Decision No. C01-626

BEFORE THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION OF THE STATE OF COLORADO

DOCKET NO. 91M-314T

rules prescribing the standard procedures for administering the colorado low-income telephone assistance fund, 4 ccr 723-13.

commission order setting the
uniform charge for each applicable
access line at four cents per
month for fiscal year 2001/2002
to support the colorado low-income
telephone assistance fund AND REQUIRING
THE PRINTING OF A market informational note
Mailed Date:  June 14, 2001

Adopted Date:  June 13, 2001

I.
BY THE COMMISSION

Statement

1. In 1990, the Legislature established the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, called the "Lifeline" Program ("Fund").  See § 40-3.4-101 et seq., C.R.S.  In 1991, the Commission adopted Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund ("Rules").  4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13.  Rule 4 of the Rules provides for the administration of the Fund.  Rule 4.2 provides, in part:

Each provider of basic local exchange telecommunications services shall, in its annual report to the Commission state its estimate of the number of eligible subscribers who will receive low-income telephone assistance for the coming fiscal year, the number of business and residential subscribers to be subject to the uniform charge, and the costs of the program as well as the historic monthly amounts of collections generated by the charge, the expenses of the program, and the amounts deposited with or withdrawn from the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund as managed by the State Treasurer. 

2. The Commission has assembled data projecting the amount of funding necessary to meet the program's legislative and rule requirements.  A table entitled "Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund" is attached as Attachment A to this Order.  After accounting for the projected amounts in the Fund at the end of the fiscal year 2000-2001, the Commission finds that the Uniform Charge on each eligible access line for fiscal year 2001-2002, pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Rules, shall be four cents per month per line.  The increase to the line charge is primarily based on the “CALLS ORDER” issued by the Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”).  On May 30th of 2000 the CALLS ORDER was established.  One of the stipulations of this order modified the End User Common Line Charge for Price Capped LECS.  The initial charge was increased from $3.50 to $4.35 on July 1, 2000.  The second increase is effective July 3, 2001 the charge is being increased from $4.35 to $5.00.  This is an increase of $1.50 per line over a two-year period. This increase has a direct effect on the Colorado Low-Income Assistance Fund. Colorado allows a 25 percent discount or the end user common line charge discount imposed by the FCC whichever is the greater. The impact of the increase will create a shortfall to the Fund.  An increase of .01 of the monthly per access per line charge is necessary in order to maintain a positive projected balance of the Fund.  

Ii.
ORDER

A.
The Commission Orders That:

1.
The Commission, pursuant to § 40-3.4-108(1), C.R.S., and Rules 4 and 5 of the Commission's Rules Prescribing the Procedures for Administering the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-13, hereby establishes a Uniform Charge on each eligible access line for the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund for the Fiscal Year 2001-2002, which shall be four cents per month per line.

2.
It may be unnecessary for each basic local exchange telecommunications service provider who has Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund tariffs on file with the Commission to file revised tariffs changing the Uniform Charge per access line per month.  However, if necessary, each local exchange service provider may make any necessary changes to its tariff to effectuate any changes on not less than one-day notice, citing this Order as authority.

3.
The Commission may enter subsequent orders should the estimates in the Table entitled "Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund", appended as Attachment A to this Order, prove inaccurate.

4.
The Uniform Charge of four cents per month shall be included in each applicable subscriber's bill as part of the subscriber's base rate.  As soon as practicable after July 1, 2001, each basic local exchange telecommunications provider who has on file a tariff providing for Low-Income Telephone Assistance and is thus a part of the Colorado Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund, shall print on each customer's bill during one billing cycle, a market informational note stating:  "The basic rate contains a four cent monthly charge for the Low-Income Telephone Assistance Fund."

5.
The 20-day time period provided for by § 40-6-114(1), C.R.S., to file an application for rehearing, reargument, or reconsideration begins on the first day after the mailing of this Order.

6.
This Order is effective on its Mailed Date.

B. ADOPTED IN COMMISSIONERS’ WEEKLY MEETING
 
June 13, 2001.

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF COLORADO
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ATTEST: A TRUE COPY
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Bruce N. Smith
Director
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