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I. BY THE COMMISSION:

A. Statement

1. On June 20, 2006 MKBS, LLC doing business as Metro Taxi and Taxi Latino (Metro Taxi), filed an application for authority to publish a fuel supplement to Passenger Tariff, Colorado PUC No. 27 to become effective on less-than-statutory notice.  Metro Taxi by this fuel supplement, proposes to increase the flag drop charge for each trip from $1.60 to $2.10.  The flag drop is the charge for the first 1/8 of a mile that the passenger travels in the taxi.  The $ .50 additional charge is to remain in effect for a period of 120 days.

2. Metro Taxi may provide taxi service between points in the Counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson, State of Colorado, under Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (CPCN) PUC No. 1481.

3. In support of the request for the fuel surcharge, Metro Taxi states “Approval of this surcharge is necessary to help cover the continuing high levels of gasoline costs for taxi service which like other taxi companies in Denver, are paid for by independent contractor drivers.  It is also important for Metro taxi to retain and compete for drivers in the Denver marketplace in light of the significant permanent rate increase granted to Colorado Cab (Yellow Cab).”

4. The tariff filing to which Metro refers to was filed by Colorado Cab Company, LLC, doing business as Denver Yellow Cab (Denver Yellow Cab) on December 8, 2005.  The Commission allowed this filing to become effective on operation of law on January 8, 2006.  This filing increased Denver Yellow Cab’s flag drop charge from $1.60 for the first 1/8 mile to $2.50 for the first 1/8 mile.

5. In this application Metro Taxi also states “In the Denver taxi marketplace, taxicab drivers are independent contractors.  All taxi companies in the Denver metropolitan area operate in this manner.  Drivers pay for their own gasoline out of fares received for taxi service.  Metro Taxi does not sell gasoline to drivers.  Fuel costs remain elevated and are rising again.  Thus, the continued high levels of fuel costs, without the reinstatement of the modest $ .50 per trip surcharge granted in March 2006, will erode driver’s net income and their standard of living.  It will also make it difficult for Metro Taxi to compete for drivers and continue its high level of service.  The temporary gasoline surcharge proposed by Metro Taxi in this application will go 100% to Metro’s drivers.”

6. The Commission granted Metro Taxi’s previous request to implement a $ .50 per trip fuel surcharge in Docket No. 06L-082CP by Decision No. C06-0191 on March 2, 2006.  This surcharge expires on June 30, 2006.  Metro Taxi filed its application to add the $ .50 per trip fuel surcharge in Docket No. No. 06L-082CP on February 22, 2006.  The cost of a gallon of regular unleaded gasoline in the Denver metro area in February of 2006 was around $2.28.  The cost of a gallon of regular unleaded gasoline in the Denver metro area in June of 2006 is around $2.79.  The cost per gallon has increased by $ .51.

7. Metro Taxi provided the following statistical information regarding its drivers:

A)  average miles driven per shift – 210

B)  average miles per gallon per vehicle – 14

C)  average gallons of fuel used per shift – 15

D)  average trips per shift – 20

Therefore, if a driver uses an average of 15 gallons of fuel per shift, the driver’s fuel cost has increased by at least $7.65 per shift.  At an average of 20 trips per shift, the $ .50 per trip surcharge will allow the driver to receive additional revenue of $10 per day.

8. The Commission is prohibited by § 40-3-103 C.R.S. from regulating the lease rate between a common carrier and an independent driver.  The Commission’s concern in previous filings in determining whether to grant this type of increased charge for taxi service has been that if the fare increase is granted, the taxi company may subsequently raise the lease rate paid by the driver to the company.  In this application, Metro Taxi states “100% of this temporary gasoline surcharge will go to Metro drivers.”

9. The Commission is well aware that the retail price of gasoline has increased dramatically since the hurricanes struck the coastal areas of Louisiana and Texas in August of 2005.  The Commission is also aware that the drivers of Metro Taxi purchase all the gasoline that is used in the taxi during each shift the taxi is in operation.  Therefore, the drivers are now required to pay a significantly greater percentage of their daily income for gasoline.

10. Rule 6207(k) of the Commission's Rules Regulating Transportation By Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-6, allows the Commission to grant an application to amend a tariff on less than 30 days notice for good cause shown.
11. The Commission finds that Metro Taxi has shown good cause to approve an increase in the flag drop charge named in Passenger Tariff, Colorado PUC No. 27 from $1.60 to $2.10.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. The proposal filed by MKBS, LLC doing business as Metro Taxi and Taxi Latino (Metro Taxi) to allow it to publish a fuel supplement to Passenger Tariff, Colorado PUC No. 27 to be effective on less-than-statutory notice is granted.

2. The fuel supplement to Passenger Tariff, Colorado PUC No. 27, which increases the flag drop charge from $1.60 to $2.10, shall be effective for a period of 120 days from the effective date of this Order.

3. Metro Taxi shall publish the fuel supplement to Passenger Tariff, Colorado PUC No. 27 on not less than one day’s notice to the Commission.

4. The 20-day time-period provided by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, re-argument, or reconsideration shall begin on the first day after the effective date of this Order.

5. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
June 28, 2006.
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