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Decision No. C19-0871 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

PROCEEDING NO. 19A-0494T 

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF THE JEFFERSON COUNTY EMERGENCY 
COMMUNICATIONS AUTHORITY TO INCREASE THE EMERGENCY TELEPHONE 
CHARGE. 

COMMISSION DECISION GRANTING APPLICATION 

Mailed Date: October 28, 2019 
Adopted Date: October 23, 2019 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. On September 16, 2019, the Jefferson County Emergency Communications 

Authority (Applicant or Company) filed its application pursuant to § 29-11-102(2)(b), C.R.S., 

for approval of an emergency telephone charge increase from $1.15 to $1.30 per service user 

per month (Application). 

2. Also on September 16, 2019, the Commission gave notice of the Application 

stating that parties wishing to participate in this Proceeding should file an Intervention or other 

appropriate pleading within 30 days after the date of the Notice. 

3. On September 30, 2019, the Applicant filed Proof of Publication of notice of the 

Application. 

4. No interventions were filed or public comments received in response to this 

Application. 



 

  

 

  

   

 

  

   

 

   

 

   

 

   

   

 

   

   

     

                                                 

     
 

Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 

Decision No. C19-0871 PROCEEDING NO. 19A-0494T 

II. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

5. Since the Application is now uncontested, the matter will be considered pursuant 

to the Commission’s modified procedure, § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., and the Commission’s Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-1-1403. 

6. The Applicant is a governing body as defined in § 29-11-101(4), C.R.S. The 

Company’s status as a governing body is established by Intergovernmental Agreement, a copy of 

which was included in the Application as Exhibit 2. 

7. A governing body may incur equipment, installation, and other costs directly 

related to the continued operation of emergency telephone service pursuant to § 29-11-102, 

C.R.S. As provided in paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of that statute, such allowable costs may 

be categorized as equipment directly related to the receipt and routing of emergency calls, 

monthly recurring charges for the emergency telephone service, reimbursement of costs for 

equipment changes necessary for the provision or transmission of wireless Automatic Number 

Identification or wireless Automatic Location Identification to a public safety answering point 

(PSAP), costs related to the provision of emergency notification service and emergency 

telephone service, and “other” directly related costs. Personnel expenses necessarily incurred for 

a PSAP may also be paid with funds collected from 911 charges.1  § 29-11-104(2)(b), C.R.S. 

8. A governing body is statutorily authorized to collect up to $0.70 per month per 

exchange access facility, per wireless communications access, and per interconnected Voice over 

Internet Protocol service to cover such costs of service within its jurisdiction. In the event that a 

governing body determines that a charge in excess of $0.70 is necessary to provide adequate 

1 Such personnel include employees who take and dispatch telephone calls, or who maintain the computer 
database of the PSAP. 
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emergency telephone service, the governing body shall obtain the approval of the Commission 

before imposing such higher charge.  § 29-11-102(2), C.R.S. 

9. Currently, the monthly emergency telephone surcharge is $1.15 in the Applicant’s 

service territory. The Application seeks to increase the charge to $1.30 per month.   

10. The Company is supported by the affidavit and verification of the information 

filed with the Commission by the Applicant. 

11. The Applicant funds three PSAPs, those being the Broomfield Police Department, 

the Westminster Police Department, and Jeffcom. 

12. The Applicant has determined that an increase in the emergency telephone 

surcharge is needed for several purposes: (1) to increase the funding provided to the three 

PSAPs; (2) to pay for higher  tariffed rates charged by the  Basic Emergency Service Provider 

following migration of the Douglas County PSAP to an Emergency Services IP Network 

expected to take place in 20202; (3) to pay for capital costs related to the ongoing implementation 

of a fiber optic project providing redundant connectivity between the three PSAPs and other 

public safety entities in the county; and (4) to replenish the Applicant’s cash reserves following 

expenses from the recent consolidation of eight PSAPs into the newly formed PSAP known as 

Jeffcom. 

13. The increase requested by the Applicant will increase revenues for the Applicant 

by an average of roughly $1.3 million per year, or about $6.9 million over the next five years. 

Without any increase, the Applicant will not meet its goals regarding the replenishment of its 

2 See Proceeding No. 17AL-0487T, Decision No. R18-1063 issued December 3, 2018. 
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cash reserves. With the requested increase, assuming no unforeseen costs, the Applicant should 

achieve its cash reserve goal by 2021, and remain solvent for at least the next five years. 

14. Based on this evidence, the Commission agrees with Applicant that additional 

funding that would be raised by a surcharge rate of $1.30 is necessary in order to maintain the 

current level of expenditure of all categories of expense allowed pursuant to § 29-11-104(2), 

C.R.S., and to pay for the Applicant’s proposed expenses. 

III. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The application of the Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority 

(Applicant) seeking to increase the emergency telephone charge to $1.30 per access line per 

month is granted. 

2. The Applicant shall notify each affected service provider of the increase in the 

emergency telephone surcharge by registered mail at least 60 days prior to the new rate 

becoming effective. 

3. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114, C.R.S., to file an application for 

rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date of 

this Decision. 

4. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
October 23, 2019. 

(S E A L) 

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY 

Doug Dean, 
Director 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

JEFFREY P. ACKERMANN 

JOHN GAVAN 

                                        Commissioners 

COMMISSIONER FRANCES A. KONCILJA 
ABSENT. 
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