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Decision No. C19-0830 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

PROCEEDING NO. 19A-0456T 

IN THE MATTER OF THE APPLICATION OF THE SEDGWICK COUNTY EMERGENCY 
TELEPHONE SERVICE AUTHORITY FOR A SURCHARGE INCREASE PURSUANT TO 
CRS 29-11-102(2)(B). 

COMMISSION DECISION GRANTING APPLICATION 

Mailed Date: October 10, 2019 
Adopted Date: October 9, 2019 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. On August 21, 2019, the Sedgwick County Emergency Telephone Authority 

(Applicant or Company) filed its application pursuant to § 29-11-102(2)(b), C.R.S., for approval 

of an emergency telephone charge increase from $0.70 to $2.10 per service user per month 

(Application). 

2. Also on August 21, 2019, the Commission gave notice of the Application stating 

that parties wishing to participate in this Proceeding should file an Intervention or other 

appropriate pleading within 30 days after the date of the Notice. 

3. On September 10, 2019, the Applicant filed Proof of Publication of notice of the 

Application. 

4. On September 16, 2019, the Applicant filed two Supplements to the Application, 

providing additional documentation in support of the Application. 
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5. On September 26, 2019, the Applicant filed an Amendment to the Application, 

reducing the amount of the requested emergency telephone charge from $2.10 to $1.90 per 

service user per month. 

6. No interventions were filed or public comments received in response to this 

Application. 

II. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS 

7. Since the Application is now uncontested, the matter will be considered pursuant 

to the Commission’s modified procedure, § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., and the Commission’s Rules of 

Practice and Procedure, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-1-1403. 

8. The Applicant is a governing body as defined in § 29-11-101(4), C.R.S. The 

Company’s status as a governing body is established by Intergovernmental Agreement, a copy of 

which was included in the Application as Exhibit 2. 

9. A governing body may incur equipment, installation, and other costs directly 

related to the continued operation of emergency telephone service pursuant to § 29-11-102, 

C.R.S. As provided in paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of that statute, such allowable costs may 

be categorized as equipment directly related to the receipt and routing of emergency calls, 

monthly recurring charges for the emergency telephone service, reimbursement of costs for 

equipment changes necessary for the provision or transmission of wireless Automatic Number 

Identification or wireless Automatic Location Identification to a public safety answering point 

(PSAP), costs related to the provision of emergency notification service and emergency 

2 



 

  

 

 

   

   

     

  

 

 

 

   

  

 

                                                 

     
 

  

Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 

Decision No. C19-0830 PROCEEDING NO. 19A-0456T 

telephone service, and “other” directly related costs. Personnel expenses necessarily incurred for 

a PSAP may also be paid with funds collected from 911 charges.1  § 29-11-104(2)(b), C.R.S. 

10. A governing body is statutorily authorized to collect up to $0.70 per month per 

exchange access facility, per wireless communications access, and per interconnected Voice over 

Internet Protocol service to cover such costs of service within its jurisdiction. In the event that a 

governing body determines that a charge in excess of $0.70 is necessary to provide adequate 

emergency telephone service, the governing body shall obtain the approval of the Commission 

before imposing such higher charge.  § 29-11-102(2), C.R.S. 

11. Currently, the monthly emergency telephone surcharge is $0.70 in the Applicant’s 

service territory. The Application seeks to increase the charge to $1.90 per month.   

12. The Company is supported by the affidavit and verification of the information 

filed with the Commission by the Applicant. 

13. The Applicant funds one PSAP, the Sedgwick County Communications Center, 

located in Holyoke, Colorado. 

14. The Applicant has determined that an increase in the emergency telephone 

surcharge is needed for several purposes: (1) to upgrade radio equipment in the PSAP; (2) to pay 

for higher tariffed rates charged by the Basic Emergency Service Provider following migration of 

the PSAP to an Emergency Services IP Network expected to take place in 20202; and (3) to 

generally provide support for eligible expenses at the PSAP previously not provided for by the 

Applicant. 

1 Such personnel include employees who take and dispatch telephone calls, or who maintain the computer 
database of the PSAP. 

2 See Proceeding No. 17AL-0487T, Decision No. R18-1063 issued December 3, 2018. 
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15. The increase requested by the Applicant will increase revenues for the Applicant 

by an average of roughly $35,000 per year, or about $175,000 over the next five years. Without 

any increase, the Applicant will exhaust its funds in 2021. With the requested increase, assuming 

no unforeseen costs, funding should be sufficient for at least the next five years. 

16. Based on this evidence, the Commission agrees with Applicant that additional 

funding that would be raised by a surcharge rate of $1.90 is necessary in order to maintain the 

current level of expenditure of all categories of expense allowed pursuant to § 29-11-104(2), 

C.R.S., and to pay for the Applicant’s proposed expenses. 

III. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The application of the Sedgwick County Emergency Telephone Authority 

(Applicant) seeking to increase the emergency telephone charge to $1.90 per access line per 

month is granted. 

2. The Applicant shall notify each affected service provider of the increase in the 

emergency telephone surcharge by registered mail at least 60 days prior to the new rate 

becoming effective. 

3. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114, C.R.S., to file an application for 

rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date of 

this Decision. 

4. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
October 9, 2019. 

(S E A L) 

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY 

Doug Dean, 
Director 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

JEFFREY P. ACKERMANN 

JOHN GAVAN 

                                        Commissioners 

COMMISSIONER FRANCES A. KONCILJA 
ABSENT. 
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