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I. STATEMENT
1. On October 4, 2011, a Criminal Investigator for Staff of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (Staff) served Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (CPAN) No. 99460 on Mr. Dennis D. Forst, doing business as Need-a-Ride (Respondent), in person.  On that same date, the Criminal Investigator affirmed that Respondent received and signed for the CPAN.

2. Staff charged Respondent with three violations on October 4, 2011.  The violations charged include: 1) operating or offering to operate as a common carrier without an operating authority issued by the Commission in violation of § 40-10.1-201(1), C.R.S., for a penalty assessment of $1,100.00; 2) no evidence of motor vehicle liability insurance in violation of Commission Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6-6007(a)(I) or 6007(b)(I)(B) for a penalty assessment of $11,000.00; and, 3) no evidence of liability insurance on file with the Commission in violation of 4 CCR 
723-6-6007(f)(I)(A) for a penalty assessment of $275.00;  The total penalty sought, including a 15 percent penalty surcharge for each penalty assessment pursuant to § 24-34-108, C.R.S., is $13,612.50.

3. This matter was set for hearing on November 30, 2011 in a Commission Hearing Room in Denver, Colorado.  At the assigned place and time the undersigned administrative law judge (ALJ) called the matter for hearing.  Appearances were entered by Commission Transportation Staff and for Respondent, appearing pro se.  During the course of the hearing, testimony was received from Investigator Ms. Monita Pacheco, a criminal investigator with the Colorado Public Utilities Commission; and from Respondent, Mr. Dennis D. Forst.  Exhibit No. 1 was identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of the hearing, the undersigned ALJ took the matter under advisement.

4. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ hereby transmits to the Commission the record of this proceeding, a written recommended decision containing findings of fact and conclusions of law, and a recommended order.

II. FINDINGS OF FACT
5. Ms. Monita Pacheco is a Criminal Investigator for the Commission.  As part of her duties, she performs safety and compliance reviews on carriers that are regulated by the Commission and investigates complaints.

6. Based on a complaint filed with Transportation Staff by a certificated carrier in the Evergreen, Colorado area on March 9, 2011 that a person was operating as a transportation carrier in that area without authority, Ms. Pacheco opened an investigation on Respondent.  According to Ms. Pacheco’s testimony, she initially called the Respondent on the phone on April 8, 2011 and inquired whether he would be willing to give her a ride.  Ms. Pacheco further testified that Respondent told her that he could give her a ride and quoted a price of $25.00.  At that point, Ms. Pacheco disclosed to Respondent that she was a Commission Investigator and conveyed to him the consequences for operating without a certificate of public convenience and necessity (CPCN), including possible fines in excess of $12,000.00.  According to Ms. Pacheco’s testimony, Respondent indicated he understood and would cease to operate.

7. Ms. Pacheco testified that subsequently, on April 25, 2011, she received a copy of a newspaper article from the Evergreen area certificated carrier which demonstrated that Respondent was continuing to operate as a taxicab without Commission authority, despite the verbal warning given to Respondent on April 8, 2011.

8. On October 4, 2011, Ms. Pacheco stated that she, along with Commission Investigator Schlitter, traveled to Evergreen in order to determine whether Respondent was still operating.  Investigators Pacheco and Schlitter arrived at the Cactus Jack’s bar in Evergreen, at which point, Ms. Pacheco called Respondent and stated that she needed a ride from Cactus Jack’s to a residence located in Evergreen.  She specifically asked Respondent if he could provide transportation for her.  According to Ms. Pacheco’s testimony, Respondent stated that he could provide her a ride, when he dropped off a passenger for which he was currently providing taxi service.  Respondent further indicated that the cost of the ride would be $10.00 since the distance was less than ten miles.  

9. Ms. Pacheco further testified that Respondent stated to her that he would go into Cactus Jack’s bar and find her.  Ms. Pacheco proceeded into the bar and at approximately 2:30 p.m. Respondent entered the bar, at which time Ms. Pacheco introduced herself as his passenger.  Ms. Pacheco testified that she asked whether Respondent was there to give her a ride, at which point Respondent indicated that he was.  Respondent also answered “yes” when Ms. Pacheco asked him if he was Dennis.  

10. Upon walking out of Cactus Jack’s to Respondent’s car, Ms. Pacheco identified herself and Mr. Schlitter as investigators for the Commission and stated to Respondent that he was in violation of state law and Commission regulations and explained those violations as listed in the CPAN to Respondent.  At that time, Respondent was served with CPAN No. 99460 for violations of § 40-10.1-201(1), C.R.S., for operating as a transportation carrier without operating authority; 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(I) or 6007(b)(I)(B) for operating as a transportation carrier with no evidence of liability insurance; and 4 CCR 723-6-6007(f)(I)(A), for no proof of liability insurance on file with the Commission.

11. Ms. Pacheco stated that prior to issuing Respondent CPAN No. 99460, she verified through the Commission database that Respondent did not have a CPCN to operate as a transportation provider, nor did he have evidence of liability insurance on file with the Commission.

12. Respondent appeared at the hearing pro se and testified on his own behalf.  No other witnesses appeared on behalf of Respondent.

13. Respondent did not disagree with Ms. Pacheco’s testimony nor refute her statements in any fashion.  Rather, Respondent stated that he was not aware that a CPCN was necessary to operate as a taxicab and he did not know who to contact to see about applying for authority.  

14. Respondent further testified that when he began offering taxi service in the Evergreen area, there was no other transportation alternative.  Respondent further admits that he has been providing taxi service in the Evergreen area for at least seven years.  Respondent explains that he was providing service for friends and that any money he received for taxi service was merely a donation for his ministry.  Respondent indicated that he requested donations of $10.00 for local transportation in the Evergreen area and $20.00 for trips to Golden or downtown Denver.

15. Respondent testified that he provided business cards with the name Need-a-Ride, as well as his name and phone number, which he leaves at various bars in the Evergreen area.  Respondent further testified that he operates his taxi service from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m. on weekends and from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on weekdays.  Respondent indicated that he typically is not acquainted with the passengers he transports.  

III. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS
16. The Commission has subject matter jurisdiction over this matter and personal jurisdiction over the Respondent pursuant to §§ 40-1-103 and 40-10.1-102, C.R.S.

17. Commission enforcement personnel have authority to issue CPANs under 
§ 40-7-116, C.R.S.  That statute provides that the Commission has the burden of demonstrating a violation by a preponderance of the evidence.  The preponderance standard requires the finder of fact to determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its 
non-existence.  Swain v. Colorado Department of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507 (Colo. App. 1985).  A party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole, slightly tips in favor of that party
18. Section 40-10.1-201(1), C.R.S., provides as follows:

A person shall not operate or offer to operate as a common carrier in intrastate commerce without first having obtained from the commission a certificate declaring that the present or future public convenience and necessity requires or will require such operation.

19. The term “Motor Carrier” is defined in § 40-10.1-101(10), C.R.S., as:

any person owning, controlling, operating, or managing any motor vehicle that provides transportation in intrastate commerce pursuant to [article 10.1].

20. The term “Intrastate Commerce” is defined in § 40-10.1-101(9), C.R.S., as:

transportation for compensation by motor vehicles over the public highways between points in this state.

21. “Common Carrier” is defined in § 40-1-102(3)(a)(I), C.R.S., as:

Every person … affording a means of transportation, or any service or facility in connection therewith, within this state by motor vehicle or other vehicle whatever by indiscriminately accepting and carrying passengers for compensation …

The term “Compensation” is defined in §§ 40-1-102(4) and 
40-10.1-101(5), C.R.S. as:
any money, property, service, or thing of value charged or received, or to be charged or received, whether directly or indirectly.  (Emphasis supplied)

22. Pursuant to Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1-1302(b):

The Commission may impose a civil penalty … in a contested proceeding … after considering evidence concerning some or all of the following factors:

(I)
The nature, circumstances, and gravity of the violation;

(II)
The degree of the respondent’s culpability;

(III)
The respondent’s history of prior offenses;

(IV).
The respondent’s ability to pay;

(V)
Any good faith efforts by the respondent in attempting to achieve compliance and to prevent future similar violations;

(VI)
The effect on the respondent’s ability to continue in business;

(VII)
The size of the business of the respondent; and

(VIII)
Such other factors as equity and fairness may require.

23. The record evidence in this matter clearly establishes that Respondent operated as a common carrier in intrastate commerce within the State of Colorado for compensation without Commission authority to do so.  Respondent admitted as much.  Additionally, while Respondent stated that he only received “donations” for his service, it is uncontroverted that he in fact requested a specific fee for transportation within Evergreen and outside of Evergreen.  While Respondent characterizes his fees as a donation, it is found that he nonetheless received compensation for providing common carrier passage in contravention of the law.

24. Respondent did not attempt to controvert any of the testimony of Commission witness Ms. Pacheco.  His only defense was that he was merely performing a service for friends.  In fact, Respondent readily admitted that he had been providing taxi service in the Evergreen area for the last seven years without Commission authority.  He further admitted that he provided such taxi service at regular hours throughout the week and advertised his taxi services by providing business cards at various locations in Evergreen with his name and phone number.  As a result, it is found that Staff has met its burden of proof in this matter.  Therefore, it is found that Respondent is culpable as to count 1 of CPAN No. 99460 and in violation of the provisions of § 40-10.1-201(1), C.R.S., by providing common carrier taxi service in the State of Colorado without obtaining authority from the Commission prior to providing such service.  
25. Regarding counts 2 and 3 of the CPAN, it is found that Staff also has met its burden of proof that Respondent had no evidence of liability insurance nor was there evidence of liability insurance on file with the Commission in violation of 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(I), 6007(b)(I)(B), and 723-6-6007(f)(I)(A).  While Respondent stated that he did have liability insurance, he provided no proof of insurance or whether such coverage was a commercial policy or for the required amounts as required by Commission regulations.  Therefore, it is found that Respondent is culpable as to counts 2 and 3 of CPAN No. 99460.  
26. Pursuant to Commission Rule 1302(b), Rules of Practice and Procedure: 

[T]he Commission may impose a civil penalty, when provided by law, after considering evidence concerning … the following factors:

(I)
The nature, circumstances, and gravity of the violation;

(II)
The degree of the respondent's culpability;

(III)
The respondent's history of prior offenses;

(IV)
The respondent's ability to pay;

(V)
Any good faith efforts by the respondent in attempting to achieve compliance and to prevent future similar violations;

(VI)
The effect on the respondent's ability to continue in business;

(VII)
The size of the business of the respondent; and

(VIII)
Such other factors as equity and fairness may require. 

27. For the violation of count 1, violation of § 40-10.1-201(1), C.R.S., operating or offering to operate as a common carrier in taxi service without operating authority, it is found that Respondent should be assessed a civil penalty for this violation.
28. For the violation of counts 2 and 3, violation of 4 CCR 723-6-6007(a)(I), 4 CCR 723-6-6007(b)(I)(B), and 4 CCR 723-6-6007(f)(I)(A), it is found that Respondent should be assessed a civil penalty for each of these violations.

29. Respondent offered no defense or mitigating factors for the violations of the above laws and regulations.  Despite receiving a verbal warning from Ms. Pacheco on April 8, 2011, Respondent continued to provide taxi service even though he was then aware, or should have been aware that his activities were illegal.  Further, Respondent did not indicate that he would discontinue providing illegal taxi service.  The only mitigating factor is that this is Respondent’s first CPAN violation.  It is found that the aggregating factors far outweigh the sole mitigating factor in this matter and as a result, warrant the maximum permissible penalty as to counts 1 through 3.  

30. The Commission’s paramount responsibility is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the traveling public.  Respondent substantially disregarded his responsibilities to this Commission and to the public.
31. It is found that the CPAN achieves the following purposes underlying civil penalty assessments to the maximum extent possible within the Commission’s jurisdiction:  (a) deterring future violations, whether by other similarly situated carriers or by Respondent; (b) motivating Respondent to come into compliance with the law; and (c) punishing Respondent for past illegal behavior.
32. Because Staff has sustained its burden of proving the allegations contained in counts 1 through 3 of CPAN No. 99460 by a preponderance of the evidence, and because the aggravating factors in this matter far outweigh any mitigating factors, it is found that the appropriate civil penalty assessment for those violations is the maximum amount of $13,612.50, including the applicable statutory surcharge.
33. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.
IV. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Respondent, Mr. Dennis D. Forst, individually, and in his capacity as principal of Need-a-Ride (Respondent) is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $13,612.50, including a statutory 10 percent penalty surcharge for violation of counts 1, 2, and 3 of CPAN No. 99460.

2. Respondent shall pay the total assessed penalty of $13,612.50 within 30 days of the effective date of this Order.

3. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

4. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.

If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service, or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

5. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO



PAUL C. GOMEZ
________________________________

Administrative Law Judge
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