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I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) was established by the Legislature in 1990.  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S.  In 1991, the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.  4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2800.  Rule 2803(a) provides:

Implementing tariffs shall consist of a twenty-five percent discount for a single local dial tone line and the flat rate usage charge in the principal residence of an eligible subscriber.  Eligible subscribers who pay mileage charges associated with basic telephone service may be eligible for a twenty-five percent discount for these charges.  In no event shall the discount provided be less than the end user common line charges imposed by the Federal Communications Commission.

The discount for eligible subscribers is currently equal to the end user common line charge, which is $6.50.  

2. In order to fund the discount, 4 CCR 723-2-2805 provides for the collection of a surcharge from business and residential lines of non-eligible subscribers.  State and local government lines are exempted from the surcharge.  Rule 2805 provides:

A provider of basic local exchange telecommunications service may collect the uniform charge by a specific line item on subscribers’ bills if provided for by tariff.  Alternatively, the uniform charge shall be included in each subscriber's bill as part of the subscriber's basic exchange service rate and the provider's tariff shall indicate, through a footnote or other explanatory text, that the basic exchange service rate contains the uniform charge.  If the basic exchange service rate includes the uniform charge, a market informational note shall be added to the bill, once a year, informing customers that the basic exchange service rate contains a Commission-approved monthly charge for the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program.

3. In Decision No. C05-1483, the Commission ordered Qwest Corporation (Qwest), in accordance to the terms of the Amended Settlement Agreement, to establish a trust fund under the Commission’s administration and control and deposit $5,500,000 for the purpose of distributing funds for the LITAP.  

4. In Decision No. C06-0164, the Commission lowered the surcharge from seven cents per line per month to zero cents per line per month and, on its own motion, waived that portion of the rule requiring the Commission to calculate the amount due for reimbursements on an annual basis.  Instead, the Commission shall calculate the amount due for reimbursements from the fund bi-annually.    

5. After analysis of the fund’s expected obligations, amount of uncommitted fund reserves, and monies in trust fund established by Qwest, the Commission finds the LITAP uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 2009 beginning June 1, 2009 and for Fiscal Year 2009-2010, should be increased from zero cents per line per month to seven cents per line per month.

6. A Commission-approved administrative fee in the amount of 1 percent of the amount of total monthly uniform charges collected shall apply to those providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having less than 500,000 access lines and who do not provide cost documentation or actual cost to administer the program in accordance with 4 CCR 723-2-2804(b): 

Providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having more than 500,000 access lines shall report program administrative fees based on actual costs.  Providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having less than 500,000 access lines shall report a Commission-approved administrative fee based on an average cost to administer the program as shown in the provider’s industry-standard cost documentation or actual cost to administer the program as demonstrated through the provider’s accounting documentation.

7. For the last six months of Fiscal Year 2008-2009, providers of basic local telecommunications services will be reimbursed for its provision of low-income telephone assistance from the fund in accordance with Decision No. C06-0164.

8. For Fiscal Year 2009-2010, providers of basic local telecommunications services who did not collect from the uniform charge amounts sufficient to reimburse the provider for its provision of low-income telephone assistance during calendar year 2009 will be reimbursed from the fund in accordance with Rule 2804.  

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 2804 and 2805 of the Commission’s Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2, the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 2009 and Fiscal Year 2009-2010 shall be seven cents per line per month effective June 1, 2009.

2. If necessary, local exchange telecommunications providers may file revised tariffs changing the LITAP charge on not less than one day’s notice to the Commission, citing this Order as authority.

3. The uniform charge of seven cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber’s bill, either as a specific line item or as part of the subscriber’s basic rate effective June 1, 2009.  As soon as practicable after June 1, 2009, each local exchange telecommunications provider that has on file a tariff providing for the LITAP uniform charge to be included in the subscriber basic rate shall print on each customer’s bill a market informational note.  The market informational note shall state: “The basic rate contains a 7-cent monthly charge for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program.”   The market informational note shall be printed on the bill through one billing cycle.

4. The Commission waives the requirement of Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2805 that requires calculation of amounts due for reimbursements annually, and shall calculate the amount due for reimbursements for the time period of January 1, 2009 through June 30, 2009 from the fund bi-annually.  

5. The provider shall request reimbursement for the time period July 1 through December 31, 2009 from the fund by providing the required information of Rule 2805 in its annual report to the Commission if the total amount collected from the uniform charge for calendar year 2009 was insufficient to reimburse the provider.

6. The Commission-approved administrative fee for providers of basic local exchange telecommunications services having less than 500,000 access lines shall be 1 percent of the amount of total monthly uniform charges collected.

7. The 20-day time-period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Order.

8. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
April 15, 2009.
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