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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement, Findings, and Conclusions

1. The issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice or Notice of Complaint to Appear No. 99890 (CPAN) on June 27, 2011, commenced this proceeding against Colorado Cab Company, LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab (Respondent).
2. The penalty consisted of $275.00 for each of 657 violations of Rule 6105(g) of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Vehicles, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6, permitting drivers who have not submitted their fingerprints for a background check to drive.  The CPAN alleges that the violations occurred from December 2010, through April 2011.

3. In the CPAN, Staff of the Commission (Staff) requests that Respondent be assessed the maximum civil penalty of $275.00 plus the 10 percent surcharge required by § 24‑34-108, C.R.S., for a total assessment of $302.50 for each alleged violation.  The CPAN assessed Respondent a total penalty of $198,742.50.
4. On July 7, 2011, Respondent paid a penalty amount of $63,365.00 to the Commission.

5. On July 14, 2011, counsel for Staff entered his appearance in this matter.
6. On July 15, 2011, Staff filed a Motion to Dismiss.  In the Motion Staff states,

On July 7, 2011, Respondent admitted to eight counts indentified in the CPAN (counts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 10) encompassing 452 separate violations and paid the penalty associated with those violations.  The amount for those violations was paid within ten days of service of the CPAN.  Respondent denied the remaining two counts (counts 5 and 9) encompassing 205 violations.

Upon further investigation, Staff determined that Respondent did not commit the violations with respect to counts 5 and 9.  Staff therefore moves to dismiss counts 5 and 9 in the CPAN.

Motion to Dismiss at pp. 1 and 2.

7. The $63,365.00
 paid on July 7, 2011, by the Respondent is the maximum civil penalty plus the 10 percent surcharge for each violation identified in the CPAN as counts 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, and 10.

8. The Commission finds that Staff’s Motion shows good cause to dismiss counts 5 and 9 and close this docket.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The Motion to Dismiss filed by Staff of the Commission on July 15, 2011, is granted.

2. The payment by Colorado Cab Company, LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab (Respondent) of the reduced penalty amount of $68,365 as set forth in Civil Penalty Assessment Notice or Notice of Complaint to Appear No. 99890 is accepted by the Colorado Public Utilities Commission as full payment of the same.
3. Docket No. 11G-548CP is closed.

4. The 20-day time period provided by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the Commission mails or serves this Order.

5. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS' WEEKLY MEETING
July 21, 2011.
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Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


JOSHUA B. EPEL
________________________________


JAMES K. TARPEY
________________________________



MATT BAKER
________________________________

Commissioners










� The total penalty for the 452 separate violations is $124,300.  The penalty, if paid within ten days of the issuance of the civil penalty assessment, may be reduced by 50 percent.  The penalty after the 50 percent reduction is $62,150.  The 10 percent surcharge results in an additional charge of $6,215.  The total penalty is therefore $68,365.





3

_1219490348.doc
[image: image1.png]Lo




[image: image2.png]





 












