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BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
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colorado public utilities commission,


complainant,

v.

COLORADO shuttle service, inc.,


respondent.

recommended decision of
administrative law judge
ken f. kirkpatrick
assessing civil penalty

Mailed Date:  April 8, 2002

i.
statement

A. This proceeding was instituted by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (“CPAN”) No. 27641.  The CPAN alleges one violation of § 40-16-103, C.R.S., offering to provide services as a luxury limousine without being registered with this Commission.  In accordance with notice dated March 6, 2002, the matter was set for a hearing to be held on April 8, 2002 at 9:00 a.m. in a Commission hearing room in Denver, Colorado.  At the assigned place and time the undersigned called the matter for hearing.  Staff of the Commission appeared; there was no appearance on behalf of the Respondent Colorado Shuttle Service, LLC (“Colorado Shuttle”).  After waiting approximately 20 minutes the matter proceeded to hearing.

B. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the undersigned now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II.
findings of fact

C. Colorado Shuttle in January and February 2002 held itself out as providing transportation services in Eagle County and Summit County as well as serving Eagle and Denver airports.  See Exhibit 1.

D. On January 16, 2002, an investigator from this Commission arranged to obtain luxury limousine services in a stretch vehicle with beverage service, telephone, and television with Colorado Shuttle.  The service was to be provided February 14, 2002 for a price of $100 per hour for six hours for six people.  The trip was confirmed on February 23, 2002, and again on February 12, 2002 and February 13, 2002.  On February 13, 2002, Colorado Shuttle called and raised the price to $100 per hour plus 20 percent gratuity for the driver.

E. On February 14, 2002, the same investigator from this Commission went to the office of Colorado Shuttle  at the West Vail Lodge and issued the CPAN which is the subject of this proceeding.  The general manager and the owner of Colorado Shuttle indicated that they were aware of the Commission’s registration requirements.  At the time that the transportation service was arranged and to be provided, Colorado Shuttle had not registered with this Commission as a luxury limousine provider.  As of the date of the hearing Colorado Shuttle still had not registered with this Commission.

F. Colorado Shuttle maintains an office at the West Vail Lodge, and it provides luxury limousine services from this location.

III.
discussion

G. The evidence is clear that Colorado Shuttle is offering to provide and indeed actually providing service as a luxury limousine provider without having registered with this Commission.  In addition, it is clear that Colorado Shuttle is aware of the Commission’s registration requirements.   Given the above, the Administrative Law Judge assesses a civil penalty in the amount of $400.

H. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

IV.
order

I. The Commission Orders That:

1. Colorado Shuttle Service, LLC, Vail, Colorado, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $400.  Colorado Shuttle Service, LLC, shall pay this penalty within ten days of the effective date of this Order.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO



KEN F. KIRKPATRICK
_______________________________
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