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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. On February 28, 2018, the Pueblo County Emergency Telephone Service Authority Board (Applicant or Company) filed its application pursuant to § 29-11-102(2)(b), C.R.S., for approval of an emergency telephone charge increase from $0.70 to $1.50 per service user per month (Application).

2. On March 2, 2018, the Commission gave notice of the Application stating that parties wishing to participate in this Proceeding should file an Intervention or other appropriate pleading within 30 days after the date of the Notice.

3. Also on February 28, 2018, the Applicant filed a Motion for Waiver of Statutory Notice Provisions of §40-3-104, C.R.S. and for Authorization to Give an Alternative Form of Notice Pursuant to the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure Rule 2002(a)(XXI) (Motion). This Motion requested authorization to give an alternative form of notice pursuant to § 40-3-104(I)(c)(I)(D), C.R.S. The Applicant requested to provide notice of the proposed surcharge increase to be published for two consecutive weeks in the Colorado Tribune and the Pueblo Chieftain, two newspapers of general circulation in Pueblo County.

4. By Decision No. C18-0164-I, adopted and mailed on March 7, 2018, the Commission approved the motion for alternative form of notice.  The Decision also noted that under the Commission’s new rules for 911 surcharge applications, filing motions for approval of an alternative form of notice is no longer required, but since the Application was filed prior to the effective date of the new rules, the Commission would grant the Motion.

5. The Applicant filed proof of publication of its approved notice on April 3, 2018.

6. No public comment was received in response to the Application.

II. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

7. Since the Application is now uncontested, the matter will be considered pursuant to the Commission’s modified procedure, § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., and the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-1-1403.

A governing body
 may incur equipment, installation, and other costs directly related to the continued operation of emergency telephone service pursuant to § 29-11-102, C.R.S.  As provided in paragraph (a) of subsection (2) of that statute, such allowable costs may be categorized as equipment directly related to the receipt and routing of emergency calls, monthly recurring charges for the emergency telephone service, reimbursement of costs for equipment changes necessary for the provision or transmission of wireless Automatic Number Identification or wireless Automatic Location Identification to a public safety answering 

8. point (PSAP), costs related to the provision of emergency notification service and emergency telephone service, and “other” directly related costs. Personnel expenses necessarily incurred for a PSAP may also be paid with funds collected from 911 charges.
  § 29-11-104(2)(b), C.R.S.

9. A governing body is statutorily authorized to collect up to $0.70 per month per exchange access facility, per wireless communications access, and per interconnected Voice over Internet Protocol service to cover such costs of service within its jurisdiction.  In the event a charge in excess of $0.70 is necessary to provide adequate emergency telephone service, the governing body shall obtain the approval of the Commission before imposing such higher charge.  § 29-11-102(2), C.R.S.

10. Currently, the monthly emergency telephone surcharge is $.70 in the Applicant’s service territory. The Application seeks to increase the charge to $1.50 per month.  

11. The Company is supported by the affidavit and verification of the information filed with the Commission by the Applicant.  The Applicant is an emergency telephone service authority comprised of a group of local government entities whose jurisdictional boundaries are within Pueblo County, excluding the City of Pueblo.  Those governmental entities cooperate pursuant to the terms and conditions of the Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) concerning the establishment of an emergency telephone service authority.   

12. The Company was formed in 2003 when several parties desired to enter into an IGA.  The parties to the IGA are Pueblo County, the Town of Boone, and the Town of Rye.

13. The Applicant provides funding to one PSAP within its service area, that PSAP being the Pueblo County Sheriff’s Office 911 Center.

14. The Applicant has determined that an increase in the emergency telephone surcharge is needed for one primary purpose: to compensate for the loss of funding due to the cessation of the Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program (CSEPP), which has historically provided capital and operational funding for a number of government entities within Pueblo County. The additional anticipated costs that the Applicant must fund due to anticipated cessation of the CSEPP in 2020 amount to $431,606 per year in annualized capital costs and operational costs.

15. Additionally, the Applicant’s actual budgets for the previous five years indicate that it has been operating with an annual budget shortfall for an extended period.

16. Based on this evidence, the Commission agrees with Applicant that additional funding is necessary in order to maintain the current level of expenditure of all categories of expense allowed pursuant to § 29-11-104(2), C.R.S., with the additional expenditures necessitated by the loss of CSEPP funding.  Increasing the surcharge to $1.50 per month is necessary, reasonable, and in the public interest.

III. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The application of the Pueblo County Emergency Service Telephone Service Authority Board (Applicant) seeking to increase the emergency telephone charge to $1.50 per access line per month is granted.

2. The Applicant shall notify each affected service provider of the increase in the emergency telephone surcharge by registered mail at least 60 days prior to the new rate becoming effective.

3. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114, C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date of this Decision.

4. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
April 11, 2018.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


JEFFREY P. ACKERMANN
________________________________


FRANCES A. KONCILJA
________________________________


WENDY M. MOSER
________________________________
                                        Commissioners




� See the Commission’s Rules Regulating Telecommunications Services and Providers of Telecommunications Services, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-2-2147.


�    As defined at § 29-11-101(4), C.R.S.


�  Such personnel include employees who take and dispatch telephone calls, or who maintain the computer database of the PSAP.
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