Decision No. C03-0581

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T

RULES PRESCRIBING THE STANDARD PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING THE
COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND, 4 CCR 723-13.

COMMISSION ORDER SETTING THE UNIFORM
CHARGE FOR EACH APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE AT
EIGHT CENTS PER MONTH FOR FISCAL YEAR
2003/2004 TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME
TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND AND REQUIRING THE
NECESSARY CHANGES TO THE TARIFF

Mailed Date: May 30, 2003
Adopted Date: May 28, 2003

l. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund (LITAP) was established
by the Colorado Legislature in 1990. See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S. In 1991, the Commission
adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone
Assistance Fund. 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-13. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-
13-4, the Commission shall determine, and by appropriate order, impose a Uniform Charge on
each business and residential access line in a uniform amount in order to fund LITAP. Such

charge may be adjusted on or before July 1 of each year. Rule 4 CCR 723-13-3.1 provides:

Implementing tariffs shall consist of a twenty-five percent discount for a
single local dial tone line and the flat rate usage charge in the principal residence
of an eligible subscriber. Eligible subscribers who pay mileage charges
associated with basic telephone service may be eligible for a twenty-five percent
discount for these charges. In no event shall the discount provided be less than
the end user common line charges imposed by the Federal Communications
Commission.
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2. The Commission has assembled data projecting the amount of funding necessary
to meet the program’s legislative and rule requirements. See Attachment A. After accounting for
the projected amounts in LITAP at the end of the fiscal year 2002-2003, the Commission finds
the LITAP Uniform Charge on each eligible access line for fiscal year 2003-2004 shall be
increased from six to eight cents per month per line. The increase to the line charge is
necessitated by the “CALLS ORDER” and the “MAGS ORDER” issued by the Federal
Communications Commission (FCC), which modified the End User Common Line Charge
(SLC) for all price capped local exchange carriers and rural local exchange providers such that
the amount of LITAP assistance is increased to $6.50 per eligible low-income subscriber as of

July 1, 2003. This is an increase of $3.00 per access line per month over a three-year period.

3. This increase has a direct effect on the Colorado LITAP fund. Colorado statute
requires that LITAP assistance be either a 25 percent discount or the SLC imposed by the FCC,
whichever is greater. The number of LITAP subscribers increased by over 17 percent in the
calendar year 2002. The Colorado Department of Human Services estimates another significant
increase in subscribers for the calendar year 2003. The increased SLC charge and the increase in
the number of LITAP subscribers will create a shortfall in the LITAP fund at the current Uniform
Charge. An increase of two cents per month per access line is necessary to maintain a positive

projected balance of the fund.

1. ORDER
A. The Commission Orders That:
1. The Commission, pursuant to 8§ 40-3.4-108, C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the

Commission's Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone

Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13, hereby establishes a Uniform Charge
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on each eligible access line for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund for the
Fiscal Year 2003-2004, which shall be eight cents per month per access line, effective July 1,

2003.

2. To the extent necessary to reflect the eight cents per month per access line charge,
each basic local exchange telecommunications service provider who has Colorado Low-Income
Telephone Assistance Fund tariffs on file with the Commission shall file revised tariffs changing
the Uniform Charges per access line per month, on not less than one day’s notice, citing this

Order as authority.

3. The Commission may enter subsequent orders should the estimates in the

Attachment A appended to this Order prove inaccurate.

4. The Uniform Charge of eight cents per month shall be included in each applicable
subscriber’s bill as part of the subscriber’s base rate. As soon as practicable, after July 1, 2003,
each basic local exchange telecommunications provider who has on file a tariff providing for
Low-Income Telephone Assistance, and is thus a part of the Colorado Low-Income Telephone
Assistance Fund, shall print a market informational message. The message shall be on each
customer’s bill during one billing cycle stating: “The Basic Rate contains an eight cent monthly

charge for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.”

5. The 20-day time-period provided for by 8§ 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an
application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing

of this Order.

6. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.
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B.  ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
May 28, 2003.

(SEAL) THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

GREGORY E. SOPKIN

POLLY PAGE

ATTEST: A TRUE COPY
JIM DYER

Commissioners

Bruce N. Smith
Director
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