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STATEMENT OF THE CASE

By notice of proposed rulemaking mailed December 13, 1993,
the Commission sent notice regarding proposed modifications and
additions to the existing Towing Carrier Rules, 4 CCR 723-9. In
its notice of proposed rulemaking, the Commission established
February 22, 1994, as a hearing date.

Written comments were filed on February 4, 1994, by the
Towing & Recovery Professionals of Colorado, Inc. (TRPC); and
followed on February 15, 1994, by the transcript of proceedings
from Docket No. 93M-474CY.

On February 22, 1994, the matter was heard by Administrative
Law Judge Arthur G. Staliwe. Near the conclusion of the hearing,
staff requested some additional time within which to discuss the



matter with those towing carriers who had filed comments. On or
about March 11, 1994, staff filed a new proposed Rule 2.2 to the
Towing Carrier Rules, as more fully set forth below.

Pursuant to the provisions of § 40-6-109, C.R.S.,
Administrative Law Judge Arthur G. Staliwe now transmits to the
Commission the record and exhibits of said hearing, together with
a written recommended decision containing findings of fact,
conclusions, and order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Based upon all the evidence and comments of record, the
following is found as fact:

1 The TRPC is a Colorado trade association representing
approximately 62 companies and individuals holding T-Permits from
this Commission. It is not clear from the record whether the
named individual towing services are members of TRPC, or appeared
in addition to TRPC.

2. As pertinent to this proceeding, the evidence adduced
in Docket No. 94M-474CY, plus the comments provided in this
proceeding, establish that the towing industry and its equipment
suppliers broadly place towing services into the following three
weight categories:

a. Light Duty - Defined as the towing
of vehicles weighing less than
10,000 pounds GVW;

b. Medium Duty - The towing of vehicles
weighing between 10,000 and
26,000 pounds GVW; and

C. Heavy Duty - The towing of vehicles in
excess of 26,000 pounds GVW.

For illustrations of the difference in the size of the tow trucks
used, see Appendix E of TRPC comments. Given the different

sizes and strengths of equipment utilized in the three towing
categories, there are significant differences in the costs of the
tow trucks utilized in those categories. The comments of TRPC
establish that a new one-ton wrecker used for light towing costs
in the vicinity of $40,000, while a new heavy duty wrecker
weighing 80,000 pounds costs up to $200,000. And, as indicated
by TRPC, each separate category carries different levels of
driver skill with resulting different driver wage scales.



3. In addition to the three weight categories, the
comments in this matter establish that at least the members of
TRPC use four pricing classifications:

(a) Commercial Accounts - Such as automobile
dealerships or body shops that regularly
use a given towing carrier’s services;

(b) Private Property Tows - The removal of
unattended trespassing motor vehicles
from private property;

(c) Police Contract Tows - Contracts similar
to those used for commercial accounts,
but arranged with municipal police
authorities; and

(d) Public Tows - The random, individual
contracts with members of the public for
the towing of motor vehicles.

As indicated by TRPC, the above are pricing classifications or’
categories; in each category a towing carrier may have multiple
prices based upon each individual contract with an auto
dealership, municipal police department, owner of private
property, etc. It should be noted that each price category or
classification can also have separate prices for each weight
category of service, i.e., light duty towing, medium duty towing,
and heavy duty towing as set forth in finding no. 2. As
indicated by TRPC, their knowledge of the industry is that most
light duty and medium duty towing is billed on a per hook and
loaded mile basis, while heavy duty towing is traditionally
billed on an hourly basis, portal to portal.

Compounding matters is the disparate nature of the towing
business between those who do nothing but towing (usually in the
larger cities), and those who operate a tow truck as an adjunct
to another business such as a gas station or body shop. In the
former case all expenses of whatsoever nature must be borne by
the towing rates; on the other hand, gas stations, etc., who
operate a tow truck can share expenses such as labor with other
business activities, and thus have lower overall towing costs.

4. One major consideration in this rulemaking is the
definition of a motor vehicle that a towing carrier can legally
tow or transport, presumably without going across the line into
forbidden common or contract carriage. After the hearing in this
matter, staff of the Commission and the industry got together



with the Colorado State Patrol and came up with the following new
proposed Rule 2.2:

PRESENT DEFINITION WITH NEW PROPOSED
DEFINITION

2.2 Motor Vehicle means any motorized
vehicle which is capable of moving on
the public ways of the State of
Colorado. The term also includes any
tailer or semitrai

5. None of the towing carriers present at the hearing, nor
those who filed separate comments, have any objections to the
proposed rule changes involving equipment and accessories, and
specifically the requirement for three bidirectional emergency
reflective triangles in lieu of burning flares.

6. Of great concern to all present are the changes
proposed for Rule 16, governing towing rates and charges.
Specifically, proposed Rule 16.1 would require that every towing
carrier file with the Commission a schedule of rates showing the
exact rate and charge for each type of towing and storage service
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provided. In turn, proposed Rule 16.6 requires the towing
carrier to charge or collect the exact amount filed on its rate
schedule, rather than the current requirement setting forth a
maximum rate while allowing the towing carrier to charge below
its theoretical maximum. Changes can only be made after notice
to the Commission. These requirements are similar to the current
requirements imposed on common and contract carriers.

Hotly contested is proposed Rule 16.9, which provides that
the maximum rate that may be charged for a tow from private
property shall be no greater than $100, to include all
accessorial services such as hook-up fees, milage fees, title
searches, etc., with an additional $25 to be allowed for the use
of dollies, a maximum daily storage fee after the first 24 hours
of $15, and a maximum drop charge of $20. The evidence in this
matter establishes that staff only has light duty towing (i.e.,
cars and light trucks) in mind, although the rule as written is
not so limited. There are no post-hearing proposals to modify
the rule to accommodate (or exclude) medium and heavy duty
towing. And, the record establishes that from time to time
unattended heavy trucks and tractor-trailer combinations must be
removed from private property, something TRPC firmly asserts
cannot be done for staff’s $100 maximum, thus giving trespassing
heavy vehicles an upper hand over owners of the property being
trespassed upon.

The record in this matter establishes that staff came up
with these numbers using a percentage of averages method, combing
filed price lists to get to a figure above the 90th percentile of
current listed towing carrier rates. See Exhibit No. 3. The
proposed Rule 16.9 contains no provision for periodic review by
staff of the justness of the $100, etc., amounts. Rather,
staff’s suggestion is that if a towing carrier finds that the
costs for its services exceed the allowable rule amounts, the
towing carrier should file a waiver application, wherein the
towing carrier must prove that its expenses exceed the maximum
allowed rate, and also come forward to prove the justness and
reasonableness of its proposed rate in excess of $100, etc.
Again, this is close to the current requirement for common
carriers, and a more stringent requirement than that currently
imposed upon contract carriers.

As indicated by Kieth Hand of Mac’s Auto Recovery, he is not
able to dispatch a vehicle and driver to the scene of a trespass,
hook-up the offending vehicle, and then relinquish the vehicle
upon arrival of the owner for staff’s $20 drop charge. In Hand’s
opinion, all or parts of Rule 16.9 will be the subject of an
immediate surge of waiver applications. Certainly, he will file
one.



DISCUSSION

Given the new amended Rule 2.2, much of the industry concern
in this case evaporated. Left, however, is the issue of rate
regulation.

The Colorado statutes governing towing carrier pertinently
provide:

40-13-102. Control of towing carriers.
(1) All towing carriers are declared to be
affected with a public interest and subject
to regulation to the extent provided in this
article.

(2) A towing carrier required by this
article to procure a permit ghall not be
construed to be a public utility under this
title, nor shall such carrier be subject to
requlation under article 10 or 11 of this
title, nor shall any permit issued under this
article be transferable to any other towing :
carrier.

40-13-107:

* * %

(2) The commission may prescribe
minimum and maximum rates and charges to be
collected by towing carriers for the towing
of motor vehicles for compensation and for
the storage of such vehicles. . . .

Emphasis supplied. As noted above, the PUC is absolutely
prohibited from construing towing carriers to be public utilities
(and thus subject to rate regulation under § 40-3-101, C.R.S.,

et seq.), nor shall towing carriers be subject to the level of
regulation imposed upon contract carriers as found in § 40-11-
101, C.R.S., et seq. It must be remembered that the regulation
of contract carrier rates is limited to ensuring minimum rates
below which the contract carrier cannot go, while allowing the
contract carrier an unfettered ability to negotiate rates above
the minimum.

The plan proposed in the new towing rules closgely follows
the requirements of §§ 40-3-103, 104, and 105, C.R.S., in terms
of filing, as well as prohibition against variation from the
"exact" rates, in the nature of the filed rate doctrine
applicable to common carriers. See Denver & Rio Grande Western
Railroad v. Marty, 143 Colo. 496, 353 P.2d 1095 (1960). Of
course, this is a stricter requirement than that imposed upon
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contract carriers, whose rates may fluctuate at will above the
established minimum common carrier rates. See § 40-11-105(2) and
(3), C.R.S.

However, pursuant to § 40-13-102(2), C.R.S., this agency is
absolutely prohibited from subjecting towing carriers to the same
regulation imposed upon both common and contract carriers. On
their face the amendments proposed in Rules 16.1, and 16.2, are
violative of § 40-13-102(2), C.R.S., and therefore void per § 24-
4-103(8) (a), C.R.S., which provides:

No rule shall be issued except within
the power delegated to the agency and as
authorized by law. A rule shall not be
deemed to be within the statutory authority
and jurisdiction of any agency merely because
such rule is not contrary to the specific
provisions of a statute. Any rule or
amendment to an existing rule issued by any
agency, including state institutions of
higher education administered pursuant to
title 23, C.R.S., which conflicts with a -'
statute shall be void.

Emphasis supplied. And, it appears that at least some towing
carriers are acutely aware of the above. A & A Auto Wrecking v.
Department of Revenue, 43 Colo. App. 85, 602 P.2d 10 (1979).

But what about the language in § 40-13-107(2), C.R.S.,
". . . may prescribe . . . rates and charges to be collected by
towing carriers . . .?" While the legislature has expressed a
desire for the- PUC to perhaps regulate towing rates, the
legislature at the same time absolutely prohibited this agency
from doing so in the time tested methods used for common and
contract carriers. This left the staff with no choice but to
declare by fiat maximum rates in proposed Rule 16.9, and then
impermissibly shift the burden to towing carriers to "prove"
otherwise, and also "prove" what they felt a reasonable new rate
should be, just like common carriers have to do a la § 40-3-101,
et seq., C.R.S. Directly or indirectly, this is a violation of
§ 40-13-102(2), C.R.S., and thus void per § 24-4-103(8) (a),
C.R.S. A requirement that staff review the justness of the
amounts on a biannual basis should help alleviate the shifting of
the burden.

Adding to the confusion is the internal conflict between
proposed Rules 16.1 and 16.2, which require the towing carrier to
charge all alike for the same service, and Rule 16.9 which sets
absolute maximums above which no towing rates from private
property may go. If a towing carrier must perform a certain set



of services to remove a trespassing vehicle, which services on
the open road would compel (not merely allow) recovery over $100,
do we not have a classic situation of denial of equal protection
and/or confiscation of private property? It certainly seems so.
In part this is the argument of the medium and heavy towing
specialists, who note that they cannot run heavy towing equipment
and remove large trespassing vehicles for the proposed $100
maximum. At a minimum, the concerns of the towing industry can
be partially alleviated by limiting Rule 16.9 to the towing of
light vehicles.

ORDER
THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:
1 The proposed rules and attached Appendix A should be
adopted.
23 This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day

it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case,
and is entered as of the date above.

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this
Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may
file exceptions to it.

a. IF NO EXCEPTIONS ARE FILED WITHIN 20 DAYS AFTER
SERVICE OR WITHIN ANY EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME
AUTHORIZED, OR UNLESS THE DECISION IS STAYED BY
THE COMMISSION UPON ITS OWN MOTION, THE
RECOMMENDED DECISION SHALL BECOME THE DECISION OF
THE COMMISSION AND SUBJECT TO THE PROVISIONS OF
§ 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. IF A PARTY SEEKS TO AMEND, MODIFY, ANNUL, OR
REVERSE BASIC FINDINGS OF FACT IN ITS EXCEPTIONS,
THAT PARTY MUST REQUEST AND PAY FOR A TRANSCRIPT
TO BE FILED, OR THE PARTIES MAY STIPULATE TO
PORTIONS OF THE TRANSCRIPT ACCORDING TO THE
PROCEDURE STATED IN § 40-6-113, C.R.S. IF NO
TRANSCRIPT OR STIPULATION IS FILED, THE COMMISSION
IS BOUND BY THE FACTS SET OUT BY THE
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE AND THE PARTIES CANNOT
CHALLENGE THESE FACTS. THIS WILL LIMIT WHAT THE
COMMISSION CAN REVIEW IF EXCEPTIONS ARE FILED.



4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall
not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good
cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSIOMN
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

ARTHUR G. STALINWE

Administrative Law Judge

AGS:srs
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THE
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE
STATE OF COLORADO

RULES AND REGULATIONS GOVERNING
TOWING CARRIERS BY MOTOR VEHICLE
4 CCR 723-9

BASIS, PURPOSE AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The basis and purpose of the towing carrier rules is to govern the
operation and activities of towing carriers and the basis and purpose
of these revisions is to update these rules to reflect current
conditions.

The Commission’s statutory authority for the issuance of these
rules is §40-13-107, C.R.S.

Notes: Colorado Revised Statute 40-2-110.5(2.5) provides that
every towing carrier which has been issued a permit pursuant to
§40-13-103. C.R.S. shall pay an annual identification fee of $5.00
dollars to the Commission for each towing vehicle the carrier
owns, controls, operates or manages. Fees shall be valid for the
period of February 1 through January 31 of the following year and

shall be valid only for those specific vehicles for which the fee
has been paid.

All carriers operating commercial vehicles, as defined in

§ 42-4-234(1)(a), C.R.S. will need to comply with the safety
standards and specifications adopted by the Department of Public
Safety(Colorado State Patrol) pursuant to § 42-4-234(3), C.R.S.

Rule 1 -- Application of Rules and Regulations

These rules and regulations apply to all towing carriers, as
defined in § 40-13-101(3), C.R.S., operating upon the public ways of
Colorado. Every towing carrier, driver and employee shall read and
become familiar with these rules and regulations and all applicable
statutes and laws of the State of Colorado.

Rule 2 -- Definitions and Terms

2.1 Commission means the Colorado Public Utilities Commission.
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2.2 Motor Vehicle means any motorized vehicle which is capable of
moving on the public ways of the State of Colorado. The term
also includes any trailer or semltraller attached to the

motorlzed vehlclew : g

2.3 Public Ways means every way publicly maintained and open for
use by the public for the public for the purposes of
vehicular travel, including, but not limited to, streets,
roads and highways.

2.4 Owner, operator or authorized agent means any person legally
entitled to possession of the motor vehicle.

2.5 Owner means owner, operator or authorized agent.
2.6 Carrier means towing carrier.

2.7 Vehicle means towing vehicle.

et

Rule 3--Permit Required

No person, unless exempted by § 40-13-103(2), C.R.S., shall
operate as a carrier without a valid permit issued by the Commission.
This permit does not authorize for-hire transportation requiring
specific authority as set forth in Title 40, Articles 10 and 11 or as
a carrier of household goods under Article 14 or as a motor vehicle
carrier exempt from regulation as public utilities in Article 16,
GRS :
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Rule 4--Filing Fees

The statutory fee found in § 40-13-104, C.R.S., paid in cash,
check, or money order payable to the Public Utilities Commission shall
accompany an application for a permit.

Rule 5--Contents of Application for Permit

L |

Every carrier shall submit an application for a permit to the
Commission. The application shall contain the following
information:

5.1.1 The name and complete street address, city, state and
zip code of the applicant and the name under which the
operation shall be conducted. A post office box is
not acceptable as an address.

If the applicant is a corporation:

5.2.1 A statement of that fact and the name of the state in
which it is incorporated;

5.2.2 The location of its principal office in the State of
Colorado and the names of its directors and officers;

5.2.3 A copy of its articles of incorporation or charter;
and

5.2.4 A copy of its certificate of assumed trade name.

If the applicant 1is a partnership, the name, title and
business address of each partner;

A list with a complete description of the equipment to be
operated;

A schedule of the charges for each type of towing and storage
service to be performed;

A statement that applicant is familiar with the Commissions’
Towing Carrier Rules and Regulations;

A statement that applicant has obtained at least the minimum
levels of insurance as set forth in Rule 11 and has requested
its insurance company to file evidence of this insurance in
the form and manner prescribed by the Commission;
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A statement stating that applicant understands that the

filing of this application does not constitute authority to
operate;

Every application must be signed by the applicant or its
attorney or agent with the complete address and telephone
number of the attorney or agent; and

A statement whether or not the carrier will provide storage
for towed vehicles. If storage is provided, a complete
address and description of the storage facilities shall be
included.

Rule 6--Change of Name and Address

Changes of name and address not involving change in ownership or
control must be made upon written notice to the Commission.

Rule 7--Change of Location of Storage Facility

When

a storage location is changed or additional locations are put

into use, written notice and a complete address and description must be
provided to the Commission.

Rule 8--Operation and Lease of Vehicles

No carrier shall permit or authorize any other person,
whether a carrier or not, to operate any vehicle or to
conduct any operations, other than those of the carrier’s,
under its permit.

Every carrier shall own or lease all vehicles operated under
its permit.

All leases of equipment shall be in writing and signed by the
lessor and lessee.

All leases of equipment shall contain at least the following:
information:

8.4.1 Date the agreement was entered into;

8.4.2 The lessor (truck owner) and lessee (permit holder)
names;

8.4.3 The make, year, and vehicle identification number of
the leased wvehicle;

8.4.4 The period of time the lease is in effect;

sl
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8.4.5 The consideration that the lessee will pay ‘the
lessor;

8.4.6 Neither party may cancel the lease without serving
the other party with a written notice of cancellation;
and

8.4.7 The lessee has the leased vehicle insured by its
insurance company and for the type and amount of
insurance as required by Rule 11.

During the period of the lease, the lessee shall have full
discretion and complete control of the leased vehicle and
will be fully responsible for its operation, in accordance
with all applicable laws and regulations, as if the lessee
were the owner. This would include, but not be limited to,
compliance with marking requirements, safety of the vehicle,
its equipment and accessories.

A copy of the lease agreement shall be carried in the leased
vehicle at all time.

9--Marking of Towing Vehicles

9.

9.2

No towing carrier shall operate any vehicle, owned or leased,

upon the public ways of the State of Colorado without first

marking or affixing on each side of the vehicle, in letters

and numbers, which shall be not less than two and one-half

inches in height, the following:

9.1.1 Name of the carrier as set out in its permit

9.1.2 C(City and state of the carrier’s general office; and

9.1.3 Colorado PUC T-000 (permit number shall be placed
after the T). ‘

All markings shall be completely removed from all vehicles
which are permanently withdrawn from service.

10--Identification Card

10.1 All carriers shall obtain from the Commission an

identification card and place it in each vehicle.

10.2 The identification card may not be replaced. Replacement or

additional cards will be furnished by the Commission upon
written request.
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Upon demand, the identification card shall -be presented by
the driver to any law enforcement officer, Port of Entry
officer or authorized personnel of the Commission.

Any alteration or amendment shall render the card null and
void. :

Rule 1l1l--Insurance--Surety Bond

11.1 Every carrier shall obtain and keep in force at all times a

11.2

11..3

public bodily injury and property damage liability insurance
policy, a cargo liability(on-hook [while car is in tow]
physical damage) policy which may include a deductible, and
for carriers that are required by Rule 12.1 to provide
storage, a garage keeper’s liability policy, which may
include a deductible or a surety bond providing the same
coverage. and issued by an insurance or surety company
authorized to do business in the State of Colorado by the
Commissioner of Insurance.
11.1.1 The insurance forms for the public cargo garage
keepers’ and property damage liability insurance
shall be filed on forms prescribed by the Commission.

The full coverage for each type of liability policy shall be

in amounts of no less than the following:

11.2.1 Public liability for injury or death to any one
person -- $100,000.00;

11.2.2 Total public liability for injury or death to all

persons -- $300,000.00;

11.2.3 Public liability for property damage -- $100,000.00;
or

11.2.4 A combined single limit liability (CSL) policy of --
$500,000.00.

11.2.5 Cargo liability(on-hook [while car is in tow]
physical damage) and garage keepers’ liability
insurance which shall provide coverage to the extent
of the carriers’ legal liability for loss or damage
to the property of any person or persons, other than
the insured, which is carried in, upon or attached to
the towing vehicle, its trailers or dollies or while
the property is in the care or custody of the carrier
(including while in storage).

The original policy for the required liability insurance
shall be retained by the carrier and be available for

-
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inspection by any authorized representative of the
Commission.

The carrier shall cause to be filed with the Commission
certificates of insurance in the forms and amounts stated in
Rule 11.1 and 11.2 and shall be executed by an authorized
agent of the insurer.

All filings must be submitted with the same name, initials,
trade name or corporate name and address 1listed on the
application for the permit.

Subsequent changes of name, address or policy number shall be
reflected on the certificates of insurance by having the
insurer file a written endorsement with the Commission.

Each certificate of insurance required to be filed with the
Commission shall be dept in force and effect unless and until
cancelled by a 30-day written notice by the insurer to the
Commission. The notice of cancellation of carrier insurance
policies or surety bonds shall be filed on a form prescribed
by the Commission.

12--Storage Facilities

121

12.2

For any vehicle towed pursuant to rule 14.3, a carrier shall
use an adequately secured storage facility where motor
vehicles may be safely stored. This facility may be either
an outside, fenced enclosure or in a building where the motor
vehicle will be protected from pilferage or other damage.
The carrier need not own the facility.

The outside area shall be enclosed by any, or a combination
of, wood, corrugated tin, aluminum or fiberglass sheets,
chain link or webbed wire at least six feet high with a
locked gate.

13--Equipment and Accessories

All vehicles shall meet with the following minimum requirements:

13.1

Tires not less than 700x15 in size;



Appendix A

Docket Nos. 92R-690 amd 93R-705
Decision No. R94-505

May 2, 1594

Page 8 of 15 Pages

13.2 Tires on the front wheels shall have a tread groove pattern

13..3

depth of at least 4/32 of an inch when measured at any point
on a major tread groove;

Except as provided for in Rule 13.2, all other tires shall
have a tread groove pattern depth of at least 2/32 of an inch
when measured at any point on a major tread groove;

13.4 Front tires shall be no less than an 8 ply-rating;

13.5

136

13.7

13.8

13.9

Vehicles with single rear wheels shall have tires that are
not less than 8 ply-rated;

Vehicles with dual rear wheels shall have tires that are not
less than 6 ply-rated; ’

Rims shall be secured by not less than eight lug bolts for
single rear wheels and not less than five lug bolts for dual
rear wheels;

13.7.1 All lug bolts are required to be present and in good
condition at all times.

Fender coverings for front and rear wheels;

Winching, lifting, towing and carrying equipment must include

at least one of the following combinations:

13.9.1 A power-driven winch and crane with a capacity of not
less than 6,000 pounds with a winch cable capable of
withstanding a test of not less than 10,000 pounds at
breaking point and a cradle, with a tow plate or
sling, equipped with safety chains and chains with
J-hooks of sufficiently heavy construction and
maintained in a manner to insure the safe lifting of
the towed wvehicle; or

13.9.2 A wheel-lift system with a stinger, L-arm brackets,
safety chains and nylon tie-down  straps, or a
mechanical wheel retainer device forming an integral
part of the L-arm bracket of sufficiently heavy
construction to secure the towed vehicle to the
wheel-1ift unit, and maintained in a manner to insure
the safe lifting and towing of the towed motor
vehicle; or

13.9.3 A rollback system with a winch and cable as
described in Rule 13.9.1, safety chains, tie-down
equipment and truck bed of sufficiently heavy

=
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construction and maintained in a manner to insure
the sage loading and transporting of the motor
vehicle. ‘

13.10 Each vehicle shall be equipped with the following operational
electric lights:

13.10.1 On the front, at least two head lamps, an
equal number on each side, two turn signals,
one on each side and two clearance lamps, one
on each side;

13.10.2 On the rear, at least two tail lamps, one on
each side, two stop lamps, one on each side,
two turn signals, one on each side, two
clearance lamps, one on each side and two
reflectors, one on each side; '

13.10.3 The turn signals must have a four-way flasher
system capable of flashing simultaneously as
a hazard warning with the ignition turned on
or off;

13.10.4 On each side, at or near the front, one-side
marker lamp and at or near the rear, on each
side, one side-marker lamp;

13.10.5 At least one signal lamp mounted either on
the highest and most visible point or on the
cab of the vehicle, which shall be capable
of displaying, in all directions, a
flashing, oscillating or rotating yellow
light. The light shall have sufficient
intensity to be visible at 500 feet in
normal sunlight and shall be actuated in
accordance with § 42-4-212.5(2) C.R.S.

13.10.6 Omne spot light, mounted behind the cab,
capable of lighting the scene of disability
and the motor vehicle to be moved. The back-
up lights of the vehicle may not be used in
lieu of the spot light;

13.10.7 One portable, combination light system
capable of being securely attached on the
rear of the towed motor vehicle. It must
congist of, with an equal number on each
gide, two tail lamps, two stop lamps and two
turn signals and be operated in conjunction
with the same lights on the towing wvehicle.
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13.11 The portable combination light system must be in operation

13.32

1313

13.14

whenever a motor vehicle is towed on the public ways of this
State.

Every vehicle shall be equipped with two separate brake

systems in the following manner:
13.12.1 A mechanical parking brake system that will hold in
the applied position by means other than fluid
pressure, air pressure or electric energy. It must
be capable of holding the vehicle or a combination
of motor vehicles on any grade upon which it is
being operated and under any conditions of loading
or lifting. A micro-lock brake system may be used
to supplement but may not be substituted for the
mechanical parking brake; ’
13.12.2 A service brake system that is capable of stopping
the vehicle and/or combination of motor vehicles in
a distance 40 feet at a speed of 20 miles per hour.
.01 The service brake system must be maintained so
that there are no fluid or air leaks.

.02 All brakes shall have a lining with a
thickness not less than 3/32 of an inch for
drum brakes or 1/8 of an inch for disc brakes.

Vehicles shall be equipped with engines, transmissions,
differentials, driveline components, brake systems, frames
and suspensions of sufficiently heavy construction and
maintained in a manner to safely winch, 1lift or tow any
motor vehicle tendered to the carrier.

Every vehicle shall be equipped with the following
accessories:

13.14.1 One shovel;

13.14.2 One broom;

13.14.3 One steering wheel tying device free from cracks,
fraying or deterioration. Flexible bunji cord type
straps are not acceptable;

13.14.4 One fire extinguisher, fully charged, having an
Underwriters’ Laboratories (UL) rating of 5 B:C or
more, or two fire extinguishers, each of which has
a (UL) rating of at least 4 B:C;

13.14.5 At least eme—eof—thefolleowing combinatieons—of+
—8F—At—teast—one—of-the—feollewing combinations—of+
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~04—Tthree red bidirecti
triangles.

13.14.6 Motor vehicles that are so extensively damaged as
to require dollies are not to be accepted for
towing unless the carrier is equipped with dollies
of sufficiently heavy construction and maintained
in a manner to insure the safe loading and towing
of a motor vehicle or the vehicle has a flat bed
with which to effect removal of the damaged motor
vehicle.

13.14.7 Dead-man blocks and other tie down equipment
sufficient to hold the vehicle in place while
equipment is required only if the carrier performs
rescue and recovery operations.

11 emergency reflective

Rule 14--Towing of Motor Vehicles

For the purpose of Rule 14, owner of private prgpertv shall 1nc1ude
a lessee, or his agent authorlzed in writin ‘

A carrier shall not tow any motor vehicle unless one of the
following conditions is met:

14.1 The carrier is directed, in writing, by a law enforcement
officer; or

14.2 The towing service is requested by the owner of a motor
vehicle. Except for telephone requests, a signed
authorization by the owner must be received by the carrier
specifying the final destination of the motor vehicle before
it may be towed and the carrier shall provide a copy of the
authorization to the ownér and a copy of all charges the
carrier will make before the tow begins. This would include,
but not be limited to, any extra charges because the carrier
would be unable to deliver the motor vehicle, at that time,

-11-
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to a repair or body shop during normal working hours.
Mileage and days for storage charges may be estimated; or

14.3 The motor vehicle is to be towed from private property upon
the direction of the owner of the property.

14.3.1 The authorization shall be in writing and shall
identify the motor vehicle by make and license
plate and include the date, time and place of
removal.

14.3.2 The authorization shall be made, filled out in full,
and signed by the owner and received by the carrier
at the time the motor vehicle is to be removed from
the private property.

14.3.3 No carrier may accept blank directions presigned by
the owner.

14.3.4 The written authorization shall be retained by the
carrier for six months and be made available for
inspection by the owner of the motor vehicle or his
authorized representative.

14.4 If any of the conditions as stated above are not met by the
carrier, it may not charge, collect or retain any fees or
charges for the unauthorized services it performed.

14.5 The carrier must tow all motor vehicles to the storage
facility which has been named by the carrier in accordance
with Rule 5.10 or Rule 7, unless one of the following
requirements is met:

14.5.1 The carrier is otherwise directed, in writing, by a
law enforcement officer; or

14.5.2 Except for towing services requested by telephone
pursuant to Rule 14.2, the carrier receives an
authorization signed by the owner of the motor
vehicle specifying that the wvehicle will not be
placed in storage, but is to be placed at a final
designated location.

Rule 15--Responsgibilities and Duties of Towing Carriers

15.1 In performing towing or storage services, every carrier
shall exercise reasonable care for the safeguarding of the
towed or stored motor vehicle and its contents from loss or
damage, notwithstanding any disclaimers to the contrary.

-12-
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Unless a hold order has been placed on any personal property
by a law enforcement officer or court of law, no carrier may
refuse to release any article or personal property in the
towed or stored motor vehicle to the owner of the property
because of any 1lien the carrier may have on that motor
vehicle for services rendered under Rule 14.3 above.

The proof of insurance required by these rules shall be
considered public record and the information shall be

provided by the carrier upon regquest to any member of the
public.

Claims for loss or damage to the property of any person or
persons, other than the insured, which is carried in, upon or
attached to the towing wvehicle, its trailers or dollies or
while the property is in the care or custody of the carrier

(including while in storage) shall be acknowledged by the

carrier, in writing, within five days after receipt of the

claim, informing the claimant of the claim number assigned to
the claim.

15.4.1 The carrier will pay, refuse payment or make a firm
compromise offer within 30 days after receipt of the
claim.

15.4.2 This claim procedure shall be followed only on claims
falling within a carrier’s deductible limits for its
cargo and garage keepers’ liability policies. Any
claims above these limits are to be presented by the
claimant or carrier to the carrier’s insurance
company for dispogition.

15.4.3 All claims shall be consecutively numbered and a
separate file, with the claim number, shall be
established and it shall contain, but not be limited
to, the claimant’s name, address, make and license
plate number of the towed vehicle, date of tow, copy
of the tow ticket, date the claim was received,
amount of claim and date of disposition of the claim.

=13 =
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Rule 1l6--Rates and Charges

361

16,2

163

16.4

1o h

16.6

16.7 ¥

16.8

Every carrier shall file, and keep on file with the
Commission, a schedule of rates and charges showing rates and
charges for each type of towing and storage service. Storage
charges shall be assessed on a per 24-hour basis and not on
a per calendar day basis.

Carriers may not change rates and charges until a revised
schedule with a new effective date has_been”flled with the

All schedules shall be legibly printed or typed on one side
only on paper 8 1/2 inches wide and 11 inches high.

All schedules shall show the full name, address, telephone
number, storage lot address(s), towing permit number, if
igssued, and effective date.

The schedule shall be signed by the owner or principal
officer.

No carrier shall charge g¥ collect more for any towing and
storage service than the rates and charges in its schedule on
file with the Commission.

arrier shall carry in each vehicle copies of its

*I_schedule of rates and charges. The—rates—and-—charges

If requested by the owner of the motor wvehicle, a carrier
must provide a copy of its schedule of rates and charges.

-14-
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Rule 17--Inspection of Records and Facilities

17.1 Books and records concerning the towing and storage
operations of any carrier shall be made available upon

request during normal Dbusiness hours to authorized
representatives of the Commission.

17.2 A carrier’s equipment and storage facilities shall be
available for inspection without notice, during normal

business hours by authorized representatives of the
Commission.

17.3 Copies of towing bills, storage bills, written records and
authorizations for tows shall be retained by the carrier for
a minimum of six months.

Rule 18--Rule Exemption

In case of hardship, a carrier may file a written application for
relief from any rule, stating the grounds for relief and the Commission,

at its discretion, may set the matter for hearing to determine whether
to grant the application.

<1 5=



