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Stipulation and Settlement Agreement 

This Stipulation and Settlement Agreement is entered into by and between Trial Staff of the 

Commission (Staff) and B.O.S.S. Movers, LLC and Kenneth Todd, Respondents, (collectively, 

Respondents) as a result of Docket NO. 09G-088HHG in which the Respondents were cited in a 

civil penalty assessment notice (CPAN) for violation of§ 40-14-103 of the Colorado Revised 

Statutes (C.R.S.) and the Transportation Rules of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission 

(Commission), and in particular Rule 4 Code ofColorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6-6007, 

subsections (a) and (b). 

1. The Respondents admit liability to all violations in CPAN No. 90074, which 
is attached as Exhibit A. 

2. This Agreement has been reached in consideration of.Respondents' admission of 
liability in subparagraph 1, above, in the spirit of compromise and in light of the 
uncertainties of trial, and to avoid the costly expense of litigation. The Parties 
also agree that this Agreement promotes administrative efficiency by avoiding the 
time and expense that would be necessarily devoted to a full hearing on this 
matter, as well as in consideration of the amount of monies that would have been 
spent by either party on attorney's fees and costs. For these reasons and for the 
reasons further described in paragraph 5 below, the Parties have agreed to a 
reduction in the amount of the civil penalty from $14,547.50 to $1,100.00. 

3. The Respondents have agreed to make full payment of the negotiated settlement 
amount of $1,100.00 in two installments. The first installment of $550.00 is due 
within thirty (30) days of the Commission final order, and the second installment 
is due on or before October 31, 2009. Respondents recognize that failure to 
timely make both installment payments will result in Respondents being liable for 
the full penalty amount of $14,547.50, less any payments made, without any 
further hearing. Respondents agree and stipulate that failure to pay the settlement 
amount described above shall also be deemed as a waiver by Respondent of any 
and all rights to file exceptions and/or to all rights to file a request for rehearing, 
reargument and reconsideration or any other form of appeal. 

https://14,547.50
https://1,100.00
https://1,100.00
https://14,547.50


Attachment 1
Docket No. 09G-088HHG

Decision No. R09-0565
Page 2 of 6

4. As an additional condition of this negotiated settlement, Respondents agree 
that if they, or either of them, are found, in any future civil penalty case, to 
be in violation of offering, advertising or operating as a mover of household 
goods in the State of Colorado in the future and failing to abide by § 40-14-
103, C.R.S. (proper registration as a mover of household goods) and 
Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-6-6007, subsections (a) and (b) (maintaining 
required insurance as a transportation carrier) which are the underlying 
violations in this docket, then any portion of $14,547.50 of the civil penalty 
originally assessed by CPAN 90074 still unpaid at that time shall 
immediately become due and payable without any further hearing, in 
addition to any penalty that results from the future failure to register as a 
mover of household goods and maintain the required insurance. 

5. In addition to the reasons expressed in paragraph 1, 2, 3, and 4 above, Staff 
and Respondents have agreed to the following stipulation of facts to be 
considered by the Administrative Law Judge for consideration of approval 
of this agreement pursuant to Commission Rule 723-1-1302 (b): 

a. The violation admitted to by the Respondents occurred during a routine 
safety and compliance investigation by Staff of the Commission. This 
safety and compliance investigation was conducted by Commission 
Investigators Monita Pacheco and John Opeka on February 6, 2009, at Fort 
Collins, Colorado, as part of their regular duties as criminal investigators 
for the Commission. Both parties agree that§ 40-14-103, C.R.S., and 
Commission Rule 723-6-6007 apply. Section 40-14-103 specifies that no 
person shall operate as a mover upon the public highways of this state 
without first being registered with the Commission. Pursuant to §§ 40-14-
112 and 40-7-113, C.R.S., a violation of§ 40-14-103, C.R.S., is 
punishable by a civil penalty ofup to $1,100.00. Rule 723-6-6007, 
subsection (a) specifies that movers of household goods must maintain 
motor vehicle liability insurance coverage, cargo liability coverage, and 
general liability coverage. Rule 723-6-6007, subsection (b) prescribes the 
levels and specific terms of coverage required for movers of household 
goods. Commission Rule 723-6-6016 prescribes the penalties for 
violations of Rule 723-6-6007. 

b. The Respondents have no record of prior violations of any kind at the 
Commission. 

c. The Parties stipulate that the Respondents have, as of the date of this 
agreement, discontinued operating as movers of household goods 

d. The Parties also stipulate to the fact that the Respondents operate as a very 
modest business enterprise and that, having now discontinued offering, 
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advertising and operating as movers of household goods, a large civil
penalty would represent a severe hardship. Respondents have admitted to
the violation cited in the CPAN and therefore the Parties agree that
mitigation of the maximum fine is appropriate. 

6. The Parties agree that all matters that were raised or could have been raised in this docket
relating to the issues specifically identified and addressed herein have been resolved by the
Stipulation and Agreement. This Stipulation and Agreement may be executed in counterparts,
each of which when taken together shall constitute the entire Agreement of the Parties, and no
further modification of this Agreement is allowed, except in writing by the parties, and further
agreed to in an further order issued by the Public Utilities Commission. 

EXECUTED this // day of May, 2009. 

Approved as to form:
STAFF OF THE COLORADO
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION TTORNEY GENERAL 

By: ~~ By:--'-"------=-----­Robert Laws Keith J. Kirchubel, #37037*
1560 Broadway, Suite 250 Assistant Attorney General
Denver, Colorado 80202 Business and Licensing Section

1525 Sherman Street, 5th Floor
Senior Criminal Investigator Denver, Colorado 80203
Colorado Public Utilities Commission Telephone: (303) 866-5141

Facsimile: (303) 866-5395 

COUNSEL FOR STAFF OF THE 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

*Counsel of Record 

8.O.S.S. MOVERS, LLC, and KENNETH TODD 

By~ 

Kenneth Todd, individually and in his capacity as Principal of B.O.S.S. Movers, LLC
508 9th Street
Fort Collins, CO 80524
(970) 690-3394 

3 



CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT NOTICE 
OR NOTICE OF COMPLAINT TO APPEAR 

~ 

No. 90074-CPAN 

Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado (Complainant) 
\J. 

Kenneth Tcxld, individually, and in his capacity as Principal of 8.0.S.S. Movers, L.L.C., and B.O.S.S. 
Movers, L.L.C. (Respondent) 

PUC Authority Number(s): none 

Physical Address: 508 9th Street. Fort Collins, CO 80524 
Mailing Address: 508 9th Street, Fort Collins, CO 80524 

Penalty If 100ayPenalty+No. Date of Violation Violation Cite Place of Paid Within PenaltyNature of Violation Penalty 15%Violation 10 Days +15%Surcharge 
Surcharae 

1 February 6, 2009 C.R.S. 40-14-103 Operated as a mover without Ft. Collins, CO $1,100.00 $1,265.00 $550.00 $632.50 
being registered with the 
Commission. 

2 February 6, 2009 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(I) or Operated as a transportation Ft. Collins, CO $11,000.000 $12,650.00 $5,500.00 $6,325.00
4 CCR 723-6-6007(b)(l)(B) earlier without insurance. 

3 February 6, 2009 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(II) or Operated as a mover without Ft. Collins, CO $275.00 $316.25 $137.50 $158.13 
4 CCR 723-6-6007(b}(ll)(C) carQo insurance. 

4 February 6, 2009 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(IV) or Operated as a mover without Ft. Collins, CO $275.00 $316.25 $137.50 $158.13 
4 CCR 723-6-6007(b)(M !:leneral liability insurance. 

Total Amount : $14,547.50 

Total Amount If Paid Within 10 Days: $7273.76 
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CIVIL PENALTY ASSESSMENT NOTICE 
OR NOTICE OF COMPLAINT TO APPEAR 

.. 
No. 90074-CPAN 

I HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF THIS NOTICE. 

Respondent's Signature Date 

The undersigned has probable cause to believe that the Respondent committed the violation(s) cited. 

M.C. Pacheco #5136 Februa~ 2009 
Print name Signature Date 

Service 
(For Commission use only- completed upon affecting service). The undersigned affirms that a copy of this Civil Penalty Assessment Notice or Notice 
of Complaint to Appear was duly served upon the respondent by: 

( X ) personal service; or ( ) certified mail, return receipt requested. 

M.C. Pacheco #5136 Februa!l_ 6! 2009 
Print name Signature Date 
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OR NOTICE OF COMPLAINT TO APPEAR 
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No. 90074-CPAN 

The notice you have received is called a Civil Penalty Assessment Notice or Notice of Complaint to Appear. The penaltyfor the alleged violation(s) is described on the preceding page(s). It Is the prescribed penalty for the stated violation(s) asrequired by law and specified in the Public Utilities Commission's rules, and may be an enhanced penalty pursuant to§ 40-7-113(3) or (4), C.R.S. Pursuant to§ 24-34-108, C.R.S., a surcharge In the amount of fifteen percent will beadded to all penalty assessments collected. This surcharge will be used to fund the development, implementation andmaintenance of a consumer outreach and education program. Your payment may be made by money order or check. Donot mail cash. If payment is made by mail, the date of payment Is the postmarked date. You may pay this penalty by mailor in person at: 

Public Utilities Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, CO 80202
You have four options regarding this civil penalty: 
1. Within ten days of receipt of this Civil Penalty Assessment Notice, you may pay the reduced total amount shown inthe "Total Amount If Paid Within 10 Days" section above, which the Public Utilities Commission will accept aspayment in full, with surcharge, and as your acknowledgement that you are liable for the violations herein.

UPON PAYMENT OF THIS ASSESSMENT, I ACKNOWLEDGE LIABILITY OF ALL VIOLATIONSHEREIN. 

Respondent's signature 
2. Within ten days of receipt of this Civil Penalty Assessment Notice, you may pay the reduced total amount on certainviolations, but contest the remaining violations, by providing the following: 

UPON PAYMENT, I ACKNOWLEDGE LIABILITY ON THE FOLLOWING VIOLATION NUMBERS: 

I AM REQUESTING A HEARING ON THE FOLLOWING CONTESTED VIOLATION NUMBERS: 

Enclose payment of the reduced amount(s) shown in the "10 Day Penalty+ 15% Surcharge" column for eachacknowledged violation. The Public Utilities Commission will accept your payment as payment in full, withsurcharge, and as your acknowledgement that you are liable for the violations for which payment is made. 

Respondent's signature 
3. After ten days of receipt of this Civil Penalty Assessment Notice, you may avoid a hearing in this matter, at any timeprior to the hearing, if you pay the full total amount shown in the "Total Amount" section. The Public UtilitiesCommission will accept your payment as payment in full, with surcharge, and as your acknowledgement that you areliable for the violations herein. 

UPON PAYMENT OF THIS ASSESSMENT, I ACKNOWLEDGE LIABILITY OF ALL VIOLATIONSHEREIN. 

Respondent's signature 
4. If you wish to contest the entire civil penalty, or if the civil penalty assessment is not paid within ten days of receipt ofthis notice, then you must contact the Public Utilities Commission by 4:00 p.m. of the 15th day after receipt of thisnotice to set the alleged violation(s) for hearing. Call the P.U.C. at 800/888-0170, ext. 2884, or 303/894-2884. If youfail to contact the Commission, this document becomes a Complaint to Appear Notice and the Commission will set thehearing date without any preference to your wishes. You will be notified about the hearing date. If you are under 18years of age, you must be accompanied by a parent or a guardian at the hearing. 
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