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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. Pursuant to Rule 4403 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Gas Utilities and Pipeline Operators, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-4, a jurisdictional gas utility may require a new or existing customer to pay a deposit if billing records are available and records indicate recent or substantial delinquencies.  Payment of the deposit shall not relieve the customer of the obligation to pay current bills when due.  

2. When a jurisdictional gas utility accepts the deposit, it is obligated to pay simple interest on the amount paid at a percentage rate calculated by the Commission Staff in the manner described in Rule 4403(n)(II).

3. Rule 4403(n)(II) requires the Commission’s Staff to calculate the customer deposit interest rate using a 12-month average of rates quoted in the Federal Reserve Bulletin United States Treasury constant maturities for the period October 1 through September 30 of the preceding year.  This newly calculated simple interest per annum rate is compared to the existing customer deposit rate.  If the difference is 25 basis points or more, then the new rate is to be used beginning January 1 of the following year.  

4. An interest rate change beginning January 1, 2011 is required because the existing rate for calendar year 2010 is 0.63 percent and the newly calculated rate for 2011 is 0.34 percent.  Accordingly, the newly calculated simple interest per annum rate for Gas utilities accepting customer deposits in 2011 will be 0.34 percent.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The simple interest rate on deposits to be paid by jurisdictional Gas utilities for the calendar year 2011 shall be 0.34 percent.

2. A compliance advice letter and tariff change shall be required and should be filed as of December 30, 2010, with an effective date of January 1, 2011.

3. Additional information concerning required action is set forth in the accompanying notice.  If you have any questions, please contact Sandi Kahl, Financial Analyst, at 303-894-2828 or Sandi.Kahl@dora.state.co.us.

4. Pursuant to Rule 4976 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Gas Utilities and Pipeline Operators, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-4, utilities failing to file the required compliance filing could be subject to a fine of up to $500.00.

5. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
October 13, 2010.
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