Decision No. C01-1234

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC

IN THE MATTER OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE RULES, REGULATIONS, AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT FROM REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES, 4 CCR 723-33.

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Mailed Date: December 11, 2001 Adopted Date: November 28, 2001

I. BY THE COMMISSION:

A. STATEMENT

- 1. The Colorado Public Utilities Commission gives notice of proposed rulemaking regarding the Rules, Regulations, and Civil Penalties Governing Motor Vehicle Carriers Exempt From Regulation As Public Utilities. The intent of the proposed rules is to update the existing rules found at 4 Code of Colorado Regulations ("CCR") 723-33 with regard to cargo insurance.
- 2. The proposed amendments will update the existing cargo insurance rules for property carriers of household goods to better protect the public against loss or damage and they include the various forms required for insurance filings. The amendments also increase the penalty from \$100.00 to \$200.00 for violation of certain statutes and rules making the penalty

consistent with other Commission rules for motor carriers. A copy of the proposed rules is attached to this notice of proposed rulemaking.

- 3. The statutory authority for the proposed rules and their amendments are found at §§ 40-2-108, 40-7-112 through 116, 40-16-101(3)(a)(III), and 40-16-103.6, C.R.S.
- 4. An Administrative Law Judge ("ALJ") for the Commission will conduct a hearing on the proposed rules and related issues at the below stated time and place. Interested persons may submit written comments on the rules and present these orally at hearing, unless the ALJ deems oral presentations unnecessary. The Commission also encourages interested persons to submit written comments before the hearing scheduled in this matter. In the event interested persons wish to file comments before hearing, the Commission requests that such comments be filed ten days prior to the hearing date. The Commission will consider all submissions.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. This Notice of Proposed Rulemaking shall be filed with the Colorado Secretary of State for publication in the January 10, 2002 edition of The Colorado Register.

2. A hearing on the proposed rules and related matters shall be held before an Administrative Law Judge as follows:

DATE: February 1, 2002

TIME: 9:00 a.m.

PLACE: Commission Hearing Room _

Office Level 2 (OL2)

Logan Tower

1580 Logan Street Denver, Colorado

At the time set for hearing in this matter, interested persons may submit written comments and may present these orally unless the Administrative Law Judge deems oral comments unnecessary. At the hearing referenced above, the Administrative Law Judge may set further hearing dates to continue the discussion and comment.

- 3. Interested persons may file written comments in this matter before the hearing. The Commission requests that such prefiled comments be submitted at least ten days before the scheduled hearing. All submissions, whether oral or written, will be considered by the Commission.
- 4. This order is effective immediately upon its Mailed Date.
 - B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS' WEEKLY MEETING November 28, 2001.

(S E A L)



ATTEST: A TRUE COPY

Bruce N. Smith Director

Brun 2. Suite

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

RAYMOND L. GIFFORD

POLLY PAGE

JIM DYER

Commissioners

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 1 of 17

THE

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

OF THE

STATE OF COLORADO

RULES, AND REGULATIONS, AND CIVIL PENALTIES GOVERNING

MOTOR VEHICLE CARRIERS EXEMPT

FROM REGULATION AS PUBLIC UTILITIES

AND ESTABLISHING CIVIL PENALTIES

4 CODE OF COLORADO REGULATIONS (CCR) 723-33

TABLE OF CONTENTS

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY.

- RULE 723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES.
- RULE 723-33-2. DEFINITIONS.
- RULE 723-33-3. INSURANCE.
- RULE 723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION.
- RULE 723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT.
- RULE 723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE.
- RULE 723-33-7. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS GENERALLY.
- RULE 723-33-8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR LUXURY LIMOUSINES.
- RULE 723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES.
- RULE 723-33-10. HARDSHIP.
- RULE 723-33-11. VIOLATIONS CIVIL PENALTIES ASSESSMENTS REVOCATION FOR CAUSE.

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY.

The basis and purpose of these rules is to regulate motor vehicle carriers exempt from regulation as public utilities as defined in § 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.; to specify the luxury

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 2 of 17

features a luxury limousine must offer; to designate the type of written documentation, as set forth in § 40-16-104(2), C.R.S., that a motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility must file with this Commission; and to provide penalties for the violation thereof. These rules are issued in accordance with § 40-2-110.5, C.R.S.

These amendments are intended to update the existing <u>cargo</u> <u>insurance</u> rules <u>for property carriers of household goods</u> so that they may be consistent with the most recent amendments to the <u>Colorado Revised Statutes</u> the <u>public is better protected</u> against loss or damage and they include the various forms required for insurance filings. These amendments also increase the penalty for violations of certain statutes and rules from \$100.00 to \$200.00 making these rules consistent with other Commission rules for motor carriers.

The statutory authority for these rules is found at §§ 40-2-108, 40-7-112 through 116, 40-16-101(3)(a)(III), and 40-16-103.6, C.R.S.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-1. APPLICATION OF RULES.

These rules apply to motor vehicle carriers exempt from regulation as public utilities as defined in § 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-2. DEFINITIONS.

723-33-2.1 <u>"Commission"</u> — means the Colorado Public Utilities Commission.

723-33-2.2 "Commodities" means property other than household goods.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 3 of 18

723-33-2.22.3 "Discretionary vehicle." A vehicle may be qualified as a discretionary vehicle if the vehicle would have qualified as a luxury vehicle at the time the vehicle was new and if the vehicle is in exceptional physical condition at the time of registration. A vehicle is in exceptional physical condition if: (1) The body of the vehicle has a good, unfaded paint job, and is devoid of dents, rust, missing or broken chrome, and has no broken or cracked glass or lenses; (2) The interior of the vehicle is clean, free of offensive odors, and has no tears, cracks, or major stains upon the upholstery, headliner, and carpeting; and (3) is in sound mechanical condition with no safety defects. The applicant shall bear the burden of proving that the original Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price of the vehicle was equal to or in excess of that required of a luxury vehicle.

723-33-2.4 "Exempt carrier" means "motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility" as that term is defined in § 40-16-101(4), C.R.S.

723-33-2.5 "Form E" means a NARUC Form E Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer.

723-33-2.6 "Form G" means a NARUC Form G Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the surety.

723-33-2.7 "Form H" means a NARUC Form H Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 4 of 18

723-33-2.8 "Form J" means a NARUC Form J Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Surety Bond, executed by a duly authorized agent of the surety.

<u>723-33-2.9 "Form K" means a NARUC Form K Uniform</u>

<u>Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies.</u>

<u>723-33-2.10 "Form L" means a NARUC Form L Uniform</u>
Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Surety Bonds.

723-33-2.11 "Household goods" means

<u>123-33-2.11.1</u> Personal effects, personal property used or to be used in a dwelling that is a part of the equipment or supply of such dwelling, or similar property; except that this definition shall not be construed to include property moving from a factory or store except such property as a purchaser has purchased with intent to use in the purchaser's dwelling and which is transported at the request of, and the transportation charges paid to the carrier by the purchaser or the purchaser's agent;

723-33-2.11.2 Furniture, fixtures, equipment, and the property of stores, offices, museums, institutions, hospitals or other establishments when a part of the stock, equipment, or supply of such stores, offices, museums, institutions, hospitals, or other establishments; except that this subparagraph shall not be construed to include the stock-in-trade of any establishment, whether consignor or consignee, other than used furniture and used fixtures, except when transported as incidental to moving of the establishment, or a portion thereof, from one location to another; and

723-33-2.11.3 Articles, including objects of art, displays, and exhibits, which because of their unusual nature or value require the specialized handling and equipment usually employed in moving household goods; except that this

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 5 of 18

subparagraph shall not be construed to include any article, whether crated or uncrated, which does not, because of its unusual nature or value, require the specialized handling and equipment usually employed in moving household goods.

723-33-2.12 "NARUC" means the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.

<u>723-33-2.13</u> "Property carrier" means "property carrier by motor vehicle", as that term is defined in § 40-16-101(6.5), C.R.S.

 $723-33-\frac{2.3}{2.14}$ "Public entity" —shall have that meaning as set forth in § 24-10-103(5), C.R.S.

RULE (4CCR) 723-33-3. <u>INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL EXEMPT</u> CARRIERS.

having registered under the provisions of § 40 16 103, C.R.S., shall obtain and keep in force at all times, public liability and property damage insurance or a surety bond providing similar coverage issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in the State of Colorado, which coverage shall not be less than the minimum limits set forth in § 40-16-104, C.R.S. In lieu of liability insurance, ppublic entities may obtain a certificate of self-insurance from the Division of Insurance in the Department of Regulatory Agencies.

<u>723-33-3.1.1</u> The exempt carrier shall ensure that coverage:

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 6 of 18

<u>723-33-3.1.1.2</u> Covers all vehicles which may be operated by or for the exempt carrier, or which may be under the control of the exempt carrier;

<u>723-33-3.1.1.3 Is accomplished by a "Waiver of Description" endorsement on each policy;</u>

<u>723-33-3.1.1.4 Provides for the payment of</u>
<u>benefits by the insurer(s) directly to parties damaged by the</u>
exempt carrier on a "first dollar/dollar one" basis;

retained risk provision, such provision shall obligate the insurer to pay the party damaged by the exempt carrier regardless of the level of funds in the retained risk pool; and

<u>723-33-3.1.1.6 Does not permit an exempt</u> <u>carrier to pay benefits directly to a party damaged by the</u> <u>exempt carrier.</u>

T23-33-3.1.2 EveryThe exempt carrier shall cause to be filed with the Commission, a Form E or Form G in lieu of the original policy, a Form E Uniform Motor Carrier Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer. Public entities may fileobtaining a certificate of self-insurance issued by the Division of Insurance in the Department of Regulatory Agencies shall file a copy of said certificate with the Commission in lieu of a Form E or Form G. 723 33

3.1.1 The original policy is to be retained by the exempt carrier and kept available for inspection by any authorized representative of the Commission. The carrier shall ensure that:

723 33 3.3 Insurance filings.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 7 of 18

723-33-3.13.1.2.1 All insurance coverage must be filed with tThe policy and Form E or G contain the carrier's exact name, initials, corporate and trade name (if any), and address as shown in the application or records of the Commission, and

723-33-<u>3.3.2</u>3.1.2.2 <u>Any</u> <u>Ssubsequent name or policy number changes shall be reflected by the <u>insurer</u> filing of an endorsement or amended Form E or G.</u>

723-33-3.3.3.1.3 Every insurance or surety bond certificate required by and filed with the Commission shall be kept in full force and effect, and shall bind the insurer or surety, unless and until canceled by the insurer or surety cancels the coverage by filing with the Commission a 30-day written notice, on a Form K Uniform Notice of Cancellation of Motor Carrier Insurance Policies, from the insurer to the Commission, or Form L, as applicable. which time The 30-day notice shall run from the date the notice is received by the Commission and the certificate shall contain a statement to this effectreceives the notice.

<u>723-33-3.1.4</u> The Commission shall not accept any insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full.

<u>723-33-3.1.5</u> <u>Certificates of self-insurance will be considered The Commission will consider</u> valid <u>a certificate</u> of self-insurance, until <u>such a certificate is</u> canceled or not renewed by the Division of Insurance in the Department of Regulatory Agencies.

723-33-3.1.6 Whenever Commission records indicate that an exempt carrier's public liability and property damage coverage is canceled and there is no proof on file with the Commission indicating replacement coverage, the exempt carrier's registration shall be immediately revoked.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 8 of 18

723-33-3.2 <u>Cargo Additional</u> Insurance <u>Requirements for Property Carriers</u>. Every property carrier by motor vehicle having registered under the provisions of § 40 16 103, C.R.S., shall obtain and maintain keep in force at all times cargo insurance coverage issued by an insurance company or surety authorized to do business in the State of Colorado.

<u>T23-33-3.2.1</u> The property carrier shall ensure that <u>Tt</u>he coverage shall be \$10,000 per motor vehicle unit operated, or an amount adequate to cover the value of the property being transported, whichever is less, unless the shipper and the <u>property</u> carrier otherwise <u>so provideagree</u> by written contract <u>for</u>to a lesser amount.

723-33-3.2.2 For household goods, the property carrier and shipper may not agree to an amount less than sixty cents (\$.60) per pound, per article. For purposes of this rule 3.2.2, and by way of example, "article" means a desk but not each individual drawer of the desk.

T23-33-3.2.3 Exemptions. A property Carriers transporting only (a) loads of commodities with an aggregate value of \$500-7 or less-7 are exempt from this Rule 3.2. Carriers transporting onlyor (b) loads of commodities not subject to appreciable loss or damage-7 due to the physical characteristics of the commodities, are is exempt from this Rule 3.2.723-33-3.2.1 if the property carrier submits to the Commission a signed statement reading as follows:

- [] valued at \$500.00 or less, or
- [] are not subject to appreciable loss or damage due to the physical characteristics of the commodities.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 9 of 18

If the Commission receives a Form H or Form J after the submission of the signed statement, the Commission shall thereafter deem the signed statement null and void for all purposes.

T23-33-3.2.4 Except as provided in 723-33-3.2.3,

Everythe property carrier by motor vehicle shall cause to be filed with the Commission a Form H or Form J, in lieu of the original policy, a Form H Uniform Motor Carrier Cargo Certificate of Insurance, executed by a duly authorized agent of the insurer. Nothing in this rule shall be construed to limit the right of the carrier and the shipper to enter into an agreement which establishes the amount of cargo liability of the carrier. 723 33 3.2.1 ____ The property carrier shall retain the original policy is to be retained by the carrier and shall be, keeping it available for inspection by any authorized representative of the Commission. The property carrier shall ensure that:

<u>723-33-3.2.4.1 The policy and Form H or J</u> contain the property carrier's exact name, trade name (if any), and address as shown in the records of the Commission; and

number changes shall be reflected by the filing of an endorsement or amended Form H or J.

<u>723-33-3.2.5</u> The Commission shall not accept any insurance or surety bond certificate not completed in full.

<u>723-33-3.2.6</u> Whenever Commission records indicate that a property carrier's cargo insurance is canceled and there is no proof on file with the Commission indicating replacement coverage, the property carrier's registration shall be immediately revoked.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 10 of 18

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-4. PROOF OF REGISTRATION.

Every carrier having registered under the provisions of § 40-16-103, C.R.S., shall carry proof of such registration in the motor vehicles operated under said registration, and make available to all enforcement officers such proof upon request.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-5. DESIGNATION OF AGENT.

Each motor vehicle carrier exempt from regulation as a public utility shall file with the Commission, and maintain on file, the name and address of a person upon whom service may be made of notices or orders in proceedings pending before the Commission, process issued by or under the authority of any court or board in any judicial or other proceeding brought against such carrier, or any other process, notice, or demand required or permitted by law to be served upon the carrier. The designation of agent shall be in writing in a form prescribed by the Commission. The designation may be changed by a similar filing. The Secretary of State of the State of Colorado may not be the person designated as agent. The person designated, if a natural person, shall be at least 18 years of age. The address of the person designated shall be in the State of Colorado.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-6. REGISTRATION AS A LUXURY LIMOUSINE.

Registration as a luxury limousine shall require the provision of the following information, to the extent applicable, either on the Commission's registration form or in appropriately identified attached exhibits:

- 723-33-6.1 The name and complete mailing address and physical address of the applicant, and the name under which the operation shall be conducted.
- 723-33-6.2 A copy of its certificate of assumed trade name, if any.
- 723-33-6.3 If the applicant is a sole proprietorship the name of the owner.
 - 723-33-6.4 If the applicant is a corporation:
- 723-33-6.4.1 A statement of that fact and the name of the state in which it is incorporated.
- 723-33-6.4.2 The complete mailing address and physical address of its principal office, if any, in this state; and the names of its directors and officers.
- 723-33-6.4.3 A copy of its Articles of Incorporation.
- 723-33-6.4.4 If the applicant is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the authority qualifying it to do business in Colorado.
 - 723-33-6.5 If the applicant is a partnership:
- 723-33-6.5.1 The name and title of each partner, whether general or limited.
 - 723-33-6.5.2 The name and title, of each trustee.
- 723-33-6.6 If the applicant is a Limited Liability Company, ("LLC"):
- 723-33-6.6.1 A statement of that fact and the name of the state in which it is organized.
- 723-33-6.6.2 The complete mailing address and physical address of its principal office, if any, in this state; and the names of its managers.
- 723-33-6.6.3 A copy of its Articles of Organization.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 12 of 18

723-33-6.7 The application for a registration shall also include a statement describing any other type of operating authority issued either by a state or federal agency under which the applicant contends that it may provide for hire service in the transportation of passengers in the State of Colorado.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-7. <u>VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS</u> GENERALLY.

723-33-7.1 Before the first day of January of each calendar year, every carrier shall apply to the Commission for the issuance of a vehicle identification stamp for each self-propelled vehicle which the carrier owns, controls, operates, or manages within the State of Colorado.

723-33-7.2 The vehicle identification stamps shall be valid for the calendar year for which they are purchased. Vehicle identification stamps shall expire at 12:00 midnight on December 31st of the year for which they are issued.

723-33-7.3 Vehicle identification stamps for carriers obtaining a new registration, or acquiring new or additional vehicles during the year, shall be obtained and affixed to the vehicle before it is put into service.

723-33-7.4 The vehicle identification stamps shall be permanently affixed to the inside, lower, right-hand corner of the windshield of each vehicle, or to the Form D1 Cab Card if the carrier operates in interstate commerce and transports commodities which are exempt from regulation by the Federal Highway Administration. A carrier that is also registered under the Single State Registration System for regulated interstate carriers shall carry a copy of the Form RS-3

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 13 of 18

Registration Receipt in each vehicle in lieu of the vehicle identification stamp.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-8. <u>VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION STAMPS FOR</u> LUXURY LIMOUSINES.

723-33-8.1 Prior to accepting the fee for a vehicle identification stamp as required by § 40-2-110.5, C.R.S., the enforcement staff of the Commission may inspect any vehicle intended to be operated as a luxury limousine. The enforcement staff shall inspect any vehicle intended to be operated as a luxury limousine which vehicle has not been previously inspected. The enforcement staff shall make the preliminary determination whether the specific vehicle meets the requirements of § 40-16-101(3), C.R.S., and Rule 9 of these rules.

723-33-8.2 If the vehicle meets these requirements, a vehicle identification stamp shall be issued.

Τf 723-33-8.3 the vehicle does not. meet. these requirements, and the person attempting to pay the vehicle identification fee disagrees with the enforcement staff's determination, that person may request a hearing before the Commission by filing a written application. In any hearing conducted by the Commission or one of its administrative law judges, the person attempting to pay the identification fee for a luxury limousine shall have the burden of proving that the vehicle in question complies with the standards set forth in applicable statutes and these rules. This application will be published in the Commission's Notice of Applications Filed for a period of not less than ten days for comment by existing regulated common carriers and the public generally.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 14 of 18

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-9. LUXURY LIMOUSINE FEATURES.

723-33-9.1 External signs and graphics. A luxury limousine shall not have any exterior signs or graphics except license plates; those otherwise required by law; those attached by a law enforcement agency; those attached by the vehicle manufacturer or dealership for the purpose of identifying the manufacturer, dealership, or the vehicle's make and model; and those attached for the purpose of indicating special events such as weddings, graduations, and parades.

723-33-9.2 Luxury features. The luxury limousine shall offer the following:

723-33-9.2.1 A television. The television screen shall be at least three (3) inches in size, measured diagonally, when positioned inside an overhead console. When not located in an overhead console the television screen shall be at least five (5) inches in size, measured diagonally. The television shall be positioned inside a console or cabinet which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle. The television shall be located so that the screen and controls are in compliance with the safety rules found at 4 CCR 723-15 incorporating, among other things, 49 C.F.R., section 393.88;

723-33-9.2.2 A telephone which shall be accessible to the customer, in working order, and capable of making and receiving calls. Each luxury limousine must have a separately assigned telephone number. An intercom system does not meet the requirements of this rule; and

723-33-9.2.3 Beverages and beverage service amenities including, but not limited to, glasses or cups, and an ice container which shall be positioned inside a console or cabinet which is securely attached to the body of the vehicle

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 15 of 18

and located inside the passenger compartment of the luxury limousine.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-10. HARDSHIP.

In case of hardship, a carrier may file a written application for relief from any rule. The Commission, to the extent authorized by applicable law may, at its discretion, grant the application or set the matter for hearing. The Commission may permit variance from Rules 723-33-1 through 723-33-9 of these rules for good cause and if it is satisfied that the public interest will be served, and if it finds compliance to be impossible, impractical, or unreasonable. All applications will be noticed by the Commission for a period of not less than ten days for comment.

A copy of any grant of such application by the Commission shall be carried in the vehicle(s) affected by it and shall be made available for inspection upon request by the enforcement staff of the Commission.

RULE (4 CCR) 723-33-11. <u>VIOLATIONS - CIVIL PENALTIES</u> ASSESSMENTS - REVOCATION FOR CAUSE.

723-33-11.1 A violation of §§ 40-16-102.5 or 40-16-103, C.R.S., may result in the assessment of a penalty of up to \$400.00.

723-33-11.2 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.1 Aa violation of § 40-16-103any other provisions of Title 40, C.R.S., pertaining to exempt carriers, may result in the assessment of a penalty of up to \$400.00200.00.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 16 of 19

723-33-11.3 A violation of Rule 723-33-3.1 of these rules may result in an assessment of a penalty of up to \$400.00 per day.

723-33-11.4 Except as provided for in 723-33-11.3 Aa violation of any other rule of these rules, except as provided for in Rules 723 33 11.1 through 723 33 11.3 of these rules, may result in an assessment of a penalty of up to \$100.00200.00 per day.

723-33-11.5 Driver and Owner Violations.

723-33-11.5.1 Any owner or other person employing or directing a driver who operates a motor vehicle in violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount stated in such rules if such owner or person knows or had reason to know that the driver was engaged in such violation, or directs the driver to operate the motor vehicle in violation of such rules.

723-33-11.5.2 Any driver who operates a motor vehicle in violation of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules may be assessed a civil penalty in the amount stated in such rules.

723-33-11.5.3 Any civil penalty provided for in Rules 723-33-11.5.1 and 723-33-11.5.2 of these rules shall be in addition to and not in lieu of any civil penalty against the actual driver, and any such penalty may be assessed upon the initial violation by such owner, other person, or driver.

723-33-11.6 Each day in which an owner, other person, or driver, violates the provisions of these rules for which a civil penalty may be assessed may constitute a separate violation.

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 17 of 19

723-33-11.7 Any person shall be deemed to have intentionally violated a provision of these rules if, after having been issued a written notification of such violation, such person violates the same provision again. An intentional violation may be shown also by other facts, circumstances, or conduct.

723-33-11.8 Multiple offenses. The violation of more than one statute, rule, or regulation during the course of one 24-hour period shall constitute multiple offenses for which civil penalties may be assessed as set forth in these rules.

723-33-11.9 Separate offenses. Each violation of a statute, rule, or regulation within the scope of these rules shall constitute a separate offense for which a civil penalty may be assessed as set forth in these rules.

723-33-11.10 Repeat Violations of Statutes or Rules.

723-33-11.10.1 If any person receives a second civil penalty assessment for a violation of the provisions of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within one year after the first violation, the civil penalty assessed for such second violation may be two times the amount specified in Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules.

723-33-11.10.2 If any person receives more than two civil penalty assessments for violation of the provisions of Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules within one year, the civil penalty assessed for each such subsequent violation may be three times the amount specified in Rules 723-33-11.1 through 723-33-11.4 of these rules.

723-33-11.11 Revocation for Cause. The Commission, on its own motion or as a result of a complaint by any carrier or other person under these rules and the Commission's Rules of Practice Procedure, except for insurance revocation under Rule

Attachment A
Decision No. C01-1234
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 4 CCR-723-33
DOCKET NO. 01R-552EC
Page 18 of 19

723-33-11.12, by order duly entered, after hearing upon notice to the holder of a luxury limousine registration and when it is established to the satisfaction of the Commission that such holder has failed or refused to operate a luxury limousine service in accordance with Article 16 of Title 40, C.R.S., or of these rules, may revoke the registration issued under the provisions of § 40-16-103, C.R.S.

723-33-11.12 The Commission shall revoke the registration of any person not complying with the insurance requirements set forth in § 40-16-104, C.R.S.

G:\YELLOW\01R-552EC_C01-1234A_11-28-01.DOC