
Decision No. C12-0098 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T 

RULES PRESCRIBING THE STANDARD PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING THE 
COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND, 4 CCR 723-2-2800. 

COMMISSION ORDER SETTING THE UNIFORM CHARGE  
FOR EACH APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE  

AT SEVEN CENTS PER MONTH  
BEGINNING APRIL 1, 2012  

TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME  
TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM  
AND REQUIRING THE PRINTING OF A  

MARKET INFORMATIONAL NOTE 

Mailed Date:   January 30, 2012 
Adopted Date: January 25, 2012 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) was 

established by the Colorado Legislature in 1990.  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S.  In 1991, the 

Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income 

Telephone Assistance Fund.  Rules Regulating Telecommunications Providers, Services, and 

Products, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2800.  Rule 2803(a) provides: 

The tariff shall include a description of the LITAP service offered to eligible 
subscribers and the associated monthly rate.  Such tariff shall provide a 25 percent 
discount, or the end user common line charge, whichever is greater, for a single 
residential basic local exchange line in the principal residence of an eligible 
subscriber.  In addition, eligible subscribers who are billed by the provider and 
who pay mileage or zone charges associated with the line are eligible for a 
25 percent discount for these charges. 
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Rule 2803(b) further provides: 

LITAP service rates shall be further reduced by any amount that the basic local 
exchange provider receives from any federal program providing for a reduction in 
such intrastate rate. 

Rule 2803(c) further provides: 

In no event shall the discount for LITAP service be less than the end user 
common line charge imposed by the FCC. 

The discount for eligible subscribers is currently equal to the end user common line charge, 

which is $6.50 ($6.39 for CenturyLink (Qwest)).   

2. In order to fund the discount, 4 CCR 723-2-2805 provides for the collection of a 

surcharge from business and residential lines of non-eligible subscribers.  State and local 

government lines are exempted from the surcharge.  Rule 2805(c) provides: 

A provider of basic local exchange telecommunications service may collect the 
uniform charge by a specific line item on subscribers’ bills if provided for in its 
tariff.  Alternatively, the uniform charge may be included in each subscriber's bill 
as part of the subscriber's basic exchange service rate and the provider's tariff 
shall indicate, through a footnote or other explanatory text, that the basic 
exchange service rate contains the uniform charge.  In addition, if the basic 
exchange service rate includes the uniform charge, a market informational note 
shall be added to the bill once a year informing customers that “The base rate 
includes a Commission-approved monthly charge for the Low-Income Telephone 
Assistance Program”. 

3. In Decision No. C05-1483, Docket No. 02I-572T, issued December 20, 2005, the 

Commission ordered Qwest, in accordance to the terms of the Amended Settlement Agreement, 

to establish a trust fund under the Commission’s administration and control and deposit 

$5,500,000 for the purpose of distributing funds for the LITAP.   
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4. In Decision No. C06-0164, issued February 24, 2006, the Commission lowered 

the surcharge from seven cents per line per month to zero cents per line per month and, on the 

Commission’s own motion, waived that portion of the rule requiring the Commission to calculate 

the amount due for reimbursements on an annual basis.  Instead, the Commission shall calculate 

the amount due for reimbursements from the fund bi-annually.     

5. In Decision No. C09-0394, issued April 15, 2009, the Commission raised the 

LITAP uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 2009 beginning June 1, 2009 and 

for Fiscal Year 2009-2010 from zero cents per line per month to seven cents per line per month.  

6. In Decision No. C11-0179, issued February 18, 2011, the Commission lowered 

the LITAP uniform charge on each access line for the second quarter 2011 beginning April 1, 

2011 and for Fiscal Year 2011-2012 from seven cents per line per month to three cents per line 

per month. 

7. A Commission-approved administrative fee in the amount of 1 percent of the 

amount of total monthly uniform charges collected shall apply to those providers of basic local 

exchange telecommunications services that have less than 500,000 access lines and that do not 

provide cost documentation or actual cost to administer the program in accordance with 4 CCR 

723-2-2804(b), which provides:  

Providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having more than 
500,000 access lines shall report program administrative fees based on actual 
costs.  Providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having less 
than 500,000 access lines shall report a Commission-approved administrative fee 
based on an average cost to administer the program as shown in the provider’s 
industry-standard cost documentation or actual cost to administer the program as 
demonstrated through the provider’s accounting documentation. 
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8. After analysis of the fund’s expected obligations and amount of uncommitted 

fund reserves, the Commission finds that the LITAP uniform charge on each access line for 

second quarter 2012 beginning April 1, 2012 and for Fiscal Year 2012-2013 should be increased 

from three cents per line per month to seven cents per line per month. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 2804 and 2805 of the 

Commission’s Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone 

Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2, the Colorado Low-Income 

Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 

2012 and Fiscal Year 2012-2013 shall be seven cents per line per month effective April 1, 2012. 

2. A compliance advice letter and tariff change shall be required and shall be filed on 

not less than one business day’s notice to the Commission on or before March 29, 2012, with an 

effective date of April 1, 2012.  

3. The required advice letter and tariff change shall not be filed in this Docket; 

rather, the compliance advice letter and tariff change shall be a new filing containing all of the 

information required by Rule 1210 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 

723-1.   

4. Pursuant to Rule 2895 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating 

Telecommunications Providers, Services, and Products, 4 CCR 723-2, utilities failing to file the 

required compliance filing could be subject to a fine of up to $500.00. 
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5. The uniform charge of three cents per month shall be included in each applicable 

subscriber’s bill, either as a specific line item or as part of the subscriber’s basic rate effective 

April 1, 2012.  As soon as practicable after April 1, 2012, each local exchange 

telecommunications provider that has a tariff on file with the Commission providing for the 

LITAP uniform charge to be included in the subscriber basic rate shall print on each customer’s 

bill a market informational note.  The market informational note shall state: “The basic rate 

contains a 7-cent monthly charge for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program.”   

The market informational note shall be printed on each customer’s bill through one billing cycle. 

6. The Commission-approved administrative fee for providers of basic local 

exchange telecommunications services having less than 500,000 access lines shall be 1 percent 

of the amount of total monthly uniform charges collected. 

7. The 20-day time period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an 

application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing 

of this Order. 

8. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
January 25, 2012. 

 

(S E A L) 

 
ATTEST: A TRUE COPY 

 

 
Doug Dean,  

Director 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

 
 

JOSHUA B. EPEL 
________________________________ 

 
 

JAMES K. TARPEY 
________________________________ 

 
 

MATT BAKER 
________________________________ 

Commissioners 
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