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(Decision No. C93-519-E) 
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* * * 
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RULES REGARDING CIVIL PENALTIES ) 
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Page 1, amend the docket number in the caption to: 

Docket No. 92R-689 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES CO~MISSION 
(S E A L) OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

BRUCE N. SMITH 

Director 

Dated at Denver, Colorado this 
11th day of February, 1994. 
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THE 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

OF THE 
STATE OF COLORADO 

RULES AND REGULATIONS CONCERNING 
CIVIL PENALTIES FOR CARRIERS 

4 CCR 723-22 

BASIS, PURPOSE. AND STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The basis and purpose of these rules is to prescribe specific 
penalties for the second and any subsequent occurrence within one 
year of a violation of any of the provisions of Articles 10, 11, 
13, 14 and 16 of Title 40, C.R.S. as mandated by S§ 40-7-112 
through 116, C.R.S. 

To revise certain rule numbers of these rules so that they 
correspond with the same numbers of this Commission's Rules and 
Regulations Governing Common Carriers by Motor Vehicle (4 Code of 
Colorado Regulations 723-8), which were revised March 3, 1991 and 
the Rules and Regulations Governing Contract Carriers by Motor 
Vehicle (4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-23), which were revised 
January 30, 1991. 

To repeal current Rules 9 and 10 of these rules and replace 
them with a new Rule 9. Effective December 31, 1990, the 
Commission combined two existing rules into new rules titled Rules 
and Regulations Governing Registration of Interstate Motor Vehicle 
Carriers ( 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6). The previous 
rules were titled Rules and Regulations Governing Registration of 
Exempt Interstate Motor Carriers previously found at 4 Code of 
Colorado Regulations 723-6, and Rules and Regulations Governing 
Registration of Interstate Motor Carrier Certificates and Permits 
previously found at 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-7. 

To change the penalty which is set forth in Rule 11 . 2 of these 
rules from $25 . 00 per day to $100.00 per day for violations of 
Subparagraphs 391.ll(b) (6) and (7) of the Commission's Safety Rules 
for Common Carriers, Contract Carriers, Carriers of Household Goods 
by Motor Vehicle and Motor Carriers Exempt from Regulation as 
Public Utilities (4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-15). 

The statutory authority for these rules is found at §§40-7-112 
through 116, C.R.S. 



Rule 1 -- Application ot Rules 

These rules apply to any person identified in SS 40-7-113(g) 
or 40-7-114, C.R.S . 

Rule 2 -- Definition and Terms 

2.1 commission means the Colorado Public Utilities 
Commission. 

2.2 Intentional Violation -- Any person shall be deemed to 
have committed an intentional violation, as set forth in 
paragraph (1) (g) of SS 40-7-113 or 40-7-114, C.R. s., if, 
after having been issued a written notification of any 
violation, said person commits a violation of the same 
statute, rule, or regulation. The existence of an 
intentional violation within the meaning of this rule may 
also be shown by other facts, circumstances or conduct fil2 
may be provided by law. 

2. 3 Multiple offenses -- The violation of more than one 
statute, rule or regulation during the course of one 24-
hour period shall constitute multiple offenses for which 
civil penalties may be assessed as set forth in these 
rules. 

2.4 Person Means a person as defined in S 40-1-102(5), 
C. R.S. 

2.5 Separate offense -- Each violation of a statute, rule or 
regulation within the scope of these rules shall 
constitute a separate offense for which a civil penalty 
may be assessed as set forth in these rules. 

Rule 3 -- Violations of Title 40, C.R.S. 
civil Penalties - Fines 

3.1 A violation of S 40-7-113(1)(a), or (b), or (c), or (d), 
or (e), or (f), C.R.S., shall result in the assessment of 
a penalty of $100.00 per day. 
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3. 2 A violation of SS 40-10-106, or 40-10-117, or 40-10-
120 (2), or 40-11-104, or 40-11-105(2) or (3), or 40-11-
115(2) shall result in the assessment of a penalty of 
$100.00 per day. 

3 . 3 A violation of any other provisions of Title 40, c.R.s . , 
except as provided for in paragraphs (l)(a), (b), (c), 
(d), (e), (f), subsections (3) and (4) of S 40-7-113, 
C.R. S. , and Rule 3. 1 and 3. 2 of these rules, shall result 
in the assessment of a penalty of $50.00 per day. 

Rule 4 -- Violations of Rules of Practice and Procedure 
civil Penalties - Fines 

4.1 A violation of Rule 25(f) of the Commission's Rules of 
Practice and Procedure shall result in the assessment of 
a penalty of $50.00 per day. 

4.2 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
of Practice and Procedure, except as provided for in Rule 
4.1 of these rules, shall result in the assessment of a 
penalty of $25.00 per day. 

Rule 5 -- Violations of Rules Governing common carriers 
by Motor Vehicle - civil Penalties - Fines 

5.1 A violation of any of the following rules of the 
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Common 
Carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment 
of a penalty of $100.00 per day: 2.1, 2.2 or 2.7; 4.1 or 
4.2; 6; 12 . 1, 12.3 or 12.4; 13.1, 13.2, 13.3 or 13.4; 
14.1, 14.2 or 14.3; and 16.1. 

5 . 2 A violation of any of the following rules of the 
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Common 
Carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment 
of a penalty of $50.00 per day: 9.2; 16.2; 17; and 18.2. 

5 . 3 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing Common Carriers by Motor 
Vehicle, except as provided for in Rules 5.1 or 5.2 of 
these rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty 
of $25.00 per day. 
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Rule 6 -- Violations of Rules Governing Contract carriers 
by Motor Vehicle - civil Penalties - Fines 

6 . 1 A violation of any of the following rules of the 
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing Contract 
Carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the assessment 
of a penalty of $100 . 00 per day: 2 . 1, 2.2 or 2.9; 4 . 1, 
4.2 or 4.3; 11.1, 11.2 or 11.3; 12; 14; 15.1; and 16.1, 
16.2, 16.3 or 16 . 4. 

6 . 2 A violation of Rule 9.2 of the Commission's Rules and 
Regulations Governing Contract Carriers by Motor Vehicle 
shall result in the assessment of a penalty of $50.00 per 
day . 

6. 3 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing Contract Carriers by Motor 
Vehicle, except as provided for in Rules 6.1 or 6.2 of 
these rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty 
of $25.00 per day. 

Rule 7 -- Violations of Rules Governing Taxicabs 
civil Penalties - Fines 

7.1 A violation of Rule 6 or 8 of the Commission's Rules and 
Regulations Governing the Operations of Taxicabs shall 
result in the assessment of a penalty of $100.00 per day. 

7.2 A violation of Rule 5, 7, 11.1 or 11.2 of the 
Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Operations of Tax icabs shall result in the assessment of 
a penalty of $50.00 per day. 

7. 3 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing the Operations of Taxicabs, 
e xcept as provided for in Rules 7 .1 or 7. 2 of these 
rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty of 
$25.00 per day. 
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Rule 8 -- Violations of Rules Governing Towing carriers 
Civil Penalties - Fines 

8.1 A violation of Rule 11 . 1, 14.2, 14.3.2, 14.3.3, 14.4 or 
14.5 of the Commission's Rules and Regulations Governing 
Towing Carriers by Motor Vehicle shall result in the 
assessment of a penalty of $100.00 per day. 

8.2 A violation of Rule 8.1, 8.2, 8 .5, 13 . 2, 13.3, 13.11, 
14 . 1, 15 . 3, 16.6, or 17 .3 of the Commission's Rules and 
Regulations Governing Towing Carriers by Motor Vehicle 
shall result in the assessment of a penalty of $50.00 per 
day . 

8. 3 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing Towing Carriers by Motor 
Vehicle, except as provided for in Rules 8 . 1 or 8.2 of 
these rules, shall result in the assessment of a penalty 
of $25.00 per day. 

Rule 9 -- Violations of Rules and Regulations Governing 
Registration of Interstate Motor Vehicle carriers 

9.1 A violation of Rule 3(a) or (b) of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing Registration of Interstate 
Motor Vehicle Carriers shall result in the assessment of 
a penalty of $100.00 per day . 

9.2 A violation of any other rule of the Commission's Rules 
and Regulations Governing Registration of Interstate 
Motor Vehicle Carriers, except as provided for in Rule 
9.1 of these rules, shall result in the assessment of a 
penalty of $25.00 per day. 

Rule 10 -- Violations of Safety Rules 
Civil Penalties - Fines 

10 . 1 Penalty assessments per day for violating the 
Commission's Safety Rules for Common Carriers, Contract 
Carriers, Carriers of Household Goods by Motor Vehicle 
and Motor Carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public 
Utilities shall be as follows: 
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10.1.1 
10. 1.2 
10.1.3 
10.1.4 
10.1.5 
10.1.6 

10.1.7 

10.1.8 

10.1. 9 
10.1.10 
10.1.11 
10. 1. 12 
10.1. 13 
10.1. 14 
10.1.15 

10. 1. 16 
10.1. 17 
10.1. 18 

10.1. 19 

10.1.20 
10.1.21 

10.1.22 
10. 1.23 

10.1. 24 

10.1.25 
10. 1.26 

10. 1.27 
10.1.28 
10.1.29 
10.1. 30 
10.1.31 
10 . 1. 32 

10.1. 33 
10 . 1. 34 

10.1.35 

Rule 1.1 
Rule 1.1 
Rule 1.1 
Rule 1.2 
Rule 1.2 
Rule 1.2 

Rule 1.3 

Rule 1.3 

Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1 .3 

Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 
Rule 1.3 

Rule 1.3 

Rule 1.4 
Rule 1.4 

Rule 1.4 
Rule 1.4 

Rule 1.4 

Rule 1.4 
Rule 1.4 

Rule 1.4 
Rule 1.5 
Rule 1.5 
Rule 1.5 
Rule 1. 5 
Rule 1.5 

Rule 1.6 
Rule 1.7 

Rule 1.7 

Paragraph 383.23(a) 
Paragraph 383.37(a) 
Paragraph 383.Sl(a) 
Section 390.11 
Section 390.13 
Paragraphs 390.35(a),(b) 
or (c) 
Subparagraphs 391.ll(b) (6) 
or (7) 
Subparagraphs 391.ll(b) (1) 
or (2) 
Paragraph 391.15(a) 
Section 391. 25 
Section 391. 31 
Paragraph 391 . 4l(a) 
Paragraph 391.87(g) 
Paragraphs 391.93(b)or(c) 
Subparagraphs 391.93(d) (1), 
(2) or (3) 
Paragraph 391.95(a)or(b) 
Paragraph 391.103(a) 
Subparagraphs 391.119(a) (1), 
(2) or (3) 
Subparagraphs 391.121(b)(3) 
or (4) 
Section 392.3 
Subparagraphs 392.4(a) (1), 
( 2) , (3) or ( 4) 
Paragraph 392 . 4(b) 
Subparagraphs 392.S(a)(l), 
(2) or (3) 
Subparagraphs 392.S(b) (1) 
or (2) 
section 392 . 6 
Subparagraphs 392.9(c) (ii) 
or (iii) 
Section 392.42 
section 393.1 
Paragraph 393.42(a) 
Paragraph 393.48(a) 
Paragraph 393 . 5l(a) 
Paragraphs 393.75(b), (c) 
or (d) 
Paragraph 394.7(a) 
Subparagraphs 395.3(a) (1) 
or (2) 
Subparagraphs 395.3(b) (1) 
or (2) 
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$100.00 
$100.00 
$100.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 50.00 

$ 75.00 

$100.00 

$ 50.00 
$ 75.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 50.00 
$100.00 
$100.00 
$100.00 

$100.00 
$100.00 
$ 75.00 

$100.00 

$ 75.00 
$100.00 

$100.00 
$100.00 

$100 . 00 

$100.00 
$ 50.00 

$ 50.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 50.00 
$ 75.00 
$ 75.00 
$ 75.00 

$ 50.00 
$ 75.00 

$100.00 

$100.00 



10. 1. 36 Rule 1. 7 Paragraph 395 . 8(a) $ 75 . 00 
10. 1. 37 Rule 1.7 Subparagraph 395.8(a) (1) $ 75 . 00 
10.1.38 Rule 1.7 Subparagraph 395. 8(f) (1) $ 50.00 
10.1.39 Rule 1. 7 Subparagraph 395.8(f) (7) $100 . 00 
10. 1.40 Rule 1.7 Paragraph 395.8(k) $ 50.00 
10. 1.41 Rule 1.7 Subparagraph 395 . 8(k) (3) $ 50 . 00 
10. 1.42 Rule 1.8 Subparagraph 396 . 9(c) (2) $100.00 
10. 1.43 Rule 1.8 Subparagraph 396 . 9(d) (2) $ 50 . 00 
10. 1.44 Rule 1.8 Subdivisions 396.9(d) (3)(i) 

or (iii) $ 50.00 

10. 2 Any violation of any other rule of the Commission's 
Safety Rules for Common Carriers, Contact Carriers, 
Carriers of Household Goods by Motor Vehicle and Motor 
Carriers Exempt from Regulation as Public Utilities, 
except as provided for in Rule 10.1 of these rules, shall 
result in the assessment of a penalty of $25 . 00 per day. 

Rule 11 -- Repeat Violations of statutes or Rules 
Listed in Rules 3 through 10 - Civil Penalties - Fines 

11.1 Any person who receives a second civil penalty assessment 
for a repeat violation of the statutes or rules listed in 
Rule 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 of these rules within one 
year after the first violation, may be assessed two times 
the amount specified in the rule for such second 
violation. 

11.2 Any person who receives a third civil penalty assessment 
for a repeat violation of the statutes or rules listed in 
Rule 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, or 10 of these rules within one 
year after the second violation, may be assessed three 
times the amount specified in the rule for such third 
violation. 
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