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I. STATEMENT

A. Procedural History

1. This Proceeding was commenced on January 4, 2018 by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment or Notice of Complaint to Appear No. 120473 (CPAN) to Lyft, Inc. (Lyft or Respondent).  

The CPAN cites Respondent with five Counts of violating Rule 6708(a) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 

2. 723-6 (2016),
 in Denver, Colorado on five different dates ranging from October 4, 2016 through May 18, 2017.  Specifically, the violations are all for, “Permitting a person to act as a driver that is not qualified to drive based on rule 6712 (criminal history) (Driver Ramon Gordon).”
  (CPAN, page 1.)

3. The CPAN assessed for each violation a civil penalty of $2,500.00, plus an additional 15 percent surcharge required by § 24-34-108, C.R.S., for a total penalty of $2,875.00 per violation.  The total amount of civil penalties assessed, including surcharges, is $14,375.00.  (CPAN, page 1.)   

4. The CPAN states that, if the Commission were to receive payment within ten calendar days of the date of issuance, the total civil penalty would be $7,187.50, including the 15 percent surcharge.  The CPAN also states that, if the Commission did not receive payment within ten days, the Commission Staff will seek civil penalties for the cited violations in the full total amounts stated in the CPAN.  Further, the CPAN states that payment of the civil penalty assessment would be an acknowledgment (i.e., an admission) of liability for the violation cited.  (CPAN, page 3.)   

5. On January 4, 2018, Cory Brodzinski of the Commission Staff served the CPAN by personal service; that is, by leaving the documents with Emile LaPlante, Process Specialist, who is “authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of process for the Respondent.”  (CPAN, page 2, and Verified Statement of Service.)  

6. On January 24, 2018, by minute entry, the Commission referred this Proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  Subsequently, the undersigned ALJ was assigned to preside over this Proceeding.  

7. On January 29, 2018, Assistant Attorney General Jennifer Gilbert entered her appearance on behalf of the Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado (Staff).  

8. As of the date of this Decision, no Entry of Appearance has been filed on behalf of Respondent.  

9. Staff and Respondent are the Parties to this Proceeding.  

B. Prehearing Conference.

To facilitate the orderly and efficient litigation of this Proceeding, it is appropriate to schedule a prehearing conference, in accordance with Rule 1409(a) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1.  At the prehearing conference, the Parties must be prepared to discuss all procedural and substantive issues related to this Proceeding, a procedural schedule, 

10. and hearing dates.  The procedural schedule must include deadlines for filing the Parties’ respective witness lists, detailed summaries of the testimony of their witnesses, and copies of exhibits they intend to offer for introduction into evidence at the hearing; a deadline for filing pre-hearing motions; discovery procedures; and a date or dates for the evidentiary hearing.  

11. At the prehearing conference, the Parties may address any other procedural or substantive issues relevant to this Proceeding.  

12. Before the date of the prehearing conference, the Parties are directed to engage in discussions to negotiate, if possible, a stipulated procedural schedule, hearing dates, and other procedural matters.  Counsel for Staff will be ordered to coordinate these discussions.  
13. If the Parties can agree to a procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates prior to the prehearing conference, they may file a motion to adopt the stipulated procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates; and to vacate the prehearing conference.  If there are other matters the Parties wish to address at the prehearing conference, then the prehearing conference should be held.  
14. The prehearing conference will be scheduled for Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. in a Commission Hearing Room.

15. Any motion to adopt a stipulated procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates; and to vacate the prehearing conference must be filed no later than 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 20, 2018.  

II. ORDER

A. It Is Ordered That: 
1. A prehearing conference in this Proceeding is scheduled as follows:

DATE:
February 22, 2018
TIME:
1:30 p.m.

PLACE:
Commission Hearing Room
 
1560 Broadway, 2nd Floor
 
Denver, Colorado

2. All Parties are required to appear for the prehearing conference and to be prepared to address the issues identified in Paragraphs 10 and 11 of this Decision.  Failure to appear may result in procedural rulings that could be detrimental to the non-appearing Party’s interests.  

3. Counsel for Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado is ordered to coordinate discussions with counsel for Lyft, Inc. for the purpose of negotiating, if possible, a stipulated procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates.  

4. If the Parties can agree to a procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates prior to the scheduled prehearing conference, they may file a motion to adopt the stipulated procedural schedule, discovery procedures, and hearing dates; and to vacate the prehearing conference.  That motion shall be filed no later than 2:00 p.m. on Tuesday, February 20, 2018  

5. This Interim Decision is effective immediately. 

	(S E A L)

[image: image1.png]



ATTEST: A TRUE COPY


[image: image2.wmf] 

 

 


Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


STEVEN H. DENMAN
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




�  Rule 6708(a), 4 CCR 723-6, requires that:  “A TNC shall not permit a person to act as a driver unless the person is at least 21 years of age; has a valid driver’s license; is medically qualified to drive as required by rule 6713; and is not disqualified to drive based on the results of the driving history research report required by rule 6711 or the criminal history record check required by rule 6712.”  


�  Rule 6712, 4 CCR 723-6, provides:  


(a) 	Before permitting an individual to act as a driver on its digital network, a TNC shall obtain and review a criminal history record check for the individual that complies with C.R.S. § 40-10.1-605(3)(a).  If a privately administered national criminal history record check is used, custody of the record check shall be direct from the entity administering the check to the TNC.


(b) 	If a privately administered national criminal history record check is conducted, the TNC shall obtain the applicant's social security number (or Alien Registration Number/USCIS Number or Form I-94 Admission Number), birth date, and driver’s license number.


(c) 	The identifying information obtained in paragraph (b) shall be run through national and county or statewide criminal background databases or other similar commercial databases and validated through a primary source search.  These searches shall include, at minimum, the National Sex Offender Registry and, in jurisdictions where an applicant has lived, a federal district court records search, a county criminal records search, and a motor vehicle records search.


(d) 	At least once every five years, a TNC shall obtain and review a criminal history record check for each driver authorized to use the TNC's digital network.


(e) 	No TNC shall permit any individual convicted of or who pled guilty or nolo contendere to any of the offenses listed in § 40-10.1-605(3)(c), C.R.S. to log in to its digital network or serve as a driver for the TNC.  
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