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I.
BY THE COMMISSION

Statement

1. This matter comes before the Commission for consideration of Exceptions to Decision No. R02-633 (Recommended Decision) filed by Poudre Valley Automotive, LLC (Poudre Valley) and by Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC (Eddie’s) on June 25, 2002.
  In that decision in these civil penalty assessment cases, the Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) recommended the assessment of civil penalties against Poudre Valley
 in the amount of $400 in connection with civil penalty assessment notice (CPAN) No. 27647.  The ALJ further recommended the assessment of civil penalties against Eddie’s
 in the total amount of $400 in connection with CPAN No. 27558, all of which was to be suspended if Eddie’s refunds a total of $80 to two separate vehicle owners.

Poudre Valley now urges the Commission to find that the ALJ erred in his interpretation of Rule 17.2 (entitled Charge if Retrieved Before Removal) of the Commission’s Rules, Regulations, and Civil Penalties Governing Towing Carriers by 

Motor Vehicle (Towing Rules), 4 Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) 723-9.

2. Eddie’s similarly alleges that the ALJ misconstrued one of the Commission’s Towing Rules, namely Rule 17.7.1 (entitled Storage Charges for Private Property Tows), 4 CCR 723-9.

3. Now being duly advised in the matter, we deny Poudre Valley’s Exceptions.  We grant in part and deny in part Eddie’s Exceptions, consistent with the discussion below.

II.
DISCUSSION

A. The Case Against Poudre Valley

4. The case against Poudre Valley stems from the requested release of a vehicle to its owner prior to a tow on December 1, 2001.  On that date, Poudre Valley was called from its office in Fort Collins, Colorado to perform a tow from private property located in Loveland, Colorado.  Before the vehicle was towed from the property, the vehicle’s owner, Justin McCarty, arrived and requested the release of the vehicle.  Mr. Mabis advised Mr. McCarty that Poudre Valley would release the vehicle upon payment of $90, which included a $50 release fee as well as $40 in mileage charges.  Mr. McCarty informed Mr. Mabis that he did not have the $90, and admitted at hearing that he did not even have the $50 release fee with him at the time.  The vehicle was therefore towed to Poudre Valley’s Fort Collins storage facility, where Mr. McCarty retrieved it the following day for $130 in towing, and $40 in mileage charges.

5. Commission Transportation Staff (Staff) alleged in CPAN No. 27647, that Poudre Valley failed to inform the vehicle operator of the proper maximum release fee for a vehicle parked on private property ($50), and by failing to release the vehicle for that maximum fee.  See 4 CCR 723-9-17.2.  CPAN No. 27647 sought a $400 civil penalty.  See 4 CCR 723-9-20.4.3.

B. The Case against Eddie’s

6. CPAN No. 27558 consists of six separate counts.  Counts 1 and 2 stem from two instances in which Staff alleges Eddie’s, like Poudre Valley, violated 4 CCR 723-9-17.2.  These alleged violations occurred on December 12, 2001 (Count 1) and on January 5, 2002 (Count 2).

7. Count 1 arose when Eddie’s was summoned to perform a tow of a vehicle from private property in Fort Collins, Colorado.  Before Eddie’s had towed the vehicle from the property, the vehicle’s owner, Ken Carlson, arrived and demanded the release of his vehicle.  Hearing testimony differed as to whether or not Mr. Mabis informed Mr. Carlson that he could secure release of his vehicle for $50.  Mr. Carlson allegedly became belligerent at some point, and Mr. Mabis summoned the Fort Collins police.  Eddie’s then towed Mr. Carlson’s vehicle to its Fort Collins storage lot, where Mr. Carlson retrieved the vehicle the next day upon payment of $130 in towing and $15 in mileage charges.

8. Count 2 arose when Eddie’s was summoned to perform a tow of a vehicle from private property in Loveland, Colorado at approximately 4:30 p.m. on Saturday January 5, 2002.  Before the vehicle was towed from the property, the vehicle’s owner, Jacquin Coxon, arrived.  Upon requesting release of her vehicle, Ms. Coxon was told that she could secure release of her vehicle for payment of a release fee of $50 cash.  Ms. Coxon offered to pay by personal check or to obtain cash at a nearby restaurant.  She was told that Eddie’s would not accept a personal check, but Mr. Mabis agreed to wait while Ms. Coxon tried to obtain cash.  Ms. Coxon was ultimately unable to secure the $50 release fee, so Eddie’s towed her car to its Fort Collins storage facility.  CPAN No. 27558 seeks the imposition of $400 in civil penalties for each of Counts 1 and 2, alleging in Count 1 that Eddie’s failed to inform Mr. Carlson of the release fee, and in Count 2, that Eddie’s failed to release Ms. Coxon’s vehicle upon tender of payment of the release fee.  See 4 CCR 723-9-20.4.3.

9. Counts 3 and 4 also involve the tow of Ms. Coxon’s vehicle.  As stated above, Eddie’s arrived in Loveland to tow the vehicle late in the day on Saturday January 5, 2002.  The next day, Ms. Coxon called Eddie’s to inquire about picking-up her vehicle from Eddie’s storage facility.  She was advised at that time that the storage facility was closed on Sundays and that she would have to pick up her vehicle on Monday.  Ms. Coxon retrieved her vehicle at 10:42 a.m. Monday, January 7, 2002, after paying $130 in towing, $40 in mileage, and $40 in storage charges.

10. Counts 5 and 6 arose from circumstances that also transpired on Saturday, January 5, 2002.  Eddie’s was summoned to Loveland, Colorado to perform a tow from private property.  Mr. Mabis arrived on the scene at approximately 4:30 p.m., and proceeded to tow the vehicle of Lori Hernandez.  At 4:45 p.m., when Ms. Hernandez discovered that her vehicle was missing, she called Eddie’s to inquire about retrieving her vehicle, but was told that its Fort Collins storage lot would be closing at 5:00 p.m., and would be closed on Sunday as well.  Ms. Hernandez’s husband retrieved the vehicle the following Monday, January 7, 2002, at 10:42 a.m., after paying $130 in towing, $40 in mileage, and $40 in storage charges.

11. CPAN No. 27558 alleges that Eddie’s collected vehicle storage fees in excess of those allowed by Commission Rule 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 on four separate occasions, twice on Sunday, January 6, 2002 (Counts 3 and 5), and twice on Monday, January 7, 2002 (Counts 4 and 6).  CPAN No. 27558 seeks a penalty of $400 for each of these four violations.  See 4 CCR 723-9-20.4.3.

C. The Recommended Decision

12. The ALJ held hearings on May 1 and 13, 2002 in which Exhibits 1 through 13 were admitted into evidence.  Staff presented the testimony of Staff member Dennis Maul, and of vehicle owners Justin McCarty, Ken Carlson, Jacquin J. Coxon, and Lori Hernandez.  Poudre Valley and Eddie’s, both represented pro se by Mr. Mabis, presented the testimony of Paul Vasquez, James Volpi, Mr. Mabis, and of Staff members Terry Willert, and Robert Laws.  At the conclusion of the hearings, the ALJ heard oral closing arguments from the parties.

13. The ALJ issued the recommended decision on June 5, 2002.  In that decision, the ALJ chronicled the events leading up to the issuing of the CPANs.  We note that the ALJ found only one particular fact that was debated by the parties, namely whether or not Eddie’s advised Mr. Carlson that should he pay a $50 fee, his vehicle would be released and not be towed.  Weighing the credibility of the three witnesses that testified to this point, the ALJ found that Eddie’s complied with 4 CCR 723-9-17.2 by advising Mr. Carlson of his right to retrieve his car prior to it being towed, if he paid the $50 release fee.  Because our review of the record and transcripts shows that the ALJ’s findings on this matter are supported by the evidence, we adopt this and all findings of the ALJ on issues of fact.

14. The ALJ’s findings in regard to Mr. Carlson led to the recommended dismissal of Count 1 of CPAN No. 27558.  We uphold that decision, per the discussion above.

15. The ALJ further determined that, as a matter of law, Eddie’s did not violate Rule 17.2 by demanding payment for release of Ms. Coxon’s vehicle in cash.  The ALJ reasoned that because nonconsensual tows almost necessarily involve hard feelings, it is reasonable for a towing carrier to demand payment in cash for fear of having a check or credit card payment be rescinded.  The ALJ therefore recommended dismissal of Count 2 of CPAN No. 27558.  We agree.

16. The ALJ also determined that Eddie’s had violated Rule 17.7.1 in the manner suggested by Staff (CPAN No. 27558, Counts 3 through 6).  However, because the Commission had not previously clearly enunciated its interpretation of that rule, the ALJ reduced the recommended civil penalty from the maximum $400 per vehicle to $100 per violation, such amounts to be dismissed should Eddie’s refund $40 to each of the two involved vehicle owners.

17. Regarding Poudre Valley, the ALJ determined that the company had violated Rule 17.2 by demanding mileage fees in addition to the “maximum release fee” prescribed by that rule.  The Recommended Decision therefore recommends imposition of a civil penalty of $400--the maximum amount--against Poudre Valley.

D. Poudre Valley’s Exceptions

18. Poudre Valley urges that the ALJ misinterpreted Rule 17.2 of the Towing Rules.  Staff responds that the Commission should uphold the recommendations of the ALJ in their entirety.  Rule 17.2, entitled Charge if Retrieved Before Removal, states:

If the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of a motor vehicle which is parked without authorization on private property attempts to retrieve said vehicle before removal of the motor vehicle from said private property, the maximum release fee (whether vehicle is hooked up or not) shall not exceed fifty dollars ($50.00).  In such circumstances, the towing carrier shall advise the owner, authorized operator, or authorized agent of the owner of a motor vehicle so parked that he or she may offer payment of the towing carrier's release fee, and if so offered before removal of the motor vehicle to be towed, the towing carrier shall immediately accept such payment, [and] immediately thereafter release the motor vehicle... .

(Emphasis added.)
19. In short, Poudre Valley contends that the “maximum release fee” of $50 does not include supplemental one-way mileage charges authorized by Rule 17.5.  Poudre Valley puts forth several reasons for this.

20. Initially, Poudre Valley notes that Rule 17.1, entitled Rates and Charges for Private Property Tows, also states a “maximum” rate of $130 that may be charged for private property tows of a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of less than 10,000 pounds.
  Poudre Valley points out, though, that Rule 17.5, entitled Mileage Charges, states that “One way mileage charges may be assessed for all private property tows at a rate not to exceed two and 50/100 dollars ($2.50) a mile.”  It further notes that Staff agrees that these mileage charges may be tacked-on to the “maximum” towing rate of Rule 17.1.

21. Hence Poudre Valley contends that the “maximum” set forth in Rule 17.1 is not a maximum at all because the “supplemental” mileage charge of Rule 17.5 applies.  Therefore, Poudre Valley urges, the “maximum” charge in Rule 17.2, like that in Rule 17.1, is not truly a maximum, and that mileage charges may be added to it as well.

22. We disagree for two reasons.  First, we note that Rule 17.1 states that the maximum charge applies “except as provided in this rule.”  Rule 17.2 has no such qualifying language, therefore bolstering the concept that its maximum release fee is absolute.

23. Second, Rule 17.5 states that the “supplemental” mileage charges only apply to “private property tows.”  A “private property tow” is defined in the Towing Rules as “the towing of a motor vehicle from private property at the request of the property owner.”  4 CCR 723-9-2.11 (emphasis added).  Therefore, as aptly noted by the ALJ in the Recommended Decision, a towing carrier may only assess Rule 17.5 mileage charges if a vehicle has actually been towed from the private property.  This is not the case with a vehicle released prior to towing.

Poudre Valley likewise notes that Rule 17.3 specifically allows a towing carrier to assess mileage charges, as well as other fees, for providing a certified vehicle 

identification number (VIN) verification.
  Poudre Valley urges that if the Commission had wanted to have mileage charges apply only to Rule 17.1, Rates and Charges for Private Property Tows, then it would not have written in the provisions for mileage charges in Rule 17.3.

24. Again, Poudre Valley fails to read the plain language of the rules.  Because Rule 17.5 states that mileage charges apply to “private property tows,” we must follow that plain language and only allow mileage charges to apply to those actions that amount to a “private property tow,” as defined in Rule 2.11, and not to one-way trips to a prospective tow that never comes to pass.  Contrary to Poudre Valley’s implication, Rule 17.5 mileage charges do not apply to Rule 17.3 VIN verification services; only those charges expressly stated in Rule 17.3 apply to those services.  As plainly stated in Rule 17.5, its mileage charges only apply to private property tows.

25. Poudre Valley’s other rationale for interpreting Rule 17.2 to include mileage charges focuses less on legal interpretation and more on policy.  Poudre Valley urges that because it must sometimes travel to mountainous regions that require more effort, cost, and distance than travel within urban or suburban areas, not allowing for charges of mileage fees results in unfairness to Poudre Valley and similarly situated towing carriers.  While it may be the case that Poudre Valley is somewhat disadvantaged by its choice to provide services in such areas, we reiterate that the language of the rules is clear, and we will not make exceptions to the plain language of those rules.
  Hence we find that the Towing Rules are clear that Poudre Valley may not assess mileage charges in addition to any “release fee.”

26. Finally, in its Exceptions, Poudre Valley chronicles several conversations between its Mr. Mabis and various members of Staff.  Most pertinent to this issue, Mr. Mabis states that he spoke or met with Mr. Willert on several occasions prior to the hearings in this matter.

27. While its Exceptions on this point are somewhat unclear, Poudre Valley tells of a December 3, 2001 incident in which it attempted to assess mileage charges in addition to release fees for a vehicle.  Poudre Valley states that, after a December 11, 2001 meeting with Mr. Willert, Mr. Willert agreed that because of a prior misstatement/misunderstanding about the application of mileage charges, the complaint regarding the December 3, 2001 incident would be dismissed.

28. Poudre Valley states that the complaint at issue in CPAN No. 27647, which concerned a December 1, 2001 incident, was also discussed by Mr. Willert and Mr. Mabis at the December 11, 2001 meeting.  Poudre Valley alleges that Mr. Willert noted at that meeting that because Mr. McCarty did not even have the $50 to pay the release fee, much less the additional mileage charges, his vehicle would have been towed regardless.  Poudre Valley alleges that because of this, Mr. Willert stated that he “could see no reason to support a complaint since the vehicle would be towed anyway for insufficiency of payment of release fee.”  However, after this meeting, Staff issued CPAN No. 27647 anyway.

29. In the Recommended Decision, the ALJ noted that Mr. Willert and Mr. Laws of Staff were subpoenaed and testified on the second day of hearings.  While we are unaware of the substance of their testimony because the ALJ did not chronicle such, and because Poudre Valley filed no transcripts from the pertinent hearing date with its Exceptions, we assume that the testimony of Mr. Willert concerned, at least in part, the December 11, 2001 meeting with Mr. Mabis.
  However, having no transcripts with which to review the testimony of Mr. Willert, we must uphold the ALJ’s determinations of fact on this matter.  We note that the ALJ made no specific findings of fact in reference to the testimony of Mr. Willert, but find it implicit in his ultimate determination that a $400 fine be imposed that he found Mr. Willert’s testimony credible, or at the very least irrelevant.

30. We agree with the ALJ in his conclusion that, regardless of the informal opinion that may or may not have been given to it by Staff, Poudre Valley is still charged with obeying the Towing Rules.  This is because an informal agency opinion not to prosecute after the fact does not bind the agency.  See, e.g., Lucero v. Goldberger, 804 P.2d 206, 209 (Colo. App. 1990) (“A governmental promise is subject to enforcement if an accused, in reliance upon the promise, has taken some detrimental action in reasonable expectation of receiving the benefit promised by the government.  In order to prevail under that rule, an accused must demonstrate that he performed some tangible act or relinquished some significant right in reliance upon the promise, and that the act or relinquishment so induced was detrimental to his right of fair treatment and due process.”) (internal citation omitted).  Because Poudre Valley has not demonstrated to the Commission that it has in any way relied to its detriment upon the alleged statements of Mr. Willert, we find that regardless of the facts of the conversations between Poudre Valley and Staff, Poudre Valley was properly issued the civil penalty assessments at issue.

31. For the reasons discussed above, we deny the Exceptions filed by Poudre Valley in their entirety.

E. Eddie’s Exceptions

32. Like Poudre Valley’s Exceptions, Eddie’s relate to the ALJ’s interpretation of the Towing Rules.  Again, Staff responds that the Commission should follow the ALJ’s reasoning on all points.  Specifically, Eddie’s contends that the ALJ misconstrued Rule 17.7.1.  That rule states in pertinent part:

After the first twenty-four (24) hour period of storage is exceeded,[
] the maximum storage charge for each day shall be no greater than twenty dollars ($20.00) for private property tows of motor vehicles having a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds.

4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 (emphasis added).  Neither the term “day” nor “each day” is defined in the Towing Rules.  Eddie’s contends that “day,” as used in Rule 17.7.1, refers not to just any 24-hour period, but to a specific 24-hour period beginning at midnight, or a so-called “calendar day.”

33. The ALJ followed Staff’s proposed interpretation and determined that “each day” referred to each 24-hour period starting not at midnight, but at the point the first 24-hour period referred to in Rules 17.7.1 and 17.1 ends.  That is to say that if a motor vehicle was placed in storage at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, the first 24-hour period would expire at 3:59 p.m., on Tuesday, and “each day” thereafter would cover the 24-hour period from 4:00 p.m. to 3:59 p.m. the following calendar day.

34. In coming to this conclusion, the ALJ referred to the first definition of “day” found in Black’s Law Dictionary.  It defines a day as: “A period of time consisting of twenty-four hours including the solar day and the night.”  Black’s Law Dictionary 396 (6th ed. 1990).  He additionally noted that the rules do not contemplate the collection of charges for any period of less than 24 hours and therefore refers to the interpretation offered by Eddie’s as “not tenable.”

35. Eddie’s recognizes that the rules do not contemplate that a day be “divided” for purposes of charging a vehicle owner.  However, Eddie’s urges that this means we may not now apply Rule 17.7.1 to “break up” a calendar day to include only portions of that day in one 24-hour period.  We disagree.  All told, were the first “twenty-four period” not specifically referred to in Rule 17.7.1, “each day” would be more ambiguous.  However, since “each day thereafter” follows mention of that 24-hour period, we cannot agree that the rule intends to split-up subsequent “days” any other way than that stated by the ALJ.  We therefore deny the Exceptions filed by Eddie’s on this point.

F. First 24-Hour Period After the Original 24-Hour Period

36. While not squarely addressed in Eddie’s Exceptions, we alter the reasoning, and thus the outcome, of the Recommended Decision on two points.

37. First, in the Recommended Decision, the ALJ stated that “Since [Rule 17.7.1] allows a towing carrier to collect storage charges each ‘day,’ it may collect a maximum of $20.00 only upon the expiration of each 24-hour period subsequent to termination of the free period.”  The ALJ therefore determined that Eddie’s violated the terms of Rule 17.7.1 on four separate occasions:  twice (once per each of two vehicles) for charging $20.00 for storage on Sunday, January 6, 2002, from approximately 5:00 p.m. until midnight of that same day; and twice (once per each of two vehicles) for charging for storage from midnight until 10:42 a.m. on Monday, January 7, 2002.

38. As noted in footnote 8, supra, the so-called “free” period refers to that included in the initial towing charge:

The maximum rate that may be charged for a private property tow of a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds shall be no more than one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00), which shall include charges for all towing and storage services rendered including, but not limited to, hookup fees, use of dollies or go-jacks, gate fees, commissions paid, storage for first 24 hours, and all other services rendered in performing such private property tow, except as provided in this rule.

4 CCR 723-9-17.1 (emphasis added).

39. Under the express terms of Rule 17.7.1, “after the first twenty-four (24) hour period of storage [i.e., the ‘free’ period,] is exceeded, the maximum storage charge for each day shall be no greater than twenty dollars... .”  We disagree that a towing carrier may only collect a maximum of $20.00 “only upon the expiration of each 24-hour period subsequent to termination of the free period,” as the ALJ urges.

40. Again, Rule 17.7.1 states simply that “the maximum storage charge for each day shall be no greater than twenty dollars.”  As noted in the Recommended Decision, “The language employed by 4 CCR 723-9-17.7.1 does not contemplate the collection of storage charges for any portion of time less than a ‘day’ by, for example, prorating the $20.00 maximum daily charge based on the number of hours or minutes after the free period a vehicle is in storage.”  However, simply because the Rule does not “contemplate” proration does not mean that it prohibits it.  Likewise the Towing Rules do not contemplate whether a towing carrier may charge a maximum of $20.00 for only a portion of a day; the Towing Rules therefore do not prohibit such.

41. Because this rule is somewhat ambiguous, we look to the Rule of Lenity for guidance.  The Rule of Lenity “requires [a court] to construe any ambiguities in a penal statute in a manner favoring the person whose liberty interests are affected by the statute.”  Fields v. Suthers, 984 P.2d 1167, 1172 (Colo. 1999) (citation omitted); see also People v. District Court, 834 P.2d 236, 240 (Colo. 1992) (stating that under the Rule of Lenity, ambiguities in statutes and the criminal sentencing scheme should be “construed in favor of the person whose liberty interests are affected”).  While the Rule of Lenity is utilized when interpreting a criminal statute affecting a criminal defendant, we use it as guidance in similarly safeguarding a transportation carrier’s property interest, when faced with a civil penalty assessment.

42. We decline to hold that Eddie’s could not charge a maximum of $20.00 for a portion of the 24-hour period following the first, or “free,” 24-hour period.  As explained above, such a reading of the Towing Rules is unsupported by its text, and at the very least, errs improperly on the side of penalizing a towing carrier.  Further, were we to read the rules as suggested by Staff and the Recommended Decision, we would concomitantly have to find that a towing carrier could not charge the full $130 pursuant to Rule 17.1 unless the subject vehicle had been in storage for the full 24-hour “free” period, a suggestion wisely offered by no one.

43. Because neither proration of storage charges nor charging for a portion of a day is addressed in the Towing Rules, we find that Eddie’s could properly charge a “maximum” of $20 dollars for a portion of a day beyond the first 24-hour “free” period.  While it may seem inequitable to allow a towing carrier to charge a full $20 for only, for example, an hour in storage, it likewise would be inequitable to disallow such carrier from charging any amount for 23 hours in storage.  Hence, for all these reasons, we find that Eddie’s did not violate Rule 17.7.1 by charging for only a portion of the 24-hour period following the initial “free” period.

44. Therefore, contrary to the ALJ’s conclusion, we find Eddie’s could properly charge a maximum of $20 for the period beginning upon the expiration of the first 24-hour “free” period, i.e., approximately 5:00 p.m. on Sunday, January 6, 2002, and ending when the vehicle owners retrieved those vehicles at approximately 10:42 a.m. on Monday, January 7, 2002.  Hence, while Eddie’s charged each of two customers $40.00 for two days of storage beyond the first 24-hour “free” period, and the ALJ determined that Eddie’s could not have charged any money for storage beyond that “free” period, we determine that Eddie’s could properly have charged a maximum of $20 for the portion of one day’s storage beyond the free period.

45. The resolution of this issue in this manner necessitates resolution of a second.  In the Recommended Decision, the ALJ noted that because of his earlier conclusion regarding charges for the first 24-hour period following the initial “free” 24-hour period, it was not necessary to decide whether or not Rule 17.7.1 authorizes storage charges for days in which the storage facilities are closed for business.  However, because of our contrary conclusion regarding Rule 17.7.1, we must address this issue.

46. The Towing Rules do not directly address when a towing carrier must have its storage facilities open for the release of towed vehicles.  Rule 2.10 defines “normal business hours” as “8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.”  The Towing Rules then only refer to normal business hours in two places.  Rule 18.1 states that “Books and records concerning the towing and storage operations of any towing carrier shall be made available upon request during normal business hours to authorized personnel of the Commission and Department of Revenue.”  Rule 18.2 similarly states “A towing carrier's equipment and storage facilities shall be available for inspection without notice, during normal business hours by authorized personnel of the Commission.”  “Normal business hours” nor any business hours are not further addressed in the Towing Rules.

47. Again, Rule 17.7.1 states only that “After the first twenty-four (24) hour period of storage is exceeded, the maximum storage charge for each day shall be no greater than twenty dollars...”  It does not address when a towing carrier’s storage facilities must be open for business, nor for what days a towing carrier may charge storage fees.  Because the Towing Rules do not preclude charging a vehicle owner for storage when the facilities are closed, and because the times and days of closure at issue in these instances are reasonable, and at the very least within the Towing Rules’ “normal business hours,” we find that Eddie’s could properly charge a maximum of $20 for storage for the two vehicles at issue for the period from Sunday at approximately 5:00 p.m., until those vehicles were retrieved Monday at 10:42 a.m.

48. We note, however, that we come to this somewhat unsatisfying conclusion only because the Towing Rules do not address when a towing carrier’s storage facilities must be open for retrieval of a vehicle.  Because the Towing Rules do not preclude a towing carrier from only operating its storage facilities during “normal business hours” while towing 24 hours a day, we are forced to hold that Eddie’s did not violate such Rules by doing so.

49. Therefore, we amend the penalties of the Recommended Decision to state that Eddie’s violated Rule 17.7.1 on two occasions, instead of four.  Hence, we also amend the final penalty assessment to state that Eddie’s is assessed a penalty of $100 for each of Counts 3 and 5, such penalties to be dismissed should Eddie’s refund a total of $20 to each Ms. Coxon and Ms. Hernandez.  Counts 4 and 6 are dismissed.

50. For these reasons, we grant in part and deny in part the Exceptions filed by Eddie’s.

IIi.
conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we deny the Exceptions filed by Poudre Valley in their entirety.  We deny in part, and grant in part those Exceptions filed by Eddie’s, consistent with the discussion above.

Iv.
Order

A.
The Commission Orders That:

51. The Exceptions to Decision No. R02-663 filed by Poudre Valley Automotive, LLC are denied.

52. Poudre Valley Automotive, LLC, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $400.00 in connection with Civil Penalty Assessment No. 27647 and shall pay the assessed penalty within ten days of the effective date of this Order.

53. The Exceptions to Decision No. R02-663 filed by Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC are granted in part and denied in part consistent with the discussion above.

54. Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $100 in connection with Count No. 3 of Civil Penalty Assessment No. 27558 and shall pay the assessed penalty within ten days of the effective date of this Order.  This penalty shall be suspended, however, in the event Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC submits, within ten days of the effective date of this Order, adequate proof to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission that it has refunded $20 in previously paid vehicle storage charges to Ms. Jacquin J. Coxon.

55. Count 4 of Civil Penalty Assessment No. 27558 is dismissed.

56. Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $100 in connection with Count No. 5 of Civil Penalty Assessment No. 27558 and shall pay the assessed penalty within ten days of the effective date of this Order.  This penalty shall be suspended, however, in the event Eddie’s Leaf Spring Shop & Towing, LLC submits, within ten days of the effective date of this Order, adequate proof to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission that it has refunded $20 in previously paid vehicle storage charges to Ms. Lori A. Hernandez.

57. Count 6 of Civil Penalty Assessment No. 27558 is dismissed.

58. The 20-day period provided for in § 40-6-114, C.R.S., within which to file applications for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day following the Mailed Date of this Decision.

59. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B.
ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
 

July 31, 2002.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
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� Harvey V. Mabis owns both Poudre Valley and Eddie’s, and represents both parties in these proceedings.


� Poudre Valley holds Commission Permit No. T-1944.


� Eddie’s holds Commission Permit No. T-734.


� Rule 17.1 states in full:





Rates and Charges For Private Property Tows.  The maximum rate that may be charged for a private property tow of a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds shall be no more than one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00), which shall include charges for all towing and storage services rendered including, but not limited to, hookup fees, use of dollies or go-jacks, gate fees, commissions paid, storage for first 24 hours, and all other services rendered in performing such private property tow, except as provided in this rule.


� Rule 17.3 states in full:





Certified VIN Verification.  When a vehicle must be sold, the amount which may be charged for a certified vehicle identification number (VIN) verification on abandoned motor vehicles may include all documented expenses of obtaining the verification including additional transportation.  Vehicles needing a tow to the certified VIN inspector may be charged a maximum sixty-five dollars ($65.00) for one additional hookup, a maximum sixty-five dollars ($65.00) per hour waiting time while waiting for inspection, and additional transportation charges shall not exceed a rate of two and 50/100 dollars ($2.50) a mile.


� We additionally note that Rule 17.6 allows a towing carrier to assess additional charges for towing a motor vehicle “between points in[,] ... into or out of the mountain area.”  As worded, this does not apply to a situation where a vehicle is released prior to being towed.


� In its Exceptions, Poudre Valley refers to Mr. Willert’s testimony that his meeting with Mr. Mabis occurred on December 11, 2001.


� Rule 17.1 allows for the first 24-hour period of storage to be included in the towing charge:





The maximum rate that may be charged for a private property tow of a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds shall be no more than one hundred thirty dollars ($130.00), which shall include charges for all towing and storage services rendered including, but not limited to, hookup fees, use of dollies or go-jacks, gate fees, commissions paid, storage for first 24 hours, and all other services rendered in performing such private property tow, except as provided in this rule.





(Emphasis added.)


� The first 24 hours of storage is not really “free,” as it is explicitly included in the $130.00 towing fee.  However, for ease of reference, we will refer to such period, as did the ALJ, as the “free” period.


� Likewise, we can think offhand of no other type of fee that allows for a charge only upon completion of a full day, or comparable period.  For example, if a library book, for which the library may charge $2 per day in late fees, is overdue by two hours, that library normally may still charge the full $2.00.


� Were Rule 17.7.1 ambiguous on this point, we would, as above, likely look to the Rule of Lenity as guidance in resolving such ambiguity in favor of the towing carrier facing a civil penalty assessment.


� We urge Staff that if it wishes to pursue changes to those rules at issue here, it may do so in a subsequent rulemaking proceeding.
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