Decision No. C20-0761

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

PROCEEDING NO. 20M-0446E

IN THE MATTER ESTABLISHING THE INTEREST RATE ON CUSTOMER DEPOSITS
TO BE PAID BY JURISDICTIONAL ELECTRIC UTILITIES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2021.

DECISION SETTING THE INTEREST RATE FOR 2021

Mailed Date:  November 10, 2020
Adopted Date: October 28, 2020

I.  BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. Pursuant to Commission Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-3-3403 of the
Rules Regulating Electric Utilities, a jurisdictional electric utility may require a new or existing
customer to pay a deposit if billing records are available and records indicate recent or
substantial delinquencies. The payment of the deposit shall not relieve the customer of the

obligation to pay current bills when due.

2. When a jurisdictional electric utility accepts the deposit, it is obligated to pay
simple interest on the amount paid at a percentage rate calculated by the Commission Staff in the

manner described in Rule 3403(n)(II).

3. Provisions of Rule 3403(n)(Il) require the Commission’s Staff to calculate the
customer deposit interest rate pursuant to a 12-month average of rates quoted in the Federal
Reserve Bulletin United States Treasury constant maturities for the period October 1 through
September 30 of the preceding year. This newly calculated simple interest per annum rate is

compared to the existing customer deposit rate. If the difference is 25 basis points or more, then
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the new rate is to be used beginning January 1 of the following year. This provision is applicable
as the existing rate for calendar year 2020 is 2.33 percent, and the newly calculated rate for 2021
is 0.74 percent. Accordingly, the newly calculated simple interest per annum rate for electric
utilities accepting customer deposits is higher than the 25 basis point differential threshold and a
new rate for 2021 is necessary. Thus, the interest rate on customer deposits for the year 2021

will decrease to 0.74 percent.

4. If necessary, a utility shall file a new advice letter and tariff on not less than two
business days’ notice. The advice letter and tariff shall be filed as a new advice letter proceeding
and shall comply with all applicable rules. In calculating the proposed effective date, the date
the filing is received at the Commission is not included in the notice period and the entire notice
period must expire prior to the effective date. The advice letter and tariff must comply in all
substantive respects to this Decision in order to be filed as a compliance filing on shortened

notice.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The simple interest rate on deposits to be paid by jurisdictional electric utilities

for the calendar year 2021 shall decrease to 0.74 percent.

2. To the extent necessary, utilities shall modify their tariffs to comply with this
Decision. The compliance filing will be filed as a new advice letter filing and will not be filed in

the Proceeding number of this Decision. An advice letter and tariff change may not be required.
3. Pursuant to Rule 3976 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Electric Utilities,

4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-3, utilities failing to file the required compliance filing

could be subject to up to a $500.00 fine.



Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado

Decision No. C20-0761 PROCEEDING NO. 20M-0446E

4. Additional information concerning required action is set forth in the
accompanying notice. If you have any questions, please contact Sandi Kahl, Financial Analyst,

at 303-894-2873 or Sandi.Kahl@state.co.us.

5. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
October 28, 2020.

(SEAL) THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
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