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I. STATEMENT, FINDINGS OF FACT, AND CONCLUSIONS

1. The cases listed on the attached Appendix A (Hearing Exhibit 7) were instituted by “Complaint[s] and Notice of Hearing” (Complaints or Complaint) issued by the Commission Director and served upon each of the Respondents
 listed in Appendix A on February 22, 2016 and March 10, 2016
 (Hearing Exhibits 2, 3, 4 and 5) by United States mail, at the most recent addresses on file with the Public Utilities Commission (Commission) for Respondents.  

2. The Complaints provide notice of the nature of the allegations against the Respondents.  Hearing Exhibits 3 and 5. In particular, the Complaints allege that the Commission’s records indicate that each of the Respondents has failed to pay an annual fee as required by 
§ 40-10.1-111, C.R.S., and Rule 6009 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6.  The Complaints explain that each Respondent is required to pay an annual fee to the Commission of $35 for each of the vehicles it owns, controls, operates or manages, and that the Commission will hold a hearing regarding whether the Respondents’ permits should be revoked for their failure to pay the annual fee. The Complaints notify the Respondents of the date, time, and location of said hearing. 

3. As noticed in the Complaint, on March 22, 2016 at 12:00 p.m., the undersigned Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) called the cases for hearing in a Commission Hearing Room, located at 1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, Colorado.  Commission Staff member Vanessa Condra appeared through counsel and testified on behalf of the Staff of the Commission (Staff).  The only Respondent to appear was Adeniyi Kelani of Divine Medical Support Services LLC.

4. Hearing Exhibits 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence during the hearing.  
A. The Requirement to Pay an Annual Fee to the Commission. 

5. Except for movers and motor carriers who are registered with the United States Department of Transportation’s Unified Carrier Registration system, every motor carrier subject to the Commission’s jurisdiction shall pay an annual fee as set by the Commission before the first day of January of each calendar year, for each motor vehicle it owns, operates, controls, or manages within the State of Colorado.  § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009(a), (h), and (i), 4 CCR 723-6.

6. Once the annual fee is paid, the Commission annually issues a stamp (as proof of payment) for each vehicle for which the fee has been paid.  Rule 6009(e), 4 CCR 723-6.  The stamp is valid only for the calendar year for which it is purchased. Rule 6009(f), 4 CCR 723-6.

7. The Commission is required to provide public notice of the annual fee on its website at least 60 days prior to the effective date of such annual fee.  Rule 6009(b), 4 CCR 
723-6.  Given that the effective date of the annual fee is January 1 of each calendar year, the Commission’s public notice must be given by November 2 of the prior calendar year.  Rule 6009(a) and (b), 4 CCR 723-6.

8. Motor carriers subject to Rule 6009(a), 4 CCR 723-6, are not permitted to operate motor vehicles unless they affix a valid vehicle stamp to their vehicle.  Rule 6009(g), 4 CCR 723-6.

B. Governing Legal Standards.
9. Section 40-10.1-112, C.R.S., and Rule 6008, 4 CCR 723-6, provide that, after hearing upon notice to the holder of any certificate, authority or permit (collectively, permit), and upon proof that the holder has violated any applicable statute, rule, regulation, or Commission decision, the Commission may revoke the holder’s permit.  Rule 6008(c), 4 CCR 723-6; 
see § 40-10.1-111(2), C.R.S.   

10. Staff carries the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence to demonstrate that the allegations of the Complaint are true.  The preponderance standard requires the fact finder to determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its non-existence. Swain v. Colorado Department of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507, 508 (Colo. App. 1985).  A party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole, slightly tips in favor of that party.  
C. Evidence in Support of Complaints.
11. The evidence is undisputed.  Hearing Exhibit 7 (Appendix A), is a list of carriers Ms. Condra has identified who have failed to pay the annual fee required by § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6 for 2015.

12. As evidenced in Hearing Exhibit 1, notice of the required annual fee was posted on the Commission’s website by October 22, 2014.
  

13. The Complaints were served upon the Respondents listed on Appendix A by United States mail on February 22, 2016 and March 10, 2016, at the most recent addresses on file with the Commission.  Hearing Exhibits 2, 3, 4, and 5.  The addresses on file with the Commission were provided by the Respondents.
14. Ms. Condra testified that the Commission’s records indicate that the Respondents have failed to pay the annual fee required by § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009, 4 CCR 723-6 for 2015.  

15. Ms. Condra further requested that all Respondents’ permits listed in Appendix A be revoked for their failure to pay the required annual fee, as they have been notified of their non-compliance, have been provided an additional opportunity to come into compliance with the referenced statute and rule, and have continued to fail to comply.

16. Mr. Kelani testified that the permit for Devine Medical Support Services LLC had been revoked in February 2016 and he was not allowed to pay the annual fee.

D. Conclusions.
17. The ALJ finds and concludes that the Complaints are in compliance with 
§ 40-10.1-112(1), C.R.S., and Rule 6008(a), 4 CCR 723-6 because the Complaints provide notice of the nature of the allegations and the relief sought against the Respondents, provide notice of the hearing on the Complaints, provide opportunities for Respondents to respond to the allegations, and were served upon the Respondents by United States mail, at the most recent addresses on file with the Commission.  Hearing Exhibits 2 through 4.  The ALJ further finds that service upon each of the Respondents is proper.  §§ 40-6-108(3) and 40-10.1-112(5), C.R.S.  
18. The Respondents failed to appear for the properly noticed hearing as ordered by the Commission.  No Respondent has shown good cause for that failure.  

19. At hearing, Staff established by a preponderance of the evidence that the Commission’s records do not reflect that the Respondents listed in Appendix A paid the annual fee set by the Commission for each motor vehicle that the motor carrier owns, operates, controls, or manages within the State of Colorado for the calendar year 2015.  § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S.; Rule 6009(a), 4 CCR 723-6.  Consequently, Staff has met its burden of proof to show that the Respondents referenced in Appendix A violated § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009(a), 4 CCR 723-6.

20. The Commission’s public notice of the annual fee on its website complies with Rule 6009(b), 4 CCR 723-6, as it was posted at least 60 days prior to the effective date of the annual fee.

21. Respondents listed in Appendix A have violated § 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S., and Rule 6009(a), 4 CCR 723-6 by failing to pay the required annual fee.  None of the Respondents have shown good cause for such failure.  Moreover, Rule 6009(g) requires that motor carriers shall not operate vehicles that do not have a current vehicle stamp affixed thereto.    

22. In addition, Respondents were given public notice of the annual fee, have been notified of their failure to pay the annual fee, have been provided with additional opportunities to come into compliance with the referenced statutes and rule, have been given the opportunity to present arguments and evidence at a hearing, have failed to appear at said hearing, and have continued to fail to comply with the referenced rule and statute without showing good cause.  For the foregoing reasons and authorities, the certificates and permits listed in Appendix A should be revoked.  Sections 40-10.1-112(1)(a) and 40-10.1-111(1)(f), C.R.S.; Rule 6009(a) and (g), 4 CCR 723-6.   

23. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the Administrative Law Judge transmits to the Commission the record of this proceeding, this recommended decision containing findings of fact and conclusions thereon, and the below recommended order.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The Respondents’ authorities or permits listed in Appendix A attached hereto are revoked as of the effective date of this Decision.  

2. Ordering Paragraph No. 1 shall be void and the case dismissed as to any affected Respondent who pays the required annual fee to the Commission before the effective date of this Recommended Decision. 
3. Proceeding No. 16C-0104TR is closed. 

4. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

5. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a)
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.
b)
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  
If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.
6. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


ROBERT I. GARVEY
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge




� Reference herein to the Respondents is a reference to each of the Respondents listed in Appendix A to this Decision. 


� A second notice of hearing was sent on March 10, 2016 due to a typographical error contained in the February 22, 2016 mailing.


�  In contrast, Hearing Exhibit 2 is the list of carriers who were non-compliant when the Complaints were issued.  As Hearing Exhibit 7 makes evident, many carriers have come into compliance since the Complaints were issued. 


� Hearing Exhibit 1 is a printout of the notice of the annual fee on the Commission’s website; it was printed on October 6, 2015.  It is unclear when the notice was published on the website, but Hearing Exhibit 1 shows that at a minimum, it was posted by October 6, 2015. 


� Devine Medical Support Services LLC had been originally noticed for the hearing in the February 22, 2016 mailing, but due to not being in good standing on the date of the March 22, 2016 hearing, the revocation in the above captioned proceeding was dismissed.  
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