Decision No. R01-62

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 00G-617CY

public utilities commission of the state of colorado,


complainant,

v.

a design mover, LLC,


respondent.

recommended decision of
administrative law judge
ken f. kirkpatrick
assessing civil penalty

Mailed Date:  January 25, 2001

Appearances:

Robert Laws and Guy Quaintance, for the Staff of the Commission; and

No appearance on behalf of the Respondent.

I. Statement

A. This proceeding was instituted by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (“CPAN”) No. 26899 on November 2, 2000.  The CPAN alleges one violation of § 40-16-103, C.R.S., namely, offering services as a property carrier by motor vehicle without having registered with this Commission.

B. By Order and Notice mailed December 5, 2000, the matter was set for a hearing to be held on January 16, 2001 at 1:30 p.m. in a Commission hearing room in Denver, Colorado.  The Respondent A Design Mover, LLC did not appear, although testimony indicated that the Respondent had received notice of the hearing, was aware of it, but chose not to attend.  The hearing proceeded in the absence of the Respondent.

C. During the course of the hearing Exhibits 1 and 2 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of the hearing the matter was taken under advisement.

D. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the undersigned now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II. findings of fact

E. On November 16, 1999, Respondent A Design Mover, LLC transported personal property for Dorothy Taylor from a storage warehouse in Colorado to Ms. Taylor’s residence at 7536 E. Warren Drive, Denver, Colorado.  The charge for the move was $337.50.  See Exhibit 1.

F. At the time of the move, A Design Mover, LLC was not registered with this Commission as a property carrier by motor vehicle as required by § 40-16-103, C.R.S.  A Design Mover, LLC was contacted by enforcement personnel from this office and notified of the requirement to register.  Nonetheless, as of the date of the hearing, A Design Mover, LLC had not registered with this Commission.

III. discussion

G. Under § 40-7-113(1)(f), C.R.S., any person who operates as a property carrier by motor vehicle without having registered may be assessed a civil penalty of not more than $400.  Given A Design Mover, LLC’s failure to register even after being notified of its obligation to do so, it should be assessed a penalty in the full amount of $400.

H. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., it is recommended that the Commission enter the following order.

IV. ORDER

I. The Commission Orders That:

1. A Design Mover, LLC, is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $400.  A Design Mover, LLC shall pay the full amount within ten days of the effective date of this Order.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a.
If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b.
If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4. If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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Bruce N. Smith
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