
 
 

 

Decision No. C02-353 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC 

IN THE MATTER OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES, REGULATIONS,
AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT FROM 
REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES, 4 CCR 723-33. 

DECISION LIFTING STAY AND ADOPTING RULES 

Mailed Date: March 28, 2002
Adopted Date: March 27, 2002 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

This matter comes before the Commission for 

consideration of Decision No. R02-200 (“Recommended Decision”) 

issued on February 27, 2002. In that decision, the 

Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) recommended that the Commission 

adopt certain amendments to the Rules and Regulations Governing 

Motor Vehicle Carriers Exempt From Regulation as Public 

Utilities and Establishing Civil Penalties, 4 Code of Colorado 

Regulations (“CCR”) 723-33. The amendments were proposed in 

order to update the existing cargo insurance rules for property 

carriers of household goods so that the public is better 

protected against loss or damage. The amendments also propose 

to increase the penalty for violations of certain statutes from 

$100.00 to $200.00, making the rules consistent with other 



 

                     

Commission rules for motor carriers. The Commission, on its own 

motion, issued a stay of the Recommended Decision on March 11, 

2002 (Decision No. C02-279) in order to review portions of the 

proposed rules. Now being duly advised in the matter, we adopt 

the recommendation of the ALJ, but modify portions of the 

proposed rule amendments. 

B. Discussion 

1. The Commission gave notice of a proposed 

rulemaking regarding amendments to its Rules and Regulations 

Governing Motor Vehicle Carriers Exempt From Regulation as 

Public Utilities and Establishing Civil Penalties, 4 CCR 723-33, 

on December 11, 2001. See § 24-4-103(3)(a), C.R.S. The 

Commission gave notice to the Secretary of State on December 12, 

2001. See § 24-4-103(11)(d), C.R.S. 

2. After a February 1, 2002, hearing in which Staff 

of the Commission, White Moving and Storage, and the Colorado 

Motor Carriers Association presented oral comments,1 the ALJ 

issued the Recommended Decision proposing to adopt the rule 

amendments on February 27, 2002. 

3. The Commission issued a stay of the Recommended 

Decision on March 11, 2002, in order to review some of the 

proposed language in the rules. Having now reviewed the 

1 No party filed written comments. 
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proposed rules, we adopt them, with a few minor changes, all 

noted in the Attachment to this Order. 

4. The changes we adopt serve to (1) make the Basis, 

Purpose, and Statutory Authority section applicable to the 

entire section of rules found in 4 CCR 723-33, and to note an 

existing, but previously unmentioned “purpose” for the rules; 

(2) bring the definitions in Rules 2.9 and 2.10 into conformity 

with those found in Rules 2.5 through 2.8; (3) clarify against 

whom civil penalties may be assessed in Rule 11; and (4) make 

some minor cosmetic changes. 

5. To fulfill the first purpose, we remove the 

entire second paragraph of the Basis, Purpose, and Statutory 

Authority section that was recommended by the ALJ. While the 

Commission indeed proposed the rule changes to “update the 

existing cargo insurance rules for property carriers of 

household goods so that the public is better protected against 

loss or damage,” and to make the “rules consistent with other 

Commission rules for motor carriers,” we find that these stated 

purposes should not be included in the rules as they will be 

published in CCR. 

6. The Commission also adds the following language 

to the remaining paragraph of the same section: “to designate 

the amounts and form of insurance a property carrier by motor 

vehicle must maintain, as set forth in § 40-16-104(1.5).”  This 
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has always been a purpose of these rules, and we add the 

language only to clarify that fact. 

7. To fulfill the second purpose, the Commission 

adds the phrase “executed by a duly authorized agent of the 

insurer” to Rule 2.9, and “executed by a duly authorized agent 

of the surety” to Rule 2.10. 

8. To fulfill the third purpose, the Commission adds 

the following language to Rules 11.1 through 11.4: “by any 

person subject to the requirements of Article 16 of Title 40, 

C.R.S.” This language clarifies against whom the Commission may 

assess civil penalties. 

9. Finally, to fulfill the fourth purpose, we 

clarify throughout the rules that they apply to “exempt 

carriers,” as defined in Rule 2.4, not just to “carriers.” Any 

other changes noted in the Appendix are merely grammatical. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The stay of Decision No. R02-200 is lifted. 

2. The rules recommended in Decision No. R02-200 are 

modified consistent with this Order and the Appendix. 

3. The rules attached to this decision as the 

Appendix are adopted. This order adopting the attached rules 

shall become final 20 days following the mailed date of this 
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decision in the absence of the filing of any applications for 

rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration. In the event any 

application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration to 

this decision is timely filed, this order of adoption shall 

become final upon a Commission ruling on any such application, 

in the absence of further order of the Commission. 

4. Within twenty days of the effective date of this 

decision, the adopted rules shall be filed with the Secretary of 

State for publication in the next issue of the Colorado Register 

along with the opinion of the Attorney General regarding the 

legality of the rules. 

5. The twenty-day period provided for in § 40-6-114, 

C.R.S., within which to file applications for rehearing, 

reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day following 

the Mailed Date of this decision. 

6. This Order is effective immediately upon its 

Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
March 27, 2002 

(S E A L) THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

RAYMOND L. GIFFORD 

POLLY PAGE 

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY 

JIM DYER 

Bruce N. Smith Commissioners
Director 
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THE 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

OF THE 

STATE OF COLORADO 

RULES, REGULATIONS, AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING 

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT 

FROM REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES 

4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS (CCR) 723-33 

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY. 

The basis and purpose of these rules is to regulate motor 

vehicle carriers exempt from regulation as public utilities as 

defined in § 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.; to specify the luxury 

features a luxury limousine must offer; to designate the type 

of written documentation, as set forth in § 40-16-104(2), 

C.R.S., that a motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as 

a public utility must file with this Commission; to designate 

the amounts and form of insurance a property carrier by motor 

vehicle must maintain, as set forth in § 40-16-104(1.5); and 

to provide penalties for the violation thereof. These rules 

are issued in accordance with § 40-2-110.5, C.R.S. 

These amendments are intended to update the existing cargo 

insurance rules for property carriers of household goods so 

that the public is better protected against loss or damage and 

they include the various forms required for insurance filings. 

These amendments also increase the penalty for violations of 

certain statutes and rules from $100.00 to $200.00 making these 

rules consistent with other Commission rules for motor 

carriers. 
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The statutory authority for these rules is found at 

§§ 40-2-108, 40-7-112 through 116, 40-16-101(3)(a)(III), and 

40-16-103.6, C.R.S. 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY. 

RULE 723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES. 

RULE 723-33-2. DEFINITIONS. 

RULE 723-33-3. INSURANCE. 

RULE 723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION. 

RULE 723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT. 

RULE 723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE. 

RULE 723-33-7. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS GENERALLY. 

RULE 723-33-8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR LUXURY 

LIMOUSINES. 

RULE 723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES. 

RULE 723-33-10. HARDSHIP. 

RULE 723-33-11. VIOLATIONS – CIVIL PENALTIES ASSESSMENTS – 

REVOCATION FOR CAUSE. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES. 

These rules apply to motor vehicle carriers exempt from 

regulation as public utilities as defined in § 40-16-101(4), 

C.R.S. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-2. DEFINITIONS. 

723-33-2.1 "Commission" means the Colorado Public 

Utilities Commission. 

723-33-2.2 "Commodities" means property other than 

household goods. 
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723-33-2.3 "Discretionary vehicle." A vehicle may be 

qualified as a discretionary vehicle if the vehicle would have 

qualified as a luxury vehicle at the time the vehicle was new 

and if the vehicle is in exceptional physical condition at the 

time of registration. A vehicle is in exceptional physical 

condition if: (1) The body of the vehicle has a good, unfaded 

paint job, and is devoid of dents, rust, missing or broken 

chrome, and has no broken or cracked glass or lenses; (2) The 

interior of the vehicle is clean, free of offensive odors, and 

has no tears, cracks, or major stains upon the upholstery, 

headliner, and carpeting; and (3) is in sound mechanical 

condition with no safety defects.  The applicant shall bear the 

burden of proving that the original Manufacturer’s Suggested 

Retail Price of the vehicle was equal to or in excess of that 

required of a luxury vehicle. 

723-33-2.4 "Exempt carrier" means "motor vehicle 

carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility" as that 

term is defined in § 40-16-101(4), C.R.S. 

723-33-2.5 "Form E" means a NARUC Form E Uniform 

Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 

Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent 

of the insurer. 

723-33-2.6 "Form G" means a NARUC Form G Uniform 

Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability 

Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the 

surety. 

723-33-2.7 "Form H" means a NARUC Form H Uniform 

Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance, executed by a 

duly authorized agent of the insurer. 
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723-33-2.8 "Form J" means a NARUC Form J Uniform 

Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized 

agent of the surety. 

723-33-2.9 "Form K" means a NARUC Form K Uniform 

Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies, 

executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer. 

723-33-2.10 "Form L" means a NARUC Form L Uniform 

Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Surety Bonds, executed 

by a duly authorized agent of the surety. 

723-33-2.11 "Household goods" means 

723-33-2.11.1 Personal effects, personal property 

used or to be used in a dwelling that is a part of the 

equipment or supply of such dwelling, or similar property; 

except that this definition subparagraph shall not be 

construed to include property moving from a factory or store 

except such property as a purchaser has purchased with intent 

to use in the purchaser's dwelling and which is transported at 

the request of, and the transportation charges paid to the 

carrierexempt carrier by, the purchaser or the purchaser's 

agent; 

723-33-2.11.2 Furniture, fixtures, equipment, and 

the property of stores, offices, museums, institutions, 

hospitals, or other establishments when a part of the stock, 

equipment, or supply of such stores, offices, museums, 

institutions, hospitals, or other establishments; except that 

this subparagraph shall not be construed to include the stock-

in-trade of any establishment, whether consignor or consignee, 

other than used furniture and used fixtures, except when 

transported as incidental to moving of the establishment, or a 

portion thereof, from one location to another; and 

https://723-33-2.11
https://723-33-2.10
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723-33-2.11.3 Articles, including objects of art, 

displays, and exhibits, which because of their unusual nature 

or value require the specialized handling and equipment 

usually employed in moving household goods; except that this 

subparagraph shall not be construed to include any article, 

whether crated or uncrated, which does not, because of its 

unusual nature or value, require the specialized handling and 

equipment usually employed in moving household goods. 

723-33-2.12 "NARUC" means the National Association of 

Regulatory Utility Commissioners. 

723-33-2.13 "Property carrier" means "property carrier 

by motor vehicle,", as that term is defined in § 40-16-

101(6.5), C.R.S. 

723-33-2.14 "Public entity" shall have that meaning as 

set forth in § 24-10-103(5), C.R.S. 

RULE (4CCR) 723-33-3. INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL EXEMPT
CARRIERS. 

723-33-3.1 Every exempt carrier shall obtain and keep 

in force at all times public liability and property damage 

insurance or a surety bond providing similar coverage issued 

by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do 

business in the State of Colorado. Public entities may obtain 

a certificate of self-insurance from the Division of Insurance 

in the Department of Regulatory Agencies. 

723-33-3.1.1 The exempt carrier shall ensure that 

coverage: 

723-33-3.1.1.1 Is not less than the limits 

minimum amounts prescribed by § 40-16-104, C.R.S.; 

https://723-33-2.14
https://723-33-2.13
https://723-33-2.12
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723-33-3.1.1.2 Covers all vehicles which may be 

operated by or for the exempt carrier, or which may be under 

the control of the exempt carrier; 

723-33-3.1.1.3 Is accomplished by a "Waiver of 

Description" endorsement on each policy; 

723-33-3.1.1.4 Provides for the payment of 

benefits by the insurer(s) directly to parties damaged by the 

exempt carrier on a "first dollar”/“dollar one" basis; 

723-33-3.1.1.5 If the coverage contains a 

retained risk provision, such provision shall obligate the 

insurer to pay the party damaged by the exempt carrier 

regardless of the level of funds in the retained risk pool; 

and 

723-33-3.1.1.6 Does not permit an exempt 

carrier to pay benefits directly to a party damaged by the 

exempt carrier. 

723-33-3.1.2 The exempt carrier shall cause to be 

filed with the Commission a Form E or Form G in lieu of the 

original policy. Public entities obtaining a certificate of 

self-insurance issued by the Division of Insurance in the 

Department of Regulatory Agencies shall file a copy of said 

certificate with the Commission in lieu of a Form E or Form G. 

The original policy is to be retained by the exempt carrier 

and kept available for inspection by any authorized 

representative of the Commission. The carrierexempt carrier 

shall ensure that: 

723-33-3.1.2.1 The policy and Form E or G 

contain the carrierexempt carrier’s exact name, trade name (if 

any), and address as shown in the records of the Commission, 

and 
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723-33-3.1.2.2 Any subsequent name or policy 

number changes shall be reflected by the filing of an 

endorsement or amended Form E or G. 

723-33-3.1.3 Every insurance or surety bond 

certificate required by and filed with the Commission shall be 

kept in full force and effect, and shall bind the insurer or 

surety, unless and until the insurer or surety cancels the 

coverage by filing with the Commission a 30-day written notice 

on a Form K or Form L, as applicable. The 30-day notice shall 

run from the date the Commission receives the notice. 

723-33-3.1.4 The Commission shall not accept any 

insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full. 

723-33-3.1.5 The Commission will consider valid a 

certificate of self-insurance, until such a certificate is 

canceled or not renewed by the Division of Insurance in the 

Department of Regulatory Agencies. 

723-33-3.1.6 Whenever Commission records indicate 

that an exempt carrier's public liability and property damage 

coverage is canceled and there is no proof on file with the 

Commission indicating replacement coverage, the exempt 

carrier's registration shall be immediately revoked. 

723-33-3.2 Additional Insurance Requirements for 

Property Carriers. Every property carrier shall keep in force 

at all times cargo coverage issued by an insurance company or 

surety authorized to do business in the State of Colorado. 

723-33-3.2.1 The property carrier shall ensure 

that the coverage shall be $10,000 per motor vehicle unit 

operated, or an amount adequate to cover the value of the 

property being transported, whichever is less, unless the 

shipper and the property carrier otherwise agree by written 

contract to a lesser amount. 
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723-33-3.2.2 For household goods, the property 

carrier and shipper may not agree to an amount less than sixty 

cents ($.60) per pound, per article. For purposes of this 

rule 3.2.2, and by way of example, "article" means a desk but 

not each individual drawer of the desk. 

723-33-3.2.3 Exemptions. A property carrier 

transporting only (a) loads of commodities with an aggregate 

value of $500 or less or (b) loads of commodities not subject 

to appreciable loss or damage due to the physical 

characteristics of the commodities, is exempt from Rule 723-

33-3.2.1 if the property carrier submits to the Commission a 

signed statement reading as follows: 

I swear that the commodities transported by 

(name of company) are either 

[ ] valued at $500.00 or less, or 

[ ] are not subject to appreciable loss or damage due to 

the physical characteristics of the commodities. 

If the Commission receives a Form H or Form J after the 

submission of the signed statement, the Commission shall 

thereafter deem the signed statement null and void for all 

purposes. 

723-33-3.2.4 Except as provided in 723-33-3.2.3, 

the property carrier shall cause to be filed with the 

Commission a Form H or Form J, in lieu of the original policy. 

The property carrier shall retain the original policy ,policy, 

keeping it available for inspection by any authorized 

representative of the Commission. The property carrier shall 

ensure that: 

723-33-3.2.4.1 The policy and Form H or J 

contain the property carrier’s exact name, trade name (if 
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any), and address as shown in the records of the Commission; 

and 

723-33-3.2.4.2 Any subsequent name or policy 

number changes shall be reflected by the filing of an 

endorsement or amended Form H or J. 

723-33-3.2.5 The Commission shall not accept any 

insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full. 

723-33-3.2.6 Whenever Commission records indicate 

that a property carrier's cargo insurance is canceled and 

there is no proof on file with the Commission indicating 

replacement coverage, the property carrier's registration 

shall be immediately revoked. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION. 

Every carrierexempt carrier having registered under the 

provisions of § 40-16-103, C.R.S., shall carry proof of such 

registration in the motor vehicles operated under said 

registration, and make available to all enforcement officers 

such proof upon request. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT. 

Each motor vehicle exempt carrier exempt from regulation as a 

public utility shall file with the Commission, and maintain on 

file, the name and address of a person upon whom service may 

be made of notices or orders in proceedings pending before the 

Commission, process issued by or under the authority of any 

court or board in any judicial or other proceeding brought 

against such carrierexempt carrier, or any other process, 

notice, or demand required or permitted by law to be served 

upon the carrierexempt carrier. The designation of agent 

shall be in writing in a form prescribed by the Commission. 

The designation may be changed by a similar filing. The 
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Secretary of State of the State of Colorado may not be the 

person designated as agent. The person designated, if a 

natural person, shall be at least 18 years of age. The 

address of the person designated shall be in the State of 

Colorado. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE. 

Registration as a luxury limousine shall require the provision 

of the following information, to the extent applicable, either 

on the Commission’s registration form or in appropriately 

identified attached exhibits: 

723-33-6.1 The name and complete mailing address and 

physical address of the applicant, and the name under which 

the operation shall be conducted. 

723-33-6.2 A copy of its certificate of assumed trade 

name, if any. 

723-33-6.3 If the applicant is a sole proprietorship 

the name of the owner. 

723-33-6.4 If the applicant is a corporation: 

723-33-6.4.1 A statement of that fact and the name 

of the state in which it is incorporated. 

723-33-6.4.2 The complete mailing address and 

physical address of its principal office, if any, in this 

state; and the names of its directors and officers. 

723-33-6.4.3 A copy of its Articles of 

Incorporation. 

723-33-6.4.4 If the applicant is an out-of-state 

corporation, a copy of the authority qualifying it to do 

business in Colorado. 

723-33-6.5 If the applicant is a partnership: 
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723-33-6.5.1 The name and title of each partner, 

whether general or limited. 

723-33-6.5.2 The name and title, of each trustee. 

723-33-6.6 If the applicant is a Limited Liability 

Company, (“LLC”): 

723-33-6.6.1 A statement of that fact and the name 

of the state in which it is organized. 

723-33-6.6.2 The complete mailing address and 

physical address of its principal office, if any, in this 

state; and the names of its managers. 

723-33-6.6.3 A copy of its Articles of 

Organization. 

723-33-6.7 The application for a registration 

shall also include a statement describing any other type of 

operating authority issued either by a state or federal agency 

under which the applicant contends that it may provide for 

hire service in the transportation of passengers in the State 

of Colorado. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-7. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS 
GENERALLY. 

723-33-7.1 Before the first day of January of each 

calendar year, every carrierexempt carrier shall apply to the 

Commission for the issuance of a vehicle identification stamp 

for each self-propelled vehicle which the carrierexempt 

carrier owns, controls, operates, or manages within the State 

of Colorado. 

723-33-7.2 The vehicle identification stamps shall be 

valid for the calendar year for which they are purchased. 

Vehicle identification stamps shall expire at 12:00 midnight 

on December 31st of the year for which they are issued. 
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723-33-7.3 Vehicle identification stamps for 

carrierexempt carriers obtaining a new registration, or 

acquiring new or additional vehicles during the year, shall be 

obtained and affixed to the vehicle before it is put into 

service. 

723-33-7.4 The vehicle identification stamps shall be 

permanently affixed to the inside, lower, right-hand corner of 

the windshield of each vehicle, or to the Form D1 Cab Card if 

the carrierexempt carrier operates in interstate commerce and 

transports commodities which are exempt from regulation by the 

Federal Highway Administration. An carrierexempt carrier that 

is also registered under the Single State Registration System 

for regulated interstate carriers shall carry a copy of the 

Form RS-3 Registration Receipt in each vehicle in lieu of the 

vehicle identification stamp. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR 
LUXURY LIMOUSINES. 

723-33-8.1 Prior to accepting the fee for a vehicle 

identification stamp as required by § 40-2-110.5, C.R.S., the 

enforcement staff of the Commission may inspect any vehicle 

intended to be operated as a luxury limousine. The 

enforcement staff shall inspect any vehicle intended to be 

operated as a luxury limousine which vehicle has not been 

previously inspected. The enforcement staff shall make the 

preliminary determination whether the specific vehicle meets 

the requirements of § 40-16-101(3), C.R.S., and Rule 9 of 

these rules. 

723-33-8.2 If the vehicle meets these requirements, a 

vehicle identification stamp shall be issued. 
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723-33-8.3 If the vehicle does not meet these 

requirements, and the person attempting to pay the vehicle 

identification fee disagrees with the enforcement staff's 

determination, that person may request a hearing before the 

Commission by filing a written application. In any hearing 

conducted by the Commission or one of its administrative law 

judges, the person attempting to pay the identification fee 

for a luxury limousine shall have the burden of proving that 

the vehicle in question complies with the standards set forth 

in applicable statutes and these rules. This application will 

be published in the Commission’s Notice of Applications Filed 

for a period of not less than ten days for comment by existing 

regulated common carriers and the public generally. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES. 

723-33-9.1 External signs and graphics. A luxury 

limousine shall not have any exterior signs or graphics except 

license plates; those otherwise required by law; those 

attached by a law enforcement agency; those attached by the 

vehicle manufacturer or dealership for the purpose of 

identifying the manufacturer, dealership, or the vehicle’s 

make and model; and those attached for the purpose of 

indicating special events such as weddings, graduations, and 

parades. 

723-33-9.2 Luxury features. The luxury limousine 

shall offer the following: 

723-33-9.2.1 A television. The television screen 

shall be at least three (3) inches in size, measured 

diagonally, when positioned inside an overhead console. When 

not located in an overhead console the television screen shall 

be at least five (5) inches in size, measured diagonally. The 
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television shall be positioned inside a console or cabinet 

which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle. The 

television shall be located so that the screen and controls 

are in compliance with the safety rules found at 4 CCR 723-15 

incorporating, among other things, 49 C.F.R., section 393.88; 

723-33-9.2.2 A telephone which shall be accessible 

to the customer, in working order, and capable of making and 

receiving calls. Each luxury limousine must have a separately 

assigned telephone number. An intercom system does not meet 

the requirements of this rule; and 

723-33-9.2.3 Beverages and beverage service 

amenities including, but not limited to, glasses or cups, and 

an ice container which shall be positioned inside a console or 

cabinet which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle 

and located inside the passenger compartment of the luxury 

limousine. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-10. HARDSHIP. 

In case of hardship, an carrierexempt carrier may file a 

written application for relief from any rule. The Commission, 

to the extent authorized by applicable law may, at its 

discretion, grant the application or set the matter for 

hearing. The Commission may permit variance from Rules 723-

33-1 through 723-33-9 of these rules for good cause and if it 

is satisfied that the public interest will be served, and if 

it finds compliance to be impossible, impractical, or 

unreasonable. All applications will be noticed by the 

Commission for a period of not less than ten days for comment. 

A copy of any grant of such application by the Commission 

shall be carried in the vehicle(s) affected by it and shall be 
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made available for inspection upon request by the enforcement 

staff of the Commission. 

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-11. VIOLATIONS - CIVIL PENALTIES 
ASSESSMENTS - REVOCATION FOR CAUSE. 

723-33-11.1 A violation of §§ 40-16-102.5 or 40-16-

103, C.R.S., by any person subject to the requirements of 

Article 16 of Title 40, C.R.S., may result in the assessment 

of a penalty of up to $400.00. 

723-33-11.2 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.1 a 

violation of any other provisions of Title 40, C.R.S., 

pertaining to exempt carriers, by any person subject to the 

requirements of Article 16 of Title 40, C.R.S., may result in 

the assessment of a penalty of up to $200.00. 

723-33-11.3 A violation of Rule 723-33-3.1 by any 

person subject to the requirements of Article 16 of Title 40, 

C.R.S., may result in an assessment of a penalty of up to 

$400.00. 

723-33-11.4 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.3 a 

violation of any other rule of these rules by any person 

subject to the requirements of Article 16 of Title 40, C.R.S., 

may result in an assessment of a penalty of up to $200.00. 

723-33-11.5 Driver and Owner Violations. 

723-33-11.5.1 Any owner or other person employing 

or directing a driver who operates a motor vehicle in 

violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these 

rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount stated in 

such rules if such owner or person knows or had reason to know 

that the driver was engaged in such violation, or directs the 

driver to operate the motor vehicle in violation of such 

rules. 
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723-33-11.5.2 Any driver who operates a motor 

vehicle in violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 

of these rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount 

stated in such rules. 

723-33-11.5.3 Any civil penalty provided for in 

Rules 723-33-11.5.1 and 723-33-11.5.2 of these rules shall be 

in addition to and not in lieu of any civil penalty against 

the actual driver, and any such penalty may be assessed upon 

the initial violation by such owner, other person, or driver. 

723-33-11.6 Each day in which an owner, other person, 

or driver, violates the provisions of these rules for which a 

civil penalty may be assessed may constitute a separate 

violation. 

723-33-11.7 Any person shall be deemed to have 

intentionally violated a provision of these rules if, after 

having been issued a written notification of such violation, 

such person violates the same provision again. An intentional 

violation may be shown also by other facts, circumstances, or 

conduct. 

723-33-11.8 Multiple offenses. The violation of more 

than one statute, rule, or regulation during the course of one 

24-hour period shall constitute multiple offenses for which 

civil penalties may be assessed as set forth in these rules. 

723-33-11.9 Separate offenses. Each violation of a 

statute, rule, or regulation within the scope of these rules 

shall constitute a separate offense for which a civil penalty 

may be assessed as set forth in these rules. 

723-33-11.10 Repeat Violations of Statutes or Rules. 

723-33-11.10.1 If any person receives a second civil 

penalty assessment for a violation of the provisions of Rules 

723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within one year 

https://723-33-11.10
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after the first violation, the civil penalty assessed for such 

second violation may be two times the amount specified in 

Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules. 

723-33-11.10.2 If any person receives more than two 

civil penalty assessments for violation of the provisions of 

Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within 

one year, the civil penalty assessed for each such subsequent 

violation may be three times the amount specified in Rules 

723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules. 

723-33-11.11 Revocation for Cause. The Commission, on 

its own motion or as a result of a complaint by any carrier or 

other person under these rules and the Commission’s Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, except for insurance revocation under 

Rule 723-33-11.12, by order duly entered, after hearing upon 

notice to the holder of a luxury limousine registration and 

when it is established to the satisfaction of the Commission 

that such holder has failed or refused to operate a luxury 

limousine service in accordance with Article 16 of Title 40, 

C.R.S., or of these rules, may revoke the registration issued 

under the provisions of § 40-16-103, C.R.S. 

723-33-11.12 The Commission shall revoke the 

registration of any person not complying with the insurance 

requirements set forth in § 40-16-104, C.R.S. 
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