
(Decision No. C93-1527)

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

* * *

IN THE MATTER OF MODIFICATIONS
TO THE RULES AND REGULATIONS
CONCERNING CIVIL PENALTIES FOR
CARRIERS, 4 CCR 723-22

)
)
)
)

DOCKET NO. 93R-699

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

Mailing Date:
Adopted Date:

BY THE COMMISSION:

December 10, 1993
December 9, 1993

The Colorado Public utilities Commission hereby gives notice

of proposed rulemaking regarding amendments to the rules and

regulations concerning civil penalties for carriers, 4 CCR·723-22.

The intent of the proposed rules is to revise civil penalties for

specific violations of the statutes, rules and regulations

governing motor vehicle carriers, in accordance with currently

applicable statutes. A copy of the proposed rules is attached to

this notice of proposed rUlemaking. The statutory authority for

the proposed rules is found at sections 40-2-108, and 40-7-112

through 40-6-116, C.R.S. (1993).

The Commission will conduct a hearing before an administrative

law judge on the proposed rules and related issues beginning at

9:00 a.m. on February 18, 1994. The hearing will be conducted in

a Commission Hearing Room, Office Level (OL) 2, 1580 Logan Street,



Denver, Colorado. Interested persons may submit written comments

on the proposed rules and present these orally at hearing, unless

the Commission deems oral presentations unnecessary. Interested

persons may also file written comments before the hearing. The

Commission requests that prefiled comments be submitted 7 days

before the scheduled hearing. All submissions will be considered

by the Commission.

THEREFORE THE COMMISSION ORDERS THAT:

1. This Notice of Proposed Rulemaking shall be filed with

the Colorado Secretary of State for pUblication in the January 10,

1994 edition of The Colorado Register. At the time of filing with

the Secretary of State, this notice shall also be filed with the

Office of Regulatory Reform.

2. Hearing on the proposed rules and related matters shall

be held before an administrative law jUdge beginning at

TIME:

DATE:

PLACE:

9:00 a.m.

February 18, 1994

Commission Hearing Room, Office Level (OL) 2

1580 Logan Street, Denver, Colorado

At the time set for hearing, interested persons may sUbmit written

comments and may present these orally unless the Commission deems

oral comments unnecessary.
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3. Interested persons may file written comments in this

docket before hearing. The Commission requests that prefiled be

submitted 7 days before the scheduled hearing.

whether oral or written, will be considered.

This order is effective upon its mailed date.

ADOPTED IN OPEN MEETING December 10, 1993.

All submissions,

( SEA L )

ATTEST: A TRUE COpy

Bruce N. smith
Director

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

Robert E. Temmer

Vincent Majkowski
commissioners

COMMISSIONER CHRISTINE E. M. ALVAREZ
ABSENT
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THE
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

OF THE
STATE OF COLORADO

RULES AND REGULATIONS CONCERNING
CIVIL PENALTIES FOR CARRIERS

4 CCR 723-22

BASIS, PURPOSE, AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY
,

The basis and purpose of these rules is to amend certain
Penalties for the first, second and any subsequent occurrence
within one year of a violation of these rules.

The statutory authority for these rules is found at SS40-7-112
through 116, C.R.S.

Rule 1 -- Application of Rules

These rules apply to any person identified in SS 40-7-113(g)
or 40-7-114, C.R.S.

Rule 2 -- Definition and Terms

2.1 commission
commission.

means the Colorado public utilities

2.2 Intentional Violation -- Any person shall be deemed to
have committed an intentional violation, as set forth in
paragraph (1) (g) of SS 40-7-113 or 40-7-114, C.R. S., if,
after having been issued a written notification of any
violation, said person commits a violation of the same
statute, rule, or regulation. The existence of an
intentional violation within the meaning of this rule may
also be shown by other facts, circumstances or conduct as
may be provided by law.

2.3 Multiple offenses -- The violation of more than one
statute, rule or regulation during the course of one 24- .
hour period shall constitute multiple offenses for which
civil penalties may be assessed as set forth in these
rules.

2.4 Person -- Means a person as defined in S 40-1-102(5),
C.R.S.

2.5 separate offense -- Each violation of a statute, rule or
regulation within the scope of these rules shall
constitute a separate offense for which a civil penalty
may be assessed as set forth in these rules.



Rule 3 -- Violations of Title 40, C.R.S.
civil Penalties - Fines

3.1 A violation of § 40-7-113(1) (a), or (b), pr (c), or (d),
or (e), or (f), C.R.S., shall result in the assessment of
a penalty of $100.00mg~*~2 per day.

3.2 A violation of §§ 40-10-106, or 40-10-117, or 40-10­
120(2), or 40-11-104, or 40-11-105(2) or (3), or 40-11­
115(2) shall result in the assessment of a penalty of
$100.00~~ per day.

3.3 A violation of any other provisions of Title 40, C.R.S.,
except as provided for in paragraphs (l)(a), (b), (c),
(d), (e), (f), subsections (3) and (4) of S 40-7-11~,

C.R.S., and Rule 3.1 and 3,.2 of these rules, shall result
in the assessment of a penalty of $so.oolil~ per day.

Rule 4 -- Violations of Rules of Practice and Procedure
civil Penalties - Fines

4.1 A violation of Rule 25(f) of the Commission'S Rules of
Practice and Procedure shall result in the assessment of
a penalty of $~ll per day.

4.2 Any violatiofl of aflY other rule of the Commissiofl' s Rules
of Practice and Procedure, except as provided for ifl Rule
4.1 of these rulcs, shall rcsult in the asscssment of a
penalty of $25.00 per day.

Rule 5 Violations of Rules Governing Common carriers
by Motor Vehicle - civil Penalties - Fines

5.1 A violation of any of the following rules of the
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Common
carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment
of a penalty of ~.OO per day: 2.1, 2.2 or 2.7; 4.1
or 4. 2; 6; 12.1, 12.~r 12.4; 13. 1, 13.2, '13. 3 or 13.4;
14.1, 14.2 or 14.3; and 16.1.

: 5.2 A violation of any of the following rules of the
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Common
carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment
of a penalty of $59-a.oo per day: 9.2; 16.2; 17; and
18~2.

5.3 Any violation of any other rulc of the Commission's Rules
and Regulations Govcrning Common Carriers by Motor
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Vehicle, except as provided for in Rules 5.1 or 5.2 of
these rUles, shall result in the assessment of a penalty
of $~igg.oo per day.

Rule 6 -- Violations of Rules Governing Contract carriers
by Motor Vehicle - civil Penalties - Fines

6.1

6.2

.. "
A violation of any of the following rules of the
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Contract
carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment
of a penalty of $~.OO per day: 2.1, 2.2 or 2.9; 4.1~
4.2 or 4.3; 11.1, l~or 11.3; 12; 14; 15.1; and 16.1,
16.2, 16.3 or 16.4.

. ~

A violatioft of Rale 9.2 of the Commissioft's Rales afte
Reqalatiofts Coveraiftq Cofttraet Carriers by Hotor Vehiele
shall result in the assessment of a penalty of $50.00 per
day-.-

Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules
and Regulations Governing Contract carriers by Motor
Vehicle, except as provided for in Rules 6.1 or 6,2 of
these rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty
of $~.OO per day.

7.1

7,2

Rule 7 -- Violations of Rules Governing Taxicabs
civil Penalties - Fines

A violation of Rule 6 or 8 of the Commission's Rules and
Regulations Governing the Operations of Taxicabs shall
rdesult in the assessment of a penalty of $~mgB.oo per

ay.

A violation of Rule 5, 7, 11,1 or 11.2 of the
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governinqthe
Operations of ~axieabs shall result in the assessment of
a penalty of $50,00 per day.

7.~ Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules
and Regulations Governing the Operations of Taxicabs,
except as provided for in Rules 7.1 or 7.2. of these
rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty of
$~~.OO per day •

.Rule 8 -- Violations of Rules Goyerning Towing carriers
civil Penalties - Fines

8.1 A violation of Rule 1~.1, 14,2, 14,3,2, 14,3,3, 14,4 or
-l-4-c-5- of the Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing
Towing carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the
assessment of a penalty of $~~.oo per day.

x;·;·.·.·;·;·;·;-:·
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8.2 A violation of Rule 8.1, 8.2, 8,5, 13.2, 13.3, 13.11,
14.1, 15.3, 16.6, or 17,-3 .of the Commission's Rules and
Re~lations Governing ~owing carriers by Motor Vehicle
shall result in the assessment of a penalty of $50.00 per
day.

8.3 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules
and Regulations Governing Towing Carriers by Motor
Vehicle, except as provided,for in Rules 8.1 or 8.2 of
these rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty
of .00 per day.

Rule 9 -- Violations of Rules and Regulations Governing
Registration of Interstate Motor Vehicle Carriers

Civil Penalties - Fines

9.1 A violation of Rule 3(a) or (b) of the commission's Rules
and Regulations Governing Registration of Interstate
Motor Vehicle Carriers shall result in the assessment of
a penalty of $ n.Oo per day.

9.2 A violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules
and Regulations Governing Registration of Interstate
Motor Vehicle Carriers, except as provided for in Rule
9.1 of these rUles, shall result in the assessment of a
penalty of $~XPQ.OO per day .

..:.v;::·z·:<-,:<v:

Rule 10 -- Violations of safety Rules
civil Penalties - Fines

10.1 Penalty assessments per day for violating the
Commission's safety Rules for Common Carriers, Contract
Carriers, carriers of Household Goods by Motor Vehicle
and Motor Carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public
utilities shall be as follows:

10.1.1 Rule 1.1 ParaC;Jr.aph 383.23(a)
10.1.2 Rule 1.1 ParaC;Jraph 383.37(a)
10.1.3 Rule 1,1 ParaCJraph 383.51(a)
10.1..~ Rule 1.2 Section 390.11
10.1. -- Rule 1.2 Section 390.13
10.1.-6'ias< Rule 1.2 Paragraphs 390.35(a),(b)

or (c) 75.00
10.1.-71 Rule 1.3 SUbparagraphs 391.11~b) (6)

or (7) $100.00
10.1,8 Rule 1.3 SUbparagraphs 391.11(b) (1)

or (2) f7 50.00
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Rule 1.3

Rule 1.3
Rule 1.3
Rule 1.3

10 .1.~fj

10 . 1. ±-G'$.:
10 • 1 . 11"":'"

10.1.~~

10.1.B~:
10.1.*~l
10.1. ....~

10.1.

Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule

1.3
1.3
1.3
1.3
1.3
1.3
1.3

Paragraph 391.15(a)
section 391.25
section 391.31

$ -7-5[@0.00
$ 5Bm:oo.. 00
(; 50:~:'66

$-l-OO-iM;.1~g. 00
$100··:···(fO
$~gE:2·00

. ,.~/.nti$-l-OO-?$K:.; • 00
$~atlQ.oo

$ ~B·oo

$100.00

10.1.~~ Rule 1.4

10.1.~&! Rule 1.4
10.1.26 Rule 1.4

10.1.
10.1.

10.1.
10.1.

Rule 1.4
Rule 1.4

Rule 1.4
Rule 1.4

.$ ~d-l-G-G6",*,::::~.00

. $-l-G-G5pf,~. 00

$-l-OO-~~~B'00

$-l-G-GZ':~":• 0 0

$ :..,::.00

$ 5BW~L 00
$ 75::~~5o

$1{}{}:$$:9.00
:::::::~::::::::::;:::

$
$
$
$
$

$ 50.00or (111)

Subparagraph 395.8(f)(7)
Paragraph 395.8(k)
subparagraph 395.8(k) (2)
SUbparagraph 396.9(C) (2)
Subparagraph 396.9(d)(2)
Subdivisions 396.9(d) (3)(i)

1.4
1.5
1.5
1.5
1.5
1.5

Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule
Rule

Rule 1.7
Rule 1.7
Rule 1.7

. Rule 1.8
Rule 1.8
Rule 1.8

10.1.33 Rule 1.6
10.1.~~J Rule 1.7

10.1.~~ Rule 1.7

Rule 1.7
Rule 1.7

10.1.~ <

10.1.~

10.1. -2-9'2$
10. 1. *~::.:.;
10.1.~f5.

10 • 1 . -3-2;..;&
m*'

10.2 Any violation of any other· rule of the Commission's
Safety Rules for Common carriers, Contact carriers,
carriers of Household Goods by Motor Vehicle and Motor
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carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public utilities,
except as provided for in Rule 10.1 of these rules, shall
result in the assessment of a penalty of $~PQ.OO per

.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.

day.

Rule 11 -- Repeat Violations of statutes or Rules
Listed in Rules 3 through 10 - civil Penalties - Fines

11.1 Any person who receives a second civil penalty assessment
for a repeat violation of the statutes or rules listed in
Rule 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 of these rules within one
year after the first violation, may be assessed two times
the amou!lt s~ecified in the rI~~ rule for such
second v10lat1on.

11.2 Any person who receives a third~ civil
penalty assessmenti for a repea~()rat10n of the
statutes or rules lfsted in Rule 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or
10 of these rules within one year after the second
violation, may be assessed three times the amount
s ecified in the ~~·:«w·mJ~~:"'·::>tBl=a rule for eaEfI such third
8~;:·'·~~~"~'~~fl£ violati~~'.&~~)%<'~ ~~=
<;.,.;;;;::<:.~X*::iS~*:';:::;;:;:~:::::::

,

.'
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