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colorado public utilities commission,
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assessing civil penalty

Mailed Date:  July 22, 2002

Appearances:

Harvey Mabis, Pro Se, Manager of Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop and Towing, LLC; and

Dennis Maul, Staff of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission.

i.
statement

A. On March 26, 2002, the Staff of the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (“Staff” or “Complainant”) issued Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (“CPAN”) No. 27701 to Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop and Towing, LLC (“Respondent”).

B. Staff charged Respondent with two counts of collecting charges for storage exceeding the prescribed rates contrary to 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (“CCR”) 723-9-17.7.1, alleged to have occurred on March 24 and 25, 2002.  The two violations carry an enhanced penalty of $800 for each charge for a total penalty assessment of $1,600.  The enhanced penalties are as a result of Respondent being charged with the same violation within one year.  4 CCR 723-9-20.5.1 of the Rules, Regulations, and Civil Penalties Governing Towing Carriers by Motor Vehicle  provides that a person who receives a second civil penalty assessment for repeat violations within one year may be assessed two times the amount of the normal penalty. 

C. A hearing was scheduled for June 10, 2002 at which time the matter was heard.

D. Testimony was received from witnesses and Exhibit Nos. 1 through 3 were marked for identification and admitted into evidence.  Administrative notice was taken of Decision No. R02-633 at the request of Staff.  At the conclusion of the case, the matter was taken under advisement.

E. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the record of the proceeding is transmitted to the Commission along with a written recommended decision.

II.
findings of fact and conclusions of law

F. On Saturday, March 23, 2002 at approximately 10:45 p.m., a vehicle owned by Scott Treadwell was towed from the Saddle Ridge Apartment Complex private parking lot located in Fort Collins, Colorado at the request of the apartment complex manager.  Respondent towed Mr. Treadwell’s vehicle to its storage lot.  Randy Treadwell, the father of Scott Treadwell testified that he and his son attempted to retrieve the car from the storage lot soon thereafter.  The Treadwells were told by Respondent that there would be a charge of $70 to open the storage lot on Sunday morning, a non-business day.  The Treadwells were informed by Respondent that the storage lot would be open for business on Monday, March 25, 2002.

G. Mr. Scott Treadwell decided to wait until Monday, March 25, 2002 to obtain his car.  On Monday he paid Respondent the total of $192.50 to retrieve his car.  The $192.50 payment consists of a mileage charge of $22.50, a towing charge of $130.00 and a storage charge of $40.00. (Exhibit No. 1.).

H. The question presented for resolution in this case is whether Respondent violated Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 (Storage charges) as alleged by Staff and whether the vehicle should have been released at the time the owner of the vehicle requested release.  Staff contends that under the above rule, no storage charges should have been assessed.  Respondent interprets the rule to allow the $40 storage charge.

Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 Storage Charges for Private Property Tows, as pertinent here states:

After the first twenty-four (24) hour period of storage is exceeded, the maximum storage charge for each day shall be no greater than twenty dollars ($20) for private property tows of motor vehicles having a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds. ...

I. Respondent believes the storage charge of $40 is allowed by the Commission’s Towing Rules.  Respondent uses calendar days to calculate the storage fees.  Respondent asserts that the storage of Mr. Treadwell’s vehicle started at approximately 10:45 p.m. on Saturday evening, March 23, 2002.  Respondent did not charge storage fees for the first 24-hour period from 10:45 PM Saturday to 10:45 PM Sunday, March 24, 2002. This 24-hour period falls within the first 24 hours of “free” storage referred to in Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1.  Since Mr. Treadwell declined to pay Respondent’s special $70 release fee for opening the lot on Sunday the twenty-fourth during non-business hours, Respondent charged $20 for Sunday storage, presumably from 10:45 PM to midnight, and another $20 for storage on Monday the twenty-fifth, when the vehicle was released to Mr. Treadwell on Monday morning.

J. Staff believes that the term “day” in Rule 723-9-17.7.1 should be interpreted as a 24-hour period rather than a calendar day.  Staff asserts that no storage charges should have been assessed since the first 24-hour “free” period of storage as provided for in Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 expired Sunday the twenty-fourth at 10:45 p.m.  Since Mr. Treadwell requested release of the vehicle within the first 24-hour period and was willing to pay for the towing and mileage fee, the vehicle should have been immediately released upon payment of the towing and mileage charge of $152.50 with no storage charges added.

K. It is found and concluded that the position of Staff is correct based on the facts of the case and the Towing Rules of the Commission.  The first 24-hour period of storage from 10:45 p.m., Saturday March 23, 2002 to Sunday March 24, 2002 at 10:45 p.m. included the “free” period.  4 CCR 723-9-17.1 states:

The maximum rate that may be charged for a private property tow of a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds shall be no more than one-hundred and thirty dollars ($130), which shall include charges for all towing and storage services rendered including, but not limited to, hook-up fees, use of dollies or go-jacks, gate fees, commissions paid, storage for first 24 hours and for all other services rendered in performing such private property tow, except as provided in this rule.  (emphasis added)

Since Mr. Treadwell requested release of the vehicle during the initial 24 hours on Sunday the twenty-fourth, upon payment of the towing and mileage charges, Respondent should have released the vehicle.  There is no provision in the Towing Rules that authorizes a special charge for opening the storage lot during non-business hours.  In regard to the interpretation of the term “day” contained in Rule 723-9-17.7.1 relating to storage charges beyond the initial 24 hour period, it is found that Staff’s interpretation of “day” being a 24 hour period is correct.  An Administrative Law Judge for the Commission in a similar case, involving the same Respondent, after an extensive analysis of the meaning of the term “day” found that the term as used in Rule 723-9-17.7.1 means a 24-hour period. (See Decision No. R02-633)
   

L. It is found that Staff has sustained its burden of establishing that Respondent violated Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 as charged in CPAN No. 27701.

M. Staff recommended that in assessing any penalty in this case, that the total penalty should be reduced by $200 for each charge for a total of $400 if Respondent is willing to return the $40 storage overcharge collected from Mr. Treadwell.  The recommendation is reasonable and will be adopted.

N. Pursuant to § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

III.
order

O. The Commission Orders That:

1. Respondent Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop and Towing, LLC shall within ten days from the effective date of this Decision remit to the Commission the sum of $1,600.

2. The assessed penalty will be reduced by $400 for a total of $1,200 if Respondent refunds to Scott Treadwell the $40 that Mr. Treadwell paid in storage fees to Respondent.  Proof of the refund shall be submitted to the Commission at the time the reduced penalty is paid.

3. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

4. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a.
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b.
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

5. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO



WILLIAM J. FRITZEL
_______________________________


Administrative Law Judge
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� The Recommended Decision is currently before the Commission on exceptions.





8

