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I. statement, FINDINGS, AND CONCLUSIONS

1. This Proceeding was commenced on November 17, 2017 by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment or Notice of Complaint to Appear No. 120071 (CPAN) to Rasier LLC (Respondent).  
2. The CPAN cites Respondent with one Count of violating Rule 6719 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6 (2016), in Denver, Colorado on November 9, 2017.  Specifically, the CPAN states that Respondent “[f]ail[ed] to require a driver to display vehicle markings while logged in to a TNC digital network per §40-10.1-605(o) C.R.S. (Colorado License Plate OHC599).”  

3. Rule 6719 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 
723-6, provides that:

A TNC shall require that a driver displays the TNC’s vehicle marking in or on the personal vehicle while logged in to a TNC's digital network. The TNC shall file a description and location of vehicle markings that drivers are required to display. Vehicle marking shall be readily visible during daylight hours from the front or passenger side of the vehicle at a distance of 50 feet, but in no case be less than three inches tall.
4. Pursuant to Rule 6724(h)(II) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, the CPAN assessed a civil penalty of triple the usual penalty of $250.00, or $750.00, plus an additional 15 percent surcharge required by § 24-34-108, C.R.S., for a total penalty of $862.50 for the violation.  (CPAN at page 1.)  

5. On November 17, 2017, Andrew McClellan of the Commission Staff served the CPAN by personal service, that is, by leaving the documents with the Office Manager, who as Process Specialist “is authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of process for the Respondent.”  (CPAN at Verified Statement of Service.)  

6. On December 4, 2017, Respondent paid to the Commission the civil penalty amount of $862.50 in full (this amount was part of a total of $5,520.00 paid in this and two other CPANs).  (Receipt No. 68102, page 1.)  

7. On December 6, 2017, by Minute Order, the Commission referred this Proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  Subsequently, the undersigned ALJ was assigned to preside over this Proceeding.  

8. There is currently no hearing scheduled in this matter.

9. The ALJ finds and concludes that by paying the civil penalty to the Commission, Respondent has acknowledged liability, and has fully satisfied the complaint in 
CPAN No. 120071.  Accordingly, the undersigned ALJ will dismiss CPAN No. 120071.

10. Proceeding No. 17G-0778TNC will be closed.  

11. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ recommends that the Commission enter the following order.  

II. ORDER 

A. The Commission Orders That:  

1. The payment by Rasier LLC of the civil penalty to the Commission in the amount of $862.50 is accepted in full satisfaction of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice No. 120071.

2. Civil Penalty Assessment Notice No. 120071 is dismissed.

3. Proceeding No. 17G-0778TNC is closed.

4. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

5. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a) If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b) If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

6. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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