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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users (TRS) was established by the Colorado Legislature (Legislature) in 1989.  See § 40-17-101, C.R.S. et seq.  The Commission, in 1994, adopted Rules Prescribing the Implementation of Article 17 of Title 40, C.R.S. Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users, now codified at 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2820, et seq., of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Telecommunications Providers, Services, and Products.  Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(a), the Commission shall determine, and by appropriate decision, impose a uniform charge on each business and residential access line in a uniform amount in order to fund the TRS program.  Further, Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(b) provides:

(I)
The uniform charge imposed pursuant to § 40-17-103(3)(a), C.R.S., shall be billed to each access line provided by each LEC.

(II)
The uniform charge shall not be included in each subscriber’s bill as part of the subscriber’s base rate.  The uniform charge shall be listed as a separate item appearing on each customer’s monthly billing statement as rendered by each local exchange provider.  The charge shall be listed as the “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Fund”.

2. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(b)(IV), every month each local exchange provider shall submit to the Commission a completed “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Surcharge” form. This form is available from the Commission and is on the Commission’s website.  See Exhibit A to this Decision.  This form is accompanied by a remittance to the Disabled Telephone Users Fund (DTUF).

3. The current TRS uniform charge has been in effect since October 1, 2010.  See Decision No. C10-0768 in Proceeding No. 10M-518T, issued August 20, 2010.  Since the current TRS uniform charge was established, certain trends and events have taken place that require a decrease in the DTUF fund balance.  

4. The Legislature has appropriated nearly $1,345,000 from the DTUF to fund the following programs:  Reading Services for the Blind and the Colorado Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. The DTUF program administration and disbursement to the TRS vendor is set at $1,900,542, for a total of $3,245,676.  
5. Commission rules indicate that it is the intent of the Commission to adjust the uniform charge, if necessary.

6. Considering the current fund balance, revenue, and expenditure projections for Fiscal Year 2014, and statutory fund balance requirements, the Commission finds it necessary to decrease the TRS uniform charge on each eligible access line beginning January 1, 2014.  The current uniform charge of 20 cents per access line per month shall be decreased to 5 cents per access line per month so as to maintain a sufficient fund balance.
II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Effective January 1, 2014, the uniform charge imposed upon each business and residential access line to fund the Colorado Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users Program is decreased from 20 cents per access line per month to 5 cents per access line per month to comply with the requirements of § 40-17-103(3), C.R.S.

2. Every month, no later than the last day of the month, for the preceding month each local exchange provider shall remit the amount due to the Commission and the completed “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Surcharge” form available from the Commission’s website.

3. The uniform charge of 5 cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber’s bill as a separate line item and shall be listed as the “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Fund.”  
4. Each telecommunications service provider, as a participant in the Telecommunications Relay Services, shall make changes to its tariff by a compliance advice letter, if necessary, to reflect the current rate element for the Telecommunications Relay Services Surcharge.  The required advice letter shall not be filed in this Proceeding; rather, the compliance advice letter shall be a new filing containing all of the information required by Rule 1210 of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-1.  The compliance advice letter shall be filed on not less than one day’s notice, citing this Decision as authority, to be effective January 1, 2014.
5. Pursuant to Rule 2895 of 4 CCR 723-2, utilities failing to file the required compliance filing could be subject to a fine of up to $500.00.

6. The 20-day time period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Decision.

7. This Decision is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
November 6, 2013.
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