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I. BY THE COMMISSION 

A. Statement 

1. The Commission opened this proceeding through Decision No. C23-0494, 

adopted July 28, 2023 (Opening Decision) to fulfill the Commission’s obligations under  

§§ 29-11-102 through 102.5, C.R.S., which require the Commission establish by  

October 1, annually, the local Emergency Telephone Charge threshold, a statewide 9-1-1 

surcharge, a prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge, a formula for distribution of money from the 

statewide 9-1-1 surcharge to governing bodies, and a formula for distribution of money from the 

prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge to governing bodies, each to be effective the following January 1. 

2. Through this Decision, we address intervention pleadings and establish the 

following amounts and formula to be effective January 1, 2024: (1) an authorized Emergency 

Telephone Charge threshold of $2.05; (2) a statewide 9-1-1 surcharge of $0.09; (3) a prepaid 

wireless 9-1-1 charge of $1.88; (4) a distribution formula through which the Commission will 

distribute funds from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to be determined by 

the Commission but not exceeding four (4) percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in amounts 

proportional to the number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains at its 

Public Safety Answering Points (PSAPs) as a percentage of the total number of concurrent 

sessions in the state; and (5) a distribution formula through which the Colorado Department of 

Revenue will distribute funds from the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge, less administrative costs to 

be determined by the Department of Revenue but not exceeding three (3) percent, to each 9-1-1 

governing body in amounts proportional to the number of wireless 9-1-1 calls received at its 

PSAPs as a percentage of the total number of wireless 9-1-1 calls received by all PSAPs in the 

state. 
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B. Background 

3. As described in our Opening Decision, we proposed for participant comment, 

amounts and formulas required by statute to be established by October 1, 2023, with an effective 

date of January 1, 2024. The proposed rates and distribution formulas were calculated as 

prescribed by statute and 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2148 of the 

Commission’s Rules Regulating Telecommunications Services and Providers of 

Telecommunications Services. 

4. Interested persons were invited to submit comments or briefing, in addition to 

intervention requests, by August 18, 2023, and to submit responsive briefs or comments by 

September 1, 2023. 1  

C. Intervention 

5. On August 18, 2023, Lumen filed a Motion to Intervene pursuant to Rules 1400 

and 1401(b), 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-1 of the Commission’s Rules of 

Practice and Procedure. Lumen states that as Colorado’s only active Basic Emergency Service 

Provider, Lumen has an interest in the establishment of the 9-1-1 surcharge rate. 

6. Under Rule 1401(c), 4 CCR 723-1, persons seeking permissive intervention must 

demonstrate that the proceeding may substantially affect the pecuniary or tangible interests of the 

movant, and that the movant’s interests would not otherwise be adequately represented.  The 

proposed 9-1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access connection per month is calculated to 

reimburse 9-1-1 governing bodies for the cost of Lumen’s tariffed ESInet service.  As such, the 

Commission finds that Lumen does have a pecuniary or tangible interest that would not 

 
1 Id., at ¶ 3.  
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otherwise be adequately represented. Therefore, Lumen’s pleading seeking intervention is 

granted. 

D. Emergency Telephone Charge Threshold 

7. Section 29-11-102, C.R.S., requires the Commission to take into account inflation 

and the needs of the governing bodies in setting the authorized Emergency Telephone Charge 

threshold.  This threshold sets the rate above which approval by the Commission is required for a 

9-1-1 governing body to set its Emergency Telephone Charge.2 As required by Rule 

2148(a)(I)(A) and (B), 4 CCR 723-2 of the Rules Regulating Telecommunications Services and 

Providers of Telecommunications Services, the Commission must take into account, at a 

minimum, historical data, future projections, inflation rates, the rate of increase of the average 

emergency telephone charge, comments provided to the Commission, and other factors the 

Commission deems relevant. 

8. In our Opening Decision, we proposed for stakeholder comment an authorized 

Emergency Telephone Charge threshold of $2.05.  This is an increase of $0.08 over the current 

threshold of $1.97, and reflects the 4.0 percent inflation rate provided by the Bureau of Labor 

Statistics Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers from May of 2022 to May of 2023.3 

 
2 See § 29-11-102(2)(c), C.R.S. For example, with the 2023 Emergency Telephone Charge Threshold set by 

the Commission at $1.97 per 9-1-1 access connection per month, a 9-1-1 governing body has the statutory authority 
to adopt an Emergency Telephone Charge rate up to and including $1.97 per 9-1-1 access connection per month. To 
adopt an Emergency Telephone Charge in excess of the threshold, the governing body must first file an application 
and the application must be approved by the Commission. 

3 See https://www.bls.gov/opub/ted/2023/consumer-prices-up-4-0-percent-from-may-2022-to-may-
2023.htm. 

https://www.bls.gov/opub/ted/2023/consumer-prices-up-4-0-percent-from-may-2022-to-may-2023.htm
https://www.bls.gov/opub/ted/2023/consumer-prices-up-4-0-percent-from-may-2022-to-may-2023.htm
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9. Also in our Opening Decision, we requested comment on whether there were 

other factors that the Commission should consider when setting this threshold. No comments 

addressing this issue were received. 

10. Therefore, we find no reason to modify our original proposal established in the 

Opening Decision and establish an authorized Emergency Telephone Charge threshold of $2.05, 

effective January 1, 2024.  

E. Statewide 9-1-1 Surcharge 

11. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.3, C.R.S., the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge must be 

reasonably calculated to meet the needs of governing bodies to operate the 9-1-1 system, and the 

amount may not exceed $0.50 per month per 9-1-1 access connection.  To establish this amount, 

Rule 2148(a)(II)(B) provides that the Commission shall consider historical data, costs to the  

9-1-1 governing body of basic emergency service tariffs, comments of interested stakeholders, 

and other factors the Commission deems relevant. Additionally, § 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(III), C.R.S., 

implies that the purpose of the surcharge is to “reimburse” governing bodies for the concurrent 

sessions4 being purchased from the Basic Emergency Service Provider (BESP). 

12. In our Opening Decision, we proposed for stakeholder comment on a statewide  

9-1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access connection per month.  This proposed amount was 

intended to raise enough funding statewide that when distributed to the 9-1-1 governing bodies, 

the amount will reimburse 9-1-1 governing bodies for the monthly recurring charges they are 

required under the tariff to pay the BESP for the concurrent sessions at each of the PSAPs funded 

by the governing body. This calculation also included an expected increase in pricing enabled by 

 
4 A “concurrent session” means a channel for an inbound simultaneous 9-1-1 request for assistance.  

§ 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(III), C.R.S. 
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an amendment to the Lumen ESInet tariff.5 This represents a maintenance of the current rate of 

$0.09. 

13. Lumen’s comments support the Commission’s proposal to maintain the current  

9-1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access connection per month.  Lumen notes that it intends 

to propose one or more projects in Proceeding No. 23A-0197T, its BES Improvement Plan 

Application, and that it is working on amendments to its ESInet Tariff that may also increase 

pricing for ESInet services in the future.  However, Lumen does not believe that the costs of 

these changes would impact Colorado’s 9-1-1 governing bodies in calendar year 2024, and as 

such it believes that maintaining the current rate of $0.09 is appropriate.  No other comments 

were received either in support or in opposition to the proposed rate of $0.09 per 9-1-1 access 

connection per month.  

14. Therefore, we find no reason to modify our original proposal established in the 

Opening Decision and establish a statewide 9-1-1 surcharge rate of $0.09, effective  

January 1, 2024, maintaining the current rate. 

F. Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Charge 

15. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.5, C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, the flat rate per 

transaction prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge is to be calculated by adding the average of the local 

Emergency Telephone Charge rates as of July 1 of that year and the amount of the statewide  

9-1-1 surcharge amount established by the Commission for the following year.  In our Opening 

Decision, we stated that the average Emergency Telephone Charge as of June 1, 2023 was $1.79, 

 
5 See Proceeding No. 23AL-0133T. Although an increase in pricing is authorized in the amended tariff, the 

increased pricing will take effect for each 9-1-1 governing body as the new call metrics service, ECaTS, is 
implemented for the Public Safety Answering Points funded by those governing bodies. 
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an assertion supported by data presented in Attachment B to the Opening Decision.6  Taking our 

proposal of $0.09 for the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge and adding the average Emergency 

Telephone Charge of $1.79, we proposed setting the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge rate of $1.88 

per prepaid wireless service transaction for calendar year 2024. 

16. No comments were received in response to this proposed rate for the prepaid 

wireless 9-1-1 charge. 

17.   Therefore, we find no reason to modify our original proposal established in the 

Opening Decision, and under § 29-11-102.5, C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, we establish 

a prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge of $1.88, effective January 1, 2024. 

G. Statewide 9-1-1 Surcharge Distribution Formula 

18. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.3(3)(c)(III), C.R.S., and Rule 2148, 4 CCR 723-2, the 

Commission must establish a formula for distribution of money collected from the statewide  

9-1-1 surcharge to the governing bodies.  This formula must be based on the number of 

concurrent sessions maintained by the PSAPs of each governing body, and the Commission may 

retain up to four (4) percent of the collected surcharges to cover the direct and indirect costs of 

administering the surcharge.   

19. To implement this statutory requirement, through our Opening Decision, we 

proposed a distribution formula through which the Commission will distribute funds from the  

 
6 Although the average was provided for June 1, 2023, this average would also apply to July 1, 2023, since 

governing bodies may only change their emergency telephone charge rates with effective dates of February 1 or 
June 1 of each year. § 29-11-102 (2) (b), C.R.S. 
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statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to be determined by the Commission but not 

exceeding four (4) percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in amounts proportional to the number 

of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains at its PSAPs as a percentage of the 

total number of concurrent sessions. Through the Opening Decision, we provided that the 

formula proposed would include the 617 concurrent sessions identified in Attachment A to that 

decision and invited participant comment. 

20. As there were no comments regarding the distribution formula as attached to the 

Opening Decision, we establish a distribution formula as discussed in our Opening Decision and 

attached to the Opening Decision as Attachment A. The Commission will distribute funds from 

the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to be determined by the Commission but 

not exceeding four (4) percent, to each 9-1-1 governing body in amounts proportional to the 

number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body maintains at its PSAPs as a percentage 

of the total number of concurrent sessions in the state, effective January 1, 2024. 

H. Prepaid Wireless 9-1-1 Charge Distribution Formula 

21. Pursuant to § 29-11-102.5(3)(e)(III), C.R.S., and 2148 CCR 723-2, the 

Commission must establish a formula for distribution of money collected from the prepaid 

wireless 9-1-1 charge to the governing bodies.  This formula must be based on the number of 

wireless 9-1-1 calls received by the PSAPs of each governing body as a percentage of the total 

number of wireless 9-1-1 calls received by all PSAPs in the state. The Commission must transmit 

the formula to the Colorado Department of Revenue by October 1 of each year, to take effect on 

the following January 1. 
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22. To implement this statutory requirement, through our Opening Decision, we 

proposed a distribution formula for transmittal to the Department of Revenue establishing 

percentages for each 9-1-1 governing body based on wireless 9-1-1 call volume, as reported to 

Commission Staff by the BESP. We provided a formula as Attachment C to the Opening 

Decision and invited participant comment. 

23. As there were no comments regarding the proposed distribution formula as 

attached to the Opening Decision, we establish a distribution formula for transmittal to the 

Colorado Department of Revenue for the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge as discussed in our 

Opening Decision and attached to the Opening Decision as Attachment C. The effective date of 

this formula will be January 1, 2024.7 

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That: 

1. The Intervention filing provided by Qwest Corporation dba CenturyLink QC 

(“Lumen”) on August 18, 2023, is granted, consistent with the discussion above. 

2. Effective January 1, 2024, the authorized Emergency Telephone Charge threshold 

shall be $2.05. 

3. Effective January 1, 2024, the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge shall be $0.09. 

4. Effective January 1, 2024, the prepaid wireless 9-1-1 charge shall be $1.88. 

 
7 A request for a midyear adjustment to the percentages for distribution of the prepaid wireless 911 charge 

revenues has been transmitted to the Colorado Department of Revenue for the remaining months of 2023, and this 
adjustment is reflected in the updated version of Attachment C to this Decision. However, this adjustment has no 
impact on the percentages proposed for 2024. 
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5. Effective January 1, 2024, we establish a distribution formula through which the 

Commission will distribute funds from the statewide 9-1-1 surcharge, less administrative costs to 

be determined by the Commission but not exceeding four (4) percent, to each 9-1-1 governing 

body in amounts proportional to the number of concurrent sessions each 9-1-1 governing body 

maintains at its Public Safety Answering Points as a percentage of the total number of concurrent 

sessions in the state. 

6. We establish a distribution formula for the distribution of prepaid wireless 9-1-1 

charge funds, to be transmitted to the Colorado Department of Revenue by October 1, 2023, for 

an effective date of January 1, 2024. 

7. The 20-day period provided for in § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., within which to file 

applications for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day following the 

effective date of this Decision. 
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8. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date. 

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
September 20, 2023. 
 

(S E A L) 
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