Decision No. R02-449

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 02C-161T

in the matter of the colorado high cost SUPPORT mechanism reporting requirements.

recommended decision of
administrative law judge
ken f. kirkpatrick
dismissing order to show cause

Mailed Date:  April 23, 2002

i.
statement

A. This proceeding was instituted by the issuance of Decision No. C02-214, March 6, 2002.  In accordance with that Order a hearing was held on April 15, 2002.  During the course of the hearing Exhibits 1 through 4 where identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of the hearing the Administrative Law Judge requested that Staff brief certain issues.  Staff’s brief was filed on April 17, 2002.

B. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the undersigned now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II.
findings of fact

C. The respondents in this proceeding, listed on Attachment A to this decision, provide intrastate telecommunications services within the State of Colorado.  Therefore, they are potentially required to contribute to the Colorado High Cost Support Mechanism (“HCSM”).  See §§ 40-15-208 and 40-15-502(5), C.R.S.; 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (“CCR”) 723-41-7.3.
  The Respondents listed on Appendix A received a letter in the form of either Exhibit 2 or Exhibit 3.  Exhibit 2 is sent to carriers that previously calculated their annual contribution to the HCSM as greater than $10,000 per year.  Exhibit 3 was sent to carriers that previously calculated their annual contribution as less than $10,000 per year.

D. On or about November 26, 2001, a follow-up letter under the signature of the Director of the Commission was sent to carriers that had not responded to either of these letters with either a HCSM worksheet or a de minimis declaration form.  For carriers that still filed neither, the Order to Show Cause was issued March 6, 2002.

The HCSM worksheet is specifically mentioned in the Commission’s Rules Prescribing the High Cost Support Mechanism and Prescribing the Procedures for the Colorado High Cost 

Administration Fund, 4 CCR 723-41.  Rule 7.2.1, Contributor Reporting Requirements, states as follows:

Each telecommunications service provider shall provide to the administrator a verified accounting of its retail revenues, and such other revenues as the administrator shall request for purposes of determining contributions and disbursements under these rules.  The accounting shall be submitted via the form known as the HCSM worksheet.  The completed HCSM worksheet shall be submitted to the administrator twice a year.  The HCSM worksheet shall be due March 31 of each year, containing data for the prior calendar year.  The HCSM worksheet shall be due September 1 of each year containing data for the six-month period from January 1 through June 30 for the current calendar year.

E. Rule 7.2.1.2, De minimis Exemption, reads as follows:

If a contributor’s contribution to the HCSM in any given year is calculated to be less than $10,000, that contributor will not be required to submit a contribution or the HCSM worksheet for that period.  Notwithstanding the de minimis exemption of this Rule 7.2.1.2, all Eligible Providers are required to remit contributions in the file the HCSM worksheet.

F. There is no Commission rule describing the de minimis declaration required by Staff.  Rather, the de minimis declaration has evolved in Staff’s administration of the HCSM.  Staff notes in its brief that since at least 1998 it has required carriers to file a de minimis declaration for carriers that anticipate a HCSM contribution of less than $10,000 per year.  Staff states that the de minimis declaration coupled with the HCSM worksheet is a necessary tool for which the administrator of the HCSM carries out her duties.  It is necessary to ensure that similar information is received from all potential contributors to the HCSM and assist in assuring that no entity contributes more than its fair share.  It also assists the administrator in tracking potential changes to potential contributions.

III.
discussion

G. Staff concedes that the de minimis declaration does not appear anywhere in statute or rule.  Staff suggests that the Commission has the authority to require the filing under § 40-3-110, C.R.S., and Rule 25(a)(1), of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure.  Section 40-3-110, C.R.S., provides as follows:

Every public utility shall furnish to the Commission at such time and in such form as the Commission may require a report in which the utility shall specifically answer all questions propounded by the Commission upon or concerning which the Commission may desire information.  The Commission has the authority to require any public utility to file monthly reports of earnings and expenses and to file periodical or special or both periodical and special reports concerning any matter about which the Commission is authorized by Articles 1 to 7 of this title and any other law to inquire or to keep itself informed or which it is required to enforce.  All reports shall be under oath.

The above-cited statutory section does indeed empower the Commission to require written reports under oath.  However, the Commission has not required a de minimis declaration.  Rather, a Staff member has required it.  Section 40-3-110, C.R.S., does not authorize any individual staff member of this Commission to require written reports under oath under the topics suggested in the absence of a Commission rule or order.

H. Rule 25(a)(1) of the Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure requires entities operating in Colorado over which the Commission has jurisdiction to file annual reports for a previous calendar year.  This show cause proceeding does not concern annual reports, as noted in the order instituting the show cause proceeding.  Therefore Staff’s reference to the Rule is inapposite.

I. Staff’s position is that it can require a carrier to file a report that is not required by any Commission statute or order; then, when the report has not been provided, show cause the carrier and have the Commission revoke its authority on the basis of the non-compliance. Staff has provided no persuasive support for such a proposition.  Therefore the show cause proceedings against the respondents must be dismissed, as Staff did not establish that the carrier’s contribution to the HCSM would be greater than $10,000.

J. Even if Staff’s argument were correct, that the Commission could revoke authority for failure to provide a Staff-required form, this show cause must still be dismissed.  The Order to Show Cause does not mention the de minimis declaration in any way.  Decision No. C02-214 refers only to the Colorado HCSM worksheet.  There it states that Staff has reviewed Commission records and data and determined that as of February 27, 2002, “…those entities listed on Attachment A have not submitted the HCSM worksheet that was due on March 31, 2001, thereby failing to comply with the recording requirements of Rule 7, 4 CCR 723-41.”  Decision No. C02-214 at p. 3.

K. It is fundamental that before any authority granted by this Commission can be revoked that notice of the grounds must be given.  See § 40-6-108(1)(a), C.R.S.; see also § 24-4-104(3), C.R.S.  Thus, even if Staff’s theory were correct, no carrier was given notice by the Order instituting this proceeding of possible sanctions for failure to file the de minimis declaration.

IV.
conclusions

L. Staff has failed to establish that the carriers and respondents on Appendix A failed to meet the de minimis exemption contained in Rule 4 CCR 723-41-7.2.1.2.

M. The Order to Show Cause in this case gave no notice that any sanction would be imposed for failure to file a de minimis exemption declaration.

N. The show cause proceeding should be dismissed against all respondents on Appendix A and Appendix B.

O. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

V.
order

P. The Commission Orders That:

1. Docket No. 02C-161T, is dismissed as to all respondents.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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� The respondents listed on Appendix B to this Order are defined as underlying carriers, or Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers, which provide local access to entities on Appendix A, generally through contractual arrangements.


� None of the respondents in this proceeding are Eligible Providers.


� Indeed, Staff suggested in its testimony that the carriers listed and the respondents on Appendix A probably did qualify for the exemption.
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