
Decision No. C22-0498 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

PROCEEDING NO. 22A-0313CP 

IN THE MATTER OF GREENJAY DOING BUSINESS AS THE BLUE CAPE FOR A 
CERTIFICATE OF PUBLIC CONVENIENCE AND NECESSITY TO OPERATE AS A 
COMMON CARRIER BY MOTOR VEHICLE FOR HIRE. 

COMMISSION DECISION GRANTING 
PERMANENT AUTHORITY SUBJECT TO CONDITIONS 

Mailed Date:   August 22, 2022 
Adopted Date:   August 17, 2022 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement, Findings, and Conclusions 

1. On June 28, 2022, GreenJay, doing business as The Blue Cape (Applicant), filed 

an application for new permanent authority to operate as a common carrier of passengers by 

motor vehicle for hire.  Amendments to the application were filed on July 6, 2022 and July 26, 

2022. 

2. Applicant requests common carrier authority to transport passengers in call-and-

demand taxi, shuttle, and charter service between all points within a 70-mile radius of 706 

Maroon Avenue in Crested Butte, Colorado.  The amendment filed on July 26, 2022, restricts this 

proposed authority against providing transportation to passengers and their bicycles to or from: 

(a) Monarch Crest trailhead on U.S. Highway 50; (b) Rainbow Trail trailhead on Colorado 

Highway 285 and/or County Road 201; and (c) Marshall Pass trailhead on County Road 200. 

3. The Commission noticed this application to all interested persons, firms, and 

corporations pursuant to § 40-6-108(2), C.R.S., on July 11, 2022. 
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4. No petition to intervene or otherwise participate in this proceeding has been filed.  

This proceeding is uncontested.  Under § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., this matter may be determined 

without a hearing. 

5. Pursuant to Rule 6203(a) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor 

Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6, the information submitted with this application 

warrants the granting of the requested common carrier authority. 

6. The present or future public convenience and necessity requires, or will require, 

the transportation service as requested. 

7. Applicant is fit to perform the service as requested. 

8. This application for permanent authority is in the public interest.    

9. Applicant is granted, subject to conditions, a Certificate of Public Convenience and 

Necessity (CPCN) to operate as a common carrier of passengers by motor vehicle for hire as set 

forth in the Appendix attached to this Decision, conditioned upon Applicant’s full compliance with 

the requirements contained in this Decision. 

10. If Applicant fails to comply with the prerequisites required by Ordering Paragraph 

No. 3 within 60 days of the effective date of the Decision, the requested CPCN will be deemed 

denied and Applicant will not be granted the requested permanent authority; the CPCN shall not 

be issued; and Applicant shall not be permitted to operate under the requested CPCN authority. No 

further action of the Commission is required.  

11. For good cause shown, the Commission may grant additional time for compliance 

with Ordering Paragraph No. 3 if the request for additional time is filed within 60 days of the 

effective date of this Decision. 
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12. The Commission will notify Applicant in writing when the Commission’s records 

demonstrate Applicant has fully complied with the requirements of Ordering Paragraph No. 3.  

Applicant shall not begin operations without the receipt of written notification of compliance from 

the Commission.  

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. This application was deemed complete for purposes of § 40-6-109.5, C.R.S., on 

August 17, 2022. 

2. The issuance of a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) to 

operate as a common carrier of passengers by motor vehicle for hire as set forth in Appendix A 

attached to this Decision is granted to GreenJay, doing business as The Blue Cape (Applicant), 

subject to Applicant’s full compliance with the requirements contained in Ordering Paragraph 

No. 3. 

3. Applicant shall not be granted a CPCN and shall not commence operations until it 

has fully complied with the following conditions:   

(a) cause proof of insurance (Form E or self-insurance) or surety bond (Form 
G) coverage to be filed with the Commission;  

 
(b) pay to the Commission, the motor vehicle fee ($50.00) for each vehicle to 

be operated under authority granted by the Commission, or in lieu thereof, 
paid the fee for such vehicle(s) pursuant to the Unified Carrier Registration 
Agreement;  

 
(c) file with the Commission and have an effective, publicly available tariff. The 

tariff should comply with Rule 6208 of the Rules Regulating Transportation 
by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6. The tariff shall 
be filed in a new Advice Letter/Tariff proceeding on not less than ten 
days’ notice prior to a proposed effective date. In calculating the proposed 
effective date, the date received at the Commission is not included in the 
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notice period and the entire notice period must expire prior to the proposed 
effective date;  

 
(e) submit a Vehicle Inspection Report for each vehicle to be operated under the 

authority at the commencement of operations.  The inspection must be done 
in accordance with Rules 6103 and 6104 of the Rules Regulating 
Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6; and, the inspection must 
show that the vehicle passed the inspection.  The inspection report may be 
found at:  https://puc.colorado.gov/common-carriers; 

 
(f) register an authorized representative as a File Administrator on behalf of 

Applicant in the Commission’s electronic filing system (E-Filings) and agree 
that Applicant shall receive notifications electronically through E-Filings. 
Information can be found at: 
www.dora.state.co.us/pls/efi/EFI.homepage; and 

 
(g) pay the applicable fee ($5.00) for the issuance of the authority. 
 

4. The CPCN shall not be issued, and Applicant shall not operate under the requested 

CPCN authority unless Applicant complies with all of the conditions in Ordering Paragraph No. 3. 

5. If Applicant does not comply with each requirement in Ordering Paragraph No. 3, 

within 60 days of the effective date of this Decision, the CPCN is denied without further action of 

the Commission.  For good cause shown, the Commission may grant additional time for compliance 

if the request for additional time is filed within 60 days of the effective date of this Decision.  

6. Applicant shall operate in accordance with all applicable statutes, orders, and rules 

of the Commission.  The Commission may issue an order to cease and desist or to suspend, revoke, 

alter, or amend any certificate or permit for violation of, or refusal to observe any statute, order, or 

rule of the Commission, consistent with § 40-10.1-112 (1), C.R.S. 

7. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application 

for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date 

of this Decision. 

8. This Decision is effective on its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING  
August 17, 2022. 
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