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I. STATEMENT

1. This Proceeding was commenced on August 7, 2018, when Trial Staff of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (Staff) issued Civil Penalty Assessment or Notice of Complaint to Appear (CPAN) No. 122064 to Ritenour Services LLC (Ritenour Services or Respondent).  
2. The CPAN cites Respondent with one Count of violating § 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S.,
 in Aurora, Colorado on July 10, 2018, specifically, for “Failure to maintain and file evidence of financial responsibility in sums as required by the Public Utilities Commission.”  The CPAN also cites Respondent with one Count of violating § 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S.,
 in Aurora, Colorado on July 10, 2018, specifically, for “Operating and/or offering to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce without first having obtained a permit from the Commission.”  (CPAN, page 1.)  
3. The CPAN assessed for the first Count a civil penalty of $11,000.00, plus an additional 15 percent surcharge required by § 24-34-108, C.R.S., for a total penalty of $12,650.00.  For the second Count, the CPAN assessed a civil penalty of $1,100.00, plus the additional 15 percent surcharge, for a total penalty of $1,265.00.  The total amount of civil penalties assessed by the CPAN, including surcharges, is $13,915.00.  (CPAN, page 1.).  
4. The CPAN states that, if the Commission were to receive payment from Respondent within ten calendar days of the date of issuance, the total civil penalty would have been $6,957.50, including the 15 percent surcharge.  The CPAN also states that, if the Commission did not receive payment within ten days, Staff will seek civil penalties for the cited violations in the full total amounts stated in the CPAN.  Further, the CPAN states that payment of the civil penalty assessment would be an acknowledgment (i.e., an admission) by Respondent of liability for the violations cited.  (CPAN, page 3.)   
5. Cory Brodzinski of Staff affirmed that, on August 6, 2018, he served the CPAN on Respondent by certified U.S. mail, return receipt requested.  (CPAN, page 2.)  
6. On August 27, 2018, Counsel for Staff filed a Notice of Intervention as of Right by Staff, Entry of Appearance and Notice Pursuant to Rule 1007(a) and Rule 1401.  Staff’s Intervention by Right is acknowledged.
7. A review of the Commission’s file in this Proceeding reveals that no entry of appearance has been entered on behalf of Respondent.  

8. Staff and Respondent are the Parties to this Proceeding.  
9. On August 29, 2018, by minute entry, the Commission referred this Proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  Subsequently, the undersigned ALJ was assigned to preside over this Proceeding.
10. In Decision No. R18-0745-I (mailed on August 31, 2018), the ALJ determined that, according to the Commission’s records, Ritenour Services was a limited liability company.  The ALJ advised Ritenour Services it must either obtain counsel or meet the criteria of Rule 1201(b)(II) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-1, to proceed without an attorney.  The ALJ also advised Ritenour Services that its failure either to make the show cause filing described in paragraph 18 of Decision No. R18-0745-I, or have its Counsel file an entry of appearance, by September 12, 2018, may result in consequences adverse to its interests in this Proceeding.

11. Decision No. R18-0745-I also scheduled an evidentiary hearing for October 11, 2018, at 9:30 a.m. in a Commission hearing room in Denver, Colorado.  

12. In addition, Decision No. R18-0745-I established a procedural schedule for each Party to file pre-hearing disclosures.  Staff was ordered to file on or before September 14, 2018, and to serve on Ritenour Services, a list of exhibits and witnesses, detailed summaries of the testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that it intended to offer into evidence at the hearing.  Ritenour Services was ordered to file on or before September 28, 2018, and to serve on Staff and its counsel, its list of its witnesses, detailed summaries of the testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that it intended to offer into evidence at the hearing.

13. Decision No. R18-0763-I (mailed on September 10, 2018) granted the unopposed Joint Motion to Amend the Procedural Schedule of Interim Decision R18-0745-I (Joint Motion) filed by Staff on September 7, 2018; vacated the hearing set for October 11, 2018; continued the hearing until November 6, 2018; and amended the procedural schedule accordingly. 
  
14. Specifically, the procedural schedule was amended as follows:  the deadline for Ritenour Services either to make the show cause filing described in paragraph 18 of Decision No. R18-0745-I, or have its Counsel file an entry of appearance, was extended to September 19, 2018; the deadline for Staff to file, and to serve on Ritenour Services, its pre-hearing disclosures was extended to October 5, 2018; and the deadline for Ritenour Services to file, and to serve on Staff and its counsel, its pre-hearing disclosures was extended to October 26, 2018.
15. Ritenour Services failed to file the required show cause statement regarding representation, or to have its Counsel file an entry of appearance, by September 19, 2018.  

16. On October 5, 2018, Staff timely filed its list of witnesses, summaries of the direct testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that it would offer into evidence at the hearing.  According to the Certificate of Service, Staff served this pre-hearing filing by U.S. mail on Respondent at its principal office street address, 17662 East Loyola Drive Unit 2112L, Aurora, Colorado 80013; and via its registered agent, United States Corporation Agents, Inc., 121 South Tejon Street Suite 900, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903.  
17. Ritenour Services failed to file by October 26, 2018, or to serve on Staff, its list of witnesses, summaries of the direct testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that it would offer into evidence at the hearing.
18. On November 6, 2018, at approximately 9:30 a.m., the ALJ called this Proceeding for hearing.  Staff appeared through counsel.  Respondent failed to appear, either in person or by counsel.  A review of the Commission’s file in this Proceeding reveals that Respondent also failed to file a motion to continue the hearing or to contact the Commission regarding its failure to appear.  

19. Hearing Exhibits 1 through 12 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence on behalf of Staff.  Mr. Cory Brodzinski, a Criminal Investigator in the Commission’s Transportation Investigations and Compliance Unit, testified for Staff in support of the violations cited in CPAN No. 122064.    

20. As relief in this proceeding, Staff seeks an assessment of the maximum civil penalties against Ritenour Services, in the total amount of $13,915.00, including the 15 percent surcharges.  Staff also seeks an order that Respondent cease and desist from operating or offering to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce in Colorado without a valid permit issued by the Commission and without having proof of financial responsibility on file with the Commission.  
21. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding and recommends that the Commission enter the following order.  

II. Appplicable Law
22. As relevant to this case, § 40-7-116(1)(a), C.R.S., provides that:  “Investigative personnel of the commission . . . have the authority to issue civil penalty assessments for the violations enumerated in sections 40-7-112 and 40-7-113.”
23. Section 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S., provides that: “A person shall not operate or offer to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce pursuant to this article, or advertise services as a mover, without first having obtained a permit from the commission in accordance with this part 5.”  

24. Section 40-10.1-101(12), C.R.S., defines “Mover” as follows: “‘Mover’ means a motor carrier that provides the transportation or shipment of household goods.”

25. Section 40-10.1-101(10), C.R.S., defines “motor carrier” as follows: 

“Motor carrier” means any person owning, controlling, operating, or managing 
a motor vehicle that provides transportation in intrastate commerce pursuant to this article; except that the term does not include a transportation network company . . . or a transportation network company driver . . . .  
26. Section 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., provides that:
Each motor carrier shall maintain and file with the commission evidence of financial responsibility in such sum, for such protection, and in such form as 
the commission may by rule require as the commission deems necessary to adequately safeguard the public interest.  
27. As relevant to this case, § 40-7-112(1)(a), C.R.S., provides that:  “A person who operates or offers to operate as a motor carrier as defined in section 40-10.1-101; . . . is subject to civil penalties as provided in this section and sections 40-7-113 to 40-7-116, in addition to any other sanctions that may be imposed pursuant to law.”
28. As relevant to this case, § 40-7-113(1), C.R.S., provides that:

In addition to any other penalty otherwise authorized by law and except as otherwise provided in subsections (3) and (4) of this section [related to enhanced civil penalties for multiple violations], any person who violates article 10.1 or 10.5 of this title 40 or any rule promulgated by the commission pursuant to article 10.1 or 10.5, which article or rule is applicable to the person, may be subject to fines as specified in the following paragraphs:  
(a) Any person who fails to carry the insurance required by law may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than eleven thousand dollars.
(b) Any person who violates section 40-10.1-201 (1), 40-10.1-202 (1)(a), 
40-10.1-302 (1)(a), 40-10.1-401 (1)(a), 40-10.1-502 (1)(a), or 40-10.1-702 (1)(a) may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than one thousand one hundred dollars.
29. Section 40-10.1-112(1), C.R.S., relating to cease and desist orders, provides that:

Except as specified in subsection (3) of this section [relating to summary suspensions of certificates and permits], the commission, at any time, by order duly entered, after hearing upon notice to the motor carrier and upon proof of violation, may issue an order to cease and desist . . . for the following reasons:  

(a) [a] violation of this article [10.1] . . . ; 

(c) [a] violation or refusal to observe any of the proper orders or rules of the commission; . . . .

30. Rule 6008(c) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, relating to cease and desist orders, provides that:
(c)
After a hearing upon at least ten days' notice to the motor carrier affected, and upon proof of violation, the Commission may issue an order to cease and desist, suspend, revoke, alter, or amend any certificate or permit for the following [reason]: 

(I)
a violation of, or failure to comply with, any statute, order, or rule concerning a motor carrier;

31. Staff bears the burden of proof in this Proceeding.  In adjudicatory proceedings before the Commission, the State Administrative Procedure Act imposes the burden of proof upon “the proponent of an order.”  Section 24-4-105(7), C.R.S.  In a hearing on a CPAN, the Commission has the burden of demonstrating a violation by a preponderance of the evidence.  § 40-7-116(1)(d)(II), C.R.S.  Since Staff prosecutes CPANs on behalf of the Commission and is the proponent in this Proceeding, Staff has the burden of proof.  See Rule 1500 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1 (“The burden of proof and the initial burden of going forward shall be on the party that is the proponent of a decision,” and the proponent is the party that commenced a proceeding.)  

32. In satisfying its burden of proof, Staff has to prove by a preponderance of the evidence the elements of the violations cited in the CPAN and the amount of the civil penalties requested.  See, §§ 13-25-127(1) and 24-4-105(7), C.R.S.; Rule 1500, 4 CCR 723-1; Western Distributing Co. v. Diodosio, 841 P.2d 1053, 1057-1058 (Colo. 1992).  The preponderance standard requires that evidence of the existence of a contested fact outweighs the evidence to the contrary.  Mile High Cab, Inc. v. Colorado Public Utilities Commission, 302 P.3d 241, 
246 (Colo. 2013).  That is, the finder of fact must determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its non-existence.  Swain v. Colorado Department of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507, 508 (Colo. App. 1985).  A party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole, slightly tips in favor of that party.  

33. The burden of proving an affirmative defense in a CPAN rests on the defendant (or the respondent in Commission proceedings) asserting the defense.  The defense must be proven by a preponderance of the evidence.  Western Distributing Co. v. Diodosio, 841 P.2d 1053, 1057-1059 (Colo. 1992).  In formal civil penalty assessment proceedings before the Commission, the respondent has the burden to prove the defenses it raises by a preponderance of the evidence.  See Public Utilities Comm’n. v. Trans Shuttle, Inc., Decision No. R01-881 (Mailed Date of August 29, 2001) ¶ III.C, p. 9, in Docket No. 01G-218CP; see generally Rule 1302 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1.  
III. FINDINGS OF FACT.

34. On July 10, 2018, Ritenour Services held no Commission permit authorizing it to operate, or offer to operate, as a mover in intrastate commerce pursuant to this article within the State of Colorado.  Titian Ritenour, 1910 South Dexter Street, Denver, Colorado 80222, is the owner of Ritenour Services and United States Corporation Agents, Inc., 2 North Cascade Suite 1100, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903 is the registered agent for service of process for Ritenour Services.  Hearing Exhibits 1 and 2.

35. Criminal Investigator Cory Brodzinski testified that the Colorado Secretary of State Business Search website showed the status of Ritenour Services as delinquent.  Hearing Exhibit 1.

36. Mr. Brodzinski testified that a search of the Commission’s records showed that the intrastate household goods mover permit (HHG permit) issued to Ritenour Services had been revoked on April 5, 2017, for not having evidence of financial responsibility on file with the Commission.  Hearing Exhibit 2.
  Mr. Brodzinski also affirmed that there had been no change in the revoked status as of the evidentiary hearing on November 6, 2018.

37. The Commission’s records show the following mailing address, phone number, and email address for Ritenour Services: 17662 East Loyola Drive Unit 2112L, Aurora, Colorado 80013, (720) 227-6576, and studmovers58@gmail.com.  Hearing Exhibit 2.  

38. Mr. Brodzinski conducted an investigation into Ritenour Services after the Commission received a complaint from a consumer, James Newcomb, regarding the moving services provided by Ritenour Services.  Specifically, Mr. Newcomb reported that he hired Ritenour Services to move his household goods within the State of Colorado on July 10, 2018, which resulted in disputes regarding the cost of the service and the alleged damage to his furniture.  Mr. Newcomb further reported that Ritenour Services declined to provide insurance information to address the alleged furniture damage and that Ritenour Services “held his property hostage” until Mr. Newcomb paid more money.  Hearing Exhibits 3 and 4.  

39. Mr. Brodzinski affirmed that Ritenour Services did not have an HHG permit on July 10, 2018, when it provided intrastate HHG moving services to Mr. Newcomb.  

40. Mr. Brodzinski testified that as of July 25, 2018, the website for Ritenour Services, https://ritenourservices.com, advertised the company as an intrastate mover of household goods providing a moving truck and offering “full service moves.”  Hearing Exhibit 5.  The website also includes the same phone number that is in the Commission’s records for Ritenour Services.  Id.
41. Subsequently, Mr. Brodzinski contacted Ritenour Services and left a voicemail indicating that he is an investigator with the Commission and that he was contacting the company regarding the moving services being offered.  

42. Mr. Brodzinski testified that when he checked the website for Ritenour Services on July 30, 2018, it no longer offered “full service moves” using the company’s moving truck. That is, it apparently intended no longer to offer services requiring an HHG permit from the Commission.
43. Mr. Brodzinski testified that Staff has investigated Ritenour Services on two prior occasions.  Specifically, on April 11, 2016, Staff had sent Ritenour Services a violation warning letter concerning its provision of HHG moving services in Colorado without a valid Commission permit and without insurance, and on June 28, 2012, Staff emailed Ritenour Services a violation warning letter documenting violations of the same nature.  Hearing Exhibits 6, 7, and 8.  
44. The instant CPAN (No. 122064) was filed on August 7, 2018 citing Ritenour Services for two Counts of violating §§ 40-10.1-107(1), and 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S., on July 10, 2018.  Hearing Exhibit 9.  The CPAN was served on Ritenour Services by U.S. Certified mail, return receipt requested, on August 6, 2018.  Hearing Exhibit 10.

IV. DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS 
A. Jurisdiction.

45. The Commission has subject matter jurisdiction over this Proceeding, pursuant to §§ 40-7-112(1)(a), 40-7-113, 40-7-116, 40-10.1-107(1), and 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S.  
46. The Commission has personal jurisdiction over Respondent.  CPAN No. 122064 was served on Respondent on August 6, 2018, by U.S. certified mail, including notice of the alleged violations and civil penalties in Counts 1 and 2.  Hearing Exhibits 9 p. 2, and 10.  Respondent was also served with timely and adequate notice of the evidentiary hearings in this matter.  Hearing Exhibit 11.  

47. Ritenour Services did not appear for the November 6, 2018 hearing.  Based on the record and representations of Staff, the ALJ concluded that Ritenour Services has received actual notice of the November 6, 2018 hearing.  The ALJ further concluded that Ritenour Services neither contacted the ALJ, the Commission, or Staff regarding its intentions with respect to appearing for the hearing.  Nor had it filed a motion for a continuance or any other pleading in this matter.  Accordingly, the ALJ finds and concludes that Ritenour Services has had a full, fair, and meaningful opportunity to appear at the November 6, 2018 hearing and to cross-examine Staff’s witness, Mr. Brodzinski, as well as a full and fair opportunity to present a defense against the CPAN.  
48. By failing to appear for the hearing, Ritenour Services chose not to avail itself 
of these full, fair, and meaningful opportunities to test Staff’s case-in-chief through 
cross-examination of Mr. Brodzinski or to present a defense against the violations alleged in the CPAN.  
B. Violations and Civil Penalty Assessment. 

49. Substantial evidence in the record as a whole establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that on July 10, 2018, in Aurora, Colorado, Ritenour Services operated and offered to operate as an HHG mover in intrastate commerce without first having obtained a valid permit issued by the Commission.  The ALJ finds and concludes that Ritenour Services violated 
§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S., on July 10, 2018, in Aurora, Colorado.  

50. Substantial evidence in the record as a whole establishes by a preponderance of the evidence that on July 10, 2018, in Aurora, Colorado, Ritenour Services failed to maintain and to cause to be filed with the Commission evidence of financial responsibility in sums as required.  The ALJ finds and concludes that Ritenour Services violated § 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., on July 10, 2018, in Aurora, Colorado.  

51. The ALJ finds and concludes that Staff proved by a preponderance of the evidence in the record as a whole that Ritenour Services violated §§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) and 
40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., on July 10, 2018, in Aurora, Colorado.  

52. Having found that Respondent violated §§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) and 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., it is necessary for the ALJ to determine the appropriate amount of civil penalty to be assessed for these violations.  
53. When violations of Colorado statutes or Commission rules have been proven in a Civil Penalty Assessment proceeding, Rule 1302(b) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, provides that the Commission will consider evidence of any aggravating and mitigating circumstances surrounding the violations, as follows:

(b)
The Commission may impose a civil penalty, when provided by law.  The Commission will consider any evidence concerning some or all of the following factors:

(I)
the nature, circumstances, and gravity of the violation;

(II)
the degree of the respondent’s culpability;

(III)
the respondent’s history of prior offenses;

(IV)
the respondent’s ability to pay;

(V)
any good faith efforts by the respondent in attempting to achieve compliance and to prevent future similar violations;

(VI)
the effect on the respondent’s ability to continue in business;

(VII)
the size of the respondent’s business; and

(VIII)
such other factors as equity and fairness may require.

54. Decision No. R18-0763-I gave Respondent proper and adequate notice of the November 6, 2018 hearing, consistent with the foregoing discussion.  However, Respondent then failed to appear at the hearing on November 6, 2018.  The ALJ concludes that this failure to appear for the hearing constitutes an aggravating circumstance.  
55. The evidence shows a history of two prior investigations regarding alleged violations of §§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) and 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., by Ritenour Services, which is another aggravating circumstance.  Mr. Brodzinski testified that on June 28, 2012, and then on April 11, 2016, Staff had sent to Ritenour Services violation warning letters concerning its provision of HHG moving services in Colorado without a valid Commission permit and without insurance.  
56. Additionally, in Proceeding No. 17C-0122-INS, the HHG permit issued to Ritenour Services had been revoked on April 5, 2017, for not having evidence of financial responsibility on file with the Commission, which is another aggravating circumstance.
57. Ritenour Services failed to appear for the hearing, and thus presented no evidence of mitigating factors.  Moreover, there was no evidence that Ritenour Services made any effort, since receiving the June 28, 2012 and April 11, 2016, 2017 Violation Warning Letters, to attempt to resolve the allegations in the CPAN or to comply with Colorado law and Commission rules.  

58. Based on an evaluation of evidence in the record, and after considering the factors listed in Rule 1302(b) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, the ALJ concludes that evidence of aggravating circumstances far outweigh any mitigating circumstances.  

59. The Commission performs an important health, safety, and welfare function by assuring that movers have valid permits and maintain current insurance coverages to protect the public who seek the services of movers.  Respondent has disregarded the protections of the public afforded by Colorado law.  The ALJ concludes that the nature, aggravating circumstances, and gravity of the violations by Respondent warrant assessment of the maximum civil penalties sought in the CPAN.  

60. At hearing, Staff asked for an assessment of the total civil penalty sought in the CPAN of $12,100.00, plus the 15 percent in surcharges of $1,815.00, for a total civil penalty of $13,915.00.  An assessment will be ordered of the total civil penalties in the amount of $13,915.00, including the 15 percent in surcharges.  

61. Respondent will be ordered to pay the full civil penalty in full within 30 days of the effective date of this Decision.  

62. Ritenour Services is advised that its failure to pay the civil penalty in full by 
the deadline imposed in this Decision may result in Ritenour Services and any owners, principals, officers, members, partners, or directors being disqualified from obtaining an HHG mover permit for a period of 36 months after the date on which the civil penalty 
payment was due.
  Ritenour Services is further advised that its continued violation of 
§§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) and 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., could result in every officer, agent, or employee of Ritenour Services being charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment of 3 to 12 months, or fines of $250.00 to $1,000.00, or both.  Each day of a continuing violation of §§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) or 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., constitutes a separate offense.
  
C. Cease and Desist Order. 

63. Staff also seeks an order that Ritenour Services cease and desist from operating and/or offering to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce without a valid permit issued by the Commission and without maintaining and having on file with the Commission evidence of financial responsibility in the sums required.
  
64. The gravity to the public and to consumers of Respondent’s violations, for providing unauthorized moving services in Colorado without a valid permit and for failing to have on file with the Commission evidence of proper financial responsibility, as required by Rule 6007 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, is significant and cannot be overstated.  The heart of the Commission’s permitting and financial responsibility regulations for HHG movers is the protection of consumers of moving services, who are entitled to rely upon the belief that the movers they hire to move their personal belongings followed Colorado law and the Commission’s rules.  

65. After a hearing for which Respondent had more than ten days’ adequate notice, the ALJ has concluded that Respondent has violated §§ 40-10.1-502(1)(a) and 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S.  Based on substantial evidence in the record as a whole, proving the Respondent’s violations and the aggravating factors found in this Decision, the ALJ further concludes that entry of a cease and desist order is appropriate.  Respondent will be ordered to cease and desist from operating and/or from offering to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce in the State of Colorado without proper authorization or a valid permit issued by the Commission and, if it has a valid permit, from failing to have on file with the Commission proof of financial responsibility, in the amounts required for HHG movers by Rule 6007 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  

66. Pursuant to § 40-6-109(2), C.R.S., the ALJ recommends that the Commission enter the following order.  
V. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:  
1. Ritenour Services LLC (Respondent) is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $12,100.00, plus the 15 percent in statutory surcharges of $1,815.00, for a total civil penalty assessment of $13,915.00.  

2. Respondent shall pay to the Commission the total civil penalty of $13,915.00, within 30 calendar days from the effective date of this Decision.  If Respondent submits a payment by U.S. mail, the payment must be made by money order or certified check and the date of payment is the postmarked date.  
3. Respondent shall comply with this Decision and make the required civil penalty payment on time.  The failure of Respondent to pay the civil penalty by the deadline in this Decision shall constitute a separate violation of this Decision.  The failure of Respondent to pay the civil penalty by the deadline may result in Respondent and any of its owners, principals, officers, members, partners, and directors being disqualified from obtaining or renewing a household goods mover permit for a period of 36 months after the date on which the civil penalty payment was due, pursuant to § 40-10.1-508, C.R.S.  
4. Respondent is hereby ordered to cease and desist, as of the effective date of 
this Decision, from operating and/or offering to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce in the State of Colorado without proper authorization or a valid permit issued by the Commission.  If it has a valid permit, Respondent is hereby ordered to cease and desist, from failing to have on file with the Commission proof of financial responsibility, in the amounts required for household goods movers by Rule 6007 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6.  

5. Proceeding No. 18G-0543HHG is closed.  
6. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  
7. As provided by § 40-6-106, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  
a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the Recommended Decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.  

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.  
8. If exceptions to this Recommended Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.  
	(S E A L)
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


STEVEN H. DENMAN
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




�  Section 40-10.1-107(1), C.R.S., requires that:  “Each motor carrier shall maintain and file with the commission evidence of financial responsibility in such sum, for such protection, and in such form as the commission may by rule require as the commission deems necessary to adequately safeguard the public interest..”  


�  Section 40-10.1-502(1)(a), C.R.S., requires that:  “A person shall not operate or offer to operate as a mover in intrastate commerce pursuant to this article, or advertise services as a mover, without first having obtained a permit from the commission in accordance with this part 5.”  Part 5 of Article 10.1 of Title 40, C.R.S., is entitled “Motor Carriers of Household Goods.”  


� Counsel for Staff has conferred with Titian Ritenour, the owner of Respondent, who had no objection to the continuance or the amendments to the procedural schedule.  The Joint Motion was, therefore, unopposed.


�  Decision No. R17-0198 and Appendix A, p. 3 (mailed on March 15, 2017), Proceeding �No. 17C-0122-INS, affirmed by Decision No. C17-0383 (mailed on May 12, 2017), denying reargument, rehearing, or reconsideration sought by another motor carrier.  


�  See § 40-10.1-508(1), C.R.S.  


�  See §§ 40-10.1-114, and 18-1.3-501, C.R.S.  


�  See Rule 6007 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  
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