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I. STATEMENT

A. Procedural History

1. This Proceeding was commenced on January 4, 2018 by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment or Notice of Complaint to Appear No. 120473 (CPAN) to Lyft, Inc. (Lyft or Respondent).  

The CPAN cites Respondent with five Counts of violating Rule 6708(a) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 

2. 723-6 (2016),
 in Denver, Colorado on five different dates ranging from October 4, 2016 through May 18, 2017.  Specifically, the violations are all for, “Permitting a person to act as a driver that is not qualified to drive based on rule 6712 (criminal history- Driver Ramon Gordon).”  (CPAN, page 1.)

3. For each violation the CPAN assessed a civil penalty of $2,500.00, plus an additional 15 percent surcharge required by § 24-34-108, C.R.S., for a total penalty of $2,875.00 per violation.  The total amount of civil penalties assessed in the CPAN, including surcharges, is $14,375.00.  (CPAN, page 1.)   

4. The procedural history of the above captioned proceeding is set forth in Decision No. R18-0095-I, issued on February 7, 2018, and is repeated here as necessary to put this Decision into context.

5. On January 24, 2018, by minute entry, the Commission referred this Proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  Subsequently, the undersigned ALJ was assigned to preside over this Proceeding.  

6. On January 29, 2018, counsel entered her appearance on behalf of the Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado (Staff).  

7. On February 14, 2018, counsel filed their Entries of Appearance on behalf of Respondent.  

8. Staff and Respondent are the Parties to this Proceeding.  

B. Vacating Prehearing Conference.

9. Decision No. R18-0095-I scheduled a prehearing conference, in accordance with Rule 1409(a) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, for February 22, 2018 at 1:30 p.m.  The ALJ directed the Parties to discuss hearing dates, a procedural schedule, and other procedural matters.  If the Parties could agree to a procedural schedule, hearing dates, and other matters prior to the prehearing conference, they could file a motion to adopt the stipulated procedural schedule and hearing dates, and to vacate the prehearing conference, if appropriate.  
10. On February 20, 2018, the Parties filed a Stipulated Procedural Schedule, including hearing dates and a request to vacate the prehearing conference.  Response time to the request to adopt the Stipulated Procedural Schedule will be waived, pursuant to Rule 1400(b) of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1.
11. The prehearing conference scheduled for Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. will be vacated.

C. Procedural Schedule and Setting the Hearing Date.

12. The Parties agreed that the hearing should be scheduled during the week of May 14 or 21, 2018.  The hearing will be scheduled for Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at 9:30 a.m.  Although the Parties believe the hearing will take only one-half day, the whole day will be reserved.  

13. The Parties agreed to a series of procedural filing dates occurring prior to the hearing date.  Based upon the May 22, 2018 hearing date, the following procedural schedule will be adopted.

 
a)
No later than March 23, 2018 (60 days prior to hearing), Staff shall file, and serve on counsel for Lyft, its list of witnesses, summaries of the direct testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that Staff intends to offer into evidence at the hearing.  

 
b)
No later than April 12, 2018 (40 days prior to hearing), Respondent Lyft shall file, and serve on counsel for Staff, its list of witnesses, summaries of the direct testimony of each witness, and copies of the exhibits that it intends to offer into evidence at the hearing.

 
c)
The deadline for filing prehearing motions, including but not limited to any dispositive motions, motions in limine, or motions to strike, is April 17, 2018 (35 days prior to hearing); any response to a pre-hearing motion will be filed no later than May 1, 2018 (21 days prior to hearing).  

 
d)
Any stipulations or settlement agreements will be filed no later than May 8, 2018 (14 days prior to hearing).  

 
e)
The evidentiary hearing will be held on May 22, 2018 at 9:30 a.m. 
14. Rule 1405 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, shall apply to discovery procedures and deadlines in this proceeding.  

II. ORDER

A. It Is Ordered That: 

1. The Stipulated Procedural Schedule filed on February 20, 2018 by the Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado and Lyft, Inc. is approved.  

2. Response time to the Stipulated Procedural Schedule is waived.  

3. The prehearing conference scheduled for Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. is vacated.
4. The hearing in this Proceeding is scheduled as follows:

DATE:
May 22, 2018
TIME:
9:30 a.m.

PLACE:
Commission Hearing Room
 
1560 Broadway, 2nd Floor
 
Denver, Colorado

5. The procedural schedule set forth in Paragraph I.C.13 on pages 3 and 4 of this Decision is adopted.  The Parties shall comply with the filing requirements and deadlines set forth in the adopted procedural schedule.  

6. This Interim Decision is effective immediately. 
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


STEVEN H. DENMAN
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




�  Rule 6708(a), 4 CCR 723-6, requires that:  “A TNC shall not permit a person to act as a driver unless the person is at least 21 years of age; has a valid driver’s license; is medically qualified to drive as required by rule 6713; and is not disqualified to drive based on the results of the driving history research report required by rule 6711 or the criminal history record check required by rule 6712.”  
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