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I. STATEMENT
1. On June 24, 2011, Commission Transportation Staff (Staff) issued a letter to Ms. Julie Elizabeth McCutchen (Petitioner) indicating that pursuant to §§ 40-10-105.5 and 40‑16-104.5, C.R.S., and Commission Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-6-6105, Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicle, it had made a determination that Petitioner was disqualified from eligibility to drive for exempt passenger carriers and/or taxi carriers.  The letter also provided that Petitioner may, within 60 days of the disqualification notice, petition the Commission for an order reversing Staff’s initial determination, as provided by Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-6-6105(j)(III).

2. On June 30, 2011, Petitioner filed a letter with the Commission seeking to appeal the initial disqualification determination by Staff (Petition).  The Petition was filed in a timely manner.

3. On July 14, 2011, Staff filed its Notice of Intervention, Entry of Appearance, and Notice Pursuant to Rule 1007(a).

4. On July 13, 2011, the Commission referred the matter to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) for disposition.  The matter was subsequently assigned to the undersigned ALJ.

5. This matter was set for hearing on July 27, 2011.  At the scheduled date and time, the proceeding was convened.  Appearances were entered by Petitioner and by the Colorado Attorney General’s Office on behalf of Staff.  

II. FINDINGS OF FACT
6. Petitioner is a taxicab driver for Yellow Cab of Colorado Springs (YCCS) and has held that position for approximately one month.  According to Staff witness Mr. Tony Cummings, a Criminal Investigator with the Commission, pursuant to §§ 40-10-105.5 and 40‑16‑104.5, C.R.S., the Commission obtained information from the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) that Petitioner had been arrested on a class 3 felony charge of theft by receiving and subsequently was found guilty and sentenced to community corrections for a period of four years, as well as required to pay $73,163.61.  In addition, Petitioner was also arrested for possession of a controlled substance with the intent to distribute and was sentenced for this felony concurrently with the previously mentioned felony. (See, Hearing Exhibit Nos. 1 and 2).  

7. On June 24, 2011, Staff sent Petitioner a letter indicating that pursuant to §§ 40‑10-105.5 and 40-16-104.5, C.R.S., and Commission Rule 6105, Staff made a determination that Petitioner was disqualified to drive for exempt passenger carriers and/or taxi carriers (see, Hearing Exhibit No. 3).  The letter further stated that Petitioner had 60 days from the date of the disqualification letter to petition the Commission for an order reversing Staff’s initial determination.

8. Upon direct examination, Mr. Cummings stated that his investigation of Petitioner included the information obtained from the CBI and obtaining a copy of the sentencing report from the El Paso County District Court.  

9. Petitioner testified on her own behalf.  She testified that she served seven months in a diversion program and worked for Goodwill Industries for approximately five years.  She is currently purchasing a trailer home and lives with her two children, a son who is 20 years old and a daughter who is 16 years old.  

10. Petitioner also entered several exhibits into evidence.  Hearing Exhibit No. 4 is a copy of her State of Colorado Motor Vehicle driving record.  Petitioner concedes that she was involved in two accidents that each resulted in citations for careless driving.  Both citations were reduced to lesser offenses including following too closely, and driving with defective headlamps.

11. Petitioner maintains that she is leading an exemplary life now and is trying to maintain a good relationship with her children and attempting to serve as a positive role model for them despite her past transgressions.  

12. Petitioner also entered into evidence Hearing Exhibit No. 5, which is a letter from the general manager of YCCS, Mr. Fred Hair.  According to Mr. Hair, it is his opinion that Petitioner seems unlikely to repeat the offenses for which she was convicted.  He also indicates that Petitioner would be welcomed as a driver at YCCS should the Commission reverse Staff’s initial disqualification determination.  

13. Petitioner also entered into evidence Hearing Exhibit Nos. 6, 7, and 8, which are letters of support from various friends and colleagues.  The letters of support generally describe the progress made by Petitioner over the last several years and her resolve to improve her circumstances.  

14. Additionally, Mr. Jeremy Tipton, a manager at YCCS also testified on behalf of Petitioner.  According to Mr. Tipton, Petitioner, in her short tenure with YCCS appeared to be an exemplary employee and was a responsible driver.  Mr. Tipton also testified that he was familiar with Petitioner as a friend and was willing to vouch for her credibility.  

15. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the ALJ hereby transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits of this proceeding, as well as a recommended decision.

III. ANALYSIS AND CONCLUSIONS
16. Section 40-10-105.5, C.R.S., in relevant part provides as follows:

(1)
An individual who wishes to become employed or who contracts to drive a taxicab for a holder of a certificate of public convenience and necessity that contains authority to operate as a taxicab shall submit a set of his or her fingerprints to the commission.  The commission shall forward the fingerprints to the Colorado bureau of investigation for the purpose of obtaining a fingerprint‑based criminal history record check.  … The commission shall be the authorized agency to receive information regarding the result of a national criminal history record check.

17. That section further provides that:

(4)
An individual whose criminal history record is checked pursuant to this section shall be disqualified and prohibited from driving a taxicab for a holder of a certificate of public convenience and necessity that contains authority to operate as a taxicab if the criminal history record check reflects that:

(a)
The individual is not of good moral character, as determined by the commission based on the results of the criminal history record check required by this section;

(b)(1)
The individual has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.

(4.5)
The commission shall consider the information resulting from the criminal history record check in its determination as to whether the individual has met the standards set forth in section 24-5-101 (2), C.R.S.

(5)
The commission shall, consistent with the requirements of this section, promulgate rules concerning the employment of, contracting with, and retention of an individual whose criminal history record is checked pursuant to this section.

18. While the term “moral turpitude” is not fully defined in the statute, as most relevant to the matter at hand, the Commission has defined that term in 4 CCR 723-6-6105(f)(II) as follows:

(II)
For purposes of Commission Staff’s initial qualification determination under paragraph (j) of this rule, a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude means:

(D)
a conviction in the State of Colorado, within the eight years preceding the date the criminal history record check is completed, of any class 3 felony under Title 18, C.R.S.

19. Once Staff has made its initial disqualification determination under Rule 6105(f), the driver may, within 60 days of Staff’s written disqualification notice, petition the Commission to reverse Staff’s initial determination pursuant to Rule 6105(j)(III).  

20. Rule 6105(j)(IV) sets out the procedure for a driver to appeal Staff’s initial determination to disqualify the driver.  That rule requires that Staff be an indispensable party and bears the burden of going forward to demonstrate the reasons for its initial determination (Rule 6105(j)(IV)(A)).  The driver then bears the burden of proving that Staff’s initial determination is not supported by fact or law (Rule 6105(j)(IV)(B)).  The Commission is to consider the driver’s petition using the standards set forth in § 24-5-101(2), C.R.S.  

21. The burden of proof and the burden of going forward is on the party that is the proponent of an order.  The proponent of an order is that party commencing a proceeding (Rules of Practice and Procedure, 4 CCR 723-1-1500) (See, also § 13-25-127(1), C.R.S.; § 24-4-205(7), C.R.S.).  The burden of proof in Commission proceedings is by a preponderance of the evidence.  The evidence must be substantial.  Substantial evidence is defined as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable person’s mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion ...  it must be enough to justify, if a trial were to a jury, a refusal to direct a verdict when the conclusion sought to be drawn from it is one of fact for the jury.”  City of Boulder v. Colorado Public Utilities Commission, 996 P.2d 1270, 1278 (Colo. 2000) (internal citation omitted).  The preponderance standard requires the finder of fact to determine whether the existence of a contested fact is more probable than its non-existence.  Swain v. Colorado Department of Revenue, 717 P.2d 507 (Colo. App. 1985).  A party has met this burden of proof when the evidence, on the whole and however slightly, tips in favor of that party.

22. Here, there is no doubt Staff acted in accordance with the statute and Commission regulations in reaching its decision to disqualify Petitioner.  As Mr. Cummings testified, Staff received Petitioner’s rap sheet from the CBI, which indicated an arrest and conviction for a class 3 felony for theft by receiving and possession with intent to distribute a schedule 2 controlled substance.  Upon further investigation, Staff obtained a copy of the Sentence Report from the El Paso County District Court which indicated that Petitioner was convicted of the aforementioned felonies and was sentenced to community corrections for a period of four years.  

23. Rule 6105(f)(II)(E) requires disqualification of a driver who has been convicted of any class 3 felony within the eight years preceding the date of the criminal history check.  It is clear that Staff followed those requirements rigorously and the conclusion it reached to disqualify Petitioner was based squarely within the terms of Commission regulations and relevant law.  Therefore, it is found that Staff met its burden of going forward to demonstrate the reasons for its initial determination under Rule 6105(j)(IV)(A).

24. As indicated above, in determining whether to reverse Staff’s initial determination to disqualify a driver who has been convicted of a class 4 felony, the Commission must consider, inter alia, the standards set forth in § 24-5-101(2), C.R.S.  That section states as follows:

Whenever any state or local agency is required to make a finding that an applicant for a license, certification, permit, or registration is a person of good moral character as a condition to the issuance thereof, the fact that such applicant has, at some time prior thereto, been convicted of a felony or other offense involving moral turpitude, and pertinent circumstances connected with such conviction, shall be given consideration in determining whether, in fact, the applicant is a person of good moral character at the time of the application.  The intent of this section is to expand employment opportunities for persons who, notwithstanding that fact of conviction of an offense, have been rehabilitated and are ready to accept the responsibilities of a law-abiding and productive member of society.

The intent of the statute in general is to not prevent persons from obtaining licenses or permits required by the laws of Colorado or to follow any business, occupation, or profession merely by virtue of the fact that the person has been convicted of a felony or other offense involving moral turpitude.  Watson v. Cronin, 384 F. Supp. 652 (D. Colo. 1974) (Strong public policy of Colorado is to aide ex-offenders in their rehabilitation to society and to insure that they are not discriminated against solely because they, at one time, were convicted of crimes).

25. In addition to the public policy standards of § 24-5-101, C.R.S., the Commission’s constitutional and statutory charge to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public must also be considered.  These two important considerations must be carefully weighed to determine whether to overturn Staff’s initial disqualification determination.

26. As stated previously, Staff fulfilled its duty fully in its initial determination to disqualify Petitioner from driving a taxicab.  Consequently, the burden of proof then shifts to Petitioner to prove that Staff’s initial determination is not supported by fact or law.  4 CCR 723‑6-6105(j)(IV)(B).  In this instance, Petitioner did not sustain her burden of proof.  In fact, on cross-examination, Petitioner conceded that Staff’s investigation and representation of her criminal history was correct and that she indeed was convicted of the crimes indicated by Staff.

27. Nonetheless, under Rule 6105(j)(IV)(C), it must be determined whether other circumstances warrant allowing Petitioner to continue driving despite her conviction of a criminal offense of theft by receiving, a class 3 felony, and her concurrent conviction for possession of a schedule 2 controlled substance.

28. In testifying on her own behalf, Petitioner provided compelling testimony as to her efforts to rehabilitate herself.  Her testimony further demonstrates that she has taken considerable strides to overcome her past transgressions and continues her efforts to be a responsible parent and member of the community.  Petitioner appears appropriately remorseful for her criminal history.  In addition, while the letters of support are all hearsay, they nonetheless convey a significant level of support for Petitioner which is crucial in her success.  

29. The underlying crime should also be considered in determining whether it is appropriate to disqualify Petitioner.  It cannot be denied that a felony is a serious crime.  A class 3 felony, at least for purposes of sentencing, is in the mid-point of the felony classes (which are categorized from class 1, being the most egregious to class 6).  While a class 3 felony is certainly egregious, it is not the most serious of offenses possible.  Additionally, there is no indication that any extraordinary or aggravating circumstances were attached to the charge of theft; nor were any other sentence-enhancing circumstances presented surrounding the crime of theft by receiving or possession with intent to distribute a controlled substance.  

30. These mitigating circumstances, taken together with the public policy considerations of §24-5-101, C.R.S., lead to the finding that it is appropriate under these circumstances to grant the Petition to reverse Staff’s initial determination to disqualify Petitioner.  It is further found that Petitioner does not pose a risk to the health, safety, or welfare of the traveling public.  As a result, Petitioner is qualified to drive a taxicab.  However, the grant of the Petition is conditioned on Petitioner’s compliance with the laws of this state and the rules and regulations governing taxi drivers.  

31. While it appears to the undersigned ALJ that Petitioner deserves the opportunity to drive a taxi for YCCS; nonetheless, the fact remains that she was convicted of a crime of moral turpitude within the timeframes designated in Commission Rule 6105.  As a result, attached to the grant of the Petition are several conditions.  First, in the event that Petitioner is arrested for any misdemeanor or felony which falls under the category of “moral turpitude” as defined in Rule 6105, Petitioner or YCCS shall report such arrest within ten days to Commission Transportation Staff.  Any determination by Staff that Petitioner has committed any crime which would result in disqualification pursuant to the relevant statutes or Commission Rules will result in the immediate revocation of the findings of this Order and Petitioner shall be disqualified from eligibility to drive for exempt passenger carriers and/or taxi carriers.  

32. Further, given Petitioner’s driving record as entered into evidence as Hearing Exhibit No. 4, Petitioner shall report any moving violations to her supervisor at YCCS immediately upon receiving such violation.  The supervisor will then report that violation to Commission Transportation Staff within five days of learning of the violation.  Commission Transportation Staff may take any action it deems appropriate under the law and Commission regulations.  

33. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

IV. ORDER
A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The Petition of Julie Elizabeth McCutchen to Reverse the Initial Driver Disqualification Determination Pursuant to Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6-6105 is granted with conditions.

2. Ms. Julie Elizabeth McCutchen is eligible to drive for exempt passenger carriers and/or taxi carriers under the jurisdiction of the Commission under the conditions set out above in Paragraph Nos. 30 through 32.

3. In the event Ms. Julie Elizabeth McCutchen breaches any of the conditions set out in this Order, the findings of this Order shall be revoked and Ms. Julie Elizabeth McCutchen shall be disqualified from eligibility to drive for exempt passenger carriers and/or taxi carriers under the jurisdiction of the Commission.

4. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.

5. As provided by §40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a)
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the Recommended Decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of §40-6-114, C.R.S.

b)
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in §40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

6. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO



PAUL C. GOMEZ
________________________________

Administrative Law Judge
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