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I. STATEMENT  

1. On October 23, 2009, the Commission served, by personal service, Civil Penalty Assessment Notice or Notice of Complaint No. 936712 (CPAN) on Colorado Cab Company LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab (Respondent).  That commenced this docket.  

2. The maximum amount of the assessment (i.e., the civil penalty plus the statutorily-required surcharge) for the 12 violations alleged in the CPAN is $3,630.  If Respondent had acknowledged liability for the alleged violations and paid 50 percent of the assessment within ten days of receiving the CPAN, then the assessment would have been reduced by 50 percent (i.e., to $1,815).  CPAN at 3.  

3. When a respondent does not pay within the specified ten-day period, the presumption is that the respondent contests liability for the alleged violations.  November 2, 2009 was the tenth day from Respondent’s receipt of the CPAN.  Respondent did not take action to acknowledge liability and to pay the reduced assessment on or before that date.  

4. On November 10, 2009, Staff of the Commission (Staff) entered its appearance in this docket.  

5. Staff and Respondent are the Parties.  

6. On November 12, 2009, Respondent paid $1,815 to the Commission.  This amount is equal to 50 percent of the assessment (i.e., the maximum civil penalty plus the 10 percent mandatory statutory surcharge) stated on the CPAN.  Respondent made its payment on the 20th day following personal service of the CPAN on Respondent.  

7. On November 19, 2009, by Minute Order the Commission assigned this proceeding to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ).  

8. Because the payment was received after the ten-day period, by Decision No. R09-1338-I (mailed December 1, 2009), the ALJ ordered the Parties to file responses to questions posed in that Order.  The responses were to be filed on or before December 11, 2009.  

9. On December 2, 2009, Respondent paid an additional $1,815 to the Commission and filed an executed acknowledgment of liability in this proceeding.  With the second payment, Respondent paid the maximum amount of the assessment (i.e., $3,630), which is the maximum civil penalty plus the 10 percent mandatory statutory assessment, in full.  

10. On December 11, 2009, Staff made a Joint Filing Pursuant to Decision No. R09-1338-I.  On that same date, Respondent made its filing in response to that Order.  Each filing stated that the assessment was paid in full, that Respondent filed an acknowledgment of liability, and that the docket should be closed.  The Parties are clear that there was no settlement reached in this case.  

II. findings, dISCUSSION, AND CONCLUSION 

11. Respondent is a limited liability company and is represented by counsel.  

12. On October 23, 2009, Staff personally served Respondent with the CPAN.  Respondent does not dispute service.  

13. Respondent does not challenge the Commission’s jurisdiction, and the record establishes the Commission’s jurisdiction in this proceeding.  The Commission has subject matter jurisdiction over this case and personal jurisdiction over Respondent.  

By its executed acknowledgment of liability filed on December 2, 2009, Respondent admits, and on this basis the ALJ finds, that on October 14, 2009, Respondent committed 12 separate violations of Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6-6252(f), as alleged in the CPAN.  The ALJ finds that the Respondent should be assessed a civil penalty for these admitted violations.  

For each violation, the maximum civil penalty is $275.  Thus, the maximum civil penalty for these 12 violations is $3,300.  In addition, § 24-34-108, C.R.S., mandates a surcharge that the Commission must assess in conjunction with a civil penalty.  The surcharge is 10 percent (i.e., $330 in this case).  Thus, the maximum assessment for the 12 admitted violations is $3,630.  

14. As of December 2, 2009, Respondent paid in full the maximum assessment of $3,360 in this case.  Based on Respondent’s payment, the ALJ finds that this is an appropriate civil penalty and assessment.  

15. The ALJ finds and concludes that, with the acknowledgment of liability and the payment by Respondent, this docket should be closed.  

16. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the Administrative Law Judge recommends that the Commission enter the following order.  

III. ORDER  
A. The Commission Orders That:  

1. Colorado Cab Company, LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab, is assessed a civil penalty of $3,300 and, pursuant to § 24-34-108, C.R.S., a mandatory surcharge of 10 percent, for a total assessment of $3,360.  

2. By December 2, 2009, Colorado Cab Company LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab, had paid this total assessment (by check).  

3. Docket No. 09G-760CP is closed.  

4. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

5. As provided by § 40-6-106, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the recommended decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.  

If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse a basic finding of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge; and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.  

6. If exceptions to this Recommended Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.  
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