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OF COLORADO 

Decision No. C03-0530 
Docket No. 98M-236T 

CWM 5-16-03 

SUGGESTED LANGUAGE ISSUED BY THE COLORADO PUC REGARDING THE 
COLORADO HIGH COST SUPPORT MECHANISM CONTRIBUTIONS 

CUSTOMER EDUCATION 

NOTICE 

You may have noticed a charge on your telephone bill for the Colorado Universal Service 
Fund.  This charge is required by the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC) to pay for 
the Colorado Universal Service fund established by state law. 

What is the Colorado Universal Service Fund? 
It is a fund to ensure the basic telephone service is affordable in Colorado.  Money from the 
fund is used to support basic local phone service in areas where costs to provide service are 
high.  This allows local phone rates to remain reasonably comparable across the state.  
Payments are made to telephone companies that serve areas with high costs and meet other 
PUC requirements for the funding. 

What services is this charge applied to and who pays it? 
This charge is assessed as a percentage of your in-state telecommunications services for 
local, wireless, paging, in-state long distance and optional services.  The charge is not applied 
to interstate long-distance.  All telecommunications customers in Colorado pay this monthly 
charge. 

What is the monthly charge? 
The monthly charge is currently set at 2 percent, which was effective January 1, 2003.  The 
rate was 2.9 percent as of January 1, 2002, and has been lowered in increments to the current 
monthly charge of 2 percent.  The PUC may adjust the charge over time depending on how 
much money is needed for the fund and to make sure that customers do not pay more than is 
necessary. 

Who do I call if I have questions about this charge? 
For more information, contact your telecommunications provider. 
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