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Decision No. C20-0397 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

PROCEEDING NO. 20A-0175T 

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF THE ARCHULETA COUNTY BOARD OF 
COMMISSIONERS TO INCREASE THE EMERGENCY TELEPHONE CHARGE. 

COMMISSION DECISION GRANTING APPLICATION 

Mailed Date: May 28, 2020 
Adopted Date: May 27, 2020 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. On April 22, 2020, the Archuleta County Board of Commissioners (Applicant or 

Company) filed its application pursuant to § 29-11-102(2)(b), C.R.S., for approval of an 

emergency telephone charge increase from $1.25 to $2.25 per service user per month 

(Application). 

2. On April 22, 2020, the Commission gave notice of the Application stating that 

parties wishing to participate in this Proceeding should file an Intervention or other appropriate 

pleading within 30 days after the date of the Notice. 

3. On May 4, 2020, the Applicant filed an Affidavit attesting that it had published 

notice of the Application in a local newspaper, as required by the Commission’s Rules 

Regulating Telecommunications Services and Providers of Telecommunications Services, 

4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2147(d). 

4. No interventions were filed or public comments received in response to this 

Application. 



 

  

 

  

   

 

   

 

 

   

 

   

 

 

    

     

 

                                                 

     
 

Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 
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II. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

5. Since the Application is now uncontested, the matter will be considered pursuant 

to the Commission’s modified procedure, § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., and the Commission’s Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1-1403. 

6. The Applicant is a governing body as defined in § 29-11-101(4), C.R.S. The 

Company’s status as a governing body is established by an Intergovernmental Agreement, a copy 

of which was included in the Application as Exhibit 10a. 

7. A governing body may incur equipment, installation, and other costs directly 

related to the continued operation of emergency telephone service pursuant to § 29-11-102, 

C.R.S. As provided in paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of that statute, such allowable costs may 

be categorized as equipment directly related to the receipt and routing of emergency calls, 

monthly recurring charges for the emergency telephone service, reimbursement of costs for 

equipment changes necessary for the provision or transmission of wireless Automatic Number 

Identification or wireless Automatic Location Identification to a public safety answering point 

(PSAP), costs related to the provision of emergency notification service and emergency 

telephone service, and “other” directly related costs. Personnel expenses necessarily incurred for 

a PSAP may also be paid with funds collected from 911 charges.1  § 29-11-104(2)(b), C.R.S. 

8. A governing body is statutorily authorized to collect up to $0.70 per month per 

exchange access facility, per wireless communications access, and per interconnected Voice over 

Internet Protocol service to cover such costs of service within its jurisdiction. In the event that a 

governing body determines that a charge in excess of $0.70 is necessary to provide adequate 

1 Such personnel include employees who take and dispatch telephone calls, or who maintain the computer 
database of the PSAP. 
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emergency telephone service, the governing body shall obtain the approval of the Commission 

before imposing such higher charge.  § 29-11-102(2), C.R.S. 

9. Currently, the monthly emergency telephone surcharge is $1.25 in the Applicant’s 

service territory. The Application seeks to increase the charge to $2.25 per month.   

10. The Company is supported by the affidavit and verification of the information 

filed with the Commission by the Applicant. 

11. The Applicant funds one PSAP, that being the Archuleta County Combined 

Dispatch Center. 

12. The Applicant has determined that an increase in the emergency telephone 

surcharge is needed for several reasons, including: (1) capital equipment expenses, including 

upgrades to computer aided dispatch, radio consoles, and furniture consoles; (2) increased costs 

for ESInet implementation; and (3) facility relocation. 

13. The increase requested by the Applicant will increase revenues for the Applicant 

by an average of roughly $174,000 per year, or about $957,000 over the next five years. Without 

any increase, the Applicant will either exhaust its funds in 2022 or be forced to forgo some of its 

planned expenses. With the requested increase, assuming no unforeseen costs, funding should be 

sufficient for at least the next five years. 

14. Based on this evidence, the Commission agrees with Applicant that additional 

funding that would be raised by a surcharge rate of $2.25 is necessary in order to maintain the 

current level of expenditure of all categories of expense allowed pursuant to § 29-11-104(2), 

C.R.S., and to pay for the Applicant’s proposed expenses. 
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III. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The application of the Archuleta County Board of Commissioners (Applicant) 

seeking to increase the emergency telephone charge to $2.25 per access line per month is 

granted. 

2. The Applicant shall notify each affected service provider of the increase in the 

emergency telephone surcharge by registered mail at least 60 days prior to the new rate 

becoming effective. 

3. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114, C.R.S., to file an application for 

rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date of 

this Decision. 

4. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
May 27, 2020. 

(S E A L) 

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY 

Doug Dean, 
Director 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

JEFFREY P. ACKERMANN 

JOHN GAVAN 

MEGAN M. GILMAN 

                                        Commissioners 
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