paragraphs (a) – (j) of this rule shall not apply to any tow or any storage of a towed vehicle performed under a contract with a municipal, county, state, or federal agency.

#### 6520. Inspection of Records, Facilities, and Towing Vehicles.

- (a) Books and records, equipment and storage facilities. Upon request of any enforcement official and during normal business hours, a towing carrier shall make available for inspection its books and records concerning its towing and storage operations, its proof of financial responsibility, and its equipment and storage facilities.
- (b) Upon demand by any enforcement official, the towing carrier shall make available for inspection its towing vehicles and any records required to be carried in the towing vehicle including, but not limited to, its towing carrier permit, Form D-1 or Form RS-3, and proof of financial responsibility.
- (c) Retention of records. The towing carrier shall retain copies of towing record/invoices, storage bills, authorizations for tows, and any other written records required by these rules for a minimum of three years.

#### 6521. Waiver and Variance of Rules.

- (a) Variance or waiver general.
  - (I) As used in this rule, "variance" means authorization to use a different method or means to comply with a rule.
  - (II) As used in this rule, "waiver" means authorization not to comply with a rule.
  - (III) The Commission may permit a variance of a rule, or may waive a rule, if it concludes that, under the circumstances presented, strict compliance with the rule is impossible, impracticable, or unreasonable. The Commission may grant a variance or a waiver subject to such terms and conditions as it deems appropriate. The Commission will not grant a variance or a waiver if the variance or waiver would be contrary to law.
  - (IV) A towing carrier must comply with the rules until and unless the Commission grants that carrier a variance or a waiver of one or more rules.
- (b) Procedure for seeking variance or waiver.
  - (I) A request for a variance or a waiver made in an existing docket shall be made by motion.
  - (II) A request for a variance or a waiver made outside a docketed proceeding shall be made by petition.
  - (III) A request for a variance or a waiver, whether made by motion or by petition, shall include at least the following information:
    - (A) Citation to the specific provision of the rule which is sought to be varied or waived;
    - (B) A clear and concise statement of the variance or waiver requested;

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 21 of 22

- (C) A statement of the facts and circumstances relied upon to demonstrate why the Commission should grant the variance or waiver;
- (D) A statement regarding the duration of the requested variance or waiver, including a statement of specific date or event which will terminate the variance or waiver, if granted;
- (E) A statement whether the variance of waiver, if granted, would be full or partial; and
- (F) An acknowledgment that the towing carrier requesting the variance or waiver understands that the variance or waiver is not effective until approved by the Commission.
- (c) Recordkeeping requirements. A towing carrier that has obtained a variance or a waiver of any rule in this Part shall:
  - (I) If the variance or waiver pertains to a motor vehicle: maintain a copy of the variance or waiver both in the affected motor vehicle and in the carrier's motor vehicle maintenance files.
  - (II) If the variance or waiver pertains to a driver: ensure that a copy of the waiver or variance is carried on the affected driver's person whenever the driver is operating a towing vehicle and also is maintained in the affected driver's qualification file.
  - (III) If the variance or waiver pertains to any matter not listed in subparagraphs (b)(I) or (II) of this rule: maintain a copy of the variance or waiver at the carrier's primary place of business.

#### 6522. Violations, Civil Enforcement, and Enhancement of Civil Penalties.

- (a) A violation of § 40-13-103(1), C.R.S., may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$1,100 for each violation.
- (b) Except as provided in paragraph (a) of this rule, a violation of any provision of Title 40, C.R.S., pertaining to towing carriers may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$550 for each violation.
- (c) A violation of subparagraph (a)(I) or (b)(I) of rule 6507 may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$11,000 for each violation.
- (d) A violation of any of the following rule provisions may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$1,100 for each violation:
  - (I) Paragraph (c) or (d) of rule 6516.
  - (II) Paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), (f), or (g) of rule 6519.
  - (III) Subparagraph (h)(I)(A) or (B) of rule 6519.

Attachment A
Decision No. R03-1016
DOCKET NO. 03R-139TO
Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9
September 8, 2003
Page 22 of 22

- (e) Except as provided in paragraphs (c) and (d) of this rule, a violation of any provision of rules 6500 through 6521 may result in the assessment of a civil penalty of up to \$550 for each violation.
- (f) Pursuant to § 40-7-114, C.R.S., any owner or other person who employs a driver who operates a motor vehicle in violation of the statute or these rules may be assessed a civil penalty for such violation.
- (g) Notwithstanding any provision in these rules to the contrary, the Commission may assess double or triple penalty assessments against any person, as provided by statute and this rule.
- (h) The Commission may assess any person a civil penalty containing doubled penalties if:
  - (I) the person engaged in prior conduct which resulted in the issuance of a prior civil penalty assessment notice;
  - (II) the conduct for which doubled penalties are sought is of the same or narrower character as the conduct that was cited in the prior civil penalty assessment notice;
  - (III) the conduct for which doubled penalties are sought occurred within one year after the conduct which resulted in the issuance of a civil penalty assessment notice; and
  - (IV) the conduct for which doubled penalties are sought occurred after the person's receipt of the prior civil penalty assessment notice.
- (i) The Commission may assess any person a civil penalty containing tripled penalties if:
  - (I) the person engaged in two or more instances of prior conduct which resulted in the issuance of two or more prior civil penalty assessment notices;
  - (II) the conduct for which tripled penalties are sought is of the same or narrower character as the conduct that was cited in the prior civil penalty assessment notices;
  - (III) the conduct for which tripled penalties are sought occurred within one year after the most recent conduct which resulted in the issuance of the prior civil penalty assessment notices; and
  - (IV) the conduct for which tripled penalties are sought occurred after the person's receipt of two or more prior civil penalty assessment notices.
- (j) When more than two instances of prior conduct exist, the Commission shall only consider those instances occurring within one year prior to the conduct for which triple penalties are sought.
- (k) Nothing in this rule shall preclude the assessment of triple penalties when double and triple penalties are sought on the same civil penalty assessment notice.