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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement, Findings, and Conclusions

1. This matter comes before the Commission for consideration of Union Taxi Cooperative’s (Union) Fourth Petition for a Waiver/Variance (Petition) from Commission Rules 723-6-6255(a)(III)-(VII) of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations. The waiver is requested from July 30, 2015 through December 31, 2015.

2. Rule 6255 (a)(III)-(VII) apply to taxi cab companies operating within or between the Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, Jefferson, and El Paso, and read as follows: 

(III)
Beginning January 1, 2014, taxicab carriers shall employ a GPS-based, digital dispatch system that tracks and records driver hours or service, and records and reports trip information including origination point and customer wait times. 
(IV)
Beginning January 1, 2014, taxicab carriers shall employ a GPS-based, digital dispatch system that records and reports driver location and on-duty time. Said system must log a driver on-duty when the driver’s assigned vehicle is within two miles of Denver International Airport or Colorado Springs Municipal Airport, and 500 feet of any known taxi stand. 
(V)
Beginning January 1, 2014, taxicab carriers shall employ a GPS-based digital dispatch system that locks out any driver who has exceeded 
on-duty hours of service maximums.  

(VI)
Beginning January 1, 2014, taxicab carriers shall lockout, for a minimum of eight hours, a driver who has exceeded on-duty hours of service maximums. Drivers who are locked out, shall not be allowed access to the [carrier’s] dispatch system, credit card processing system, and metering system. 
(VII)
Beginning January 1, 2014, taxicab carriers shall log a driver as being 
on-duty when the vehicle assigned to said driver, enters an area no less than two miles of Denver International Airport or Colorado Springs Municipal Airport, or 500 feet of known taxi stands.
3. The Commission noticed this Petition to all interested persons, firms, and corporations pursuant to § 40-6-108(2), C.R.S., on July 13, 2015, for a period of ten days. 

4. No petition to intervene or otherwise participate in this proceeding has been filed.  This proceeding is therefore uncontested.  Pursuant to § 40-6-109(5), C.R.S., this matter may be determined without a hearing.

5. In support of its Petition, Union states that the contractor which it has hired has been having difficulty with the provisions of the rule, and that this difficulty is caused in part by Union’s dispatch system’s refresh rate. Union also notes difficulty in identifying “any known taxi stand” as required by the rule, as sometimes temporary taxi stands are set up at sporting events or busy shopping centers. Union also states that other Denver-area taxi companies are having difficulty achieving full compliance, and that Union hopes to come up with a regulatory proposal to modify the rule in concert with those other companies. 

6. Rule 1003(a) provides that: 
[t]he Commission has promulgated these rules to ensure orderly and fair treatment of all persons.  The Commission may, for good cause shown, grant waivers or variances from tariffs, Commission rules, and substantive requirements contained in Commission decisions.  In making its determination the Commission may take into account, but is not limited to, considerations of hardship, equity, or more effective implementation of overall policy on an individual basis.
7. We find that good cause exists to grant Union’s Petition for a waiver.  

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The Petition for Waiver/Variance from Commission Rule 723-6-6255 
(a)(III)-(VII) filed by Union Taxi Cooperative is granted, nunc pro tunc, from June 30, 2015 through December 31, 2015.

2. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the Commission mails this Decision.
3. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
July 30, 2015.
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