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IN THE MATTER OF ADJUSTMENT TO THE MONTHLY SURCHARGE FOR PROVIDING TELECOMMUNICATIONS RELAY SERVICES FOR DISABLED TELEPHONE USERS.
ORDER SETTING THE UNIFORM CHARGE FOR
EACH APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE AT TWELVE CENTS
PER MONTH TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO
TELECOMMUNICATIONS RELAY SERVICES
FOR DISABLED TELEPHONE USERS
Mailed Date:  January 27, 2009
Adopted Date:  January 21, 2009

I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users (TRS) was established by the Colorado Legislature in 1989.  See § 40-17-101, C.R.S. et seq.  The Commission, in 1994, adopted Rules Prescribing the Implementation of Article 17 of Title 40, C.R.S. Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users, now codified at 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-2-2800, et seq.  Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(a), the Commission shall determine, and by appropriate order, impose a uniform charge on each business and residential access line in a uniform amount in order to fund the TRS program.  Further, Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(b) provides:

(I)
The uniform charge imposed pursuant to § 40-17-103(3)(a), C.R.S., shall be billed to each access line provided by each LEC.

(II)
The uniform charge shall not be included in each subscriber’s bill as part of the subscriber’s base rate.  The uniform charge shall be listed as a separate item appearing on each customer’s monthly billing statement as rendered by each local exchange provider.  The charge shall be listed as the “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Fund”.

2. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-2-2827(b)(IV), every month each local exchange provider shall submit to the Commission a completed “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Surcharge” form. This form is available from the Commission or its website.  See Exhibit A to this Decision.  This form is accompanied by a remittance to the Disabled Telephone Users Fund (DTUF).

3. The current TRS uniform charge has been in effect since January 1, 2007.  See Decision No. C06-1345 in Docket No. 06M-626T.  Since the current TRS uniform charge was established, certain trends and events have taken place that have resulted in a lower than acceptable fund balance.  Specifically, some carriers have continued to lose telephone subscribers and therefore serve fewer access lines.  Additionally, the Legislature has appropriated nearly $1,000,000 from the DTUF to fund the following programs:  Reading Services for the Blind; the Colorado Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing; and the Colorado Commission for the Visually Impaired.  

4. Considering the current fund balance, revenue, and expenditure projections for FY2009-2010, and statutory fund balance requirements, the Commission finds it necessary to increase the TRS uniform charge on each eligible access line beginning March 1, 2009.  The current uniform charge of 7 cents per access line per month shall be increased to 12 cents per access line per month so as to maintain an adequate, but not excessive, fund balance.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Effective March 1, 2009, the uniform charge imposed upon each business and residential access line to fund the Colorado Telecommunications Relay Services for Disabled Telephone Users Program is increased from 7 cents per access line per month to 12 cents per access line per month to comply with the requirements of § 40-17-103(3), C.R.S.

2. Every month, no later than the last day of the month, for the preceding month each local exchange provider shall remit the amount due to the Commission and the completed “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Surcharge” form available from the Commission’s website.

3. The uniform charge of 12 cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber’s bill as a separate line item and shall be listed as the “Colorado Telecommunications Relay Service Fund.”  

4. The 20-day time-period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Order.

5. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
January 21, 2009.
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