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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. In 1990, the Colorado Legislature established the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (Fund or LITAP), also called Lifeline.  See § 40-3.4-101, C.R.S., et seq.  In 1991, the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.  See, Rule 2800, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2 et seq.  Rules 2804 and 2805, 4 CCR 723-2, provide for reimbursement to basic local exchange telecommunications providers from the Fund, as well as remittance of any excess collections by providers to the Fund.

2. The Commission established the Fund in conjunction with the Colorado State Treasurer and acts as Administrator of the Fund.  

3. In Decision No. C09-0394, the Commission set the LITAP uniform charge on each access line to seven cents starting June 1, 2009, and stated that it shall calculate reimbursements due for the period of January 1, 2009 through June 30, 2009.  The Commission waived the requirement of Rule 2804(b) requiring calculation of amounts due for reimbursement annually.  For the period July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009, it ordered that providers request reimbursement as required in Rule 2805.

4. We find the following telecommunications providers submitted the number of eligible subscribers receiving low-income telephone assistance and administration costs of the program on the proper Commission form for reimbursement for the provision of low-income telephone assistance in the amounts as stated for the period July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009:

	
	

	Qwest Corporation

$213,071.42

Delta County Telephone Company

$2,118.79

Columbine Telecom Company

$1,145.86

El Paso County Telephone Company

$513.83

Blanca Telephone Company

$1,219.72

Phillips County Telephone Co.
$561.29

Haxtun Telephone Co.

$304.60

Big Sandy Telecom

$494.05

Rye Telephone Company

$6.65

Nucla-Naturita Telephone Company

$206.51

Plains Coop Telephone Assoc.

$220.15

Sunflower Telephone Company

$178.19

Farmers Telephone Company, Inc.

$19.90

Peetz Cooperative Telephone Company

$12.15

Stoneham Cooperative Telephone Corp.

$10.73

Total: July - December 2009

$220,083.84


	

	
	

	
	


5. We further find the following telecommunications providers require additional disbursements for the provision of low-income telephone assistance for the period January 1, through June 30, 2009 more than the amount of disbursements authorized in C09-1372:


	Sunflower Telephone Company
	$15.00

	Stoneham Cooperative Telephone Corp.
	$9.52

	
	

	Total Additional: January - June 2009
	$24.52


II. order

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 2804 and 2805 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Telecommunications Providers, Services, and Products, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-2, the providers listed in paragraph 4 above shall receive reimbursements from the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program, totaling $220,083.84 for the period July 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009.  

2. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 2804 and 2805 of the Commission’s Rules Regulating Telecommunications Providers, Services, and Products, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-2, the providers listed in paragraph 5 above shall receive reimbursements from the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program, totaling $24.52 for the period January 1, 2009 through June 30, 2009.  

3. The Commission may enter subsequent orders should the amounts in this Order change.

4. The 20-day time-period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the effective date of this Order.

5. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING 
May 26, 2010.

	(S E A L)

[image: image1.png]



ATTEST: A TRUE COPY


[image: image2.wmf] 

 

 


Doug Dean, 
Director
	THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO


RONALD J. BINZ
________________________________


JAMES K. TARPEY
________________________________



MATT BAKER
________________________________

Commissioners










4

_1219490348.doc
[image: image1.png]Lo




[image: image2.png]





 












