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Decision No. C04-0552 

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T 

RULES PRESCRIBING THE STANDARD PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING THE 
COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND, 4 CCR 723-13. 

COMMISSION ORDER SETTING THE UNIFORM 
CHARGE FOR EACH APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE AT 
12 CENTS PER MONTH FOR THE FISCAL YEAR 2004-
2005 TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME 

TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM AND REQUIRING 
THE PRINTING OF A MARKET INFORMATIONAL NOTE 

Mailed Date:  June 1, 2004 
Adopted Date:  May 26, 200 

I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP), also called 

“Lifeline,” was established by the Legislature in 1990.  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S. In 1991, 

the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income 

Telephone Assistance Fund.  4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-13.  Rule 3.1 provides: 

Implementing tariffs shall consist of a twenty-five percent discount for a single 
local dial tone line and the flat rate usage charge in the principal residence of an 
eligible subscriber.  Eligible subscribers who pay mileage charges associated with 
basic telephone service may be eligible for a twenty-five percent discount for 
these charges.  In no event shall the discount provided be less than the end user 
common line charges imposed by the Federal Communications Commission. 

2. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-13-4 the Commission shall determine, and by 

appropriate order impose, a uniform charge on each business and residential access line; such 

charge can be adjusted on or before July 1 of each year.  After accounting for the projected 

amounts in the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund (Fund) for the first two 
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quarters of 2004, the Commission finds the LITAP uniform charge on each access line for fiscal 

year 2005 beginning July 1, 2004, will need to be increased from 10 cents to 12 cents per line per 

month. 

3. Colorado allows participating telephone service providers to be reimbursed from 

the Fund for a 25 percent discount or the end user subscriber line charge imposed by the Federal 

Communications Commission, whichever is greater.  Considering the current fund balance, 

revenue, and projected expenditures for Fiscal Year 2004-2005, the Commission finds it 

necessary to increase the LITAP uniform charge on each access line beginning July 1, 2004.  The 

increased end user subscriber line charge (currently $6.50 per month), an increase in the number 

of LITAP subscribers, and a decrease in the number of access lines assessed the uniform charge 

have had an impact on the Fund and created a shortfall at the current uniform charge. A two-cent 

increase in the monthly uniform charge is necessary in order to establish and maintain a positive 

Fund balance. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Commission’s Rules 

Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, 

4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13, the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance 

Program uniform charge on each access line for the Fiscal Year 2004-2005 shall be 12 cents per 

line per month effective July 1, 2004. 
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2. If necessary, local exchange telecommunications providers may file revised tariffs 

changing the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program charge on not less than one 

day’s notice to the Commission, citing this Order as authority. 

3. The Commission may enter subsequent orders should the estimates in the Table 

entitled “Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund”, appended as Attachment A to this 

Order, prove inaccurate. 

4. The uniform charge of 12 cents per month shall be included in each applicable 

subscriber’s bill, either as a specific line item or as part of the subscriber’s basic rate effective 

July 1, 2004.  As soon as practicable after July 1, 2004, each local exchange telecommunications 

provider collecting the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program charge as part of 

its basic rate shall print on each customer’s bill a market informational note. The market 

informational note shall state: “The basic rate contains a 12-cent monthly charge for the 

Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.” The market informational note shall be 

printed on the bill through one billing cycle. 

5. The 20-day time-period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an 

application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing 

of this Order. 

6. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date. 
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 ________________________________ 

________________________________ 

________________________________ 
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B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
May 26, 2004. 

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO 

Commissioners 
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