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I. STATEMENT, FINDINGS OF FACT, AND CONCLUSIONS

1. The cases listed on the attached Appendix A (Hearing Exhibit 5) were instituted by “Complaint[s] and Notice of Hearing” (Complaints or Complaint) issued by the Commission Director and served upon each of the Respondents
 listed in Appendix A on February 23, 2018 (Hearing Exhibits 2, 3, and 4), by United States mail, at the most recent addresses on file with the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) for the Respondents.  

2. The Complaints provide notice of the nature of the allegations against the Respondents.  Hearing Exhibits 3 and 5. In particular, the Complaints allege that the Commission’s records indicate that each of the Respondents has failed to pay an annual fee as required by § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6.  The Complaints explain that each Respondent is required to pay an annual fee to the Commission in the form of a vehicle stamp of $45 for each vehicles it owns, controls, operates or manages, and that the Commission will hold a hearing regarding whether the Respondents’ certificates or permits should be revoked for their failure to pay the annual fee.  The Complaints notify the Respondents of the date, time, and location of the scheduled hearing. 

3. As noticed in the Complaint, on March 22, 2018 at 12:15 p.m., the undersigned Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) called the cases for hearing in a Commission Hearing Room, located at 1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, Colorado.  Staff of the Commission (Staff) appeared through counsel.  Staff member Vanessa Condra testified on behalf of Staff in support of the Complaints.  No Respondents appeared for the hearing. 

4. Hearing Exhibits 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 were marked for identification, offered, and admitted into evidence during the hearing.  
A. The Requirement to Pay an Annual Fee to the Commission. 

5. Except for movers and motor carriers who are registered with the United States Department of Transportation’s Unified Carrier Registration system, every motor carrier subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction shall pay an annual fee as set by the Commission before the first day of January of each calendar year, for each motor vehicle it owns, operates, controls, or manages within the State of Colorado.  § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009(a), (h), and (i), 4 CCR 723-6.

6. Once the annual fee is paid, the Commission annually issues a stamp (as proof of payment) for each vehicle for which the fee has been paid.  Rule 6009(e), 4 CCR 723-6.  The stamp is valid only for the calendar year for which it is purchased. Rule 6009(f), 4 CCR 
723-6.

7. The Commission is required to provide public notice of the annual fee on its website at least 60 days prior to the effective date of such annual fee.  Rule 6009(b), 4 CCR 
723-6.  Given that the effective date of the annual fee is January 1 of each calendar year, 
the Commission’s public notice must be given by November 2 of the prior calendar year.  Rule 6009(a) and (b), 4 CCR 723-6.

8. Motor carriers subject to Rule 6009(a), 4 CCR 723-6, are not permitted to operate motor vehicles unless they affix a valid vehicle stamp to their vehicle.  Rule 6009(g), 4 CCR 723-6.

B. Governing Legal Standards.
9. Section 40-10.1-112, C.R.S., and Rule 6008(c), 4 CCR 723-6, provide that, after hearing upon notice to the holder of any certificate, authority, or permit (collectively, permit), and upon proof that the holder has violated any applicable statute, rule, regulation, or Commission decision, the Commission may revoke the holder’s permit.  Rule 6008(c), 4 CCR 723-6; see §§ 40-10.1-112(1)(a) and 40-10.1-112(2), C.R.S.   

10. Staff carries the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence to demonstrate that the allegations of the Complaint are true.  The preponderance standard requires the fact finder to determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its non-existence.  Swain v. Colorado Department of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507, 508 (Colo. App. 1985).  A party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole, slightly tips in favor of that party.  
C. Evidence in Support of Complaints.
11. At the hearing on March 22, 2018, Ms. Condra testified that the Commission provided public notice of the obligation to pay the annual fee pursuant to § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6.  Specifically, Ms. Condra testified that Hearing Exhibit 1 is a screenshot of a page from the Transportation Section of the Commission’s website stating that vehicle stamps would be available in November of 2017 and that the 2018 fee for each stamp is $45.  Ms. Condra printed the screenshot on October 17, 2017, which is the date on Hearing Exhibit 1.  

12. Ms. Condra testified further that she reviewed Commission records on February 23, 2018 to determine which motor carriers had not paid the annual fee required by § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009 as of that date.  She testified that, on the same date, the Commission served the Complaints upon the Respondents listed in Appendix A by United States mail to the address of the agent listed for service.  See Hearing Exhibits 2 through 4.  The Respondents provided the addresses of the agents on file with the Commission.

13. As of the commencement of the March 22, 2018 hearing, none of the Respondents listed in Hearing Exhibit 5 (Appendix A) had paid the annual fee required by 
§ 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6.
  

14. In addition, Ms. Condra searched Commission records prior to the hearing to determine whether any Respondent has a pending application or proceeding before the Commission that may impact the instant proceeding (e.g., application seeking to transfer or suspend Respondents’ permits).  Ms. Condra found that the Town of Avon, listed in page 8 of Hearing Exhibits 5 (Appendix A), has filed applications to abandon their authorities or permits (Certificates PUC Nos. 18331S and 48203 and Contract Carrier Permit No. B-9308).  Those applications are pending before the Commission.
  
15. None of the other Respondents listed in Appendix A have any applications to transfer or suspend their authorities or permits that are pending before the Commission.  
16. Based on the foregoing, Ms. Condra recommended and requested that the authorities and permits of the Respondents listed in Appendix A be revoked, except for the foregoing authorities or permits held by the Town of Avon.

17. Ms. Condra testified further that any Respondents that come into compliance with the above-referenced statute and rule by paying the required annual fee prior to the issuance 
of a Recommended Decision ordering revocation, or before the effective date of any such Recommended Decision, would be dismissed from this proceeding.  

D. Conclusions.
18. The evidence was undisputed.  

19. The ALJ finds that the Commission published on its website at least as early as October 17, 2017, that vehicle stamps would be available in November 2017 and that the 2018 fee for each stamp is $45.  Hearing Exhibit 1.  The ALJ concludes that this publication complied with the requirement of Rule 6009(b), 4 CCR 723-6, that the Commission “provide public notice on the Commission’s website at least 60 days prior to the effective date of such annual fee.”  

20. The ALJ finds and concludes that service of the Complaints upon each of the Respondents was proper because they were served by United States mail at the most recent addresses on file with the Commission.
  The ALJ further finds that the Complaints are in compliance with Rule 6008(c), 4 CCR 723-6, and that they satisfy due process requirements.  The Complaints provide notice of the nature of the allegations and the relief sought against the Respondents, opportunities for Respondents to respond to the allegations, and greater than ten days’ notice of the hearing on the Complaints.  Hearing Exhibit 3.  
21. The ALJ finds that Staff established by a preponderance of the evidence that as of the date of the hearing the carriers identified in Appendix A to this Decision failed to pay the annual fee for the 2018 calendar year as required by § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6.  

22. The ALJ finds and concludes that the Complaints against the Town of Avon, regarding Certificates PUC Nos. 18331S and 48203 and Contract Carrier Permit No. B-9308 should be dismissed, because the Town of Avon has pending before the Commission applications to abandon its certificates and contract carrier permit.  

23. The ALJ finds and concludes that the certificates and permits of the Respondents listed in Appendix A to this Decision, except for Certificates PUC Nos. 18331S and 48203 and Contract Carrier Permit No. B-9308 held by the Town of Avon, should be revoked for their failure to pay the annual fee required by § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6.  
24. In addition, the Complaints are dismissed against the carriers who have come into compliance with § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6, since service of the Complaints.  Finally, the Complaints will be dismissed against any carrier who comes into compliance with § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6, after the issuance of this Decision but before the effective date of this Recommended Decision (that is, before it becomes the Decision of the Commission by operation of law).  

25. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ transmits to the Commission the record of this proceeding, this recommended decision containing findings of fact and conclusions thereon, and a recommended order.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The Complaints and Notices of Hearing against the Town of Avon issued on February 23, 2018, regarding Certificates of Public Convenience and Necessity (Certificates PUC) Nos. 18331S and 48203 and Contract Carrier Permit No. B-9308, are dismissed.  

2. The Respondents’ certificates or permits listed in Appendix A attached hereto, except for those held by the Town of Avon (Certificates PUC Nos. 18331S and 48203 and Contract Carrier Permit No. B-9308) listed on page 8 of Appendix A, are revoked as of the effective date of this Decision.  

3. Ordering Paragraph No. 2 shall be void and the case dismissed as to any affected Respondent who pays the annual fee(s) required by § 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6, after the issuance of this Decision but before the effective date of this Recommended Decision (that is, before it becomes the Decision of the Commission by operation of law).
4. Proceeding No. 18C-0124TR is closed. 

5. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

6. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a)
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b)
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.
7. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


STEVEN H. DENMAN
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




� Reference herein to the Respondents is a reference to each of the Respondents listed in Appendix A to this Decision. 


� In contrast, Hearing Exhibit 2 is the list of carriers who were non-compliant when the Commission issued the Complaints on February 23, 2018.  As the difference in the numbers of carriers listed in Hearing Exhibits 2 and 5 makes evident, many carriers paid their applicable annual fee(s) since the Commission issued the Complaints.


�  See Proceeding Nos. 18A-0174CP–Abandon (18331S), 18A-0175BP–Abandon (B-9308), and �18A-0176CP–Abandon (48203).  


� See Hearing Exhibits 2 through 4; see Rule 1205(a) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, and Rule 6011(a) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  
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