Decision No. C02-617

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T

rules prescribing the standard procedures for administering the colorado low-income telephone assistance fund, 4 ccr 723-13.

commission order setting the
uniform charge for each applicable
access line at six cents per
month for fiscal year 2002/2003
to support the colorado low-income
telephone assistance fund AND REQUIRING
THE PRINTING OF A market informational note

Mailed Date:  May 31. 2002

Adopted Date:  May 29, 2002

I.
BY THE COMMISSION

Statement

1. In 1990, the Legislature established the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, called the "Lifeline Program” ("Fund").  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S.  In 1991, the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund.  4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13 (“Rule 13”).  Rule 4 of the Rules provides for the administration of the Fund.  Rule 4.2 provides, in part:

Each provider of basic local exchange telecommunications services shall, in its annual report to the Commission state its estimate of the number of eligible subscribers who will receive low-income telephone assistance for the coming fiscal year, the number of business and residential subscribers to be subject to the uniform charge, and the costs of the program as well as the historic monthly amounts of collections generated by the charge, the expenses of the program, and the amounts deposited with or withdrawn from the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund as managed by the State Treasurer. 

2. The Commission has assembled data projecting the amount of funding necessary to meet the program's legislative and rule requirements.  A table entitled "Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund" detailing these projections is attached as Attachment A to this Order.  After accounting for the projected amounts in the Fund at the end of the fiscal year 2001-2002, the Commission finds that the Uniform Charge on each eligible access line for fiscal year 2002-2003, pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of Rule 13, shall be six cents per month per line.  The increase to the line charge is primarily based on the “CALLS Order” issued May 30, 2000 and the “MAGS Order” issued October 11, 2001 by the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”).  One of the stipulations of these orders modified the End User Common Line Charge (“SLC”).  This increase in the SLC has resulted in an increase of $2.50 per access line per month for both the MAGS Order and the CALLS Order over a total of a three-year period. This increase has a direct effect on the Colorado Low-Income Assistance Fund. Colorado allows a 25 percent discount or the end user common line charge discount imposed by the FCC, whichever is the greater. The impact of the increase will create a shortfall to the Fund.  An increase of .02 cents of the monthly per access per line charge is necessary in order to maintain a positive projected balance of the Fund.  

II.
ORDER

A. The Commission Orders That:

3. Pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Commission's Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13, a Uniform Charge on each eligible access line for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund for the Fiscal Year 2002-2003 is established, which shall be six cents per month per line.

4. It may be unnecessary for each basic local exchange telecommunications service provider who has Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund tariffs on file with the Commission to file revised tariffs changing the Uniform Charge per access line per month.  However, if necessary, each local exchange service provider may make any necessary changes to its tariff to effectuate any changes on not less than one day’s notice, citing this Order as authority.

5. The Commission may enter subsequent orders to update the Table entitled "Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund," appended as Attachment A to this Order, as necessary.

6. The Uniform Charge of six cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber's bill as part of the subscriber's base rate.  As soon as practicable after July 2, 2002, each basic local exchange telecommunications provider, who has on file a tariff providing for Low-Income Telephone Assistance and is thus a part of the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, shall print on each customer's bill during one billing cycle, a market informational note stating:  "The basic rate contains a six cent monthly charge for the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund."

7. The 20-day time period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Order.

8. This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
May 29, 2002.
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