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I. STATEMENT

1. Staff of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission initiated this proceeding by filing Civil Penalty Assessment or Notice of Complaint to Appear (CPAN) No. 117082 on November 8, 2016.  It alleges that Colorado Cab Company, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab (Denver Yellow Cab) violated Rule 6253(c) of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6, by failing to arrive at a pickup location within five minutes of the time of a call.  As identified in the CPAN, the civil penalty assessed for the violation is $550.00, plus an additional 15 percent surcharge, for a total of $632.50.  

2. The return of service filed with the CPAN states that Denver Yellow Cab was served with the CPAN on November 8, 2016 by personal service on the Office Manager of Denver Yellow Cab.  

3. On December 14, 2016, by Minute Order, the Commission referred this proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  The proceeding was subsequently assigned to the undersigned ALJ. 

4. On December 21, 2016, Denver Yellow Cab paid the full amount of $632.50.

5. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ hereby transmits to the Commission the record in this proceeding, along with a written recommended decision. 

II. FINDINGS

6. CPAN No. 117082 provides in relevant part that a party served with a CPAN has four options to resolve it:  

a)
Within ten calendar days of receipt of the CPAN, Respondent may pay the reduced total amount which the Commission will accept as payment in full, with the surcharge, and as the Respondent’s acknowledgement of liability for the violations contained in the CPAN; 

b)
Within ten calendar days of receipt of the CPAN, Respondent may pay 
the reduced amount for each acknowledged violation which the Commission will accept as payment in full, with the surcharge, and as Respondent’s acknowledgement of liability for the indicated violations, but Respondent may contest the remaining violations; 

c)
If Respondent does not pay the reduced penalty amount within ten days after issuance of the CPAN, it becomes a Notice of Complaint to Appear; however, the Commission will accept Respondent’s payment in full of the full total civil penalty assessment as Respondent’s acknowledgement that Respondent is liable for the violations contained in the CPAN; or,

d)
If Respondent wishes to contest any of the violations contained in the CPAN, Respondent must contact the Commission no later than the 15th day after receipt of the CPAN in order to schedule a hearing.

7. Here, Denver Yellow Cab paid the full penalty assessment prior to the hearing in this proceeding, which has not yet been scheduled.  Therefore, the payment in full of $632.50 for CPAN No. 117082 is acknowledgement by Denver Yellow Cab that it is liable for the violation stated therein and resolves this matter. 

8. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

III. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. Payment of the total civil penalty amount of $632.50 by Colorado Cab Company, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab as set forth in Civil Penalty Assessment Notice No. 117082 is accepted by the Colorado Public Utilities Commission as full payment of the same.

2. Proceeding No. 16G-0863CP is closed.

3. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.

4. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

 

a)
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.  

 

b)
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.  

5. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
	(S E A L)

[image: image1.png]



ATTEST: A TRUE COPY


[image: image2.wmf] 

 

 


Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


CONOR F. FARLEY
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




� See Receipt No. 64198 issued on December 21, 2016.





4

_1219490348.doc
[image: image1.png]Lo




[image: image2.png]





 












