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RULES PRESCRIBING THE STANDARD PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE FUND, 4 CCR 723-13.
COMMISSION ORDER SETTING THE UNIFORM CHARGE FOR EACH APPLICABLE ACCESS LINE AT ZeRO CENTS PER MONTH FOR SECOND QUARTER 2006 AND FISCAL YEAR 2006-2007 TO SUPPORT THE COLORADO LOW-INCOME TELEPHONE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM AND REQUIRING THE PRINTING OF A MARKET INFORMATIONAL NOTE
Mailed Date:  February 24, 2006
Adopted Date:  February 22, 2006
I. BY THE COMMISSION

A. Statement

1. The Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program (LITAP) was established by the Legislature in 1990.  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S.  In 1991, the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.  4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-13.  Rule 3.1 provides:

Implementing tariffs shall consist of a twenty-five percent discount for a single local dial tone line and the flat rate usage charge in the principal residence of an eligible subscriber.  Eligible subscribers who pay mileage charges associated with basic telephone service may be eligible for a twenty-five percent discount for these charges.  In no event shall the discount provided be less than the end user common line charges imposed by the Federal Communications Commission.

The discount for eligible subscribers is currently equal to the end user common line charge, which is $6.50.  

2. In order to fund the discount, 4 CCR 723-13-5 provides for the collection of a surcharge from business and residential lines of non-eligible subscribers.  State and local government lines are exempted from the surcharge.  Rule 5.3 provides:

A provider of basic local exchange telecommunications service may collect the uniform charge by a specific line item on subscribers’ bills if provided for by tariff.  Alternatively, the uniform charge shall be included in each subscriber's bill as part of the subscriber's basic exchange service rate and the provider's tariff shall indicate, through a footnote or other explanatory text, that the basic exchange service rate contains the uniform charge.  If the basic exchange service rate includes the uniform charge, a market informational note shall be added to the bill, once a year, informing customers that the basic exchange service rate contains a Commission-approved monthly charge for the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program.

3. Pursuant to Rule 4 CCR 723-13-4 the surcharge can be adjusted on or before July 1 of each year.

4. In Decision No. C05-0056, the Commission ordered all providers of local exchange service to participate in LITAP.  This has resulted in an increase of more than 160,000 access lines subject to the surcharge. 

5. In Decision No. C05-1483, the Commission ordered Qwest Corporation (Qwest), in accordance to the terms of the Amended Settlement Agreement, to establish a trust fund under the Commission’s administration and control and deposit $5,500,000 for the purpose of distributing funds for the LITAP.

6. In addition, the Department of Human Services removed some 1,000 people from the list of eligible subscribers in 2005.  After analysis of the Fund’s expected obligations, amount of uncommitted fund reserves, and monies in trust fund established by Qwest, the Commission finds the LITAP uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 2006 beginning April 1, 2006 and for fiscal year 2006-2007, should be lowered from seven cents per line per month to zero cents per line per month.

7. The Commission, upon its own motion, temporarily waives requirements found in Rule 4 CCR 723-13-5.4.2.  The Commission is waiving that portion of the rule requiring the Commission to calculate the amount due for reimbursements on an annual basis.  Instead, the Commission shall calculate the amount due for reimbursements from the fund bi-annually starting with first quarter 2006.

8. For calendar year 2005, providers of basic local telecommunications services who did not collect from the uniform charge amounts sufficient to reimburse the provider for its provision of low-income telephone assistance during calendar year 2005 will be reimbursed from the fund in accordance with Rule 4.2.

II. ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

1. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Commission’s Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13, the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program uniform charge on each access line for second quarter 2006 and Fiscal Year 2006-2007 shall be zero cents per line per month effective April 1, 2006.

2. If necessary, local exchange telecommunications providers may file revised tariffs changing the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program charge on not less than one day’s notice to the Commission, citing this Order as authority.

3. The uniform charge of zero cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber’s bill, either as a specific line item or as part of the subscriber’s basic rate effective April 1, 2006.  As soon as practicable after April 1, 2006, each local exchange telecommunications provider collecting the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Program charge as part of its basic rate shall print on each customer’s bill a market informational note.  The market informational note shall state: “The basic rate contained a monthly charge for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund that is being lowered from seven cents per line per month to zero cents per line per month.”  The market informational note shall be printed on the bill through one billing cycle.

4. The Commission waives the requirement of Commission Rule 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13-5.4.2 that requires calculation of amounts due for reimbursements annually, and shall calculate the amount due for reimbursements from the fund bi-annually starting with first quarter 2006.

5. The provider shall request reimbursement for calendar year 2005 from the fund by providing the required information of Rule 4.2 in its annual report to the Commission if total amount collected from uniform charge for calendar year 2005 was insufficient to reimburse the provider.

6. The 20-day time-period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Order.

7. This Order is effective upon its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
February 22, 2006.
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