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I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. The Commission opened this proceeding through Decision No. C24-0557, adopted 

July 31, 2024 (“Opening Decision”) to fulfill the Commission’s obligations under §§ 29-11-102 

through 102.5, C.R.S., which require the Commission establish by October 1, annually, the local 

Emergency Telephone Charge threshold, a statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, a prepaid wireless 9-1-1 

charge, a formula for distribution of money from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge to governing 

bodies, and a formula for distribution of money from the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge to 

governing bodies, each to be effective the following January 1. 

2. Through this Decision, we address intervention pleadings and establish the 

following amounts and formula to be effective January 1, 2025: (1) an authorized Emergency 

Telephone Charge threshold of $2.12; (2) a statewide 9-1-1 surcharge of $0.12; (3) a prepaid 

wireless 9-1-1 charge of $2.09; (4) a distribution formula through which the Commission will 

distribute funds from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to be determined by 

the Commission but not exceeding 4 percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in amounts 

proportional to the number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains at its 

Public Safety Answering Points (“PSAPs”) as a percentage of the total number of concurrent 

sessions in the state; and (5) a distribution formula through which the Colorado Department of 

Revenue will distribute funds from the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge, less administrative costs to 

be determined by the Department of Revenue but not exceeding 3 percent, to each 9-1-1 governing 
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body in amounts proportional to the number of wireless 9-1-1 calls received at its PSAPs as a 

percentage of the total number of wireless 9-1-1 calls received by all PSAPs in the state. 

B. Background 

3. As described in our Opening Decision, we proposed for participant comment 

amounts and formulas required by statute to be established by October 1, 2024, with an effective 

date of January 1, 2025. The proposed rates and distribution formulas were calculated as prescribed 

by statute and 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (“CCR”) 723-2-2148 of the Commission’s Rules 

Regulating Telecommunications Services and Providers of Telecommunications Services.  

4. Interested persons were invited to submit comments or briefing, in addition to 

intervention requests, by August 21, 2024, and to submit responsive briefs or comments by 

September 4, 2024.  

C. Intervention 

5. On August 20, 2024, the Office of Utility Consumer Advocate (“UCA”) filed a 

Notice of Intervention as a Matter of Right and Entry of Appearance pursuant to Rules  

4 CCR 723-1-1200(a)(V), 1201(c), 1204, 1401(a), and 1401(b), and § 40-6.5-104, C.R.S.  

UCA states that “pursuant to 40-6.5-104(1), C.R.S, UCA represents the public interest and…the 

specific interests of residential consumers, agricultural consumers, and small business consumers 

by appearing in proceedings before the commission and appeals therefrom in matters which 

involved proposed changes in a public utility’s rates and charges” among other matters.  

We recognize UCA as an intervenor of right in this proceeding. 

6. On August 21, 2024, Qwest Corporation doing business as CenturyLink QC 

(“CenturyLink”), filed a Motion to Intervene pursuant to Commission Rules 1400 and 1401(b). 

CenturyLink states that “as the only active certificated Basic Emergency Service Provider in the 
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state of Colorado…no other party or potential party in this proceeding can adequately represent 

CenturyLink’s interests.”  

7. On August 21, 2024, the Boulder Regional Emergency Telephone Service 

Authority (“BRETSA”), Douglas County Emergency Telephone Service Authority, and the El 

Paso/Teller County Emergency Telephone Service Authority (collectively, the “Best 911 

Authorities”) filed a Motion to Intervene pursuant to Commission Rules 1401(a) and (b). Best 911 

Authorities states that they are customers of the BESP, and recipients of the 9-1-1 Surcharge. 

Additionally, Best 911 Authorities were intervenors in Proceeding 23A-0197T, in which the BESP 

filed an improvement plan, the cost of which will affect Best 911 Authorities.  

8. On August 21, 2024, the Adams County 911 Authority, the Arapahoe County 911 

Authority, and the Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority (collectively, the 

“AAJ Authorities”), filed a Motion to Intervene pursuant to Commission Rules 1400 and 1401(c). 

AAJ Authorities state that the subject of the proceeding is the AAJ Authorities’ revenue streams, 

and as such, no other party or potential party in this proceeding can adequately represent the AAJ 

Authorities’ interests.  

9. Under Rule 1401(c), 4 CCR 723-1, persons seeking permissive intervention must 

demonstrate that the proceeding may substantially affect the pecuniary or tangible interests of the 

movant, and that the movant’s interested would not otherwise be adequately represented. 

10. The potential intervenors that represent governing bodies (i.e., BRETSA, Douglas 

and El Paso/Teller, as Best 911 Authorities; and AAJ Authorities all demonstrate through their 

filings a direct interest in the outcome of the proceeding since they represent entities that will 

receive distributions from the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge and the state 9-1-1 surcharge, and they 

would potentially be impacted by the threshold for Emergency Telephone Charge rates above 
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which Commission approval will be required. Therefore, Best 911 Authorities and AAJ 

Authorities meet the requirements in rule and we grant each permissive intervention in this 

proceeding.  

11. The proposed 9-1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access connection per month 

was calculated to reimburse 9-1-1 governing bodies for the cost of CenturyLink’s tariffed ESInet 

service.1 As such, and under Rule 1401(c), 4 CCR 723-1, CenturyLink demonstrates that it has a 

pecuniary or tangible interest that would not otherwise adequately be represented. Therefore, 

CenturyLink’s pleading seeking intervention meets the requirements in our rule and is granted.  

12. UCA, Best 911 Authorities, AAJ Authorities, and CenturyLink are parties to this 

proceeding.2 

D. Emergency Telephone Charge Threshold 

13. Section 29-11-102, C.R.S., requires the Commission to take into account inflation 

and the needs of the governing bodies in setting the authorized Emergency Telephone Charge 

threshold. This threshold sets the rate above which approval by the Commission is required for a 

9-1-1 governing body to set its Emergency Telephone Charge.3 As required by Rule 2148(a)(I)(A) 

and (B), 4 CCR 723-2 of the Rules Regulating Telecommunications Services and Providers of 

Telecommunications Services, the Commission must take into account, at a minimum, historical 

 
1 The initially proposed rate of $0.09 did not include the recently approved “Improvement Amount.”  

See Decision R24-0566, Proceeding No. 23A-0197T. 
2 Colorado Council of Authorities, Inc. (“CCOA”) filed comments in this proceeding but did not file a motion 

to intervene. CCOA is not a party to this proceeding but its public comments are nevertheless considered as included 
in this Decision. 

3 See § 29-11-102(2)(c), C.R.S. For example, with the 2023 Emergency Telephone Charge Threshold set by 
the Commission at $1.97 per 9-1-1 access connection per month, a 9-1-1 governing body has the statutory authority 
to adopt an Emergency Telephone Charge rate up to and including $1.97 per 9-1-1 access connection per month.  
To adopt an Emergency Telephone Charge in excess of the threshold, the governing body must first file an application 
and the application must be approved by the Commission. 
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data, future projections, inflation rates, the rate of increase of the average emergency telephone 

charge, comments provided to the Commission, and other factors the Commission deems relevant. 

14. In our Opening Decision, we proposed for stakeholder comment an authorized 

Emergency Telephone Charge threshold of $2.12. This is an increase of $0.07 over the current 

threshold of $2.05, and reflects the 3.3 percent inflation rate provided by the Bureau of Labor 

Statistics Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers from May 2023 to May 2024.4 

15. Also in our Opening Decision, we requested comment on whether there were other 

factors the Commission should consider when setting this threshold. In their comments, CCOA 

and AAJ Authorities supported this proposal.  

16. Therefore, we find no reason to modify our original proposal established in the 

Opening Decision and establish an authorized Emergency Telephone Charge threshold of $2.12, 

effective January 1, 2025.  

E. Statewide 9-1-1 Surcharge 

1. Opening Decision 

17.  Pursuant to § 29-11-102.3, C.R.S., the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge must be 

reasonably calculated to meet the needs of governing bodies to operate the 9-1-1 system, and the 

amount may not exceed $0.50 per month per 9-1-1 access connection.  To establish this amount, 

Rule 2148(a)(II)(B) provides that the Commission shall consider historical data, costs to the 9-1-

1 governing body of basic emergency service tariffs, comments of interested stakeholders, and 

other factors the Commission deems relevant. Additionally, § 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(III), C.R.S., 

implies that the purpose of the surcharge is to “reimburse” governing bodies for the concurrent 

 
4 See https://www.bls.gov/news.release/archives/cpi_06122024.htm 
 

https://www.bls.gov/news.release/archives/cpi_06122024.htm
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sessions being purchased from the Basic Emergency Service Provider (“BESP”). Additionally, 

Rule 2148(a)(II)(B) states that the Commission shall take into account “the most recently approved 

improvement amount as described in subparagraph 2137(e)(II)….” 

18. In our Opening Decision, we proposed for stakeholder comment on a statewide 9-

1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access connection per month.  This proposed amount was 

intended to raise enough funding statewide that when distributed to the 9-1-1 governing bodies, 

the amount will reimburse 9-1-1 governing bodies for the monthly recurring charges they are 

required under the tariff to pay the BESP for the concurrent sessions at each of the PSAPs funded 

by the governing body. The proposed amount was based on 617 concurrent sessions being paid by 

9-1-1 governing bodies.5 This number, multiplied by the monthly recurring tariff rate, provides the 

total statewide cost for all concurrent sessions per month. This represents a maintenance of the 

current rate of $0.09. 

19. Also in our Opening Decision, we noted that CenturyLink intended to file a tariff 

amendment in August 2025, adding several features to the ESInet. As of the preparation of this 

Decision, this tariff amendment has not been filed.  

20. Also noted in our Opening Decision, the passage of Senate Bill 24-139 creates a 9-

1-1 Services Enterprise. This Enterprise is to set an Enterprise Fee, which the Commission will 

then be required to collect alongside the state 9-1-1 surcharge. However, as of the writing of the 

Opening Decision, the Enterprise had not yet been established and had not yet established an 

Enterprise Fee. We proposed that it would be premature to collect funds for an Enterprise Fee that 

had not yet been established, and we asked parties to comments on this analysis. 

 
5 See Attachment A to the Opening Decision. 



Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 
Decision No. C24-0710 PROCEEDING NO. 24M-0329T 

8 

21. Also noted in our Opening Decision, § 29-11-102.3(1)(b), C.R.S., does not 

necessarily limit the use of the state 9-1-1 surcharge to reimbursement of current tariff rates for 

Basic Emergency Service, and rather states that the amount “must be reasonably calculated to meet 

the needs of governing bodies to operate the 911 system.” 

22. The Commission requested comment on whether this approach is appropriate, and 

if it is not, what alternative approached the Commission may use to determine the statewide tariff 

costs to the governing bodies. The Commission also requested comment on whether there are other 

expenses appropriate for reimbursement through an adjustment to the 9-1-1 surcharge, noting that 

the distribution of the surcharge must be based on the number of concurrent sessions being 

purchased or funded by each of the governing bodies.  

2. Comments 

23. In their comments, CCOA proposes a surcharge rate of $.15, intended to reimburse 

governing bodies for a proposed tariff amendment which, at the time that the comments were 

provided, was anticipated from but not yet filed by CenturyLink, and an improvement amount of 

$310.86 as approved in Proceeding 23A-0197T.6 They also anticipate CenturyLink adding an 

additional $23.36 per concurrent session per month to address an increase in costs due to adding 

last-mile diversity as part of the improvement plan.7 CCOA calculates an increase of $0.03 to 

reimburse the governing bodies for these charges.  

 
6 As originally approved in Recommended Decision R24-0566, the improvement amount was $323.59. 

CenturyLink filed an Unopposed Motion to Modify the Recommended Decision on August 19, 2024, to a corrected 
amount of $310.86. This Motion was subsequently granted on September 18, 2024. The Decision number for the 
Decision granting this motion is pending. 

7 This additional, permanent increase to the monthly recurring costs in Tariff No. 25 was not approved in 
R24-0566, but may be filed in the form of tariff pages and an advice letter by the company at a future date. 



Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 
Decision No. C24-0710 PROCEEDING NO. 24M-0329T 

9 

24. CCOA proposes an increase of an additional $0.03 to cover the amount of 

additional features CenturyLink intended to add, via tariff amendment in August 2024. CCOA 

calculates that this additional tariff amount would be $262.11 per concurrent session per month.  

25. CCOA provided attachments showing calculations for these additional charges that 

include an additional 5 percent to cover the up to 4 percent, the Commission may retain to cover 

its costs for administering the surcharge, and 1 percent that the carriers are allowed to retain when 

they collect the surcharge.  

26. CCOA further “observes,” but does not specifically propose, that local Emergency 

Telephone Charge rates could be increased by the amount needed to cover increases to tariffed 

charges rather than these costs being reimbursed by the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge. CCOA argues 

that governing bodies “lose” up to 5 percent of the revenue due to administration of the 9-1-1 

surcharge. CCOA argues that this proposal would result in governing bodies receiving 98 percent 

of gross revenue instead of “about 95%.” 

27. Overall, CCOA proposes $0.06 to be added to the surcharge, for a total surcharge 

amount of $0.15. CCOA argues that failure to include these additional charges when calculating 

the surcharge would result in governing bodies covering these costs, which may require local 

governments to significantly increase their Emergency Telephone Charge rates, which it also 

implies may be a preferred option to increasing the surcharge rate.  

28. In its comments, the AAJ Authorities support the proposal of a surcharge rate of 

$0.09. The AAJ Authorities also commented that it is premature to provide an increase due to the 

creation of the 9-1-1 Services Enterprise created by SB 24-139.  
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29. In its comments, CenturyLink proposes a surcharge amount of $0.13, intended to 

cover the increase associated with the improvement plan approved in Proceeding 23A-0197T, and 

the increase associated with the anticipated tariff filing offering new services.  

30. CenturyLink indicated in its comments that it would not require all customers to 

purchase the new tariff offerings in 2025 but stated that there would be some customers who 

choose to purchase in 2025 and argue that the 2025 surcharge rate should be calculated 

accordingly.  

31. CenturyLink thus proposes a $0.03 increase attributable to the network 

improvements, and a $0.01 increase for new tariff features, for a total of $0.04 increase, bringing 

the surcharge rate to $0.13. 

32. In its reply comments, Best 911 Authorities stated that, for the first time, 

CenturyLink was offering optional services as well as mandatory services, and proposed that the 

Commission include in the distribution of 9-1-1 surcharge proceeds an equal amount per 

concurrent session allocated for the purchase of optional tariffed services to all Colorado PSAPs 

even if they are not taking the optional services.  

33. Best 911 Authorities proposed that large non-recurring charges associated with the 

proposed tariff amendment to provide additional services should be assessed by CenturyLink over 

a twelve, twenty-four, or thirty-six month period, in order for governing bodies to more easily bear 

the potentially large budgetary impacts of these non-recurring charges.  

34. In its comments, Best 911 Authorities argues that the 2025 surcharge should be 

calculated to begin collecting fees for the 9-1-1 Services Enterprise created by SB24-139, in order 

to position the Enterprise to provide matching funds for any forthcoming federal grant 

opportunities.  
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35. Best 911 Authorities states in its comments that the 9-1-1 surcharge should be 

calculated to include the improvement plan amount approved in Proceeding No. 23A-0197T, even 

if a decision regarding the Exceptions filed by CCOA is not issued by the conclusion of this 

proceeding. Best 911 Authorities proposed that the BESP agree to place in escrow any surcharge 

proceedings in excess of the amount required to complete any approved projects and use such 

escrowed amounts to fund future improvement projects or future tariff charges.  

36. In its reply comments, Best 911 Authorities states that CCOA’s comments 

regarding the “loss” of revenue to administration of the 9-1-1 surcharge are “nonsensical” and 

“wholly inapposite to the current proceeding inasmuch as the ETC and 9-1-1 Surcharge are 

established by statute (C.R.S 29-11-102 and C.R.S. 29-11-102.3, respectively).” Best Authorities 

assert that administration costs are not lost to governing bodies because the Commission “grosses 

up” the surcharge amount by the percentage it is permitted to retain.  

37. In addressing CCOA’s comment suggesting that the governing bodies are “losing” 

revenue costs to the Commission and that governing bodies would be better served without the  

9-1-1 surcharge, we agree with Best 911 Authorities that this is a legislative matter that cannot be 

addressed in this Proceeding. The 9-1-1 surcharge, as well as the Commission’s administrative 

allowance from the surcharge, is set by statute C.R.S. 29-11-102.3, and that attempts to change the 

process by which it is collected or that 9-1-1 is funded in Colorado in this proceeding are 

inappropriate. 

38. While the Commission agrees with Best 911 Authorities that the Commission’s 

administrative allowance for administering the state 9-1-1 surcharge is a legislative matter and 

outside the scope of this proceeding, we also note that CCOA’s comments seem to suggest that 

governing bodies themselves incur no overhead costs in administering their Emergency Telephone 
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Charges, which the Commission finds unlikely. Administration of any monies necessarily incurs 

costs, and although the Commission is permitted to retain up to 4 percent for reimbursement of its 

administration costs, the Commission currently retains only 2 percent, an exceptionally low 

amount for the administration of a statewide fund. 

39. The Commission also notes that without the state 9-1-1 surcharge to serve as a 

mechanism for governing bodies to be reimbursed for tariffed costs, more burden would be placed 

upon local Emergency Telephone Charge rates, some of which are already as high as $4.00 per 

line per month in some governing body service areas. Smaller communities, with commensurately 

smaller subscriber bases, would bear the brunt of the additional costs to be covered by local 

Emergency Telephone Charges and would further exacerbate the already significant disparities in 

ETC rates across the state. 

3. Tariff Considerations 

40. In Decision No. R24-0566, Proceeding No. 23A-0197T, Administrative Law Judge 

(“ALJ”) Garvey ordered that CenturyLink may file a tariff amendment to recover the additional, 

ongoing monthly recurring charges requested for the last-mile diversity project. In its proposal in 

Proceeding No. 23A-0197T, CenturyLink proposed this amount at $24.25 per concurrent session.  

41. CenturyLink has not yet filed a tariff amendment for the recovery of monthly 

recurring costs for last-mile diversity, and in its testimony in Proceeding 23A-0197T CenturyLink 

stated that the ethernet upgrade project, to which this MRC is tied, would take two years to 

complete. We therefore find it unlikely that CenturyLink would begin incurring last-mile diversity 

costs from third-party providers in 2025, and – while this amount may be appropriate to consider 

for inclusion in future years - we do not include this amount in calculating the 2025 9-1-1 surcharge 

rate. 
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42. While no tariff filing has yet been made for the ongoing costs related to the last-mile 

diversity project in Proceeding No. 23A-1097T, on September 18, 2024, CenturyLink filed Advice 

Letter 3169, along with tariff pages that would introduce four new tariffed features for a total of 

$262.11 per concurrent session per month in recurring charges and $2,933.44 per concurrent 

session in non-recurring charges.8 However, these charges would be “optional” for the first  

12 months from the effective date of the tariff. The proposed effective date of the new tariff pages 

is October 18, 2024. 

43. While CenturyLink, Best 911 Authorities, and CCOA each provided comments in 

support of the surcharge being adjusted for the new recurring costs in this expected tariff filing, 

we find it unlikely that the rates will be effective before the beginning of 2025, based on the history 

of BES tariff filings before the Commission. In nearly every case, BES tariff filings result in 

protests which then lead into extended proceedings, meaning that it is very unlikely for the rates 

to be effective before January 1, 2025, which also means that they will not be mandatory for any 

9-1-1 governing body or PSAP in calendar year 2025. We also note that the history of tariff rates 

filed with the Commission by CenturyLink tend to be adjusted prior to final approval of the tariff, 

and we are hesitant to adjust the surcharge rate based on tariff rates that will likely change, perhaps 

significantly, before they become effective. For these reasons, until there are final decisions 

regarding the proposed tariffs, we decline to consider the tariff rates from Advice Letter 3169 in 

setting the 9-1-1 surcharge rate for 2025. 

4. 9-1-1 Services Enterprise Fee 

44. We decline to begin collecting funds for the 9-1-1 Services Enterprise as part of the 

2025 surcharge assessment. First and foremost, we do not see a legal mechanism or justification 

 
88 See Proceeding 24AL-0397T. 



Before the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado 
Decision No. C24-0710 PROCEEDING NO. 24M-0329T 

14 

for the Commission to set aside funds for a 9-1-1 Services Enterprise Fee that has not yet been 

established. As of the drafting of this Decision, the Enterprise Board has yet to be seated.  

Although Best 911 Authorities argued that the Enterprise Board begin collecting funds ahead of 

any federal grant funding opportunities, the Commission is only permitted by statute to collect 

funds for the Enterprise in connection to an established Enterprise Fee. In the absence of that 

established Fee, any funds raised from the 9-1-1 surcharge would necessarily be distributed to the 

governing bodies as required by C.R.S. 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(I). AAJ Authorities in its comments 

agree that it is premature to collect funds for the Enterprise.  

5. BES Improvement Amount 

45. On September 18, 2024, the Commission issued Decision No. C24-0688 in 

Proceeding No. 23A-0197T, largely upholding Recommended Decision No. R24-0566 that 

approved a slate of projects for a BES Improvement Plan under Rule 2143(b). The Decision also 

granted an Unopposed Motion to Amend the Recommended Decision as well as a related 

Exception filed jointly by CCOA and the Larimer Emergency Telephone Authority, requesting 

that the approved Improvement Amount for the BES Improvement Plan be amended to $310.86 

per concurrent session per month. 

46. Additionally, while the deadline for an improvement amount to be consideration in 

the state 9-1-1 surcharge would normally be August 1, Recommended Decision No. R24-0566 

also waived this deadline by granting, in part, the Motion filed by CenturyLink on April 19, 2024, 

requesting that the deadline be extended to August 21, 2024.9 

47. Decision No. C24-0688 is a final Commission Decision, approving important 

improvement updates for the BES network. As indicated in comments filed in this proceeding, we 

 
9 The Motion was granted “in part” because ALJ Garvey chose to waive the deadline rather than extend it. 
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therefore find it appropriate and necessary under Rule 2148(a)(II)(B) to consider the amount of 

$310.86 in this proceeding as a cost which may be incurred beginning in 2025 by governing 

bodies.10 

6. Calculation of the 9-1-1 Surcharge Rate 

48. Since the opening of this proceeding, Clear Creek County has indicated to the 

Commission its intention to relinquish its four concurrent sessions, due to the closing of their 

PSAP. This brings the number of concurrent sessions to 613, which is reflected in Attachment A 

to this Decision.  

49. Taking into consideration the addition of $310.86 to the per-concurrent session 

improvement amount, and using the updated concurrent session count of 613, we find a total 

amount necessary to be distributed to the governing bodies of $8,614,464.48 in 2025. This figure 

is based on monthly recurring charges of $752.22 per concurrent session per month for ESInet 

service and $108.00 for ECaTS, both of which are outlined in Tariff No. 25, and $310.86, which 

has been approved by Decision Nos. C24-0688 and R24-0566 as the Improvement Amount for 

2025 and 2026, in Proceeding No. 23A-0197T. Adding these three rates together and multiplying 

by 613 concurrent sessions and by twelve months yields the figure of $8,614,464.48. Adding an 

additional five percent to account for the one percent administrative retention allowed to the 

telecommunications providers and the Commission’s four percent allowed administrative 

retention brings the amount to be raised to $9,045,187.70.11 The average number of lines from June 

 
10 Several commenters in this proceeding urged the Commission to include an additional amount to reimburse 

governing bodies for the improvement amount that they anticipated the Commission may approve in Proceeding 
23A-0197T. See Best 911 Authorities responsive comments filed Sept. 4, 2024, para. 10-12; CCOA comments filed 
Aug. 21, 2024, para 30; and CenturyLink’s comments filed Aug. 21, 2024, pp. 1-3. 

11 Although the Commission is only currently retaining two percent of the revenues from the 9-1-1 surcharge 
for administrative costs, we choose to calculate this additional amount at four percent in the event that the Commission 
finds the need to raise the retention amount in the future. 
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2023 through May 2024 reported statewide was 6,799,289.4. Based on this, we calculate that a 

surcharge rate of 11 cents would raise $8,975,062.01, less than the amount required, and 12 cents 

would raise $9,790,976.74, more than the amount required. 

50. Based on this, we find it necessary to increase the 9-1-1 surcharge from the 

proposed $0.09 to $0.12. The 2025 9-1-1 surcharge rate is therefore set at $0.12.  

F. Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Charge 

51. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.5, C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, the flat rate per 

transaction prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge is to be calculated by adding the average of the local 

Emergency Telephone Charge rates as of July 1 of that year and the amount of the statewide  

9-1-1 surcharge amount established by the Commission for the following year. In our Opening 

Decision, we stated that the average Emergency Telephone Charge as of June 1, 2024 was $1.97, 

an assertion supported by data presented in Attachment B to the Opening Decision and this 

Decision.12  Taking our proposal of $0.09 for the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge and adding the average 

Emergency Telephone Charge of $1.97, we proposed setting the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge rate 

of $2.06 per prepaid wireless service transaction for calendar year 2025. 

52. CCOA in its comments supported the increase in the prepaid wireless charge, 

noting that if the Commission adjusted its 9-1-1 surcharge, then the prepaid wireless charge would 

need to be adjusted accordingly.  

53. In its comments, AAJ Authorities supported the recommendation regarding the 

prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge.  

 
12 The average ETC rate may not change between June 1 and July 1, primarily because governing bodies are 

only permitted by statute to adjust their rates with an effective date of February 1 or June 1 of each year.  
§ 29-11-102(2)(b), C.R.S. 
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54. We agree with commenters that the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge rate must 

increase to mirror any increase to the 9-1-1 surcharge, as required by § 29-11-102.5(2)(c), C.R.S. 

Calculating the average Emergency Telephone Charge of $1.97 to the adopted $0.12 9-1-1 

surcharge rate established above rather than the $0.09 rate originally proposed, we therefore have 

a resulting prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge rate of $2.09 per prepaid wireless service transaction. 

55. Considering the comments and the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge rate under  

§ 29-11-102.5, C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, we establish a prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge 

of $2.09, effective January 1, 2025. 

G. Statewide 9-1-1 Surcharge Distribution Formula 

56. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(III), C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, the 

Commission must establish a formula for distribution of money collected from the statewide  

9-1-1 surcharge to the governing bodies.  This formula must be based on the number of concurrent 

sessions maintained by the PSAPs of each governing body, and the Commission may retain up to 

4 percent of the collected surcharges to cover the direct and indirect costs of administering the 

surcharge. 

57. To implement this statutory requirement, through our Opening Decision, we 

proposed a distribution formula through which the Commission will distribute funds from the 

statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to be determined by the Commission but not 

exceeding 4 percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in amounts proportional to the number of 

concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains at its PSAPs as a percentage of the total 

number of concurrent sessions. Through the Opening Decision, we provided that the formula 

proposed would include the 617 concurrent sessions identified in Attachment A to that decision 

and invited participant comment. 
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58. In its comments, AAJ Authorities support the proposed distribution formula.  

59. As noted above, with Clear Creek County’s decision to relinquish its concurrent 

sessions, the total number of concurrent sessions in Colorado that are subject to receiving a portion 

of the 9-1-1 surcharge revenues decreases to 613, which is reflected in Attachment A to this 

Decision.   

60. We establish a distribution formula as discussed in our Opening Decision, with the 

amended number of concurrent sessions, attached to this Decision as Attachment A.  

The Commission will distribute funds from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs 

to be determined by the Commission but not exceeding 4 percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body 

in amounts proportional to the number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains 

at its PSAPs as a percentage of the total number of concurrent sessions in the state, effective 

January 1, 2025. 

H. Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Charge Distribution Formula 

61. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.5(3)(e)(III), C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, the 

Commission must establish a formula for distribution of money collected from the prepaid wireless 

9-1-1 charge to the governing bodies.  This formula must be based on the number of wireless  

9-1-1 calls received by the PSAPs of each governing body as a percentage of the total number of 

wireless 9-1-1 calls received by all PSAPs in the state. The Commission must transmit the formula 

to the Colorado Department of Revenue by October 1 of each year, to take effect on the following 

January 1. 

62. To implement this statutory requirement, through our Opening Decision, we 

proposed a distribution formula for transmittal to the Department of Revenue establishing 

percentages for each 9-1-1 governing body based on wireless 9-1-1 call volume, as reported to 
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Commission Staff by the BESP. We provided a formula as Attachment C to the Opening Decision 

and invited participant comment. 

63. The AAJ Authorities in its comments supported this proposed formula.  

64. We establish a distribution formula for transmittal to the Colorado Department of 

Revenue for the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge as discussed in our Opening Decision and attached 

to the Opening Decision and this Decision as Attachment C. The effective date of this formula will 

be January 1, 2025. 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The Intervention filing provided by Qwest Corporation doing business as 

CenturyLink QC (“CenturyLink”), on August 21, 2024, is granted, consistent with the discussion 

above. 

2. The Intervention filing provided by the Boulder Regional Emergency Telephone 

Service Authority (“BRETSA”), Douglas County Emergency Telephone Service Authority, and 

the El Paso/Teller County Emergency Telephone Service Authority (collectively, the “Best 911 

Authorities”) on August 21, 2024, is granted, consistent with the discussion above.  

3. The Intervention filing provided by the Adams County 911 Authority, the Arapahoe 

County 911 Authority, and the Jefferson County Emergency Communications Authority 

(collectively, the AAJ Authorities) on August 21, 2024, is granted, consistent with the discussion 

above.  

4. Effective January 1, 2025, the authorized Emergency Telephone Charge threshold 

shall be $2.12. 

5. Effective January 1, 2025, the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge shall be $0.12. 
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6. Effective January 1, 2025, the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge shall be $2.09. 

7. Effective January 1, 2025, we establish a distribution formula through which the 

Commission will distribute funds from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to 

be determined by the Commission but not exceeding 4 percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in 

amounts proportional to the number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains 

at its Public Safety Answering Points as a percentage of the total number of concurrent sessions in 

the state. 

8. We establish a distribution formula for the distribution of prepaid wireless 9-1-1 

charge funds, to be transmitted to the Colorado Department of Revenue by October 1, 2024, for 

an effective date of January 1, 2025. 

9. The 20-day period provided for in § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., within which to file 

applications for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day following the 

effective date of this Decision. 
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10. This Decision is effective immediately upon its Issued Date. 

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING  
September 25, 2024. 
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