Decision No. R02-200

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. O01R-552EC

IN THE MATTER OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES, REGULATIONS,
AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT FROM
REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES, 4 CCR 723-33.

RECOMMENDED DECISION OF
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
WILLIAM J. FRITZEL
ADOPTING RULES

Mailed Date: February 27, 2002
l. STATEMENT

A. By Decision No. C01-1234, mailed on December 11, 2001,
the Commission issued notice of proposed rulemaking concerning
proposed amendments to the Rules, Regulations, and Civil
Penalties Governing Motor Vehicle Carriers Exempt  from
Regulation as Public Utilities, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations
(“CCR™™) 723-33.

B. The Commission stated that the intent of the proposed
rules is to update existing rules concerning cargo insurance
contained 1In 4 CCR 723-33.

C. The proposed rules update existing cargo Insurance
rules for property carriers of household goods 1iIn order to
increase the protection of the public against loss or damage.

The proposed amendments to the rules also include the various



forms required for insurance filings. |In addition, the proposed
amendments to the rules increase the penalty from $100 to $200
for a violation of certain statutes and rules making the penalty
consistent with other Commission rules for motor carriers.

D. In 1ts decision, the Commission referred the matter to
an Administrative Law Judge for hearing scheduled for
February 1, 2002. The matter was heard as scheduled.

E. No written comments were filed. Representatives from
the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (“Staff”), White Moving
and Storage, and the Colorado Motor Carriers Association
presented oral comments at the hearing.

F. At the conclusion of the hearing, the matter was taken
under advisement.

G. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., a record of the
proceeding and a written recommended decision are transmitted to

the Commission.

11. FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. The proposed amendments to the rules are intended to
update existing cargo insurance rules for property carriers of
household goods in order that the public i1s better protected
against loss or damage. The proposed amendments also increase
penalties for certain violations of statutes and rules from $100

to $200. A new provision found at proposed Rule 4 CCR 723-33-



3.2.2 requires that carriers of household goods must carry
insurance of not less than $.60 per pound per article. The
proposed rule reads as follows:

723-33-3.2.2 For household goods, the property

carrier and shipper may not agree to an amount less

than sixty cents ($.60) per pound, per article. For

purposes of this Rule 3.2.2, and by way of example,

“article” means a desk but not each individual drawer

of the desk.

B. Staff witness, Terry Willert testified that the rules
are proposed to protect the public. He stated that the
requirement of $.60 per pound per article brings the State
regulations in line with the federal government. Mr. Willert
also stated that the proposed rules increase the penalty for
violations of certain statutes and rules from $100 to $200.
This increase and change make the rules consistent with other
Commission rules for motor carriers.

C. Gary White of White Moving and Storage, an agent for
Bekins Van Lines, testified 1in support of the proposed
amendments to the rules. He strongly favors the $.60 per pound
per article provision contained in Rule 4 CCR 723-33-3.2.2.
Mr. White stated that currently the rules do not provide for
adequate coverage to protect the public. He stated that many
household carriers in Colorado currently carry the $.60 per

pound per article cargo insurance that would be required by the

proposed amendments.



D. Greg Fulton, President of the Colorado Motor Carriers
Association, an association that represents approximately
400 carriers stated that the association strongly supports the
proposed amendments to the rules concerning cargo insurance and
especially the $.60 per pound per article proposed in the
amendments. Mr. Fulton believes that this provision protects
the consumer and will not have an adverse impact on carriers.

E. It is found and concluded that the proposed amendments
to the Rules, Regulations, and Civil Penalties Governing Motor
Vehicle Carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public Utilities,
4 CCR 723-33 are needed and are necessary to better protect the
public. The proposed amendments to the rules should be adopted.

F. Pursuant to 8§ 40-6-109, C.R.S., 1t Is recommended that

the Commission adopt the attached rules.

11. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The proposed amendments to the Rules,
Regulations, and Civil Penalties Governing Motor Vehicle
Carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public Utilities, 4 Code of
Colorado Regulations 723-33, attached to this Decision are
adopted.

2. The rules shall be effective 20 days after

publication by the Secretary of State.



3. The opinion of the Attorney General of the State
of Colorado shall be obtained regarding the constitutionality
and legality of the rules.

4. A copy of the rules adopted by this Decision
shall be filed with the Office of the Secretary of State for
publication in The Colorado Register. The rules shall be
submitted to the appropriate committee of reference of the
Colorado General Assembly if the General Assembly is in session
at the time this Order becomes effective, or to the Committee on
Legal Services, i1If the General Assembly is not in session, for
an opinion as to whether the adopted rules conform with § 24-4-
103, C.R.S.

5. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on
the day i1t becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that 1is
the case, and iIs entered as of the date above.

6. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this
Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may
file exceptions to it.

a. IT no exceptions are filed within 20 days
after service or within any extended period of time authorized,
or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own
motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of
the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114,

C.R.S.



b. IT a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or
reverse basic TfTindings of fact iIn i1ts exceptions, that party
must request and pay for a transcript to be fTiled, or the
parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to
the procedure stated in 8 40-6-113, C.R.S. If no transcript or
stipulation i1s filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set
out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot
challenge these facts. This will limit what the Commission can
review 1T exceptions are filed.

7. IT exceptions to this Decision are fTiled, they
shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for

good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

(SEAL) THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

WILLIAM J. FRITZEL

Administrative Law Judge

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY

AB M

Bruce N. Smith
Director

G:\ORDER\552EC.DOC
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THE
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE
STATE OF COLORADO
RULES, AND—REGULATIONS, AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING
MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT
FROM REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES
ANB—ESTABLESHING CIHAHPENALTEES
4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS (CCR) 723-33
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723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES.

723-33-2. DEFINITIONS.

723-33-3. INSURANCE.

723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION.

723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT.

723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE.
723-33-7. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS GENERALLY.
723-33-8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR LUXURY
LIMOUSINES.

723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES.

723-33-10. HARDSHIP.

723-33-11. VIOLATIONS — CIVIL PENALTIES ASSESSMENTS —
REVOCATION FOR CAUSE.

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY.
The basis and purpose of these rules is to regulate motor

vehicle carriers exempt from regulation as public utilities as
defined iIn 8 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.; to specify the luxury
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features a luxury limousine must offer; to designate the type
of written documentation, as set forth in 8 40-16-104(2),
C.R.S., that a motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as
a public utility must file with this Commission; and to
provide penalties for the violation thereof. These rules are
issued in accordance with 8§ 40-2-110.5, C.R.S.

These amendments are intended to update the existing cargo
insurance rules for property carriers of household goods so
that they may be consistent with the most recent amendments to
theColorade—Revised—Statutesthe public is better protected

against loss or damage and they include the various forms

required for insurance filings. These amendments also increase

the penalty for violations of certain statutes and rules from
$100.00 to $200.00 making these rules consistent with other

Commission rulles for motor carriers.

The statutory authority for these rules is found at 88 40-
2-108, 40-7-112 through 116, 40-16-101(3)(a)(lll), and 40-16-
103.6, C.R.S.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES.

These rules apply to motor vehicle -carriers exempt Tfrom
regulation as public utilities as defined in § 40-16-101(4),
C.R.S.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-2. DEFINITIONS.

723-33-2.1 ""Commission'” ——means the Colorado Public

Utilities Commission.

723-33-2.2 "Commodities”™ means property other than

household goods.
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723-33-2-22.3 'Discretionary vehicle.” A vehicle may be
qualified as a discretionary vehicle 1T the vehicle would have
qualified as a luxury vehicle at the time the vehicle was new
and 1Tt the vehicle 1s In exceptional physical condition at the
time of registration. A vehicle is in exceptional physical
condition if: (1) The body of the vehicle has a good, unfaded
paint job, and is devoid of dents, rust, missing or broken
chrome, and has no broken or cracked glass or lenses; (2) The
interior of the vehicle is clean, free of offensive odors, and
has no tears, cracks, or major stains upon the upholstery,
headliner, and carpeting; and (3) 1is in sound mechanical
condition with no safety defects. The applicant shall bear the
burden of proving that the original Manufacturer’s Suggested
Retail Price of the vehicle was equal to or in excess of that
required of a luxury vehicle.

723-33-2.4 "Exempt carrier’” means ‘'motor vehicle

carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility” as that
term is defined in 8 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.

723-33-2.5 "Form E"™ means a NARUC Form E Uniform
Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent

of the insurer.
723-33-2_.6 "Form G" means a NARUC Form G Uniform

Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability

Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the

surety.
723-33-2.7 "Form H" means a NARUC Form H Uniform

Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance, executed by a

duly authorized agent of the insurer.
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723-33-2.8 "Form J" means a NARUC Form J Uniform
Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized

agent of the surety.

723-33-2.9 "Form K" means a NARUC Form K Uniform
Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies.
723-33-2.10 “"Form L™ means a NARUC Form L Uniform
Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Surety Bonds.
723-33-2.11 ""Household goods'™ means

723-33-2.11.1 Personal effects, personal property

used or to be used in a dwelling that is a part of the

equipment or supply of such dwelling, or similar property;

except that this definition shall not be construed to include

property moving from a factory or store except such property

as a purchaser has purchased with intent to use in the

purchaser"s dwelling and which is transported at the request

of, and the transportation charges paid to the carrier by the

purchaser or the purchaser®s agent;

723-33-2.11.2 Furniture, Tfixtures, equipment, and

the property of stores, offices, museums, institutions,

hospitals or other establishments when a part of the stock,

equipment, or supply of such stores, offices, museums,

institutions, hospitals, or other establishments; except that

this subparagraph shall not be construed to include the stock-

in-trade of any establishment, whether consignor or consignee,

other than used Tfurniture and used Tfixtures, except when

transported as incidental to moving of the establishment, or a

portion thereof, from one location to another; and
723-33-2.11.3 Articles, including objects of art,

displays, and exhibits, which because of their unusual nature

or value require the specialized handling and equipment

usually employed in moving household goods; except that this
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subparagraph shall not be construed to include any article,

whether crated or uncrated, which does not, because of 1its

unusual nature or value, require the specialized handling and

equipment usually employed in moving household goods.
723-33-2.12 "NARUC"™ means the National Association of

Regulatory Utility Commissioners.

723-33-2.13 "Property carrier'" means '‘property carrier

by motor vehicle”, as that term is defined in 8§ 40-16-
101(6.5), C.R.S.

723-33-2-32.14 "Public entity'" ——shall have that meaning
as set forth in 8§ 24-10-103(5), C.R.S.

RULE (4CCR) 723-33-3. INSURANCE_REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL EXEMPT
CARRIERS.

723-33-3.1 LiabiHity tnsurance—Every exempt carrier
havingregistered—underthe provisionsof 54016103, C.R.S-

shall obtain and keep in force at all times; public liability

and property damage i1nsurance or a surety bond providing

similar coverage 1issued by an 1Insurance company or surety
company authorized to do business iIn the State of Colorados

hicl hall I ] I I - Limi
Forth—in§ 40-16-104, C-R-S. I thiew—of habibhity insurance,

pPublic entities may obtain a certificate of self-insurance
from the Division of Insurance In the Department of Regulatory
Agencies.

723-33-3.1.1 The exempt carrier shall ensure that

coverage:

723-33-3.1.1.1 Is not less than the limits
prescribed by 8 40-16-104, C.R.S.;



https://723-33-2.32.14
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723-33-3.1.1.2 Covers all vehicles which may be
operated by or for the exempt carrier, or which may be under

the control of the exempt carrier;

723-33-3.1.1.3 Is accomplished by a "Waiver of
Description’” endorsement on each policy;

723-33-3.1.1.4 Provides for the payment of
benefits by the insurer(s) directly to parties damaged by the

exempt carrier on a "first dollar/dollar one" basis;
723-33-3.1.1.5 If the coverage contains a

retained risk provision, such provision shall obligate the

insurer to pay the party damaged by the exempt carrier

regardless of the level of funds in the retained risk pool;

and

723-33-3.1.1.6 Does not permit an exempt

carrier to pay benefits directly to a party damaged by the

exempt carrier.

723-33-3.1.2 EveryThe exempt carrier shall cause
to be filed with the Commissions; a Form E or Form G in lieu of
the original policys—a—Ferm—E—Uniform Moter—Carrier—Bodily
|||I_H|7 a“d Ilepel '57 Da age |=iabi|i|57 Gel Eilieate el I||SH|a||ee,
executed by a duby authortzed agent ol the #nsurer. Public
entities may—FHleobtaining a certificate of self-insurance

issued by the Division of Insurance iIn the Department of
Regulatory Agencies shall file a copy of said certificate with

the Commission in lieu of a Form E or Form G. 72333

=L - The original policy is to be retained by the
exempt carrier and kept available for 1inspection by any
authorized representative of the Commission. The carrier

shall ensure that:

723 33 3.3 Insurance filings.
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723-33-3-3-13.1.2.1 AHl—insurance—coveragemust

be—FiHled—with—tThe policy and Form E or G contain the
carrier’s exact name, #hartials;—corporate—and—trade name (if
any), and address as shown iIn the application—e¥r—records of
the Commission-, and

723-33-3-3-23.1.2.2 Any Ssubsequent name or

policy number changes shall be reflected by the #asurer—filing

of an endorsement or amended Form E or G.
723-33-3-3-33.1.3 Every insurance or surety bond

certificate required by and filed with the Commission shall be
kept in full force and effect, and shall bind the insurer or
surety, unless and until ecanceled—bythe Insurer or surety
cancels the coverage by filing with the Commission a 30-day
written notice; on a Form K Uniform Notice—oF Cancellation—of

, Licies. f I _ I
Commisstonsor Form L, as applicable. which—time The 30-day
notice shall run from the date #the nhotice—is—Freceived—by—the
Commission and—the certifticate shall —contain—a statement to
this—effFectreceives the notice.

723-33-3.1.4 The Commission shall not accept any

insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full.
723-33-3.1.5 Certificates—of —self—insurance—wiH

be—consideredThe Commission will consider valid a certificate

of self-insurance, until such a certificate i1s canceled or not

renewed by the Division of Insurance 1in the Department of
Regulatory Agencies.
723-33-3.1.6 Whenever Commission records indicate

that an exempt carrier"s public liability and property damage

coverage 1s canceled and there i1s no proof on file with the

Commission indicating replacement coverage, the exempt

carrier”"s reqgistration shall be immediately revoked.
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723-33-3.2 GCargoeAdditional Insurance Requirements for
Property Carriers. Every property carrier by—motor—vehicle

shall eoebtaln—and—maintailn—keep 1In force at all times cargo

HAsurance—coverage issued by an insurance company Or surety

authorized to do business in the State of Colorado.

723-33-3.2.1 The property carrier shall ensure

that Fthe coverage shall be $10,000 per motor vehicle unit

operated, or an amount adequate to cover the value of the
property being transported, whichever is less, unless the
shipper and the property carrier otherwise se—provideagree by
written contract ferto a lesser amount.

723-33-3.2.2 For household goods, the property

carrier and shipper may not agree to an amount less than sixty

cents ($.60) per pound, per article. For purposes of this

rule 3.2.2, and by way of example, "article" means a desk but

not each individual drawer of the desk.

723-33-3.2.3  Exemptions. A property Ccarriers

transporting only (a) loads of commodities with an aggregate

value of $5005 or lessy; are—exempt—From—this—Rule—3-2-
Carriers—transporting—onlyor (b) loads of commodities not

subject to appreciable loss or damages; due to the physical
characteristics of the commodities, areis exempt Trom Ehis
Rule 3-2-723-33-3.2.1 if the property carrier submits to the
Commission a signed statement reading as follows:

| swear that the commodities transported by

(name of company) are either
[ 1 valued at $500.00 or less, or
[ 1 are not subject to appreciable loss or damage due to

the physical characteristics of the commodities.
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IT the Commission receives a Form H or Form J after the

submission of the signed statement, the Commission shall

thereafter deem the signed statement null and void for all

purposes.
723-33-3.2.4 Except as provided in 723-33-3.2.3,

Everythe property carrier by —motor—vehicle—shall cause to be
filed with the Commission a Form H or Form J, in lieu of the
original policy, a Form H Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo
S Fi - , |y 1l horized

E the i _ hi a hi | T I

Limi I - e o _ | gl hi ,

hicl blist I : Liabili
ofFthe—ecarrier—723-33-3-2-1— The property carrier
shall retain the original policy #s—to—be retalned—by—the
carrier—and—shall—be, keeping it available for inspection by

any authorized representative of the Commission. The property

carrier shall ensure that:
723-33-3.2.4_.1 The policy and Form H or J
contain the property carrier’s exact name, trade name (@fF

any), and address as shown iIn the records of the Commission;

and
723-33-3.2.4.2 Any subsequent name or policy

number changes shall be reflected by the filing of an

endorsement or amended Form H or J.

723-33-3.2.5 The Commission shall not accept any

insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full.

723-33-3.2.6 Whenever Commission records indicate

that a property carrier"s cargo insurance is canceled and

there is no proof on TfTile with the Commission indicating

replacement coverage, the property carrier"s registration

shall be immediately revoked.
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RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION.
Every carrier having registered under the provisions of

8§ 40-16-103, C.R.S., shall carry proof of such registration in
the motor vehicles operated under said registration, and make

available to all enforcement officers such proof upon request.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT.
Each motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as a public

utility shall file with the Commission, and maintain on file,
the name and address of a person upon whom service may be made
of notices or orders 1In proceedings pending before the
Commission, process issued by or under the authority of any
court or board in any judicial or other proceeding brought
against such carrier, or any other process, notice, or demand
required or permitted by law to be served upon the carrier.
The designation of agent shall be in writing in a form
prescribed by the Commission. The designhation may be changed
by a similar filing. The Secretary of State of the State of
Colorado may not be the person designated as agent. The person
designated, if a natural person, shall be at least 18 years of
age. The address of the person designated shall be in the
State of Colorado.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE.
Registration as a luxury limousine shall require the provision

of the following information, to the extent applicable, either
on the Commission’s registration form or 1in appropriately
identified attached exhibits:
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723-33-6.1 The name and complete mailing address and
physical address of the applicant, and the name under which
the operation shall be conducted.
723-33-6.2 A copy of i1ts certificate of assumed trade
name, if any.
723-33-6.3 IT the applicant is a sole proprietorship
the name of the owner.
723-33-6.4 IT the applicant is a corporation:
723-33-6.4.1 A statement of that fact and the name
of the state in which it is incorporated.
723-33-6.4.2 The complete mailing address and
physical address of 1its principal office, if any, iIn this
state; and the names of its directors and officers.
723-33-6.4.3 A copy of its Articles of
Incorporation.
723-33-6.4.4 IT the applicant is an out-of-state
corporation, a copy of the authority qualifying it to do
business in Colorado.
723-33-6.5 IT the applicant is a partnership:
723-33-6.5.1 The name and title of each partner,
whether general or limited.
723-33-6.5.2 The name and title, of each trustee.
723-33-6.6 IT the applicant i1s a Limited Liability
Company, (“LLC”):
723-33-6.6.1 A statement of that fact and the name
of the state iIn which 1t is organized.
723-33-6.6.2 The complete mailing address and
physical address of 1its principal office, 1f any, iIn this
state; and the names of 1ts managers.
723-33-6.6.3 A copy of its Articles of

Organization.
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723-33-6.7 The application for a registration
shall also i1nclude a statement describing any other type of
operating authority issued either by a state or federal agency
under which the applicant contends that it may provide for
hire service in the transportation of passengers iIn the State

of Colorado.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-7. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS
GENERALLY .
723-33-7.1 Before the first day of January of each

calendar year, every carrier shall apply to the Commission for
the 1issuance of a vehicle identification stamp for each
self-propelled vehicle which the carrier owns, controls,
operates, or manages within the State of Colorado.

723-33-7.2 The vehicle identification stamps shall be
valid for the calendar year for which they are purchased.
Vehicle i1dentification stamps shall expire at 12:00 midnight
on December 31st of the year for which they are issued.

723-33-7.3 Vehicle i1dentification stamps for carriers
obtaining a new registration, or acquiring new or additional
vehicles during the year, shall be obtained and affixed to the
vehicle before it i1s put iInto service.

723-33-7.4 The vehicle i1dentification stamps shall be
permanently affixed to the inside, lower, right-hand corner of
the windshield of each vehicle, or to the Form D1 Cab Card if
the carrier operates i1In interstate commerce and transports
commodities which are exempt from regulation by the Federal
Highway Administration. A carrier that i1s also registered
under the Single State Registration System for regulated

interstate carriers shall carry a copy of the Form RS-3
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Registration Receipt iIn each vehicle In lieu of the vehicle
identification stamp.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR
LUXURY LIMOUSINES.

723-33-8.1 Prior to accepting the fee for a vehicle
identification stamp as required by 8§ 40-2-110.5, C.R.S., the

enforcement staff of the Commission may iInspect any vehicle
intended to be operated as a luxury limousine. The
enforcement staff shall inspect any vehicle intended to be
operated as a luxury Hlimousine which vehicle has not been
previously iInspected. The enforcement staff shall make the
preliminary determination whether the specific vehicle meets
the requirements of 8 40-16-101(3), C.R.S., and Rule 9 of
these rules.

723-33-8.2 IT the vehicle meets these requirements, a
vehicle identification stamp shall be issued.

723-33-8.3 IT the vehicle does not meet these
requirements, and the person attempting to pay the vehicle
identification fTee disagrees with the enforcement staff"s
determination, that person may request a hearing before the
Commission by fTiling a written application. In any hearing
conducted by the Commission or one of its administrative law
judges, the person attempting to pay the identification fee
for a luxury limousine shall have the burden of proving that
the vehicle 1n question complies with the standards set forth
in applicable statutes and these rules. This application will
be published in the Commission’s Notice of Applications Filed
for a period of not less than ten days for comment by existing

regulated common carriers and the public generally.
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RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES.
723-33-9.1 External signs and graphics. A  luxury

limousine shall not have any exterior signs or graphics except
license plates; those otherwise required by Jlaw; those
attached by a law enforcement agency; those attached by the
vehicle manufacturer or dealership for the purpose of
identifying the manufacturer, dealership, or the vehicle’s
make and model; and those attached for the purpose of
indicating special events such as weddings, graduations, and
parades.
723-33-9.2 Luxury features. The Hluxury limousine

shall offer the following:

723-33-9.2.1 A television. The television screen
shall be at Qleast three (3) inches 1iIn size, measured
diagonally, when positioned inside an overhead console. When
not located In an overhead console the television screen shall
be at least five (5) inches in size, measured diagonally. The
television shall be positioned iInside a console or cabinet
which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle. The
television shall be located so that the screen and controls
are in compliance with the safety rules found at 4 CCR 723-15
incorporating, among other things, 49 C.F.R., section 393.88;

723-33-9.2.2 A telephone which shall be accessible
to the customer, iIn working order, and capable of making and
receiving calls. Each luxury limousine must have a separately
assigned telephone number. An intercom system does not meet
the requirements of this rule; and

723-33-9.2.3 Beverages and beverage service
amenities including, but not limited to, glasses or cups, and
an ice container which shall be positioned inside a console or

cabinet which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle
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and located iInside the passenger compartment of the luxury

limousine.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-10. HARDSHIP.

In case of hardship, a carrier may file a written application
for relief from any rule. The Commission, to the extent
authorized by applicable law may, at its discretion, grant the
application or set the matter for hearing. The Commission may
permit variance from Rules 723-33-1 through 723-33-9 of these
rules for good cause and if it is satisfied that the public
interest will be served, and if i1t finds compliance to be
impossible, impractical, or unreasonable. All applications
will be noticed by the Commission for a period of not less
than ten days for comment.

A copy of any grant of such application by the Commission
shall be carried in the vehicle(s) affected by it and shall be
made available for inspection upon request by the enforcement
staff of the Commission.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-11. VIOLATIONS - CIVIL PENALTIES
ASSESSMENTS - REVOCATION FOR CAUSE.

723-33-11.1 A violation of 8§ 40-16-102.5 or 40-16-
103, C.R.S., may result in the assessment of a penalty of up
to $400.00.

723-33-11.2 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.1 Aa
violation of § 40-16-103any other provisions of Title 40,
C.R.S., pertaining to exempt carriers, may result in the
assessment of a penalty of up to $4060-00200.00.
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723-33-11.3 A violation of Rule 723-33-3.1—of these
rules may result In an assessment of a penalty of up to
$400.00—per—day.

723-33-11.4 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.3 Aa
violation of any other rule of these rules;—except-asprovided
for in Rules 723 33 11.1 through 723 33 11.3 of these rules,
may result 1iIn an assessment of a penalty of up to
$100-00200.00—per—day.

723-33-11.5 Driver and Owner Violations.

723-33-11.5.1 Any owner or other person employing
or directing a driver who operates a motor vehicle 1iIn
violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these
rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount stated in
such rules i1f such owner or person knows or had reason to know
that the driver was engaged in such violation, or directs the
driver to operate the motor vehicle in violation of such
rules.

723-33-11.5.2 Any driver who operates a motor
vehicle i1n violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4
of these rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount
stated i1n such rules.

723-33-11.5.3 Any civil penalty provided for in
Rules 723-33-11.5.1 and 723-33-11.5.2 of these rules shall be
in addition to and not in lieu of any civil penalty against
the actual driver, and any such penalty may be assessed upon
the initial violation by such owner, other person, or driver.

723-33-11.6 Each day in which an owner, other person,

or driver, violates the provisions of these rules for which a
civil penalty may be assessed may constitute a separate
violation.
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723-33-11.7 Any person shall be deemed to have
intentionally violated a provision of these rules 1f, after
having been issued a written notification of such violation,
such person violates the same provision again. An intentional
violation may be shown also by other facts, circumstances, or
conduct.

723-33-11.8 Multiple offenses. The violation of more
than one statute, rule, or regulation during the course of one
24-hour period shall constitute multiple offenses for which
civil penalties may be assessed as set forth in these rules.

723-33-11.9 Separate offenses. Each violation of a
statute, rule, or regulation within the scope of these rules
shall constitute a separate offense for which a civil penalty
may be assessed as set forth in these rules.

723-33-11.10 Repeat Violations of Statutes or Rules.

723-33-11.10.1 If any person receives a second civil
penalty assessment for a violation of the provisions of Rules
723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within one year
after the fTirst violation, the civil penalty assessed for such
second violation may be two times the amount specified 1In
Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules.
723-33-11.10.2 If any person receives more than two

civil penalty assessments for violation of the provisions of
Rulles 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within
one year, the civil penalty assessed for each such subsequent
violation may be three times the amount specified iIn Rules
723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules.

723-33-11.11 Revocation for Cause. The Commission, on
its own motion or as a result of a complaint by any carrier or
other person under these rules and the Commission’s Rules of

Practice Procedure, except for insurance revocation under Rule
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723-33-11.12, by order duly entered, after hearing upon notice
to the holder of a luxury limousine registration and when it
iIs established to the satisfaction of the Commission that such
holder has failed or refused to operate a luxury limousine
service iIn accordance with Article 16 of Title 40, C.R.S., or
of these rules, may revoke the registration issued under the
provisions of 8§ 40-16-103, C.R.S.

723-33-11.12 The Commission shall revoke the
registration of any person not complying with the insurance
requirements set forth in 8 40-16-104, C.R.S.
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