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colorado public utilities commission,
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bernard c. deneau d/b/a master AUTOMOTIVE a/k/A coal creek automotive,
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recommended decision of
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assessing civil penalty

Mailed Date:  June 20, 2000

Appearances:

Dennis J. Maul, for the Staff of the Commission; and

Bernard C. Deneau, Respondent.

I. statement

A. This proceeding was instituted by the issuance of Civil Penalty Assessment Notice (“CPAN”) No. 25597.  By this CPAN the Respondent Bernard Deneau was charged with one violation of Rule 16.1 of the Commission’s Rules and Regulations Governing Towing Carriers by Motor Vehicle, 4 Code of Colorado Regulations 723-9, alleging that the Respondent overcharged for a tow.  The penalty sought is $400.

B. By Order and Notice dated June 1, 2000, the matter was set for a hearing to be held on June 15, 2000 at 9:00 a.m. in a Commission hearing room in Denver, Colorado.  At the assigned place and time the undersigned called the matter for hearing.  During  the course of the hearing Exhibits 1 through 6 were identified, offered, and admitted into evidence.  At the conclusion of the hearing the matter was taken under advisement.

C. In accordance with § 40-6-109, C.R.S., the undersigned Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) now transmits to the Commission the record and exhibits in this proceeding along with a written recommended decision.

II. findings of fact

D. At approximately 8:00 a.m. on Sunday, January 23, 2000, the Respondent received a call from the Colorado State Patrol (“CSP”) to respond to an abandoned vehicle crash on State Highway 72 at milepost 13.5.  Respondent is a contractor on the rotation with the CSP.  The vehicle was a Ford pickup truck which had left the roadway and run through a fence.  It came to rest approximately 100 feet off the road on a tree, and a front tire was flat.  The driver was nowhere to be found.  The CSP issued an impound and removal order.

E. Reaching the vehicle from its location was a difficult task.  The Respondent also had to break into the vehicle in order to properly tow it.  The tow was approximately four miles to the Respondent’s yard.  During the course of the tow the trooper from the CSP left, and the individual that owned the vehicle arrived.  The individual that owned the vehicle became belligerent and abusive to the Respondent and followed the Respondent to his yard.  Respondent refused to release the vehicle and the owner of the vehicle became even more upset.  An ugly scene ensued in front of the Respondent and his 12-year old child.

F. The vehicle was eventually released that day and Respondent charged $200.  The $200 was itemized as follows:  $50 for the lock-out charge, since the vehicle had to be broken into in order to be properly towed; $75 for a winch-out to bring the truck approximately 100 feet back to the roadway (due to an intervening ditch, Respondent was unable to simply drive his tow truck down to the abandoned vehicle); $45 for the hook-up charge; $10 mileage (four miles at $2.50 per mile); and $20 for one day of storage.  This totals $200.

discussion

G. Rule 16.1 of the Commission’s Rules and Regulations Governing Towing Carriers states as follows:

Rates and Charges for Private Property Tows.  The maximum rate that may be charged for a private property tow of a vehicle with a GVWR of less than 10,000 pounds shall be no more than $100, which shall include charges for all services rendered including, but not limited to, hook-up fees, mileage fees up to 15 miles, gate fees, title searches, commissions paid, storage for 24 hours, and all other services rendered in performing such private property tow, except as provided in this rule.

H. Staff suggests that this was nothing more than a private property tow, albeit a difficult one.  Staff notes that some tows are relatively easy and some tows are difficult, with the result that the Commission has determined an average of $100 is adequate compensation for all tows.

I. Respondent suggests that there is a difference between an accident tow and a simple abandonment.  The amount of winching and the break-in that were necessary in order to prepare this vehicle for towing required a large amount of Respondent’s time.  Respondent claims the $100 cap simply does not allow full compensation.

J. The ALJ is somewhat sympathetic to the Respondent.  It does appear that the Commission’s rules do not distinguish between simple tows and accident tows, the latter requiring much more than simply placing a vehicle on a hook and hauling it off to a tow yard.  Nonetheless, as Staff notes, tow truck operators are allowed $100 for easy tows as well.  This is a private property tow and thus the Respondent is limited to charging $100.  This $100 is also to include the first 24 hours of storage, as well as mileage up to 15 miles.  Thus Respondent’s extra charges and all other charges over $100 were not authorized by rule.

K. Concerning an appropriate penalty, Staff has sought a $400 penalty plus a refund to the owner of the vehicle in the amount of $100.  However, this is a civil penalty assessment proceeding, not a civil proceeding to recover an overcharge.  The Respondent was never placed on notice that Staff would be seeking a refund of the overcharge; the notice simply alerts the Respondent that Staff is seeking a penalty in the amount of $400 for violation of a Commission rule.  Since the matter of a refund was never noticed, the ALJ concludes that a refund order cannot be issued in this proceeding.  An appropriate penalty given all the circumstances of this case would be $150.  However, the penalty will be suspended if the Respondent, within ten days of the effective of this order, files proof of a voluntary refund to the owner of the vehicle in the amount of $100.

order

L. The Commission Orders That:

1. Respondent Bernard C. Deneau, doing business as Master Automotive, also known as Coal Creek Automotive is assessed a civil penalty in the amount of $150.  Respondent shall pay this penalty within ten days of the effective date of this Order.  However, if the Respondent files proof of a refund of $100 to the owner of the towed vehicle which is the subject of this proceeding within that ten-day period, the $150 civil penalty will be suspended.

2. This Recommended Decision shall be effective on the day it becomes the Decision of the Commission, if that is the case, and is entered as of the date above.  

3. As provided by § 40-6-109, C.R.S., copies of this Recommended Decision shall be served upon the parties, who may file exceptions to it.  

a. If no exceptions are filed within 20 days after service or within any extended period of time authorized, or unless the decision is stayed by the Commission upon its own motion, the recommended decision shall become the decision of the Commission and subject to the provisions of § 40-6-114, C.R.S.

b. If a party seeks to amend, modify, annul, or reverse basic findings of fact in its exceptions, that party must request and pay for a transcript to be filed, or the parties may stipulate to portions of the transcript according to the procedure stated in § 40-6-113, C.R.S.  If no transcript or stipulation is filed, the Commission is bound by the facts set out by the administrative law judge and the parties cannot challenge these facts.  This will limit what the Commission can review if exceptions are filed.

4.
If exceptions to this Decision are filed, they shall not exceed 30 pages in length, unless the Commission for good cause shown permits this limit to be exceeded.
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