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I. STATEMENT
1. This docket concerns Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (CPAN) No.97190 104099 issued by Staff of the Public Utilities Commission (Staff) onDecember 29, 2010 July 10, 2012 against Valierie Main, doing business as, Knight's Eye Recovery SolutionsK & J Towing Storage (Respondent or K&J).  The CPAN assessed a total penalty of $1,210.00 including an additional 10 percent surcharge for 1 violation of specified provisions of Rule 6511 of the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6.  See Hearing Exhibit 5.

2. On July 18, 2012, Respondent acknowledged receipt of CPAN No.104099 by certified mail.  See Exhibit 6.  That action commenced this proceeding.  The violation date was alleged on June 5, 2012.

3. On August 22, 2012, by Minute Entry, the Commission referred this matter to the undersigned administrative law judge (ALJ).   

4. By Decision No. R12-1005-I, dated August 27, 2012, a hearing was scheduled in this matter to commence on October 16, 2012. 

5. At the assigned time and place, the undersigned ALJ called the matter for hearing.  Staff appeared through Counsel.  Respondent did not appear.  During the course of the hearing, Exhibits 1 through 6 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  Mr. Tony Cummings, Criminal Investigator for the Commission, testified in support of the allegations contained in CPAN No. 104099.  

6. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT 
7. Mr. Cummings is a criminal investigator for the Commission. As part of his duties, he investigates complaints regarding towing carriers’ compliance with applicable rules and Colorado law.  He testified regarding the issuance of the CPAN.

8. Respondent is a towing carrier whose Commission authority was revoked as of July 19, 2012. 
9. In June of 2012, the Commission was notified by Mr. Thomas Pratt that K&J had charged him an afterhours fee for the release of his vehicle at 1:45 p.m. on the afternoon on June 5, 2012. 
10. Normal business hours are Monday thru Friday between the hours 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
11. On June 18, 2012, a correspondence took place between K&J and Staff via e-mail in which K&J admitted that the afterhours release fee was in error and agreed to reimburse Mr. Pratt the $66.00 afterhours release fee. See Exhibit 2.  
12. A check dated June 20, 2012 was sent to Mr. Pratt to reimburse him for the afterhours fee of $66.00. See Exhibit 3. The check was from Nitro Recovery Inc. which has merged with K&J. 

13. Investigations are currently being conducted by the Public Utilities Commission on the activities of Nitro Recovery Inc.

14. Hearing Exhibits 1, 2, and the testimony of Mr. Cummings evidences an admission that the tow at issue was a non-consensual tow. 
15. Hearing Exhibits 2, 3, and the testimony of Mr. Cummings evidences that Mr. Pratt was charged an afterhours fee of $66.00 for release of his vehicle during normal business hours.
16. Hearing Exhibit 3, corroborated by the testimony of Mr. Cummings, evidences that Mr. Pratt was reimbursed the $66.00 he was charged for an afterhours release of his vehicle.
17. Hearing Exhibit 4 is an official record of the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies.  The exhibit, supported by the testimony of Mr. Cummings, establishes the company received a warning on May 10, 2012 for charging an afterhours charge during normal business hours. 

III. CONCLUSIONS

18. The Commission has prescribed rules and regulations governing towing carriers for the effective administration of Article 13 of Title 40 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. 
§ 40-13-107, C.R.S.
19. Commission enforcement personnel have authority to issue CPANs under 
§ 40-7-116, C.R.S.  That statute provides that the Commission has the burden of demonstrating a violation by a preponderance of the evidence.  The Commission only has penalty assessment authority to the extent provided by statute and the Commission must follow the provisions of those statutes when it imposes such penalties against towing carriers.  

20. Except as otherwise provided by statute, the Administrative Procedure Act imposes the burden of proof in administrative adjudicatory proceedings upon "the proponent of an order."  § 24-4-105(7), C.R.S.  As provided in Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-1-1500, Rules of Practice and Procedure, “[t]he proponent of the order is that party commencing a proceeding.”  Staff, as Complainant is the proponent since it commenced the proceeding and seeks an order for relief pursuant to the CPAN.  Staff bears the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence.  See, § 13-25-127(1), C.R.S.; 4 CCR 723-1-1500.  The preponderance standard requires the finder of fact to determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its non‑existence.  Swain v. Colorado Dept. of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507 (Colo. App. 1985).  While the quantum of evidence that constitutes a preponderance cannot be reduced to a simple formula, a party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole and however slightly, tips in favor of that party.
21. Section 40-7-116, C.R.S., mandates a number of procedures for the imposition of civil penalties by the Commission.  After specifying that the listed officials are the ones authorized to issue civil penalty assessments for violations of law, § 40-7-116(1)(a), C.R.S.,  states that, When a person is cited for the violation, the person operating the motor vehicle involved shall be given notice of such violation in the form of a civil penalty assessment notice.”  Section 40-7-116(1)(b), C.R.S., further directs that the civil penalty assessment notice:

shall be tendered by the enforcement official, … [and that it] shall contain:

(I)
The name and address of the person cited for the violation; 
(II)
A citation to the specific statute or rule alleged to have been violated; 
(III)
A brief description of the alleged violation, the date and approximate location of the alleged violation, and the maximum penalty amounts prescribed for the violation; 
(IV)
The date of the notice; 
(V)
A place for the person to execute a signed acknowledgment of receipt of the civil penalty assessment notice; 
(VI)
A place for the  person to execute a signed acknowledgment of liability for the violation; and 
(VII)
Such other information as may be required by law to constitute notice of a complaint to appear for hearing if the prescribed penalty is not paid within ten days.” 
§ 40-7-116(b), C.R.S.

22. The Commission has subject matter jurisdiction over this case and personal jurisdiction over Respondent.  

23. A non-consensual tow is defined by Rule 6501(h), 4 CCR 723-6. 
24. Normal business hours are defined as between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Monday thru Friday. § 40-13-103, C.R.S., and Rule 6501(g). A towing company may charge an afterhours release fee for the release of any vehicle at a time other than what has been defined as normal business hours.
25. Rules 6500 through 6599 apply to all towing carriers, and to all operations concerning towing carriers, applicants, employees, and drivers.
26. Towing carriers are affected with a public interest and subject to regulation as provided in §§ 40-7-112 to 40-7-116, and § 40-13-102(1), C.R.S.

27. A towing carrier is a “person whose primary function or one of whose primary functions consists of:  (a) Commercially offering services on the public ways of the state whereby motor vehicles are towed or otherwise moved by use of a towing vehicle; and (b) If provided, the storing of such towed motor vehicles.”  § 40-13-101(3), C.R.S.

28. Staff met its burden of proof to show that K&J, charged an afterhours release fee during normal business hours, in violation of Colorado law and Commission rules.  

29. Having found the above violation of the cited regulation, it is necessary to determine the amount of the civil penalty to be assessed for these violations.  Section 40-7-113, C.R.S., authorizes the Commission to consider aggravating or mitigating circumstances surrounding particular violations in order to fashion a penalty assessment that promotes the underlying purpose of such assessments.  

30. Pursuant to Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-1-1302(b):

The Commission may impose a civil penalty …[i]n a contested proceeding … after considering evidence concerning some or all of the following factors:

(i)
The nature, circumstances, and gravity of the violation;

(ii)
The degree of the respondent’s culpability;

(iii)
The respondent’s history of prior offenses;

(iv)
The respondent’s ability to pay;

(v)
Any good faith efforts by the respondent in attempting to achieve compliance and to prevent future similar violations;

(vi)
The effect on the respondent’s ability to continue in business;

(vii)
The size of the business of the respondent; and

(viii)
Such other factors as equity and fairness may require.
31. As to factors in mitigation, Staff notes that Respondent has reimbursed Mr. Pratt the afterhours release fee. 

32. As to aggravating factors, Staff notes the Respondent had been given a written warning for the same violation four weeks earlier.

33. The maximum civil penalty for these violations is $1,210.00 (including surcharge).
34. Based on the evidence presented, findings of fact, and discussion above, the ALJ finds that the maximum civil penalty should be assessed. The Respondent has continued to engage activities in violation of Commission rules. The fact that this violation occurred only a few weeks after the Respondent was warned about this behavior, it is the conclusion of the undersigned ALJ that this violation was a knowing violation and will continue unless the Respondent is shown it will not be tolerated.

35. The ALJ finds that the civil penalty imposed achieves the following purposes underlying civil penalty assessments to protect the safety of those affected to the maximum extent possible within the Commission’s jurisdiction:  (a) deterring future violations, whether by other similarly situated carriers or by Respondent; (b) motivating Respondent to come into compliance with the law; and (c) punishing Respondent for past illegal behavior. 

36. The total civil penalty to be assessed for such violations is $1,210.00, including a 10 percent surcharge.  

37. Pursuant to § 40-6-109(2), C.R.S., the ALJ recommends that the Commission enter the following order.  

IV. ORDER
A. The Commission Orders That:

1. RespondentValerie Main, doing business as, Knight's Eye Recovery Solutions K & J Towing is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $1,100.00 in connection with a violation of Count 1 of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice No.104099, with an additional 10 percent surcharge, for a total amount of $1,210.00.  Respondent shall pay the total assessed penalty of $1,210.00 within ten days of the effective date of this Order.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by §40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the Recommended Decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of §40-6-114, C.R.S.

If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in §40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


ROBERT I. GARVEY
________________________________
                     Administrative Law Judge
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