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I. STATEMENT

A. Procedural History.

1. On 
July 3, 2017, Kinfe Awoke Habete 
 LINK Excel.Sheet.8 "C:\\Users\\shdenman\\Google Drive\\16M-0508TR\\Copy of form Inputs.xls" "210 Timeline NO rebuttal!R31C5" \a \t (Petitioner or Mr. Habete), through his legal counsel, filed a letter requesting a hearing before the Commission to reverse an initial determination by Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado (Staff) disqualifying Petitioner from driving for “a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier” for a period of two years.  Staff’s determination was based on a fingerprint-based criminal history record check, pursuant to Rule 6105, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 723-6.  

2. According to the Petition, a letter of May 2, 2017 from Ms. Alison K. Torvik of the Commission advised Petitioner that he was disqualified from driving for a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier for a period of two years.  The Petition also attached confidential documents relating to Mr. Habete’s sentence to one year’s probation for Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) and terms of his probation.  The Petition argues that Mr. Habete is successfully complying with the terms of his one year’s probation, has successfully completed an alcohol evaluation with a recommendation that he complete Level II alcohol education and 52 hours of therapy.  Mr. Habete must also complete 24 hours of useful public service and a Victim Impact Panel.
  

3. During the Weekly Meeting held on 
July 20, 2017, the Commission construed Petitioner’s letter as a Petition to reverse the initial driver disqualification determination and initiated this Proceeding.  On the same date by minute entry, the matter was also referred to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  Subsequently, this proceeding was assigned to the undersigned ALJ.  

4. Rule 6105(l) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, provides that, “If the driver is disqualified and prohibited from driving, the driver may, within 60 days of Commission staff’s notification, file a petition with the Commission for qualification determination.”  In this case, the deadline for filing the Petition was July 3, 2017.
  

5. Pursuant to Rule 6105(l)(I) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, upon a driver’s filing of a petition for qualification, Staff shall be an indispensable party.  
6. Therefore, the Parties to this Proceeding are Petitioner and Staff.  
7. Counsel for Staff filed her Entry of Appearance on July 26, 2017.
8. In Decision No. R17-0614-I (mailed on July 26, 2017), the ALJ determined, based upon information filed with the Petition, that Staff based its initial disqualification of Petitioner on Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  Pursuant to Rule 6105(l)(I)(B), 4 CCR 723-6, the ALJ assigned to Petitioner, as the driver, the burden of going forward and the burden of proof to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the “disqualification is not supported by fact or law” and that the disqualification should 
be reversed.  See § 24-4-105(7), C.R.S.; § 13-25-127(1), C.R.S.; and Rule 1500 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1.  The ALJ held that, if judgment in favor of the driver would not be justified based on the evidence presented in the driver’s 
case-in-chief, the burden of going forward would shift to Staff to prove by a preponderance of evidence that the disqualification was supported by fact or law and should be affirmed.  See City of Aurora ex rel. Utility Enterprise v. Colo. State Engineer, 105 P.3d 595, 614 (Colo. 2005).
9. Decision No. R17-0614-I scheduled an evidentiary hearing for August 31, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. and adopted a procedural schedule requiring the Parties to make appropriate and timely disclosures prior to the hearing.  Petitioner was ordered to file not later than August 9, 2017, and to serve on Staff and its counsel, his list of witnesses; a summary of the testimony of each witness; and copies of the exhibits that he would present at the hearing.  Staff was ordered to file not later than August 23, 2017, and to serve on Petitioner and its counsel, its list of witnesses; a summary of the testimony of each witness; and copies of the exhibits that it would present at the hearing.  
10. By the close of business on August 9, 2017, Petitioner failed to file, and to serve on Staff and its counsel, his list of witnesses; a summary of the testimony of each witness; and copies of the exhibits that he would present at the hearing.  A review of the Commission’s file in this Proceeding reveals that Petitioner did not file a timely motion for extension of time to make this filing.  
11. On August 2, 2017, Staff filed a Motion for Summary Judgment.  Pursuant to Rule 1400(b) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, Petitioner had 14 days, or until August 16, 2017, within which to file its response.  By the close of business on August 16, 2017, Petitioner failed to file, and to serve on Staff and its counsel, a response to the Motion for Summary Judgment.  A review of the Commission’s file in this Proceeding reveals that Petitioner did not file a timely motion for extension of time within which to file the response.  
12. The filing of Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment has the effect of tolling the deadline for Staff to file the required disclosures on August 23, 2017.  In light of Petitioner’s failure to file the required disclosures on August 9, 2017 and his failure to file any response to Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, the ALJ will vacate the requirement that, by August 23, 2017, Staff must file and serve on Petitioner and its counsel, Staff’s list of witnesses; a summary of the testimony of each witness; and copies of the exhibits that it would present at the hearing.  

B. Applicable Law and Commission Rules.  

13. As relevant to this Proceeding, § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S., provides that:

(3)
An individual whose criminal history record is checked pursuant to this section is disqualified and prohibited from driving motor vehicles for the motor carrier described in subsection (1) of this section if the criminal history record check reflects that:

* * *

(c)
Within the two years immediately preceding the date the criminal history record check is completed, the individual was: 

(I)
Convicted in this state of … driving while ability impaired, as defined in section 42-4-1301(1)(g), C.R.S. …  

14. As relevant to this Proceeding, Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, provides that:  

(f)
Qualification determination based upon moral character or statutory disqualification.

* * *

(III)
Without a determination as to moral character at the time of determination, a driver is disqualified by statute and prohibited from driving if the driver has been:

* * *

(B)
within the two years preceding the date the criminal history record check is completed, convicted in this state of driving under the influence, as defined in § 42-4-1301(1)(f), C.R.S.; driving with excessive alcoholic content, as described in § 42-4-1301(2)(a), C.R.S.; driving while ability impaired, as defined in § 42-4-1301(1)(g), C.R.S.; or driving while an habitual user of a controlled substance, as described in § 42-4-1301(1)(c), C.R.S. ….  

(Emphasis added.)

15. Section 42-4-1301(1)(g), C.R.S., states:  
“Driving while ability impaired” means driving a motor vehicle or vehicle when 
a person has consumed alcohol or one or more drugs, or a combination of 
both alcohol and one or more drugs, that affects the person to the slightest degree so that the person is less able than the person ordinarily would have been, either mentally or physically, or both mentally and physically, to exercise clear judgment, sufficient physical control, or due care in the safe operation of a vehicle.  

16. Section 42-4-1301(1)(b), C.R.S., provides that:
A person who drives a motor vehicle or vehicle while impaired by alcohol or by one or more drugs, or by a combination of alcohol and one or more drugs, commits driving while ability impaired.  Driving while ability impaired is a misdemeanor, but it is a class 4 felony if the violation occurred after three or more prior convictions, arising out of separate and distinct criminal episodes, for DUI [driving under the influence], DUI per se, or DWAI; vehicular homicide, as described in section 18-3-106 (1) (b), C.R.S.; vehicular assault, as described in section 18-3-205 (1) (b), C.R.S.; or any combination thereof.  

The Petition and attachments indicate that Petitioner was convicted of misdemeanor DWAI in Colorado in the spring of 2017 and that Petitioner was sentenced to probation for one year.  
17. Rule 1400 of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1, permits summary judgment motions filed in accordance with Rule 56, Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure (C.R.C.P.).  Summary judgment is proper when the moving party can demonstrate that “there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.”  Rule 56(c), C.R.C.P.
18. The Colorado Supreme Court has summarized the principles applicable to summary judgment:  

Summary judgment is a drastic remedy and should only be granted if there is a clear showing that no genuine issue as to any material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.  See C.R.C.P. 56; Greenwood Trust Co. v. Conley, 938 P.2d 1141, 1149 (Colo. 1997). The moving party has the initial burden to show that there is no genuine issue of material fact.  See Greenwood Trust, 938 P.2d at 1149.  Once the moving party has met its initial burden, the burden shifts to the nonmoving party to establish that there is a triable issue of fact.  See id.  The nonmoving party is entitled to all favorable inferences that may be drawn from the undisputed facts, and all doubts as to whether a 

triable issue of fact exists must be resolved against the moving party.  See Bayou Land Co. v. Talley, 924 P.2d 136, 151 (Colo. 1996).
AviComm, Inc. v. Colorado Public Utilities Comm’n., 955 P.2d 1023, 1029 (Colo. 1998) (affirming the Commission’s decision granting a motion for summary judgment).

19. A fact is “material,” for purposes of a motion for summary judgment, if 
it will affect the outcome of the case.  Gadlin v. Metrex Research Corporation, 76 P.3d 928 (Colo. App. 2003).  Summary judgment is appropriate when the pleadings and supporting documents demonstrate that no genuine issue as to any material fact exists and that the moving party is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law.  Martini v. Smith, 42 P.3d 629 (Colo. 2002)
20. Rule 1400(d) of the Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4CCR 723-1, states:  “The Commission may deem a failure to file a response as a confession of the motion.”
C. Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment.  

21. In its Motion for Summary Judgment, Staff argues that this case does not present a genuine disputed issue of material fact and that the applicable statute – § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S. – prohibits the relief that Petitioner seeks
 as a matter of law.  Staff asserts that Mr. Habete’s compliance with the terms of his probation does not negate the fact of his conviction for DWAI in the preceding two years.  Staff argues that, under § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S., and Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, Petitioner is mandatorily prohibited “from driving a taxi within two years of his DWAI conviction.”
  

22. Staff also argues that, “The disqualification is mandatory to ensure public safety and consumer protection from someone who commits certain offenses, such as DWAI, that prove the driver disregards the safety of his passengers and others on the highways of this state.”
 

II. FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
23. The letter filed by counsel on 
July 3, 2017, construed as a Petition, requesting that the Commission reverse an initial determination by Staff disqualifying Mr. Habete from driving for a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier for a period of two years, was timely filed within the 60-day deadline imposed by Rule 6105(l) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  

24. The Commission has jurisdiction over the subject-matter of this proceeding and over Petitioner.  

25. During the spring of 2017, Mr. Habete was convicted in the State of Colorado of the offense of DWAI and sentenced to one year’s probation with several conditions.   

26. Ms. Alison K. Torvik of the Staff conducted a fingerprint-based criminal 
history record check regarding Mr. Habete, pursuant to § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S., and Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6.  
In a letter dated May 2, 2017, Ms. Torvik advised Mr. Habete that he was disqualified from driving for a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier for a period of two years, 

27. because he had been convicted of DWAI.  Based upon substantial information in the record, the ALJ finds and concludes that the criminal history record check was conducted on or about May 2, 2017.

28. The ALJ finds and concludes that Staff’s initial determination, after conducting the criminal history record check regarding Mr. Habete, was based upon a statutory disqualification and not upon any determination as to his moral character.  Petitioner was disqualified from driving for a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier for a period of two 
years from May 2, 2017, pursuant to § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S., as well as pursuant to Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, because, within the two years immediately preceding the date on which the criminal history record check was completed, Mr. Habete had been convicted in the State of Colorado of DWAI, as defined in § 42-4-1301(1)(g), C.R.S.  
29. The ALJ finds and concludes that § 40-10.1-110(3)(c), C.R.S., and Rule 6105(f)(III)(B) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, impose a mandatory two-year period of rehabilitation for drivers for regulated passenger and taxi carriers who have been convicted of DWAI (or the other enumerated driving under the influence statutes) within two years immediately preceding the date on which the criminal history record check was completed.
  The purpose of such a period of rehabilitation is to ensure the safety and protection of the traveling public, of the drivers, and the regulated motor vehicle carriers.  
30. The ALJ finds and concludes that Petitioner’s failure to file a timely response to Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment constitutes a confession of the relief sought by Staff.  

31. In this proceeding, the ALJ finds and concludes that there is no genuine dispute or issue as to any material fact.  

32. The ALJ finds and concludes that Staff is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law. 

33. The Petition will be denied.  

34. The evidentiary hearing scheduled for August 31, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. will be vacated.

III. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:  
1. The Motion for Summary Judgment filed on August 2, 2017, by the Staff of the Public Utilities Commission of the State of Colorado (Staff) is granted.  

2. The Petition filed by Kinfe Awoke Habete 
 LINK Excel.Sheet.8 "C:\\Users\\shdenman\\Google Drive\\16M-0508TR\\Copy of form Inputs.xls" "210 Timeline NO rebuttal!R31C5" \a \t (Petitioner) on 
July 3, 2017, requesting that the Commission reverse an initial determination by Staff disqualifying Petitioner from driving for a passenger carrier and/or a taxi carrier for a period of two years, is denied.  

3. The disclosure requirement that, by August 23, 2017, Staff must file and serve on Petitioner and its counsel, Staff’s list of witnesses; a summary of the testimony of each witness; and copies of the exhibits that it would present at the hearing, is vacated.

4. The evidentiary hearing scheduled for August 31, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. is vacated

5. Proceeding No. 17M-0452TR is closed. 

6. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

7. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, the parties may stipulate to the facts in the record, according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed. 

8. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
	(S E A L)
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


STEVEN H. DENMAN
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




�  Petition, page 1.  


� Since the 60-day deadline imposed by Rule 6105(l) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 CCR 723-6, fell on Saturday, July 1, 2017, the deadline was extended by operation of law until the next business day, or until Monday, July 3, 2017.  Section 40-6-121, C.R.S.


�  The relief sought by Petitioner is an order reversing the disqualification from driving for a passenger or taxi carrier for two years from May 2, 2017.  See Petition, page 1.


�  Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, ¶¶ 11 and 13, page 3.  


�  Staff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, ¶ 12, page 3.  


�  Cf., Smith v. Colorado Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, 200 P.3d 1115, 118 (Colo. App. 2008), Rehearing denied 2009 (motor vehicle salesperson licensing statute, which requires denial of a license if the applicant has been convicted of certain felonies during the previous ten years, imposes a mandatory ten-year rehabilitation period on such applicants.)
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